Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Red Emperor Bar&Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1471 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1471 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lunchbag
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2017
10.0

This hostel restored my faith in hostels. I originally booked one night and ended up staying 3 nights, so I moved around to 3 different rooms during my stay. I didn't mind since they have lockers for me to put my stuff while I went about my day! Each room was just as clean as the previous. The staff is constantly cleaning, whether it's doing laundry, mopping, tidying the common area, etc. All facilities were always spotless. Thank you for an amazing stay in Tallinn!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sonnie001
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Aug 2017
8.9

Had a great stay in Tallinn and in this hostel. Room was nice and showers/ toilets are really big. Great staff, big shoutout to the girl from Perth, was nice talking to you and good luck for your future plans. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.3

Good location near the Old Town and the port and railway station. Good lockers and bunks. Individual reading lamps and some more plugs in the dorms would make this place even better! Overall a very well run hostel, although slightly high price in comparison to many other places in Tallinn.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
10.0

Awsome place, loved the vibe and people! Will be coming back for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
8.9

Red Emperor was a very well- located and well-run hostel but the rooms were quite stuffy and weirdly hot for how cool it was outside. No sheets, just duvets, which added to the discomfort, but is a simple fix! The attached bar was a good time and very reasonably priced; despite the proximity, it wasn't particularly loud at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
8th Aug 2017
9.1

In general the hostel is very nice, I don't like the place where they put the computers though, there are wholes on the desk. The saddest thing is there is no socket near the bed, and I can't lie against the wall on bed to watch tv series or read book, cuz the bed is not next to the wall. The bar connected to the hostel smells a bit bad. However, the staff are very friendly, always smiling, got a lot of advice. kinda big common area, good atmosphere to meet people. :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2017
10.0

Love this hostel! Anastassija is so helpful! Ask her to sing 'Sign of the Times'!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th Aug 2017
10.0

Awesome little hostel, small and cosy but with a great vibe. Friendly staff who are always happy to have a chat. Clean with great facilities. Hostel happy hour has the cheapest drinks in town, and creates a friendly atmosphere which is great for meeting fellow backpackers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
8.0

For me the best thing about this hostel was the location on the edge of the Old Town by Viru gate. There's a RIMI supermarket across the street. The common spaces were kept very clean. The 4 bedroom dorm was a bit small and the bunk beds were creaky and shaky. The room was dimly lit and there weren't any bedside lights or plug ins. The common kitchen/lounge was quite comfortable although the music could be a little overbearing depending on who was working. It was a good stay overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st Aug 2017
9.1

The staff really make the hostel. Great social atmosphere. Really enjoyed my stay in Tallinn. Facilities could be better though (no lockers in rooms, no individual power sockets/lights, rickety old bunks, gets very hot and stuffy (but there is a small fan in rooms), no keycard access so staff had to come and open the door for you every time). But overall positive, good value and was one of the most fun stays during my trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.