X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rainbow Hostel Doolin Reviews

Doolin, Co Clare, Doolin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
900 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great hostel except that the wifi did not work AT ALL, not even a little, while I was there. A big possible source of frustration and boredom. Luckily there were a great group of people who stayed there when I was. Crawling distance from 2 great pubs, extensive and well supplied kitchen, good breakfast. Everything was clean and beds were comfortable! I would stay here again if the wifi is sorted out in the meanwhile. About a 8km hike to the cliffs from the hostel.


100%

Great atmosphere, felt cozy, like being at home. Nice big kitchen and comfortable common space. The staff was fantastic, very helpful and knowledgable about the area. They even remembered my name and asked how I liked the Island they had recommended. Only negative was that the wifi was really spotty, but there's several pubs down the street with free wifi so it wasn't a big issue.

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very cosy and friendly hostel. would recommend to anyone.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

It's a very nice place, nice athmosphere and very friendly staff!


94%

We spent 2 nights at the Rainbow hostel with our two preteens. Our ensuite room was very cozy and our 2 nights were very quiet. The beds are very comfortable. A nice continental breakfast was included in the price. We appreciated to cook in the well equipped kitchen in the evening. Our room was clean and Carmel, the owner, made us feel welcome.


94%

Really close to the pubs and food etc, quiet location, very happy.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice place to stay, feel like at home. The team was very friendly and we had a very nice stay there. Thanks a lot !


66%

I stayed at this hostel for two nights in a private room ensuite. They let you in after three p.m. and ask you to check out before 11. The owner even shouted at us because we were slightly late when checking out. They gave us a room, we settled in it, then after one hour they told us it was a mistake and asked us to change, sending us to a room very dark, wet and cold and without curtains at the window. The wi-fi didn't work at all for most of the time. The hostel is very nice but not much clean

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review but I must clear up the points in your email. You were 2 persons and stayed in a 3 person room. The room is spacious with curtains in a large window, we do not have a room with no curtains. We do not have a room that is cold, wet and dark. You stayed for one night, not two as stated. Check in is from 11 am to 9 pm, not the time you stated. We do not shout at our guests. From your comments we feel that you have the wrong hostel and the wrong location. Very unfair

91%

Cozy hostel with nice common area, a little walk from the main town but there is a convenient bus stop directly in front of the place. No extra bathrooms outside the ensuite ones... overall though, a good place to stay!


89%

We stayed in a twin ensuite room for one night - this was located in the B&B next door to the hostel. Very clean and comfortable room, good value, and very handy for attending a wedding in the Doolin hotel. I would stay here again.


100%

Really nice hostel! The staff was so friendly, the kitchen was clean and very bright and the breakfast was incredible!!


91%

Very beautiful exterior in a great location,friendly greeting on arrival,the stove was on and it was cosy to relax by it...the dorm was ok,i was on the bottom bunk and it was very low down,not enough space to sit up..they should invest in the latest bunks with lockers underneath for storage.Also each bed should have socket on the wall for charging phone/laptop..etc..the shower was nice n hot..kitchen and breakfast was perfect..thanks.


60%

NOTE: Nearest shop with food is 3 km uphill from Doolin. Excellent kitchen and hot showers. Loads of brochures on travel. Clean linens and one night had the turf fire. Can't sit upright on bottom bunk. No railing on top bunk. Rooms are small with two outlets. One bathroom for six. Main staff runs b&b next door, most of the time their two young and rude staff members were the only help there.


91%

Very clean and comfortable hostel ! Thank you.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff, particularly Carmel and Mattie bent over backwards to ensure we enjoyed our stay and gave us a wicked insider archaeological tour of some of the coast around Doolin, great fun. They were both lovely and really helpful. The hostel itself was big yet cosy and located close to the two best pubs in the area but not noisily so. Perfect!


100%

Carmel and Mattie were excellent hosts. We enjoyed our stay in the Rainbow Hostel very much.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel I have stayed at in years! The owners are absolutely wonderful and really care about their guests and want you to enjoy Dooliin!

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I would just make one suggestion for a more restful stay -- signs to ask people (including the owners !) to keep voices down at night and early morning -- doors closed between living quarters and bedrooms would help also . Thank you.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

A wonderful place with wonderful people. You won't want to leave!

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Mattie and Caramel are excellent! They drove is area town of it was too far to walk. Overall a very great experience!

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all Doolin Hostels

Please give us your feedback