Hostelworld.com

Rancho Grande Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.1
Rancho Grande Hostel Located at Av. San Martin 724, , El Chalten.
Rancho Grande Hostel
Argentina
El Chalten Santa Cruz 9301 Av. San Martin 724
81% 573
-49.3231926 -72.8906250
Rancho Grande Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Mar 2016
8.9

Cool Atmosphere and nice staff. A little pricey, but I guess that's generally speaking for El Chalten

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Feb 2016
7.7

Everything was clean and good bar and staff. The shower in our twin room was absolute cap though. But the communal showers may have been better... Flash packer

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Feb 2016
8.3

I agree with most other reviews. The hostel is very very nice, excellent location and atmosphere but the kitchen has very few pans, and other cooking equipment, so you actually have to stay in line to cook something. Some of the staff are helpful but some others were only interested in getting you to buy food from the restaurant at the hostel. All in all, a beautiful experience still, despite those little anoying, but manageable, situations.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
29th Jan 2016
9.4

Many older travellers so it was hard to meet young people like ourselves as the place is overrun by over 50s, maybe an age restriction would help. Otherwise excellent hostal, good breakfast and service.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jan 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels i've stayed at. Very clean. Great facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kgetting66153265
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
17th Jan 2016
10.0

We only stayed for one night and was happy with our stay. We spent 4 days backpacking around Mt Fitz and we're stoked to have the hostel right by the trailhead when we got finished hiking. They stored our stuff for the 4 days as well. We had a private room with a hot shower! Breakfast is very basic, bread and coffee. Chalten is small so everything is close walking distance. Wifi sucks all over the city so don't expect to be connected while you are there! Enjoy the views instead!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2016
6.0

This is not a regular hostel --there are no cooking items. You can ask at the bar for a bowl or a spoon or pot for cooking, and they will ask you to look in the kitchen again, and then you will have to wait in line again to get the items at the bar. But, you cannot start the stove either since there is no lighter or matches provided to start the stove. The kitchen always seemed dirty and crowded. You are unable to wash or dry clothes there as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2015
8.0

The kitchen is lacking cooking equipment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2015
8.6

We had a good stay at Rancho Grande, but it's not a typical hostel and it definitely has more of a hotel feel. First of all, it's huge so there are constantly people coming and going and the kitchen is pretty small and limited. The location is a little on the far side of town and the staff wasn't super helpful (but I think that's because they just have so many people in there asking a bunch of questions all the time). In general, I would have preferred a smaller place, but it works.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2015
7.7

I had a lot of fun at this hostel but there's some issues. First the kitchens are pretty bare bones, there's like 5 plates for 2 kitchens and you have to ask for glasses\plates from the restaurant there. Bigger problem is the staff seems really annoyed when you ask for a cup or plate (because they want you to eat/drink at the expensive restaurant?). In defense of the constantly annoyed staff, the place was crazy busy but staff attitude was a bummer. Also the group showers have no privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.