Hostelworld.com

Rainbow Hostel Doolin

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,027 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,027 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
Rainbow Hostel Doolin Located at Doolin, Co Clare, Doolin.
Rainbow Hostel Doolin
Ireland
Doolin Clare Doolin, Co Clare
90% 1027
53.0196760 -9.3705060
Rainbow Hostel Doolin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jun 2016
6.9

I hate to bring down the hostel's rating because the owners were out of town for a wedding that week, so in charge was someone who had worked there one week and someone who had worked there two weeks. It was very unorganized due to this. With that said, when they said they weren't the owners and it was their first time running shop, I got it. I had a car, but I thought I would walk to the cliff and not pay the fee to park...Well 7 hours of walking there, a portion of the cliffs, and back. OUCH

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
8.3

Audrey and Tim were staffing the hostel during my stay and are incredible hosts. On the clock they looked after any need and off the clock, they remain and socialize with the guests, keep the fire warm, and would join you for a pint if heading out to the same spot for an evening to enjoy the live music that happens nightly in any of Doolin's local pubs. I was also amazed that gluten free food and beer is widely available in the nearby cafes and pubs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
9.1

As a newcomer to the hostel experience I was pleasantly surprised. We had a private room ensuite. The ensuite was spotless. Bed linen fresh. Great cooking facilities. The location is excellent. Will definitely use this hostel again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
8.9

Great staff and overall a nice and cosy place to stay. But if you plan a trip trough County Clare, Doolin is not the most convenient spot to start daytrips, because public transport is really limited. But it's great as a starting point for biking to The Burren and a walk to the Cliffs of Moher.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

Overall, a great hostel. It was cheap, the beds we're clean and the shower was warm. Couldn't have asked for much more

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel in a perfect location. Warm and friendly owners who went the extra mile.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
9.4

En-suite bathroom with shower and a full-size bed in a twin room! Lovely breakfasts (scones!) set out every morning by the kind, sweet owners. They had bathroom supplies to spare for us, even. The only downside was that the wifi was down, but if you're in Doolin for the wifi, you're missing out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th May 2016
9.4

Even though we got lost on the way, and arrived at 10pm, Mattie was ultra-helpful and very nice about the whole thing. He came back from the town in order to check us in, and he took the time to get to know us and advise us on our trip - the recommendations he gave were wonderful! Aside from the wonderful customer service, the hostel was really clean and comfortable, and the breakfast in the morning was great. The only criticism I could give is that the WiFi was faulty, but overall it was brill!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
28th May 2016
10.0

Great place to stay. Really cute and clean. We walked from the hostel to the Cliffs of Moher and it was amazing. Two thumbs up!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
7.1

We were going to stay in a double room at the hostel, but they were all full, so Carmel moved us to the B&B. The bedroom was rustic and very comfortable, however, the sheets hadn't been changed, and the carpets on the floor weren't cleaner than the latter. There is no wifi... The breakfast was nice, the hosts tried to make us feel comfortable and were helpful. Doolin isn't a very big town, so all the pubs are within a five-minute walk. For a very touristic area, the price was okay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I feel that you must be mixing us up with some other place. Our sheets are always changed in both the hostel and B/B and we have no carpets whatsoever in the B/B. I remember you clearly and you stayed for 2 nights, you had every opportunity to let me know if anything was amiss. I hope that you enjoyed your travels. From Carmel at the Rainbow

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.