Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reggae Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jun 2017
7.7

Good hostel with great security and central location. Don't expect a pool because it was an inflatable thing that wasn't even setup. The breakfast was nice for the price. The rooms are basic but clean. Overall good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Kenya, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2017
7.1

It rained for 3days during my stay there,and the small living space got very crammed especially at mealtimes. It would help to build a roof over the outdoor sitting space ,like the ones made of clear roofing sheets or canvas which still let sunshine in or a few small outdoor parasols which can also add much needed shade when sun is too much 😎

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
8.3

Nice place to stay if you're in Kingston. The location is good, it's close to the busstation and to some shops. The staff was nice and they can give you great advice for what you should and shouldn't do in Kingston and the rest of Jamaica. The hostel itself was clean, Nice garden where you can hangout, good kitchen and free breakfast! I had a good time in the Reggae Hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We look forward to seeing you again!

  • enricoquilico2878
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2017
9.4

My stay at the Reggae Hostel was excellent!!! I spent an entire week there and it far exceeded my expectations. Nikki, the manager, is one of a kind and will take incredibly good care of you. Thank you for contributing to one of the best vacations I've had. I highly recommend the hostel to anyone visiting Kingston because you cannot go wrong.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We greatly appreciate your review and we are so happy you had a great stay!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
29th May 2017
8.3

Great staff, chill vibes. Nice selection of breakfast when all the items are there. Good location in a residential area, near some parties and places to get good food. Thanks for a great stay!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much for your review, we greatly appreciate it!

  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd May 2017
8.3

I really enjoyed the back yard where a very nice atmosphere was created. Staff was very helpful with directions and also when I asked to move at the same hostel in Ocho Rios for a night. Location is good but Kingston is chaotic if you do not know the city so I would not spend many nights there. Join the others in the hostel and go to a Dance Hall!!! Good breakfast, you are given the materials to make eggs or pancakes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.0

Rooms were comfortable enough and the place was very safe security wise. They ran lots of day trips and nights out and in for everyone to hang out. Only down side was a serious lack of hot water, even for a hot place cold showers are just not pleasant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your review we greatly appreciate your feedback!

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
10.0

One of best staff super treatment especially Gilbert

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review..we hope to see you again soon!

14th Feb 2017
7.4

Not a bad place, staff members were mostly pleasant. Staff member on duty when I arrived was unnecessarily rude to the taxi driver. More could be done with literature at the desk or giving guests an idea on where to go or what to do. It is an older hostel, first one ever built in Kingston, expectations should be minimal but a little more attention to cleanliness and maintenance and the place could be better again. Bar area in backyard is great to share a drink and exchange stories at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Feb 2017
10.0

This was a great hostel to stay in Kingston! It was easy to get to from the airport, even by public buses to Halfway Tree Station which is about a 10 minute walk from the hostel. The space out back is great for hanging out and making new friends. I would recommend staying on a Friday night when they have local live music. Staff are super friendly and helpful. I would come back here if I was to ever stay in Kingston again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so happy you enjoyed your tsay and for taking time out to give us a review, We hope to see you again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.