Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Red Lantern House

  • No.5 Zhengjue Hutong, Xinjie Kou, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1478 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1478 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
9.7

Overall very nice, lovely atmosphere and decoration

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2017
8.9

Very nice and cozy place in the middle of the Hutong. Enjoyed my time there very much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
10.0

I came with my mom and sisters and we loved our stay at Red Lantern House! You can see what daily life is like in the hutong area, and the location is between three convenient subway stops. The hostel itself has an authentic, old Beijing feel. Very clean. Family-friendly atmosphere. The staff was also really helpful and friendly. If you're looking to avoid the noisy, late-night, bar-centric hostel that's common in the most popular areas, this is your spot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
10.0

Absolutely amazing space. The hosts are nice and their english is good. The interns are even really awesome people. The location is bikeable from the center of beijing and the facilities are incredible. I can to Beijing while working remotely and I found I could even do my work from in the courtyard. Probably my favorite hostel I have ever stayed in! 10/10 would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
8.6

This was a cute little hostel tucked away in a fairly good location. The rooms were pretty basic but comfortable enough for a few nights stay. We were a little disappointed that some of the information that they displayed about trips and tours was very out of date. We ended up eating a couple of times at the hostel due to illness and the rain preventing us from venturing out and the food was good value for the price. Cute kittens and carp pool was a bonus surprise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • asdaymond6585
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
7.1

Our stay at Red Lantern House was comfortable. Our room was spacious and aircon worked well. Great common area and beers were exceptionally cheap! Staff were friendly but little English was spoken. WiFi rarely worked which was frustrating. There are also no kitchen facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
8.0

Regarding quality, I would say it is better than your average Beijing Hostel, but not one of the best. Facilities are alright. The courtyard is great, but was not very busy and people not very communicative. I personally really liked the area and it's great to walk around in the Hutong 胡同 around the place - might be not the same experience for travellers who don't speak Chinese. Just 15 mins from the Houhai 后海, some other major places need a bit longer, but most of them easy to reach by sub.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
8.3

Very nice Hostel in good location. The atmosphere was nice but somewhat sleepy. One real issue: the instructions for coming from the airport are lacking. After you get of Airport bus #2 (and it's not defined as a shuttle) you need to cross the main road to find the correct station for bus 22. Moreover the dairy queen sign goes off ~11 PM so look for the street name.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cheska11
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
8.6

Great experience. A lot of nice shopping and food around that area. Mostly surface cleaning, underneath the beds were huge dust bunnies. Accommodation is very hands off. They give you necessities, and will speak when spoken to, but not the most sociable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
10.0

Close to the Houhai lake and really opens up an opportunity to witness everyday life in a hutong. The interior was designed in an "Old China"-style that felt pretty authentic. On top of that, the staff was helpful and spoke English pretty sufficiently. Full marks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.