X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Refugio Hostel Reviews

Rua das Laranjeiras, 125, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
166 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Good hostel. Very clean, good wifi, free towel and good breakfast. Lovely roof terrace to sit on and kitchen well kitted out. The staff were particularly helpful. Would happily stay again.


60%

Hostel parece ok, mas detalhes fazem a diferença. O atendimento é ok, os banheiros não foram limpos, a cama é boa! localização longe da praia. Faltam algumas coisas.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

We enjoyed our stay at refugio, friendly staff always up for a laugh..great common area, all you can eat bbq on some wknds for 25 reais pp. great clean wash rooms at a good size, the dorm bunks are solid so you dont feel the bed will collapse during your sleep. The door handles on the dorms we stayed in were always falling off, they were temp fixed buti think they should just renew them. Basic breakfast. Help yourself to beer whenever and just pay tab on departure. All in all i would stay again!

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I've been at this place for a couple days. The staff is really helpful and friendly. this hostel is located in a very good and safe neighborhood, with a lot of things to do. It is close to the subway system and there are a lot of bus routes you can take to go a lot of places in the city. I stayed in a 10 people bedroom. The room had very nice beds with individual bed lamps , and very good closets. The wifi is really good, and fast.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I really loved that hostel, and I will surely return. I thought the rooms were big and clean and there was a lot os spots to chill out. The employees were amazing and service excellent. I recommand it to any backpacker, it's really amazing. -xxx-


94%

Highly recommended hostel. Great location in safe residential neighbourhood but close to metro so you can get anywhere in city very easily. Really helpful reception desk staff. We'd stay here again if we returned to Rio.


94%

It's a really nice hostel to stay in. The 6 beds room is not too small. The staffs and location are pretty good:)) highly recommend 👍

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is located in a very nice building in a pretty neighbourhood only 5 min from a metro station. The matresses are really soft, could be a problem if you have back issues but everything else was perfectly fine. We decided to stay one night more. Staff is nice and helps you with everything. Internet didn't work well in our dorm but in the rest of the building there wasn't any problem. Nice open kitchen and terrace.


91%

I had a great time here. I felt safe staying here & to commute around was easy. The set up and approach is novel compared to other hostels i've visited. A rather calm atmosphere when I was around, & that's exactly what I was searching for. The staff was very helpful & friendly. I only hope they develop a stronger climbing community or related activities in the future for people actually interested!


100%

Helpful and friendly staff, good breakfast. Refugio hostel is an amazing place to meet other travellers, they have these great common areas. They offer different kinds of tours, but the City Tour recommended by the hostel is a must do, excellent guide and you visit all the main hotspots in once. The neighbourhood is nice, close to the metro station that takes you anywhere you need to go.


97%

I had an amazing time at the Refugio Hostel! Whenever I came back from an exhausting day in Rio as soon as I entered the hostel I felt like home. The people do an amazing job preparing a very good breakfast, offering various activities in and around Rio and helping you to enjoy your time! Definitely my number one recommendation in Rio de Janeiro!

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great value for money. Seems that the owner already travelled a lot, so the hostel is really well thought in every problems that normally you find in another hostels. The bed is confortable and clean, the space between the beds is bigger so you wont knock your head. There is a spot and a light in every bed. Bathroom is clean, but had some problems with the hot water. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location.


91%

It is located in a very good neighborhood. Near the subway and a bus station which you can visit almost everyplace in Rio.


91%

My favorite of 3 hostels in Rio. Really nice atmosfere. I was in a small room with 6 beds(dorms), good lockers. Nice common area's. Breakfast was good, only pain in the ass too wait for new breads to come all the time, further also nice. The location is in between the center and the beaches, easy to access by metro. Also there's a minibus going to the crist statue from the square closeby.


69%

Staff was nice but our room had wet walls and was smelling bad!


97%

Awsome place! Kind staff, great value for money!

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

I regret to have stayed at refugio hostel, in spite of all the good comments i have read on the hostelworld website. The room where we stayed was really really small, full of humidity fungus. The window was so small than only very few light was entering in the room. In a 3 days stay, i couldn't manage to have warm water in the shower at night... luckily the others backpakers where all very nice and the people working there also. the terrace is also very nice.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It was THE BEST- quiet when I was there so I didn't experience a huge party atmosphere but the two busy nights I experienced-BBQ night and free caipirinhas night was really welcoming and fun. All the staff are super helpful and there is ALWAYS someone on the desk 24/7 it's super safe and handy to everything- including metro. Dorms are great- clean, good mattresses with covers that keep it super clean. Bunks have a lot of space between them so you never bump your head. You can cook onsite too. :)


100%

This is a kind of hostel that makes you understand better why you like travelling so much: not only does it have great location, design, cleanliness, comfort, but the people staying there, the owners, the staff, the atmosphere in general keeps you reminded of the beauty of traveling places and being among travelers. All in all, a place for travelers made by travelers. Try staying a few nights more to give yourself time to encounter and enjoy this atmosphere!

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel has a very good environment. They recently opened the bar and eventually they make free caipirinha nights. Other than that, the staff is really nice and helpful. Five minutes away from the subway station, and situated in a very nice neighbourhood. Once a week they have some hiking at the Dos Irmos hill. Comfy beds and nice terrace. I definitely recommend staying here. Refugio Rocks!!!

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(80 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback