X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Red Palm Reviews

5, Tengkat Tong Shin, Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1453 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Excellent location with many local eateries just down the street and shopping centres less than ten minutes away. Good security. Hard mattresses. Squeaky bedsprings. This isn't really the place to meet people. It seemed quite cliquey and the owners, who live on the premises, appear aloof. A smile and a little small talk can go a long way.


71%

The hostel is nice but it only has one AC. So it could be a little warm.


80%

Such Nice place and well located. facilities were very clean. I recommend

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really great chilled out atmosphere. Extremely helpful staff. Location was out of the way enough for it not to be too noisy but also just round the corner from main street food area. Could do with a re-paint, also steadier bunk beds

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved this place! So homely! Staff so friendly and helpfull! Very clean! Will definetly be going back here!!!

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel, well situated. It is just a bit hard to find the place (there is no sign to indicate where is it

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff intially seemed a little rude, but turned out to be very nice. Lots of good information regarding local area and travel etc. laid back vibe, free breakfast and tea etc all day. Clean and very secure, right by golden triangle and played good music in chill out area.


94%

It's great to have a stay. Wish to be there again soon.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

No outstanding complaints. My primary issues are that the A/C is only turned on at night (there isn't a unit in the dorm room, so you rely on the air to spread from the other rooms) and the atmosphere wasn't super conducive to meeting other travelers (it may have been that there just weren't that many other people there, but the common room didn't really lend itself to be social in design) .


86%

Proximity to kl center, food, market..mall/nice pepole/ clean but expensive if you are in group , there is a lot of gest house in the same road less expensive for 2.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I would say the place is good and the location is excellent. Near to Monorail Imbi Station. The staff are accommodating and nice. Definitely I would go back to stay here.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a home hostel, they have very few beds and it's run by its owners who are all the time present. They have cats so don't go if you have any allergies or don't like them. The air con is turned on only from 8 PM to 8 AM. Breakfast is ok. The owner was very helpful when I asked how to get to my next destination.


86%

Super good location, like 5 mins walk to the shopping malls. Clean, cozy for a fair price. Wish I had time staying longer


80%

A small guesthouse but that makes it very feel like home. Nice staff and great location.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent communal area of hostel, staff were extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming. Bathroom, room etc all comfortable and clean. Only wish someone had mentioned the fact that the rooms don't have ceilings and the walls are made of thin chipboard! I pay extra to have private rooms because I'm a very light sleeper but there's not much point in doing that when you can hear every creak, sniffle and conversation from the neighbouring dorm! Otherwise excellent, would stay at again

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A comfortable and safe homely stay. The hosts are kind, friendly and helpful, the rooms have a fan and are lightly air conditioned at night, the sheets are very clean and even ironed. There is a sofa next to a big screen TV, the best coffee bags, drinking water supplied, breakfast of toast butter and jam with cornflakes and milk and occasional fruit, there are 3 toilets and 2 showers, I never waited more than 2 mins for any facility, It's genuine will do anything they can to help you Meredith


89%

Nice Place

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

My fourth time staying at Red Palm, it's my place of choice to stay in KL, lovely homely guesthouse in a great area, just a few minutes walk from various shopping areas and a very short walk to Jalan Alor which is a street full of restaurants in the evening.. Great stuff! :)


100%

Excellent hostel, right in the heart of Bukit Bintang, with the added bonus of great friendly staff. Highly recommended.


97%

I like this place...it's like a familly. Hostel is nearly every things in the center of the city. Is juste perfect !

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback