X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Red Palm Reviews

5, Tengkat Tong Shin, Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1445 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Really great chilled out atmosphere. Extremely helpful staff. Location was out of the way enough for it not to be too noisy but also just round the corner from main street food area. Could do with a re-paint, also steadier bunk beds

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff intially seemed a little rude, but turned out to be very nice. Lots of good information regarding local area and travel etc. laid back vibe, free breakfast and tea etc all day. Clean and very secure, right by golden triangle and played good music in chill out area.


94%

It's great to have a stay. Wish to be there again soon.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Proximity to kl center, food, market..mall/nice pepole/ clean but expensive if you are in group , there is a lot of gest house in the same road less expensive for 2.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I would say the place is good and the location is excellent. Near to Monorail Imbi Station. The staff are accommodating and nice. Definitely I would go back to stay here.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a home hostel, they have very few beds and it's run by its owners who are all the time present. They have cats so don't go if you have any allergies or don't like them. The air con is turned on only from 8 PM to 8 AM. Breakfast is ok. The owner was very helpful when I asked how to get to my next destination.


86%

Super good location, like 5 mins walk to the shopping malls. Clean, cozy for a fair price. Wish I had time staying longer


80%

A small guesthouse but that makes it very feel like home. Nice staff and great location.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent communal area of hostel, staff were extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming. Bathroom, room etc all comfortable and clean. Only wish someone had mentioned the fact that the rooms don't have ceilings and the walls are made of thin chipboard! I pay extra to have private rooms because I'm a very light sleeper but there's not much point in doing that when you can hear every creak, sniffle and conversation from the neighbouring dorm! Otherwise excellent, would stay at again

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A comfortable and safe homely stay. The hosts are kind, friendly and helpful, the rooms have a fan and are lightly air conditioned at night, the sheets are very clean and even ironed. There is a sofa next to a big screen TV, the best coffee bags, drinking water supplied, breakfast of toast butter and jam with cornflakes and milk and occasional fruit, there are 3 toilets and 2 showers, I never waited more than 2 mins for any facility, It's genuine will do anything they can to help you Meredith


89%

Nice Place

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

My fourth time staying at Red Palm, it's my place of choice to stay in KL, lovely homely guesthouse in a great area, just a few minutes walk from various shopping areas and a very short walk to Jalan Alor which is a street full of restaurants in the evening.. Great stuff! :)


100%

Excellent hostel, right in the heart of Bukit Bintang, with the added bonus of great friendly staff. Highly recommended.


97%

I like this place...it's like a familly. Hostel is nearly every things in the center of the city. Is juste perfect !

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very cozy and friendly hostel, If you are looking for something chill, come here.


97%

The people that run this place are great! It was a nice little sanctuary from the "crazy" of getting to KL. It's a pretty chill place, with the Head Lady really taking time to chat with me about my plans and making suggestions for my day. There are only two bathrooms/showers, so that put a strain on when the morning coffee kicked in, but otherwise I had a hard time leaving. Wished I could have stayed longer.


83%

great location! right in the middle of the busy area, shops, bars, transport but without the noise! has more of a 'at home' feel to it so if you want to have a quiet, relaxing stay, this is it... but head outside and live it up! grab a drink and sit and watch tv on the cool couch/bean bags down stairs. only 1 shower but there aren't a lot of beds so its alright. i'd would stay here again no question!


97%

Excellent hostel, though a bit hard to find, and a slight walk from basically all metro stations. Still, near markets, and lots of good food. Highly recommend


91%

Nice set up of the hostel. Feels very homey. The location is perfect. Walking distance from one of the main hawker streets with great Chinese food. And right next to a very good Indian restaurant.


74%

Not enough toilets and shower rooms. One on the 2nd floor and 1 on the ground floor for at least 15 persons if full house.

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback