Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Red Lantern House

  • No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
Red Lantern House Located at No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing.
Red Lantern House
China
Beijing 100035 No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District
85% 1411
39.9401461 116.3747406
Red Lantern House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
6.6

The biggest deal for me was the service. The lady at the front desk did not smile once and I didn't think it would that much of a difference but it really does. I asked for a coffee refill after breakfast and she always seemed mad that I asked for anything. Other than that the interior is very cool, rooms are ok, not a super clean place but survivable. It's a bit of a walk from the subway so coming in and going out I had to carry my bags a bit. Overall decent value for the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Loved my stay in this beautiful hostel, great atmosphere and lovely open spaces for meeting fellow travellers. Great location with a lovely hutong to explore and many eateries to try nearby. Located near to a few metro stops so easy to get around and explore Beijing from.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Sep 2016
9.4

Beautifully decorated hutong (courtyard) hostel in traditional Chinese style. Located in a non-touristy area close to Houhai lakes and three subway stations. Good breakfast and dinner. Feels very safe, although no lockers for valuables are available. Staff were helpful and friendly overall, some more enthusiastic than others. Good atmosphere - sociable but not a rowdy backpacker hostel, guests of all ages. Good wifi connection and social space. Clean bathrooms. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
7.1

Overall good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
8.9

Really atmospheric hostel right in the hutong! The hostel is built around a courtyard with coy carp in the pool - it's lovely, if a bit dusty. Very obliging staff and the hostel organises good, reasonably priced tours (we went to the great wall). Wish we could have stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
9.4

Our 4 night stay was absolutely amazing. Its located close to a metro and to one of the best places to pick up musical instruments. The airport pick-up and drop-off service was a life-saver. Everything was clean and the atmosphere is crazy, but very cool. Stay here if you love koi fish! The only down side was the staff. Sometimes they could be a little stand-offish and when we asked for help to purchase a plane ticket, they only wanted to sell a really expensive one. They were very money hungry.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2016
10.0

This Hostel is the most stunning and well-decorated hostel I have ever stayed in. I am excited to come back to Beijing with my friends and I will definitely introduce them to the Red Lantern Hostel as the experience made our time in China brilliant. If you want to experience China the right way, you should stay somewhere like here that feels more traditional. The staff are pleasant and kind, they will do everything they can to help you plan a trip to any of the sights!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
8.9

A well set up hotel/hostel. Plenty of communal space to hang out in. Clean modern rooms. Helpful staff. Very nice breakfasts. Lovely location in the hutongs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Aug 2016
7.1

Neighborhood is pretty nice and authentic. Metro is a 10 min walk away. You'll find shops and also some small restaurants. The common room is also nice with red lanterns and fishes. Stayed in 4person dorm, which was quite small, no security lockers. Rooms with windows to the street are really loud and you are woken up by voices. Showers are awesome though! They make you pay for city maps and the bar is pretty expensive as well (coffee: 15 Yuan). Hint: take airport express (= train) for 25 Yuan

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
6.6

Great, homestyle atmosphere close to subway and with easy access to major Beijing attractions. The hutong it's located in also has delicious bao zi and bread in the mornings, very cheap and easy to pick up. The tour package for the Great Wall at Mutianyu was wonderful, and I met some other interesting people staying at the hostel! Some of the staff were friendly and helpful, but the desk was not always manned. There was also some confusion about arranging a taxi for departure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.