Hostelworld.com

Reef Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
5.8
Rating 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
5.8
Rating 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 5.3
Reef Backpackers Located at 140 Grafton St, Cairns, Cairns.
Reef Backpackers
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 140 Grafton St, Cairns
58% 223
-16.9202485 145.7728913
Reef Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Apr 2016
9.1

Great place to stay! Close to the town. Staff were great, helped me looking for work. Would definitely stop here again. If I didn't have so little time on my visa I would be staying longer. Atmosphere is ok, if everyone comes out of their room. When I arrived everyone was foreign and in groups but I got in with the workers there once they made an appearance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for staying and leaving feed back we do the best we can for all the guests enjoy your work in the road house

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
6.0

The smell is quite annoying in dorm room but I've get used to it... You need to share two bathrooms with more than 10 people so sometimes you need to wait for it... But with this rent what more can you ask for!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for staying with us and leaving feed back sorry you had to wait for the bath rooms but this another 4 on the second lvl

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Apr 2016
7.4

Great stay in reef backpackers, location is great and staff were very helpful with extending my stay. Rooms maybe could've been a little cleaner but it didn't really bother me. Lots to do around cairns so this hostel is a good base :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
4.0

It was really dingy. The mattress was all stained when I took the linens off the next morning. The shower knob came off in my hand when I went to shower and the tiles where cracked. Just disgusting over all. The key to let me in the place unlocked the door but the door would never open from the outside. I had to wait until someone came out to get in. The only good thing about this place was the free wifi. Was nothing that it looked like online, save your money and stay at the lazy duck next door

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, most of the staff are friendly and it's reasonably clean although there are ants in the kitchen. Good location, 5 or 10 minute walk to main streets and lagoon. Nice area to chill out in. Free breakfast is good but too late if you're going on trips/getting morning buses. Wifi is free and decent connection

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Mar 2016
7.1

Reef backpackers is a nice hostel if you're looking for something cheap. The kitchen is quite old and so are the facilities and some things are a bit broken, but you can manage. We stayed there with a friend for three nights, the rooms are air conditioned and cool, really good in the hot weather. There is free breakfast in the mornings from 8.00. The hostel was pretty quiet in the evenings and there were no activities really, but the people staying there were nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2016
9.7

It was really comfortable hostel with good wifi and nice stuff. There is a breakfest - toast bread, jam, milk, cereals and coffee but you have to hurry up to get it. Its quite clean there and hot showers work very well :D i was surprised positively😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Mar 2016
4.3

This was a really dirty hostel. Rooms are disgusting! There was dirt in the toilets and shower, and it was still there when I left two nights later. I had sand flees in my bed. The guy from the reception is really friendy

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • megaz123
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Feb 2016
7.4

This place is a testament to how much bad stuff is overlooked when a place has excellent wifi. This place needs a serious clean, a coat of paint and some serious renovations to make it more appealing. The location is brilliant and the wifi is better than my wifi at home but this place is dirty, no other word for it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2015
7.4

Very quiet when I went it wasn't a busy time but that was okay with me. There's not much to do at the hostel and it's hot so doors and windows always stay open but the staff is friendly, it's clean, and besides the uncomfortable matters it's worth the money for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.