X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Rainbow Hostel Dingle Reviews

Dingle, Co. Kerry., Dingle, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
313 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

A bit of a walk (20 minutes) from the center of Dingle, but it's not unpleasant, and they have a free shuttle to bring you to town to catch your bus. Staff was very welcoming and had many suggestions for things to do in town, also offered to store our bags for the day and then drive them into town to meet us before our bus. No breakfast included, but two very well-equipped kitchens for cooking meals. Nice, hippie-esque place for young people and families alike.


57%

This is my second time staying at the rainbow hostel. I enjoyed the first stay that i then recommended 7 other groups to stay at the same time. However this stay was regrettably let down by the staff. The night porter was rude and was moaning about my sister arriving late at night. He was put out about her arriving with children which is strange for a hostel that is meant to be children friendly. He demanded that i ring her at 2am to find out where she was which i did not do.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I feel the Rainbow Hostel is very clean and the facilities are great for a hostel. The staff on the other hand leave a lot to be desired. The night porter / security man was at times inappropriate and quite rude to our party of people and it was almost as if having people stay at the hostel is an inconvenience for him. I hate to break this to him but he is working with people in a customer service role so wrong job choice if people annoy you. The owner / manager was not very friendly either.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Liked the atmosphere and style of this hostel. It is located a bite outside of Dingle in a former farmhouse. But if you are lucky the staff might take you into the city center. Also there is camping available.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great kitchen very confortable, good location near the Slea Head if you have a car.


91%

This was a good, basic hostel. Plenty of community with people making meals and hanging out. There were lots of campers so it felt more like hanging out in a lodge than in a hostel. People were very quiet and respectful of light and noise in the dorms. The crowd seemed more like couples, independent travelers and families rather than large, rowdy groups.


91%

Had a great weekend,lovely hostel..Pity there was a crowd of party goers in dorm.No fault of hostel thoe!


66%

Not too happy with this hostel, the guy in reception wasn't very polite because we arrive later than the hour initially assigned.


100%

A lovely hostel. I'd highly recommend staying there.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Thanks a lot for the relaxiong time in the Rainbow Hostel. A very friendly and trusty atmosphere; the cooking area was very good organised, lots of equipment! Very good beds- we slept better than at home! Very helpfull staff! Very nice paintings in the hostel. We had water in the room , so could brush the teeth.... in our own room, had not to go down to main bathroom. So much wood in the house made the caracter very earthy, slowly .Very good, no TV was accepted a. no computers in entrance zone.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Stayed in the Rainbow hostel years ago in a lovely private room upstairs, now those nice quiet rooms with the view are separated from the rest of the hostel and for staff use, which seems like a poor business decision. Also, staff staying downstairs close to the front door would make the place feel more secure.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I really really loved this place. I've never stayed in a hostel before and it was way better than I expected! Beautiful people working and staying there, beautiful surroundings and amazing food in the town centre. Staff couldn't do enough for you, I will be returning very soon!!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely ambiance, the staff excellent. Fantastic place.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

We were staying in an upstairs room and the toilet wash shower facilities were downstairs Not very ideal to have to go downstairs during the night This is something the proprietors could possibly change Also on the night in question late night revelers who seemed to be camping on the grounds returned in the earlier hours into the kitchen and the noise travelled upstairs awakening us I guess and hope this is not a regular event and is something managment could prevent anyway

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Very friendly, great value hostel!! Odin (God of Gods) who works there is great very chilled, helpful and welcoming :-)


100%

WOW, WOW and WOW again ! What a great Hostel ! The Hostel is indeed 1,5 kilometers away from Dingle, but that makes it so lovely. (The staff bring you in Town with the car) You have really all in this hostel: A great and big kitchen, with all paraphernalia. There is a lovely piano in the sitting room, too. Comfortable beds and clean room's and shower's. But the best is the staff. They are sitting with you in the evening at the campfire, drinking beer, make music....GREAT!


63%

The staff was nice but not that good informed about possible activities. Some details of the house, such as lamps in the kitchen or the air ventilator in the shower were very very dirty.


100%

Rainbow seems to be a' lovely people magnet'...so much more than just a hostel. Thank you for your welcome guys!


94%

Great hostel, Manager was very helpful and friendly. Really good atmosphere in the hostel. Only negative is the last few hundred meters of the walk home in the dark. (Which obviously the hostel can do nothing about)


74%

Nice hostel, a little outside town but handy shuttle bus to drop you in town (or a 20min walk). Beds not very comfortable - no springs in mattress and bed linen not very new. Curtains not very good either - a dark room is nice.


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Dingle Hostels

Please give us your feedback