X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rapunzel Reviews

Bereketzade Camii sk. No:3, Galata, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
268 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Rapunzel is the perfect answer to how to run a small, cute hostel. Nothing is overlooked, nothing is forbidden here. There are very nice details in every little corner. While your stay you'll be discovering it. Best breakfast far away, amazing view from the little terrace, sympathetic and helpful staff, always good music (btw thnx for the playlists) very good location with clean, tidy rooms, bathrooms. Go ahead and make your booking there, you'll not regret it.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

amazing hostel. keep up the good work guys we'll see you soon again

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

My stay was perfect from the first moment I was entered until the last moment. Rapunzel is in Beyoglu district, so for those who wants to enjoy Istanbul's "local" scene, this location can't be better. It is although in Beyoglu but very quite, esp. at nights. During the day the street is little crowded but this is normal in Istanbul :). Staff was amazing, tnx Caterina, Selen, Genta for everything and hope to see you soon again. Last word, it was one of the most clean hostel I've ever stayed.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

My stay was tainted by a couple of negative experiences. I was asked to change rooms at some point during my stay, which I agreed to, but was told to move one morning as I was leaving and had somewhere to be. Without any time to pack I forgot about my toiletries in the bathroom, which were completely thrown out. I was pretty annoyed and found the guy on duty to be rather unsympathetic, considering I didn't have to agree to move. Also a girl in my room found bed bugs in her bed.


94%

Great location. Could walk to all key touristy spots (long walk but easy enough) and great view from the rooftop.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Good value for your money. The breakfast is pretty gross though - they give you a plate full of the cheapest stuff they can buy from the store around the corner - children's yogurt, stale generic oreo-type cookies, fake nutella that is gross, really cheap cheese, and some fruit and vegetables which may or may not be cleaned that well. You have access to a loaf of cheap bread too but the knife is too dull to cut it... It's Istanbul. Everything is so cheap. They can put out a better breakfast.


94%

Lovely staff, very helpful. Great roof terrace!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

To be honest, the Rapunzel Hostel failed to impress me. I liked its small size and homely atmosphere, but I found it all a bit too quiet and lacking a sociable atmosphere. The location near the Galata Tower is very nice, having many boutique shops and bars. Contrarily, the rooms are rather small, have rather unstable bunkbeds and the toilet barely worked. I also had mixed experiences with the staff; whereas some were very friendly and helpful, others just didn't say a word for reasons unknown.


80%

+ Excellent location, helpful staff, nice rooftop-terrace! - Minimalistic furnishing in the room (how about hanging up a nice picture or two?) and average cleanliness - the dustbin in the bathroom, which should be used for used toilet paper, wasn't changed every day.


80%

Great staff and exactly the right spot when exploring both the European and Asian sides of Istanbul!

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice place. The location is perfect near Galata Tower and Istiklal street, in the center, you can go out easily at night, not far to take a ferry, to Sultanahmet,... The dormitory and the hotel are clean. The rooftop is a great place for sunsets and meet people.


100%

I had a wonderful stay, it really made my Istanbul experience fantastic. Everyone guests and staff included was extremely friendly, it has a very homey vibe. It was very easy to make friends with the other guests and as a result I was rarely alone in Istanbul. The location was perfect and the beds were also very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends. Thanks again!

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A cosy, relaxed place right by the tram line. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful. There was a power cut for 5 hours one night - the price you might have to pay for the romantic/traditional area. Also, the security lockers need improved.


83%

Rapunzel is an excellent choice for a stay in Istanbul. Its location is not in the major tourist area and the area is quiet. But the area is also full of nice artist's shops and boutiques. The staff is helpful and was able to provide answers and suggestions for all of our questions. The rooftop terrace was a wonderful place to spend the evening.


100%

this isreally well maintained hostel with a little something for everyone..location and terrace are the best in istanbul They really care about their guests.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Rooms are clean, free wifi , great location. value for money

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

very nice atmosphere and terrace, character and location. Friendly staff members. Complimentary coffee was appreciated.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Probably one of the Istanbul's best hostel.


97%

The good: the roof deck: beautiful veiws, nice breeze, and the internet (usually) reached. Breakfast: tasty, a little different every day, and plenty of food. The people: the front desk was manned 24/7, spoke excellent English, and had lots of useful advice on what to do. Not as good: rooms could have used more electrical outlets. The hostel is in a good location, but up a very steep hill from the tram (the veiws though...) The bottom bunk was low- couldn't sit up. I'd stay again.


97%

Great hostel surrounded by cute coffee shops, great restaurants and awesome shops. Also being very close to the tram line, it was super easy to get to all the main attractions. I would recommend buying an Istanbul card to use on the trams and train as travel is half price using the card. I stayed at Rapunzel with a friend in a twin room and then in the female dorm at the end of trip which were both very clean and comfortable. The staff were nice and the rooftop terrace was a highlight.


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback