X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rastel Hostel Reviews

Vajdahunyad utca 4, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
760 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Purtroppo il pub apre poche volte (forse perché era inverno??) Si può pagare solo in contanti. Unfortunally the pub is noto open every day(maibe for winter?) You can pay only cash and not card..

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

It's a great hostel if you're into the Rastafarian movement. It's a decent hostel with pretty cool staff. It's not that clean.... But it was okay considering I booked last minute. The staff really know the cool spots in the city tho!


63%

Sadly the other reviews We saw were true- difficult to get a good sleep; walls are thin, in addition to the staff playing music/talking loudly til late. No soundproofing so all outside noise reaches you and you can hear everyone in the hostel. The week we stayed our showers were blocked, drains overflowing and the bathroom smell like sewerage- staff didn't seem worried about it. Wasn't fixed until the end of our stay. Would stay elsewhere next time.


74%

It was a nice place to stay, we booked a double room, but there was nothing on the room, not even a mirror. There was only over mini sink, and one mirror in the bath room for all the guests. The bathroom is oke, but sometimes it's not so clean. The location is also quiet nice.


97%

Clean, helpful staff, quiet, spacious, overall great place.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I am really happy about the choice i made. The location was excellent, only few minutes walk from the city center and a five minutes walk from the shopping center. Bed comfortable. Great security. Very welcoming.

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Comfortable and spacious room, modern design of the place. Very helpful staff! Bathroom and facilities were very neat. Atmosphere was welcoming and warm.

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Spacious and big hostel. Close to metro station and city. Good kitchen if you want to cook something. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. Clean facilities. Would stay there again.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect location (tourist attractions, bus stops, shops). Very clean rooms and showers. Nice staff, great vibe.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

I liked this hostel very much. Clean bed, bathrooms and kitchen. The social area and bar downstairs are doing great job at socializing people. The price is also very good

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Spacious room, nice bed, good wifi, nice atmosphere, beautiful interiors.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Luxembourg
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is close to the city center. The staff is very helpfull. I really enjoyed my stay there. Rooms are modest but very clean and bar downstairs is excellent.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Sheets were extremely dirty. Heaters didnot work on our first night. Toilet was clean but small, showers didnot have doors or curtains to cover! Walls were covered with strange (!) posters, street and location of the hostel is very bad.


89%

Very very thin walls. Had a group of 10-15 Italians in the room next to me who partied until 545am. Everyone in the Hostal was kept awake from them, no one from Hostal around during night to manage this. Overall, kitchen and bedrooms are nice. No mirrors (and or very very small ones) in bathrooms. Might find another Hostal next time...


94%

The staff was extremely kind and helpful. Easy to find from train station. Good value for money.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The place is pretty secure and the kitchen is pretty complete but expect noise since there's a pub right next to it. Very close to a mall with cinema if that's what you are looking for.


100%

Staff were excellent. Lost my phone on the first night in a taxi, the member of staff who was still up at 5am called it repeatedly, spoke to the driver in Hungarian and even paid the taxi driver for returning my phone as I was short of cash. Would strongly recommend!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great staff, clean rooms, bathroom and kitchen. wifi works good. Good value, very close to the bus and metro.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, staff were very friendly and helpful, walking distance to the center was brilliant! Very good value for money.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Lot of drunk and homeless people lurking on the street and in the pub of hostel. Our 6-bed dorm had a weird smell and there was a broken bed and the lights were not functioning well... To be honest only positive things were friendly staff and working wifi!

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(89 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback