X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Red Carabao Community Reviews

2819 Felix Huertas Street, Santa Cruz, Manila, Philippines

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
231 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very happy, rooms we're super clean.. And I will be making a return.. Great included breakfast also..

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

the place to stay whilst in Manila. i've stayed in a few areas before and all of the best things are nearby (Chinese cemetery, Manila north cemetery, La Loma Cockpit, that road with all the lechon...) plus the owner is a really nice guy and will advise you on what to do in the rest of the philippines.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It’s a no whinging, no complaining hostel. Basically, just do as they say and no body gets hurt. To get the host's attention, just insert 75 cents for the first minute and 50 cents for each additional minute. If you say please, thank you and you’re such a good-looking host, you just might get "lucky" with you know who. Not that way, silly. "Best PH Hostel 2014" but I think they bribed Hostelworld... with love and affection. That’s it for my review. Sit back and relax or sit up and be tense. PG

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Security: very relax and safe. Location: quite easy to reach the hostel from airport if you get direction information or map before hand. It keeps proper distance from the commercial center, quiet. Staff: I have to say that Aldrich, the owner, is very helpful. He is willing to help everyone turns to ask help. He values guests' ideas and suggestions, positive or negative. Atmosphere: a guest told me that you feel like come to his house not a hostel. Ture.


66%

Felt a little judged by the staff. Was a pretty frosty welcome considering the hostel is pretty difficult for taxis to find. However clean and good homely feel for a long term stay perhaps. Overall nothing to write home about.


100%

Stayed here for 2 nights after meeting my friend in Manila. The staff were welcoming and the place had a real friendliness about it. Beds were very comfortable. would stay here again for sure!


100%

The ultimate party guesthouse if there ever was one! "3 SOCIAL ACTIVITIES EVERY WEEK OR YOUR BEERS ARE FREE GUARANTEE" meant always something cool to do with people. Not with the freshest rooms or freshest location but go there for the events they put on like pub crawls, swimming pool parties, dinners, BBQ/shisha/movie/reggae nights, city tours and concerts that fill the big wall calendar. See their Facebook to get an idea. Anyway beware of the crazy toddler named AJ who is also the hostel pet!

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

In 5 months of traveling 6 countries this is the most unique, fun guesthouse yet. Why? Atmosphere is extremely communal; expect to eat, sightsee, party together. I've always disliked cities but fell in


74%

Good clean hostel rooms, relaxed layout and friendly staff. The location isn't ideal. It's far from the airport and the location isn't safe during the night for a solo traveler. You pay less for the location! Overall hostel 7.5/10 Location 5/10

Owner Comment (Hide)
Get off the beaten path and get better stories!

100%

WHAT TO EXPECT: 1) A unique experience no different to CouchSurfing (you can stay free). 2) Do everything together (Omnia sunt communia). 3) Possibly enjoy the city. 4) Stay more nights than planned. 5) Free hostel shirts! Despite the increasing popularity of shopping malls and KFC among tourists in my hometown of Makati CBD, it’s not surprising backpackers still prefer the grittiness and authenticity of Manila. Read what local bloggers have to say: Goo.gl/mazbmc and Goo.gl/rwKWQo.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Good, clean hostel. Silly cleaning staff who went through some of our things when we were out. Good rooftop in a very dodgy part of Manila. Wouldn't go back, but that is mostly because of the city.


91%

Great hostel, great people, great atmosphere. The main bonus is Aldridge the owner, he is extremely helpful and a great laugh. His instructions on how to get to the hostel from the airport were incredibly helpful, especially when arriving in crazy Manila. He will also show you or provide you with maps and information on tours of the city and even itineraries for other parts of the Philippines, great guy with great ideas.


83%

This hostel is amazing! The atmosphere is so chilled and Aldrich is awesome! He's so nice and will help you with anything! We had some really nice nights up on the rooftop and I met so many nice people. This hostel made my stay in Manilla a really good experience and I'll definitely come back if I have the chance! Aldrich I hope the remodeling turns out how you want it to!

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I left Red Carabao after two nights stay with mixed feelings. Good points: Clean, well-equipped, good chillout areas, free wifi, information and advice everywhere and air conditioning. Drawbacks: I found security frustrating. Ringing a bell for the cleaner to look out the window and then have to come down. Get a keypad and issue a new code every day! I didn't find the location a problem but can see how some might.


80%

Yes yes yes, looking for a home stay on a 20,000 miles far a way holiday?? Well guess what..you've found it...Now now not in the Makati area but in Santa Cruz...Manila...Red Carabao Community is looking after it's travellers and not just what many other guest houses are doing. Thanx for the money, and find it all out by your self! Mister Aldrich is of the Red Carabao taking care of you!! Robert Boerleider X

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Aldrich was great! Takes you out and about to local spots and happenings around town!


100%

I've always thought that only silly tourists with nothing better to do write reviews for hostels. Are you one of them? Red Carabao is fun, clean, near bus stations and has a neat common area set-up, friendly neighbors, random activities and a hipster staff. Solo travelers will feel instantly belonging and instantly cool.

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

RED CARABAO is the best hostel I've ever seen in my life. Beautiful, cozy with friendly staff and very inventive owner who really cares about his guests. If you want to make new friends on Philippines, RED CARABAO is the right place to try to do it. It is situated in Santa Cruz where you cal see real Philipino life. Aldrich makes tourists to believe that Manila isn't a dangerous place, he is the man who makes image of Manila better and better every day. Thank you for your hospitality! Артем Заяц


97%

Great hostel, there's really nothing negative to say about it. Really enjoyed my stay here. Aldrich is the man!! If you need advice, tips of places to go see in and around Manila, Aldrich is more than happy to help you out. There's a games room too; pool table and table tennis. :)


89%

There is a reason, why Red Carabao has been rewarded with the Hoscar Award 2014 for the best hostel in the Phiippines! That reason is the Mastermind, owner, landlord, caretaker and manager Aldrich (or whatever he is?), who gives you an authentic, awesome and memorable experience of local Manila. He provides you with info, tips and general knowledge of how things work in town, so you avoid getting ripped off or scammed. I can only recommend this place for its amazing atmosphere and authentic MNL.

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Manila Hostels

Please give us your feedback