Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Red Lantern House

  • No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,376 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,376 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
Red Lantern House Located at No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing.
Red Lantern House
China
Beijing 100035 No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District
90% 1376
39.9401461 116.3747406
Red Lantern House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.1

Great welcoming staff, very quiet and familial atmosphere. Even when it rained incessantly, was a good place to hang out during the day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
9.1

Interesting location amongst the Beijing Hutongs. Room was large and clean. The hostel has an attractive front garden where guests may be found relaxing. Decent place for the price. Only negative would be that the staff seemed a little disinterested - possibly as I was travelling with someone Chinese they felt they didn't need to talk to me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
8.6

Cute, comfortable, great people. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
9.1

Friendly and helpful staff. Our flight was delayed but Red Lantern organised for the taxi driver to come at the right time and had someone let us in - they were lovely and friendly even though it was 2am!😀 Lovely socialising space. Nice mix of traditional decor with all the modern amenities you need: wifi, good showers, hairdryers, lots of plugs to charge phones etc. Overall very happy!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2016
8.0

Pretty good. Wi-fi a little patchy but our devices are potatoes. Cheap water, cheap beer. Cool fish and cat. Does have Western breakfast you can pay for. Location is great for cheap food, skewers and Chinese 'breakfast burritos' Lake to the east is a nice place to go as well and theres some shopping on the main st. The location isnt that convenient for Beijing as a whole but a ten minute walk from the station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
9.7

I stayed here for two nights and absolutely loved it. The hostel is located by the hutongs and by major roads/subway stations. The area is very quiet and there are decent restaurants nearby. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
9.4

This hostel is situated in the old part of Beijing , the location for me was a little difficult to find. The building was quaint, its theme was very Chinese with hanging lanterns to Koi carp, I had a separate room with air conditioning and the towels were provided. The staff were very helpful, the excursions where very reasonable, food was very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.6

I really enjoyed my stay at Red Lantern House, specially because of the Atmosphere. It has a big hall in the middle of the hostel where everybody get together. The decoration and the sounds are very relaxing. They have a lot of golden fish and some comfortable seats. We stayed in a room for 4 and it was big enough for us. Maybe there are some small things that could be improved, like the sheets and covers (I found a lot of women hair in mine). The bathrooms should have a locker.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
10.0

Friendly and helpful staff! Love the atmosphere and very comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
9.1

At the Red Lantern Hostel there is a beautiful lobby/lounge area as well as quaint comfortable rooms. The atmosphere of the Red Lantern Hostel goes beyond expectations for the price. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful. We were a group of 8 and the staff ensured we were all in the same room. Cheap beverages & souvenirs available

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.