Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Red Lantern House

  • No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,431 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,431 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
Red Lantern House Located at No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing.
Red Lantern House
China
Beijing 100035 No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District
83% 1431
39.9401461 116.3747406
Red Lantern House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Nov 2016
6.6

Only a good place to stay if you already have everything organised, needs at least a jug in your room if no kitchen area..8rmb for a cup of tea. Will get you hot water if you ask. Area good, great street food.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2016
8.6

Nice hostel with a big patio with aquaria. Lies in the middle of a Hutong area, offers a very on-time pickup service. Bottomline: Everything ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stefaanmeyers674
  • Belgium, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
28th Oct 2016
9.7

very much OK easy to find, 5 min. walk from subwaystation. particular neighbourhood, a real & living hutong ! friendly & helpfull staf, THANKS ! no complaints whatsoever. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andreatchoum7321
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
6.6

The staff isn't very professional. When you ask them something, they give you the feeling that you're disturbing them (they behave like teenagers going through their teenage crisis). We were expecting an important phone call on the evening, and they told us about it the next morning, after several requests. It seems that there is no communication between the members of the staff. Plus, you have to pay for every little service: using the phone (local call), getting a map of the city, call a taxi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Sep 2016
6.3

Great location in a nice byst HUTONG with lots af food markets just around the corner. Close enough to city center and to sevwral Subway stations. The hostel was ok, altough very thi walls, hard to slep from all the noice (our rom was just next to the lobby). Hard beds, not the cleanest place. Staff was friendly and relatively good at english.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2016
7.1

I stayed here 6 years ago and it looks the same. The bed was comfortable but I like very firm beds. The rooms are musty with little ventilation and in my room there was a hole in the ceiling with falling particles. After I complained it was patched up. The staff many students are remarkably positive and helpful in translating. The outside looks really dilapidated but only a block away is a very interesting lower econ class market and shops hutong street. It is to the left of the entranceway

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
6.6

The biggest deal for me was the service. The lady at the front desk did not smile once and I didn't think it would that much of a difference but it really does. I asked for a coffee refill after breakfast and she always seemed mad that I asked for anything. Other than that the interior is very cool, rooms are ok, not a super clean place but survivable. It's a bit of a walk from the subway so coming in and going out I had to carry my bags a bit. Overall decent value for the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Loved my stay in this beautiful hostel, great atmosphere and lovely open spaces for meeting fellow travellers. Great location with a lovely hutong to explore and many eateries to try nearby. Located near to a few metro stops so easy to get around and explore Beijing from.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Sep 2016
9.4

Beautifully decorated hutong (courtyard) hostel in traditional Chinese style. Located in a non-touristy area close to Houhai lakes and three subway stations. Good breakfast and dinner. Feels very safe, although no lockers for valuables are available. Staff were helpful and friendly overall, some more enthusiastic than others. Good atmosphere - sociable but not a rowdy backpacker hostel, guests of all ages. Good wifi connection and social space. Clean bathrooms. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
7.1

Overall good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.