X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Rastel Hostel Reviews

Vajdahunyad utca 4, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
551 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very helpfull and friendly staff. The atmosphere is really great. Location's perfect, not too expensive. It was very clean and there was plenty of space in the room.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Armenia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I rented one of the private rooms which was in a seperate building from the main hostel so can only speak for it. The room was very close to the bar which was open quite late and there was a lot of noise coming from it so found it hard to get some sleep, also the curtains didn't keep out much light so it woke you up in the morning. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was easy to walk to most of the main sights.


86%

Staff were fantastic and very helpful especially the Croatian girl that was always smiling and happy. Also got some good tips on local places to eat and drink.

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very cool hostel!!!


69%

a little hard to find based on the directions, but overall a really nice place. showers didn't make a whole lot of sense, and there wasn't always someone to man the front desk. make sure to ask how the doors work, they're a little bit tricky.


83%

They advertise the Gondozo Garden Ruin Pub, which wasn't running anymore. At least not on last weekend we stayed there. Other than that, good place to spend a night and definitely worth the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
O man :) we are renovating, so like still for a week the pub will be closed, and there is pubs all around just in case someone cant take it without starting a day with a carrot juice :D

100%

The location of the hostel is great, it's not far from the city's attractions. The underground and tram stops are nearby. The place is clean, with a good atmosphere created by lovely people. The Staff was really helpful and available 24h a day. The security was also on a very satisfying level. Overally, staying there was a very nice experience :)

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is situated conveniently, with all of the important monuments within walking distance. The essential facilities were provided. The room, kitchen and bathrooms were neat & clean.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Rastel Hostel is definitely the best place to stay for a traveller. All of the essential facilities were provided and everything was clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly - thanks to them giving me precise directions I reached all of the places I wanted to see without any problems. Basically - you can expect good quality for a good price.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The rating of this hostel is in my opinion not quit right. I think it is a great hostel in the summer. People that want to talk or smoke will be outside then and people who want to sleep can go inside. In the winter both groups of people are inside. Particularly the smoking inside is a big turn-off for me. The rooms was okay. Two things were not good. Firstly there was no option to turn the heating off, so we had to sleep in a very hot room. Secondly the bed was old and uncomfortable.

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Good services including wifi, lockers. Friendly reception staff, rooms are spacious and clean. It is a great place to meet people.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Very convenient location, close to a metro station, easy to find. It really does have a great atmosphere. Clean and safe place to stay.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice compact rooms with good bathroom facilities. Well decorated throughout.

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The place was easy to find.The staff was very helpful and were able to answer all of my questions pertaining to the locations of tourist attractions. The rooms were clean.

  • 14th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The location was perfect - within walking distance from city center. Nice atmosphere all day. It was very clean & rooms were well looked after.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The common area was nice, and 24h reception was helpful. The building seemed quite old but the rooms were very comfortable and tidy. The bathroom was very clean as well. I can recommend it to everyone. Great place to stay in Budapest. I will come back 4 sure.

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great atmosphere, very friendly staff. Budget place to stay in Budapest with clean rooms and facilities.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

The hostel is dirty, the private room was adapted from the previous bathroom with the tap and the pipe still hanging from the wall wrapped in a piece of cloth. The room had no wardrobe or a hook to hang the clothes so we were forced to keep our stuff on the floor or on the bed. The bathrooms don´t provide any privacy. The price in the New Years Eve period was comparable to a 2 star hotel, only with conditions of a squat. Only 2 persons from the staff were kind and helpful, the rest didn´t care.


63%

Expensive, for the price (in line with better places). But the staff is very good, because it is propositive for explaining major trips in the city, without being insistent

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

The radiator was broken in the room I stayed. The guests requested to the staff to try and fix it but they didn't manage to fix it themselves or bother calling someone to fix it. Lucky for us it was a warm December.

  • 15th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
the radiator was workin next day as it was simply closed by the ther guest :)

« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback