Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reef Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.2
Rating 282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 5.1
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.3
BOOK NOW
5.2
Rating 282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 5.1
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2017
10.0

The best hostel I've stayed in in Cairns. All the people staying are really friendly and sociable. The BBQ night on a Thursday is always a good night. Would definitely only ever stay here or Lazy Duck next time I visit Cairns

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
6.0

I have never stay at such a disgusting hostel. It was like staying in a filthy frat house. Booked a male door and was told when I arrived that they don't even have male dorms. No onsite manager and people were loud and partying all night long. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. The staff was rude and not helpful at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • JessicaStephens
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Apr 2017
5.1

Room was super untidy, lots of long term backpackers who dump stuff everywhere. Toilet paper always ran out, mould in alot of places, I didn't have access to a key for 4 days so I had to leave my room unlocked. Kitchen is filthy by the evening. Security is good though but no lockers in room and there is a social atmosphere, but only good for people who like to get stupidly drunk and eat junk food and have shit conversations.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
2.3

HORRIBLE..Total false advertisement. No clean space what so ever.. "free wifi, ice cold air, free breakfast!!" The wifi didn't work, there was no air and the fan in my room didn't work, and the was no free breakfast. Not to mention the dust and mold on the wall. I am going to give this place a horrible review as I had a horrible stay. Sorry to be so harsh, but it was extremely unenjoyable and totally falsely advertised.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Mar 2017
3.1

Dirty, no AC as advertised, loud. No staff around at night, difficult to contact staff off hours, no staff during open hours so I could not check out. Tools hours to solve key problems or check in/out problems. Staff here do not care and management is nonexistent.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • saracat8
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2017
2.3

Terrible facilities, the majority of the staff are quite rude. I went and told them that they put us in a 3 bed room instead of 4 and I got shooed out because 'it was the beginning of his shift and he didn't want to deal with it'. Facilities are also bad and the atmosphere is average but if the staff were nicer it probably wouldn't be a problem.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jan 2017
4.6

The place is literally falling apart in the inside. The couches are utter filth and have holes and broken legs. The ceiling literally fell off when I was there. Also the rooms flooded with water too. Rooms were OK and atleast had working WiFi. It's cheap for a reason.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
4.0

Service was miserable. Opening hours are bad. If you needed someone there was no one there. Bad info about tours and shuttles. Too many smokers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.