Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Red Lantern House

  • No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd May 2017
7.7

Great location, within walking distance to 3 subway stations. Lovely courtyard to relax in and the breakfast is nice. Staff are friendly although not always easy to locate. Overall a pleasant hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd May 2017
6.9

Pros: good location, very clean Cons: staff don't really speak english, no atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Apr 2017
9.7

I loved my stay at the Red Lantern House! The hostel was amazing and is well connected to the metro. As it was located in the hutongs, it was easy to access delicious and inexpensive food and experience the hutong life. The staff was super friendly and helpful and even managed to help me to get in contact with the police after I got scammed. If I would have to say anything negative about the hostel, it would only be the lack of lockers, but besides that I would highly recommend staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2017
8.9

Great location with great and friendly staffs. Rooms are spacious and hostel is antique style, and nicely located in one of the Hutongs. Subways are all nearby and best of all, you can find food all close by.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel and beautiful surroundings. Felt at home straight away. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Great location down an interesting hutong. Thanks very much to Rex, Tracy and the gracious cleaning and cooking staff who made the effort to make everyone feel welcome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
10.0

All around fantastic! My Beijing trip was made even more memorable in part due to the warmth of the staff: Tracy and Rex at Red Lantern. They were attentive, engaging, social, and eager to assist in every way possible. I will definitely return to Red Lantern on my next Beijing trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2017
8.9

Nice staff, helps you with everything. Breakfast is not included, but a good option if you don't want to go out and eat. I did the Great Wall at Mutianyu tour with them and it's great. Own driver for the day and an option to include breakfast and lunch. You have the time on the actual wall to yourself which I preferred. Not really any atmosphere at the hostel, but it was low season when I was there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
8.9

Beautiful hostel with a quiet atmosphere. Staff were extremely helpful. My private room was very nicely furnished. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.0

Excellent location as there is 3 metro station within 20 minutes' walk of the hostel. There are lots of convenient stores and restaurants nearby. Staff were friendly and it feels very secure with a electronic locked front door then another lock for the room. Atmosphere was very chilled out and relaxing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
7.7

Good beds and showers, all very clean. Dorm rooms can't be securely locked as it's paddlock and with more than 1 person there's not enough keys. No lockers either. I found the staff a bit short and off putting but that said the hostel itself did everything I needed it to do! No vibe, but Beijing in Winter is pretty quiet so won't hold it against them

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.