X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Red Lantern House Reviews

No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1198 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

It's a wonderful hostel. The atmosphere is brilliant, good showers, good aircon. They offer a cheap laundry service, have a small restaurant included (for lazy tourists) and have very friendly and well-informed staff. We booked a tour to the great wall with them. It was excellent. Also, it's situated in a busy, non-touristy street and relatively close to the metro.


89%

Enjoyed my stay. Hostel has a nice family-run vibe, and is located a short walk from the subway. It was very clean, comfortable, and the staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. Would stay again. One thing - the internet was very slow and often not working. There are plenty of places to find wifi, but it was annoying when trying to look stuff up to do or how to get places.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The over all atmosphere and accommodations were great with just a couple places where they fell short. First, the wifi was very weak and unreliable. We couldn't make use of it during the 2 days we were there. Secondly, though they apparently offer some sort of food menu, we were never told about it or could find it - we just saw others eating. It seems they are missing out on an opportunity to make extra money if they tell guests and publicize it.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I have traveled from Africa to India and all over Europe and China, the Yellow House was by far the best place I have ever stayed. Breakfast was wonderful and so clean! Highly recommend! July 21, 2014

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We were impressed with the friendliness of all the staff, especially the drivers.


100%

I always really enjoy staying at the Red Lantern. The staff are very friendly, helpful and accommodating and it's set in a peaceful location. I love walking the surrounding hutongs, shopping at the street markets and strolling round the nearby Xihai and Houhai lakes!!!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

If you want a sanitized experience go stay at a Hilton or Ramada or whatever and visit the hutong outside the lama temple But if you want a value for money, a clean and comfortable room, the convenience of english speaking staff, handy location (5 min walk from subway with the trick being to head left when coming out of exit B), and what seemed to me to be an authentic (everyday Beijinger's) hutong experience where everything is still humming at 11 pm, go to the Red Lantern

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Feeling at home!! Extremely nice atmosphere, kind people, nice building and rooms, simple and clean. Delicious Chinese food. Highly recommended!


74%

Located in a traditional hutong, not so far away from the subway station. Good housekeeping. Efficient train ticket service. My single room was around 10m², with AC and a good bed. Nice courtyard. Quiet by night. The main interest of this place is the on-demand food service, for a reasonable price. Breakfast can be bought for around Y20. Good cheap beers also.


83%

I had a very pleasant stay, nice and very friendly people

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was nestled in a lovely hutong, giving it an added charm. The staff were friendly and helpful when we had an early morning check out. The only downside was that we had issues connecting to the wifi in common area.


100%

The staff were incredibly helpful and Friendly, writing us out directions and bus route to take on the first day without us asking. Hostel had a great atmosphere, cheap beers, a great courtyard and communal Spaces and bikes to hire which was our best day by far!


71%

The location is goo for many spots.


83%

The staff were extremely helpful and very nice. The location is down a dark alley and a bit far from a subway station to lug bags around, but doable. The place was very cute and had a nice atmosphere, but the rooms had no windows and were very stuffy. Good showers though!


100%

A genuinely nice place to stay for a bit of traditional hutong flavour. Easy to bike around, easy to find places to eat, easy access to tube stations and convenient buses, friendly and helpful staff that can arrange almost anything you need for a shorter or longer stay. Reliable airport pickup, nice good value for money tour to the Great Wall (Mutianyu), Peking Opera, nightly sight-seeing tours...

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Me and my girlfriend had a really nice stay there. The place is beautiful with all the red laterns. I can recommend this place. Thank you guys!


63%

its located in a hutong,very traditional decoration,a lot of red lanterns and fish.it not far away from heihai,but a little bit far away from subway station abt 15mins walk.and the hostel smell weird,maybe its the fish food,dont know.the chairs in the hall are uncomfortable,sofas are better .the eight ppls room is big and homy,but its more expensive than other hostels in beijing.if the price is lower ,i will choose this hostel again.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Bathrooms were smelly, but I think it is a general issue with Chinese sanitation system


97%

We really enjoyed our stay in Red Lantern House in Beijing. The Manager of the place and the rest of the staff were very friendly,always ready to help, to give us directions how to get to the places we wanted to go, and give us all sort of helpful advises. We were very satisfied with the way all meals were served, adding they were very tasty. We are going to recommend the hostel to all our friends, interested in going to Beijing.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

we had a good stay in the hotel. Quite small is the family-room for 4 persons. The staff is friendly and allways wants to help. It's a pitty that the staff in the restaurant is not very efficient. But still friendly.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback