Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Red Nest Hostel Valencia Reviews

Calle Paz 36, Valencia, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained


2186 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Had a great stay! Would recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Valencia!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Thanks for choosing Purple Nest! We hope to see you again. Best regards, Purple Nest Staff


100% recomended

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , 100 thanks!! Best regards, Purple Nest Staff


Very good location and the staff were alway willing to help. Very clean and a big well equipped kitchen! The walking tour was very good fun . if I came back to Valencia I would stay there again. Totally recommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ana, It was very nice to met you. We'll welcome you everytime you'll come. Best regards from Valencia and from the Staff. Purple Nest Staff


The kitchen is well equipped and laid out and the staff are kind and friendly. The decor is bizzare in places with 19th centrury stucco ceilings stained with cigarette smoked drapped with net curtains. The location is good with easy access to a large supermarket and within a short walk of the station. But beware of the Museum of Sciences - the archetecture is truly wonderful - breathtaking indeed. But the displays are pathetic - the standard of curration utterly abysmal.Not worth the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visiting us! It was a pleasure to meet you! :) Our decoration in the hostel is quite modern, but the building is old so it's a mixture of diffrerent vibes. We hope it has something for everybody's taste! Sunny greetings from Valencia! Saara Receptionist


It was winter, so maybe it had something to do with thad, but as a solo traveler i didn't feel any intusiasm from the staff. They seemed to be bored, and for me it makes all the difference in a hostel. The facilities were nice, tough, nothing to complain. Except for the bathroom, where you couldn't lock the doors while you were getting dressed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for you comment! We want to apologize if you got the feeling that our staff was bored. It is true that now it's a low season and that might have affected but the most important job for us is to keep our clients happy and comfortable. We promise you that most of the times our staff has a big smile on their faces and they are really outgoing people. We apprecitate your honesty and take your comment seriously and will learn from it. Sunny greetings from Valencia! Saara


The bed was terrible. Wifi not working inside the room. Not enough plugs. Though it's cheap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for leaving your opinion here. There are some spots in the building where the wifi doesn't reach, but it does work in most parts and in all common zones. We are aware about the problem of not having enough plugs in the room and we are currently trying to find a way to put more. Anyway, in our common zones we have plenty of plugs for everybody's use! :) We are wondering why you thought that the bad was terrible because our beds are new. Kind regards, Red Nest


Really nice atmosphere and it was a comfortable stay in the hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your comment! We were happy that you passed by our hostel! We wish you a happy New Year 2015! Best regards form Red Nest


The location of the hostel is really nice: you can explore the city centre by foot. In addition, there are a lot of points were you can hire a Valenbisi (bike) for a week (only €13 for 7 days), so you can bike to the beach! The staff is very kind: we were welcomed with a sangria upon arrival! And you can ask them eveything! The first night, it was very cold (december), so we asked for an extra blanket, no problem! I would definitely recommend this hostel to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Dankje vell! Thank you for your comment It is important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! That is the most important thing for us :) We wish you merry Christmas and happy New Year! Warm greetings form Red Nest


The hostel is located not near to any metro/train station. Walking takes abt 30min to the station. Room is clean and nice. Heating is minimal but good enough for the small room. Toilet is ok but the hot water takes some time to come out so gotta let the water run for at least 5min before U can shower. Wifi is irregular, saw some ppl loitering on the stairs just to use the device... Overall the stay was alright if u are too demanding.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment! The metro station Colón is 5 minutes away from the hostel. We wish you had told us that you had problems finding the closest metro station, so we could have helped! :) We are very sorry if it took too long to have hot water from the shower. We will definitely check that! The wifi works in most parts of the building. Often people use the wifi on the stairs in order to have more silent place to skype etc. Best regards from Red Nest


Not very social. Good place if you just want to chill out and sightsee. Showers were pretty average and not very clean!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your comment! We are very sorry to hear that you though that our hostel was no very social. Now we are in low season so the hostel is not full every day. Anyway, we still continue organising walking tours, pub crawls and weekend dinners so that our guests have a good possibility to get to know each other and familiarize with local places and culture. We will check the cleanlines of the showers, thank you for mentioning that. Kind regards from Valencia


I wasn't crazy about this place, especially considering it was the #1 rated hostel in Valencia on this site. The facilities weren't very well kept, and the staff seemed uninterested in their clientele. I was pretty uncomfortable with our walking tour guide Eduardo who spent most of the tour cat calling women on the street and asking us very personal questions the whole time which made me really uncomfortable. It was very unprofessional and just skeezy. Great location though, so its not all bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
After reading your comment I felt really disappointed and honestly your words made a big impact on me. I'll find out what it was that failed in our daily work and made you have so negative image us as,your comment is one of the most negative that we have received in 11 years of work. As head reponsable of Red Nest I want to give my sincere apologies and ask u the favor of writing me an email about the things you think went wrong during your stay so we can fix them.


Nice stay, great kitchen area and lots of common rooms good staff wifi didn't reach the rooms.


Great location and really helpful staff. No atmosphere, but my be better in peak season. Terrible showers, and very noisy beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visiting our hostel! :) We are in a low season now, so that affects a little to the athmosphere, but we do our best to keep all our clients happy and entertained. We have 2 common areas, with tv, billard and a bar and we organize free walking tours and pub crawls. We don't know why you didn't like the showers as they are nice, but we will check your bed and make sure it won't make noise in the future :) We send you warm greetings from Valencia!


great place for solo or groups. Clean with decent wifi and really friendly and helpful staff. Great kitchen if you want to cook and great location if you would rather go out. Would easily stay here again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! We want to thank you for your nice comment! It was very nice of you! We wish you a great wintertime and hope to see you again in Red Nest! Take care :)


Very nice employees! I really appreciated being able to use the facilities for the whole day on the day I left. Everything was kept clean.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jennifer! Thank you so much for your comments, are really helpful, to continue improving in: the Hostel, the activities that we have it, the staff.... We hope to see you again! Kind regards from Valencia :) Red Nest Staff.

1 2 Next » last »
(35 results)

View all Valencia Hostels

Please give us your feedback