Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reef Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 5.6
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 5.6
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.6
Reef Backpackers Located at 140 Grafton St, Cairns, Cairns.
Reef Backpackers
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 140 Grafton St, Cairns
62% 258
-16.9202485 145.7728913
Reef Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Oct 2016
4.6

Cockroaches in the kitchen, mold in the shower, mattresses looked disgusting and staff who checked us in was not very friendly and didn't even manage a smile once.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Oct 2016
6.9

All in all okay for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
3.1

Horredously dirty, so unhygenic like living in a garden shed. First room massive gap under door leading to outside then massive cockroaches mouldy dirty cups!!! Get moved up stairs and never seen rubbish and dirt all over the floor so much cleaners had to come and clean it infront of us and it was disgusting. Was staying with two German girls and they had to go and buy new bedding as they were that grossed out by it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • GipsyJaeger
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th Sep 2016
4.3

Pro's: Good pool out back, spacious kitchen, 5 min walk from the lagoon, chilled out TV room. cons: The fridge stank, check in is 4PM! the beds are horrific, worst sleep I've had in Australia (ive been here since January) and the rooms feel like a prison cell. just no life to them at all. overall, needs some improvements, in the most important departments, but could have potential if these things are seriously addressed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
5.1

Most dirty hostel I´ve ever been to. Water constantly coming from the sinks, even though they are off. Dirty kitchen, dirty bathrooms (!!!!!), dirty common areas, dirty bedrooms, an aircon that could only be turned on late at night. It´s okey for the price and if you´re only sleeping there, but I would expect it to be decent looking, not looking like a public toilet. We couldn´t check in before 4pm or something, even though we arrived around 9 and the hostel was almost empty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Aug 2016
4.9

Nowhere on Hostelworld does it say you need a credit card to check in.Mine got stolen, although I do have card details, but common sense doesnt override their "policies" apparently. You can put someone's card details into the card machine and take the $20 deposit! So I borrowed a fellow backpackers card. Saw no staff apart from night manager who didn't answer phone, when finally checked in, he was not on this planet, totally vacant. And perhaps just BUY ANOTHER FRIDGE?! I could go on and on.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2016
7.7

The room I stayed in was consumed by the other 3 guest's belongings. Trash and clothing were everywhere with minimal to no space to put my belongings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • tanyaclaire123
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Aug 2016
6.9

Possibly the cheapest hostel in cairns which is why I chose it. The rooms are large and spacious and the bathrooms and kitchens are clean. The common area needs some serious updating though, sofas are ripped and scummy. I also think the atmosphere here is a bit lacking but I still had a good time and met some good people who I ended up doing the coast with. If you're looking for a decent hostel that's cheap this is the one, but if you can spend the extra bucks there are way better hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
6.6

Very messy room... hot shower and washing facilities good though. Limited reception opening times caused a few problems for me!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
4.6

We arrived to find the staff had messed up our booking (made two weeks prior) and therefore didn't have us in their system. The manager dealt with the issue unprofessionally and put us in two separate staff bedrooms which were messy. Worst of all, the next day one of us awoke to find a huge blood-like stain had soaked trough the bedding from the mattress below. When highlighting this issue we were told a refund would be impossible and the manager was unreachable nor did he call back as requested

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for staying with us and leaving feed back we had some issues with your booking as you booked the 8 bed dorm so you were upgraded to 4 bed dorms at no extra cost the mattress and linen was examined and we found that the only marks were very fresh still wet marks on the top sheet no marks were found on the mattress or bottom sheet so we cant expain why you woke up with blood like marks on your chest

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.