Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Red Lantern House

  • No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,389 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,389 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Red Lantern House Located at No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing.
Red Lantern House
China
Beijing 100035 No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District
86% 1389
39.9401461 116.3747406
Red Lantern House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sarahtreby
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.3

Good: Courtyard was beautiful and a great place to meet people. Hutong location really good, food is great and drinks are reasonably priced. Talkative pet cat at the hostel is fun. Bad: Staff weren't very helpful and it felt like I was bothering them, bed was really uncomfortable. My back is a bit sensitive and I woke up in a lot of pain both mornings after sleeping - might not be an issue for most people. Dorms are also very noisy - creaky beds and creaky floorboards.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Schulte_rvs1727
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
29th Jul 2016
7.7

Decent hostel, with two metro stations within 15min walk. Beds were OK. The big plus of the hostel is the common room, which is always full of people at night. However the hostel is kinda old and the location is not optimal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2016
10.0

I stayed at the Red Lantern with my partner for 5 nights. It was brilliant, prior to this we travelled round Asia for two months and this was by far the nicest hostel we stayed in. The place was beautifully decorated. The courtyard area in particular was a great place to chat and have a beer. Rooms were a good size, never had to wait for a shower. Very good experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
26th Jul 2016
8.0

Great basic hostel. Friendly staff, affordable prices and decent location in Hutongs. Would be much better if the common space was better air-conditioned.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
3.7

The staff had no customer service sense, even for chinese standards. Breakfast was chaotic and unorganised with many complaints of wrong orders etc. Staff also seemed rude and unhelpful most of the time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
8.0

+ We stayed in this lovely hostel for 2 nights and had a great time! First of all we were hosted by extremely nice and helpful staff, who gave us directions, cool spots to visit, etc. They suggested us the Jianshanling trip which was a perfect choice!!! Unfortunately we couldn't get a double private ensuite, but the double twin ensuite was decent, nothing fancy. So that was OK. We felt very comfortable, the all over atmosphere was lovely, and the location convenient!!! - No lockers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.1

Great welcoming staff, very quiet and familial atmosphere. Even when it rained incessantly, was a good place to hang out during the day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
9.1

Interesting location amongst the Beijing Hutongs. Room was large and clean. The hostel has an attractive front garden where guests may be found relaxing. Decent place for the price. Only negative would be that the staff seemed a little disinterested - possibly as I was travelling with someone Chinese they felt they didn't need to talk to me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
8.6

Cute, comfortable, great people. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
8.3

The yard is fantastic, really a lot of red laterns and full of Chinese style furnitures and a lot of living goldfishes!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.