Hostelworld.com

Red Lantern House

  • No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing, China
Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,357 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,357 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
Red Lantern House Located at No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing.
Red Lantern House
China
Beijing 100035 No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District
89% 1357
39.9401461 116.3747406
Red Lantern House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
9.7

I loved it here! I felt safe and it's close to a lot of beautiful places to visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
8.3

It is about 15 minutes walk from the nearest metro station. Very nice common area!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd May 2016
7.7

My partner and I stayed in a double bed ensuite at Red Lantern Hostel. It was fairly basic, but it met all of our needs: the staff were friendly and helpful; it was well located; reasonably quiet; safe and clean. Unfortunately, there was no kettle, but my partner was pretty chuffed that there was a decent hairdryer! We would certainly recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
8.6

We loved staying at this hostel! We actually booked more nights with the staff directly because we loved it so much! It is in a great local area in Beijing, the hutong it is located in is so awesome, and it is close to three different metro stops so you can get anywhere in the city! The staff are so friendly and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to have an authentic experience in the old, historic area of Beijing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
8.3

Wonderfully ramshackle place, with courtyard, fountains, many fish, and one very old cat. Rooms are basic (no bedlights for example), but the atmosphere and location more than make up for that. Friendly and helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Apr 2016
8.9

It's so chinese staying in a Hutong and it's awesome! The stuff is really nice, they like to chat with you, repass your day and give you advices. However as it's an old building you can't really lock the dorm's door without during the night, if somenone isn't yet home or hasn't arrived yet. It didn't bother me much as the hole place felt cousy and home like, but suppose it's not everyones security level. -Aspecialy as there aren't any lockers in your room to put yo

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Apr 2016
9.4

Great staff very friendly. Happy to help and spoke good English. Quite a homely and chilled vibe compared to city youth hostels - this hostel was only a subway away from the bustle of the city if you wanted that and a short walk from bars around Houhai lake. Nice friendly cat also 🐱

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
9.7

This is a beautiful little hostel. The decor and atmosphere are great and staff are very helpful. The only thing to be note is that (as of 1st April 2016) the directions from the railway station sent in the confirmation email from hostelworld are not correct - it sends you to the right metro station but out the wrong exit. Email them and ask for the right directions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
9.4

Excellent location right in the middle of a scenic hutong. The hostel is located in a reconverted temple, and it's quite beautiful. Good, cheap meals and drinks. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I truly appreciate some of the conversations I had with them. My only complaint is that my checkout was a bit confusing; I had to leave early in the morning, and I had trouble leaving the premises because I hadn't been forewarned on how to unlock the gate. This was eventually resolved. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2016
9.1

Not a party hostel but people were hanging out drinking at tables. Seems likely every one was respectful and was quiet after 11pm. But it's a great environment. I love the layout of it. Looks really cool inside and outside as well. About a 10-15 walk to 2 different stations. Not much around the neighborhood but it is the hutongs after all. Recommend if you wanna stay somewhere cheap and have a little R&R

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.