X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Red Carabao Community Reviews

2819 Felix Huertas Street, Santa Cruz, Manila, Philippines

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
290 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Not the place to stay if you're in Manila for one night and heading to the airport (it's far). Does have a good community feel and tons of activities for a more than one night stay. I bit awkward that they post rebuttals to all bad reviews around the hostel (and email them to you). Are you looking at my face on one right now??

Owner Comment (Hide)
Everyone should save at least a full day to discover the real, cultural side of Manila few travelers ever get to see. And be part of a family that strives to be fun, active and transparent! See you soon!

91%

The hostel was very nice, especially the rooftop hangout area and the planned activities seemed plentiful. However, it seems if you leave a negative review of the hostel, your full name, age and passport photo could be turned into a poster and put on the wall of the hostel without your consent incl. a sassy rebuttal. This was a topic of conversation among guests, which we all agreed was uncomfortable, unprofessional and rude. I urge management to reconsider that decision.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We’re nice and fun because we’re open and transparent, just like our rooftop!

100%

You are sent a “Survival Guide” by email within days of booking, which you’d be a complete and utter dunce to ignore. It’s got taxi directions, maps and info on what to do in and around Manila, costing me just $8 to/fro the airport at ~1am and $3 taxi to Intramuros. I meant to stay only a day in Manila before Banaue but thanks to Emily, Mayowa, Alds, Lena, Artem, I nestled for 7 glorious days on that brown couch. Best thing? Volunteering with the poor on True Manila. Tour is unreal! Go!


94%

Loved this hostel! It is a very unique place and they really make the effort to put the guests in touch with the "real" Manila. The staff were very friendly and helpful and have done a tremendous job in creating a laid back atmosphere. I would recommend staying for at least 3/4 days as it takes a bit of time to get used to the city and particularly this location; it gets better with time. The "treasure map" was a really nice touch, but I could have also done with a proper map when exploring.


100%

Located in the REAL Manila. Easy to meet other travelers. Truly a COMMUNITY. Aldrich keep up the great work man!


100%

This is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. When I arrived they were just going to go on a tour, I left my bag and joined them to see the north cemetary, guided by one of the volunteers, it was amazing. The staff is great and very helpful and the dorms are clean, comfortable and cool. But most importantly the atmosphere is great, there are good commonareas including a rooftop terrace with a pooltable. If you want a beer you just take one and make a mark next to your name on the wall. Love it.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location to explore in Manila and good community atmosphere. Big mix of people at the house and lots of people interested in socializing. Beer is cheap and breakfast for $1.50 is hot. Met some artists from Manila who were doing a mural for the hostel, it's great that Red Carabao supports local art. Kinda far from the airport but it's worth exploring the surrounding area!


49%

The hostel was a fun but there are some major issues. First, the location is far from everywhere so taxi price is going to cost you. Second, no hot water in the showers. Third, bunks are so thin and uncomfortable. Fourth, internet only works for a few hours in the early morning if you're lucky. Fifth, you can't go and come as you please without telling someone. They lock the door and you're stuck if no one is home. Staff were cool but didn't like the owner is the reason for the poor rating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear diary...

89%

Awesome time here, location may seem strange at first but it actually really cool! The staff was helpful and fun, I will definitely come back here next time I'm in Manilla!


100%

The Red Carabao is simply the best hostel in Metro Manila - awesome atmosphere, excellent host, great place, and close to the travellers' spots in the city.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I like the hostel in general and the staff is very helpful. I will go back again and recommend it to others.


100%

Red Carabao is like my second home! A place full of fun and laughter. Aldrich and Helena knows how you can enjoy your stay in Manila! I would definitely say that its more fun at Red Carabao! 😘😘😘😘😘

Owner Comment (Hide)
When will you move in so everyone can meet you? You know the Philippines like the back of your hand and people would kill to know your travel secrets!

100%

Warning! This place makes it clear that they don’t want people who don’t wish to “put out positive vibes” and experience urban life spoiling the barrel. Can anyone blame them? After all, what type of person would book a place called “Community” without any desire of joining one? It’s like a Republican crashing a hippie commune :) I get their goal and admire them for trying. Manila is a harsh environment for the untrained traveler and can cause breakdowns and self-loathing on severe levels.


77%

has a good atmosphere of and for creativity, flexibility and fun... it's a good starting point for your pinoy adventure :-)

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

While it's a bit of a hike to get to in the Manila traffic, the Red Carabao is a great hostel. You get to see Old Manila and very unique parts of the city. The staff are passionate & very helpful to make your experience in the Philippines (not just Manila) memorable. And the hostel itself is clean & safe.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
World-famous Banaue Rice Terraces is a bit of a literal hike to get to, yet everyone says it’s abso-freaking-lutely worth it. To anyone used to long-distance travel, going about the Philippines is a cakewalk, and we help all our guests plan a memorable trip in Manila and beyond. Our pleasure hosting you between your nights at the Shang-ri La and Mandarin Oriental!

100%

Manilla, Manilla! Irish and Weroh, we’re going to miss you and cheese sticks so much!!! Thank you for letting us join you you to Padis Point on our first night and then to House of the Red Couch on last night in Philippines! Ps: sorry to Richard the English guy for the hangover and to the Japanese for the early morning alarm! And screw the old boring Polish couple for not joining us! We promise to be back next year!

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

red carabao manila is not a transient roof, it is a home. warmth in its most genuine form.


74%

Helpful staff and happy to be with them in this 2 weeks. It is nice to go to the rooftop and enjoy the view and have a cig~

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Red Carabao is a big family, it’s feel like home, really have fun here. Will be back in the future! www.changyungta.com

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel is very inspiring for your creativity. Many creaters and artists are staying at this hostel. The space and the surrounding environment are also stimulating. You can visit to the local market easily and you can see comprehensively the chaotic metro manila from this location. I hope that you would touch a part of real manila through the staying.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Manila Hostels

Please give us your feedback