Hostelworld.com

Red Lantern House

  • No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing, China
Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
Red Lantern House Located at No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing.
Red Lantern House
China
Beijing 100035 No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District
89% 1345
39.9401461 116.3747406
Red Lantern House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2016
9.4

Great staff very friendly. Happy to help and spoke good English. Quite a homely and chilled vibe compared to city youth hostels - this hostel was only a subway away from the bustle of the city if you wanted that and a short walk from bars around Houhai lake. Nice friendly cat also 🐱

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
9.7

This is a beautiful little hostel. The decor and atmosphere are great and staff are very helpful. The only thing to be note is that (as of 1st April 2016) the directions from the railway station sent in the confirmation email from hostelworld are not correct - it sends you to the right metro station but out the wrong exit. Email them and ask for the right directions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
9.4

Excellent location right in the middle of a scenic hutong. The hostel is located in a reconverted temple, and it's quite beautiful. Good, cheap meals and drinks. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I truly appreciate some of the conversations I had with them. My only complaint is that my checkout was a bit confusing; I had to leave early in the morning, and I had trouble leaving the premises because I hadn't been forewarned on how to unlock the gate. This was eventually resolved. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2016
8.9

This place is a backpacker dream. IT was perfect to sit and chill with a few other travelers and have a few beers. The family is amazing and the kids are so sweet, I really enjoyed my stay. It can be hard to find at night, but the location feels so comforting. Definitely a good pick

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice comments about our hostel and we will try our best to make Red Lantern House even better. We also would like to wish you all the best in the future.

29th Feb 2016
9.1

This is a wonderful family-run place in a non touristy hutong. They provide locks for the dorm rooms and there's blazing hot water in showers. It won't be Dow everyone (no outdoor patio or heat in the common room) but it felt very traditional and the staff and family are really very nice. Also there is a huge koi pond under construction in the main room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice comments about our hostel and we will try our best to make Red Lantern House even better. We also would like to wish you all the best in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Feb 2016
6.3

Beautiful place and staff were friendly. The pet dogs that were there pooped and peed around the hostel which wasn't nice and the owners children were very loud throughout the day and night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi,Miss, I am sorry to hear that you felt bad for our chidlren althought they only showed up in the guest house for a few days in their vacaction while it wa low season with few guest. I also apologize for my dogs which might annoyed you. , They will not be there from now on. Anyway, we wish you could enjoy your stay when we update your booking from one bed in dorm to a room for yourself , without any extra cost. And we can saw that you were happy to meet other tourist in our house. We also wish you could make another reasonable review for us in the furture. Best Regards.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
26th Feb 2016
8.9

Hostel is in a really cool area, a 'hutong', part of the old town it's very different to the centre of town. Really close to two metro stations and there are lots of nice street food places and restaurants nearby. Staff are really friendly and can organise lots of trips for you (to the great wall, etc.) at reasonable prices.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2016
9.4

We ended up stayed at Red Lantern for two weeks and really enjoyed it. We stayed in a dorm the first then moved to a private room. There was a lock on each room door although there were no lockers in the dorm rooms. The whole family was really friendly and it was nice to be in a home environment. The food at the restaurant was good and the beer affordable. It was close to metro stations for several lines so what you couldn't walk to you could easily jump on the subway. Highly recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice comments about our hostel and we will try our best to make Red Lantern House even better. We also would like to wish you all the best in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Feb 2016
9.4

Had a lovely stay - would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice comments about our hostel and we will try our best to make Red Lantern House even better. We also would like to wish you all the best in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2016
9.1

Great staff. Every one is listening to our needs. The location is easy to find and near all the famous place of Beijin thanks to the line 4.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice comments about our hostel and we will try our best to make Red Lantern House even better. We also would like to wish you all the best in the future.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.