X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Red Lantern House Reviews

No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1205 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

+: Great location near some nice "Hutongs" +: Great western style breakfasts +: Rooms are clean and basic and AC works very quiet, although beds are hard (as almost everywhere in China) +: Courtyard looks amazing and the common area is very cozy and welcoming +: Showers/toilets were clean whenever I went -: Wifi was up and down, bit annoying -: Staff is helpful, but not as helpful as you experience in most hostels throughout China


94%

It's a wonderful hostel. The atmosphere is brilliant, good showers, good aircon. They offer a cheap laundry service, have a small restaurant included (for lazy tourists) and have very friendly and well-informed staff. We booked a tour to the great wall with them. It was excellent. Also, it's situated in a busy, non-touristy street and relatively close to the metro.


89%

Enjoyed my stay. Hostel has a nice family-run vibe, and is located a short walk from the subway. It was very clean, comfortable, and the staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. Would stay again. One thing - the internet was very slow and often not working. There are plenty of places to find wifi, but it was annoying when trying to look stuff up to do or how to get places.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The over all atmosphere and accommodations were great with just a couple places where they fell short. First, the wifi was very weak and unreliable. We couldn't make use of it during the 2 days we were there. Secondly, though they apparently offer some sort of food menu, we were never told about it or could find it - we just saw others eating. It seems they are missing out on an opportunity to make extra money if they tell guests and publicize it.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I have traveled from Africa to India and all over Europe and China, the Yellow House was by far the best place I have ever stayed. Breakfast was wonderful and so clean! Highly recommend! July 21, 2014

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I was placed in the "garden" hostel of the two they owned. It was secluded even though being in the middle of the hutong. I booked a single room and it was very good size and clean. The staff at the garden one did not speak English very well.


86%

We were impressed with the friendliness of all the staff, especially the drivers.


100%

I always really enjoy staying at the Red Lantern. The staff are very friendly, helpful and accommodating and it's set in a peaceful location. I love walking the surrounding hutongs, shopping at the street markets and strolling round the nearby Xihai and Houhai lakes!!!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

If you want a sanitized experience go stay at a Hilton or Ramada or whatever and visit the hutong outside the lama temple But if you want a value for money, a clean and comfortable room, the convenience of english speaking staff, handy location (5 min walk from subway with the trick being to head left when coming out of exit B), and what seemed to me to be an authentic (everyday Beijinger's) hutong experience where everything is still humming at 11 pm, go to the Red Lantern

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Feeling at home!! Extremely nice atmosphere, kind people, nice building and rooms, simple and clean. Delicious Chinese food. Highly recommended!


91%

Warm welcome. Very efficient travel agency services. Gorgeous Chinese atmosphere. Beautiful garden with fishes and birds. Western breakfast included. Located in the hutongs’ district not far from public transportation (bus, metro) but somewhat difficult to find when arriving the first time. Close to a number of good restaurants.


74%

Located in a traditional hutong, not so far away from the subway station. Good housekeeping. Efficient train ticket service. My single room was around 10m², with AC and a good bed. Nice courtyard. Quiet by night. The main interest of this place is the on-demand food service, for a reasonable price. Breakfast can be bought for around Y20. Good cheap beers also.


83%

I had a very pleasant stay, nice and very friendly people

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was nestled in a lovely hutong, giving it an added charm. The staff were friendly and helpful when we had an early morning check out. The only downside was that we had issues connecting to the wifi in common area.


100%

The staff were incredibly helpful and Friendly, writing us out directions and bus route to take on the first day without us asking. Hostel had a great atmosphere, cheap beers, a great courtyard and communal Spaces and bikes to hire which was our best day by far!


71%

The location is goo for many spots.


83%

The staff were extremely helpful and very nice. The location is down a dark alley and a bit far from a subway station to lug bags around, but doable. The place was very cute and had a nice atmosphere, but the rooms had no windows and were very stuffy. Good showers though!


100%

A genuinely nice place to stay for a bit of traditional hutong flavour. Easy to bike around, easy to find places to eat, easy access to tube stations and convenient buses, friendly and helpful staff that can arrange almost anything you need for a shorter or longer stay. Reliable airport pickup, nice good value for money tour to the Great Wall (Mutianyu), Peking Opera, nightly sight-seeing tours...

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Me and my girlfriend had a really nice stay there. The place is beautiful with all the red laterns. I can recommend this place. Thank you guys!


63%

its located in a hutong,very traditional decoration,a lot of red lanterns and fish.it not far away from heihai,but a little bit far away from subway station abt 15mins walk.and the hostel smell weird,maybe its the fish food,dont know.the chairs in the hall are uncomfortable,sofas are better .the eight ppls room is big and homy,but its more expensive than other hostels in beijing.if the price is lower ,i will choose this hostel again.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback