Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Red Inn Court

  • 35B & C , Jalan Mesjid Kapitan Keling, Pitt Street, Penang, Malaysia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jun 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel! Nice, clean bathrooms and western style shower heads. "Shoes" for bathroom. Quite modern! Big beds in dorm - we stayed in a 4 bed - with individual shelves and built in locker. Excellent air conditioning w/ fan. Only real con was that our room was extremely tiny with little space to put our bags, but everything else honestly made up for it. Fruit w/ toast for breakfast, lovely! Perfect location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jun 2017
8.0

Nice having fruit available at breakfast. All staff didn't really converse except one guy who was very welcoming and helpful. Great location to the bar where you can drink with the locals for cheap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2017
8.3

the hostel is clean and the location near to the center. easy to catch up free buses just infont of the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
2.9

Place has tons of bed bugs in multiple rooms and mice. Everyone at the place is at least 50 years old so not the best place to meet people. Reception didn't know how to get to Penang hill also had trouble getting deposit back. Very cheap but not nice.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2017
7.7

Hostel is strategic center of the town..but the man receptionist was asking me to give RM 1 for Tax. The dorm price room is RM 30, so I give him RM 31. I don't know about the tax...hhmm strange & deceiver receptionist i guess.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
8.0

Overall good. You also can pay with credit card

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • arwrose
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2017
7.1

The hostel is really clean and the staff are friendly but the internet was so bad! Very hard to research our days without it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Katrina8
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
8.6

It's a great location, close to the ferry and all that's going on over at Love Lane etc. Buses are super cheap and take you to all the attractions. The room was actually really comfortable but there was literally only room to get in and out.. one at a time. Not exactly an issue but it surprised us! Bathrooms are good, showers are nice and if you are early there is also fruit at breakfast. We made use of the lounge with films too. Overall a HUGE bargain and I would 100% stay again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Mar 2017
7.1

Pros: good location, clean facilities, tv with movies in common room, breakfast included; staff were ok Cons: breakfast is only toast, jam and watermelon; Wi-Fi was pretty bad; room was pretty crammed, mice on the first floor, mosquitos in the room (not sure where they came from)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.9

Good value for money - the rooms are clean and have air con and fans. The free breakfast was good (fruit, toast, tea/coffee), and the building has great personality. Atmosphere lacked a little though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.