X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rest Up London Reviews

172 New Kent Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
523 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

it was clean and secure.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The place is extremely clean, staff is friendly n helpful. room is great. location is perfect. The only thing I didn't agree with was lockers. you have to pay every time you open the locker to check your luggage. It should be a daily charge n u open locker anytime you want. It is a great place xxxx


86%

Spotlessly clean, but room very small. Didn't realise there was no wardrobe/drawers. However if you just need a place to sleep for the night it is ideal. Location on a busy main road means traffic noise but then again this is London! Staff very helpful and a great cooked breakfast.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Awesome location, great staff ,dorms were really affordable and full of friendly faces. The only slight negatives were no kitchen and had to pay for Washing. However the location made up no kitchen as there are small restaurants all up new lent road.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location, nice staff, nice common room and good services. The only problem was that our double room was too small: we couldn't open our two luggages at the same time because there was no enough space on the floor.


31%

looks like an army in the rooms, and the hostel looks like a hospital. not worthed. I went there in aug 2014 i was 22 i m brazilian from sao paulo

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Good hostel except for one thing: there is no place to plug things in the dormitories, and the ones in the common areas are always busy because lots of people stay in the hostel.


60%

Its very clean and shower was awesome in 8 bed ensuite. Also lots of power points in the room. Has laundry. But Common room sign "No food no alcohol" (even though it has a food dispenser in it). No kitchen, No on site motorbike parking even though they have space. You're early for 3pm check in? You can leave your bags here no problem :-) .. 2 euros non refundable no way around it. :-( rip off lockers. Breakfast isnt free. Socially dead. Wifi unreliable. Very hot to sleep.


60%

Very noisy and hot hostel with single travelers placed on same floors as foreign school parties. The young people were unsupervised, Smoked in rooms, and were making noise to 3 am. The rooms were badly ventilated with a small window and became unbearably hot and stuffy. I have stayed in many hostels across London and know what to expect given the costs of such places but this hostel was without a doubt the worst hostel I have stayed at and would I would never use it again.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

We thought the Rest Up was expensive considering it basically a youth hostel.You had to pay for towels and a 10 pound deposit for each key which was refunded. The place was noisy and a lot of the youth there did not show respect for others and our daughters were spat on by drunk guys whilst using the internet. Loud music was played in the room next door. The showers were too hot and rooms stuffy and humid as no air conditioning and windows were locked to a small opening. No we wouldn't return.


91%

The Wi-Fi doesn't work in the rooms and the layout of the hotel is a bit confusing, that being said everything else about this place is great. The staff was very nice, it's very close to the elephant and castle tube station, and there's a small eatery called Five Star just down the block with amazing fish and chips. I will be staying here again in the future.


54%

I find it difficult to understand why a cheap white towel has a charge of £2.00, when I pay almost £180, for 2 nights in a private room for 2 people. Its hard to sleep with the road noise without double glazing also with the flood light shining onto the windows all night long. One member of staff couldn't be bother to take my money for 2 coffees, and told me to ask his colleage next to him, when he was doing nothing. I expect 2 single beds in a twin room, not a bunk bed.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Despite the location, cheap dorms and overall cleanness of the facilities, not recommended. The building leaves much to be desired in terms of design: between an agonizingly fussy elevator and stairwells locked for the upper floors, it was ridiculously frustrating just trying to get around. However, the incompetence of the staff was what really made it an unpleasant stay. Also, the only lockers require you to pay each time you open the locker, which at 2-3 pounds each time adds up quickly.


86%

The great thing at Rest Up is space! Between the beds, even in 20 people dorms, in the common rooms, outside: it is not a cramped youth hostel and that's great. Plus the staff was friendly so definitely a place to stay when strapped for cash.


91%

I would suggest putting like minded people in the same dorms, where possible. For example 6 of 8 people in our dorm had to creep around the room 99% of the time as two people slept late in the mornings and early at night. They told us to be quiet and turn off lights numerous time when we always whispered and only used the light from our phones to see where we were going. Not the fault of the hostel of course but might ensure someone else's stay is that little bit better! :)

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Young hostel with very simple and small rooms. Used the twin-room with own bathroom. Small, but clean. Staff very polite, friendly and helpful.


63%

The accomodation is handy for seeing central sites. The private rooms are quite small but all you need to rest! The place was generally very clean, however We did have Ants in our room. The Staff suggested we close our window to keep them out (28degrees outside, small room, no aircon/fan) which we did but the ants could still get in through cracks in the window frame. Apart from this our stay was fine.


49%

I wasn't impressed. I booked a 4 bed female dorm, but the room was like a prison cell. It was so small the 2 bunk beds were almost touching and the mattress was plastic. I didn't like this place, overpriced for what you get and not all that clean.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

An unauthorized person was sleeping in our room the night we stayed and we felt very insecure. When we told the receptionist the next morning, she did not intend to do anything about it.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A hostel very quiet, easily accessible by public transport in the city ... The staff explained to me in detail how to get around the city and in the hostel. Service and cleanliness OK!!

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback