X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Refugio Hostel Reviews

Rua das Laranjeiras, 125, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
124 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Awesome Adventure theme hostel. Nino the owner help me with my staying. Very organized hostel, clean, safe area, very good place to meet people if you traveling alone. Do the Dois irmaos hike, Daytrip and the favela tour. Metro just 2 blocks from the hostel to anyplace in town. City maps contain huge information about Carioca lifestyle and amazing and secret spots to go. Thanks everyone and see you guys in a few months

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was my first time in Rio and couldnt be better. Nino, Sam and Priscila make my stay awesome. They gave me amazing tips in Rio, free maps, breakfast and lunch are very good. Good area to live, safe with a many options of transportation, (metro and bus). Baths and living lounge with very good music. One big Uhaa for the Daytrip tour (you will save money in the end) Stay at Refugio Hostel.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

I stayed here twice during the world cup, once for 2 nights and once for 5 nights. The bed allocation system is poor. During both of my stays, I arrived back in the hostel to find someone else sleeping in the bed that was given to me by the staff. This was very annoying. This can be easily solved by putting a sticker on each bed. A number of lockers were broken too when I was there. The hostel is in a good location and is less than a 10 minute walk from the Largo do Machedo metro stop.


100%

Refugio hostel is great, good location, only 2 blocks from Metro Station, very good Staff! They will make you feel at home and give you the best tips on what to do in Rio! The tours have a good price as well. They serve an amazing breakfast. I would recommend this hostel to everyone!


100%

Good place to stay, nice and kind staff, always helping you. Good area to live ans stay, subway 2 blocks from the hostel. showers hot and good, the clean ladies up to work hard. They serve an amazing breakfast and there is a bistro with Brazilian food for lunch. I'd recommend to stay there.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great Hostel! Great people! My experience was during the world cup which ment there was already a lot of action around town and games to watch, so I will look foreword to coming back at a less exciting time and going on hikes and rock climbing and doing all that kind of stuff

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great work girls and guys! Keep up! Regards, geoffrey from belgium


94%

We had a great stay at Refugio! I will definitely stay there again! We were there during the World Cup and it was amazing!

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Top place, chill staff - chill atmosphere, highly recommended


89%

Everyone at the front desk was very helpful and went out of their way to help the visitors! Nino and the rest are awesome! Thank you!


69%

Nice in general. That had some problems when paying with credit card and they charge you with 10% if you want to change money to local currency.


66%

Hot water not always available. My locker had a broken door. Internet didn't work on the shared computer. I was in the top bunk in room 6, basement which was right up against the ceiling.


100%

I loved this hostel. Great Staff, (Nino and Sam thanks for amazing tips) Comfortable beds, safe area, amazing terrace and Chill out area. Very good kitchen, baths are clean. They need to boost the wi fi (got some problems on the day i was there). I truly recommend this hostel.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Everybody was really friendly! They even grilled to see the brasilian game, felt like home!


86%

We were very satisfied. Breakfast was great a was the staff. I would return

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice place, good location

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

this hostel could benefit from some sort of soft seating like sofas or beanbags, didn't like the plastic bed covers as it was very sweaty, and the 10 bed dorm was cramped with a low ceiling which made it a bit claustrophobic on the top bunk, but it's a nice old building so not much they can do about that! the staff were really friendly & helpful, and the kitchen area was really good - thanks :-)


94%

Super friendly stuff, safe area, good breakfast, safe luggage storage, convenient for bus or metro to go around, nice place to stay.


97%

excellent staff, good location, nice historic building, good facilities. Only minus for me was the plastic matress cover (I don't like sleeping on that).


100%

Awesome Hostel, safe area, Staff (Sandro and Ninho), Great Facilities, Baths are Clean, and beds are comfortable. The whole staff work hard, and the manager Ninho show us the best tips to do in town, hikes, parties and cultural tours as well. On the weekend, he made a barbecue with free caipis for everyone! Stay here if you want a genuine experience!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback