Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rest Up London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 1682 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 1682 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2017
2.6

My bedding wasn't fresh when I arrived. It either wasn't changed or someone had been lying in it. The dorm was cramped and stunk. The wifi is appalling. Barely worked in the communal areas and the fact it wasn't a available in the rooms was terrible. I would not stay here again. Also having to pay extra for a locker wasn't ideal either.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2017
2.9

Don't have blood stained sheets, or hair on them still. Male the charging ports accessable to the top bunks. Nicer staff who don't treat you like you're dumb. The photos on the internet make the rooms look slightly larger. The location was pretty out of the way.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2017
6.9

The hostel was lovely and central, the rooms were clean - small but perfectly alright. We had no issues with noisy neighbours but the traffic noise was not at all dulled by the windows. Paying for breakfast there was not worth it but the staff were lovely and always willing to answer questions. They only gave one key for our booking for 4 in a room which was inconvenient.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2017
6.0

Reason facilities is rated low is that is the dorm I was in there is quite a bright light which does not turn off. Staff said they weren't allowed to turn it for some reason. Maybe that's ok for some people but it meant I didn't get a lot of sleep. Think something as basic as having a bright light on in a bedroom throughout the night should be something guests are told about before they book. Otherwise great, staff really nice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. In one of our larger dorms there's a bright emergency light by the main door, I'm guessing this is the one you're talking about. This is due to the large size of the room and yes, we are not allowed to switch it off I'm afraid. I'm sorry it disturbed your sleep :( Thank you for the kind words about the staff :) I hope you enjoyed your stay in London and that we'll see you back here again in the future. Johan, reception

  • chiknbob32207212
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Sep 2017
6.6

Although I emailed months in advance I had to "haggle" for the room I asked for and was upcharged for it, but still a bargain. Ask about the bathroom location in accordance with your room. MANY not close by. It was overrun w teen groups though. Location on Southside of town so just be aware when you travel around town. There are late running trains and buses that go right in front of hostel. Breakfast £3.00 and was alright, something to start your day. Overall not a bad experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! I'm not sure what you mean by "haggle", what you book on Hostelworld is the type of room that you get and price that you pay :) On each of the higher floors the bathrooms are at the end of the corridors - female on one side, male on the other. On the lower floors, bathrooms are more mixed in the middle of the hallways. I'm glad that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed your experience overall. Hope to see you back again! Johan, reception

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2017
9.4

Really good hostel. Very clean reception staff were lovely. My only complaint which cant really be helped in the summer months is the atmosphere in the common room the school children create. Having the large group it makes it hard to relax and enjoy the common spaces with fellow travellers, the only socialising was in the dorm rooms unfortunately. Other than that a great hostel well connected with central London :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for the great review, and the kind words about the staff. Hope to see you back again! Johan, reception

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
7th Sep 2017
7.1

Not for solo travellers. More like a cheap hotel than a hostel. Kids and families everywhere. No kitchen so you can't cook your own food. Staff are friendly and helpful but it's not a place you want to stay if you want to chill and make friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the review and the kind words about the staff. While we are a youth hostel, it's true that our great prices for central London attracts families and groups too. I hope to see you back again in the future! Johan, reception

1st Sep 2017
7.1

The bathrooms need minor work done(bathroom stall door locks). Nice and safe part of town. Easy to catch the metro. Towels should've been included. They have vending machines on site. Breakfast is excellent for what you pay. The kitchen closes too early, most people get in late and are always hungry. The wifi sucks unless you're on the first floor or in the lounge area, they need to update the networks in the building that alone would have made my experience that much better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. Regarding the wifi, I'm happy to say that this is being worked on and we hope to get much better wifi very soon! Johan, reception

  • NikolaosK4387
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Aug 2017
4.3

Room and beds are awful. Way too small and very shaky. It's very loud the whole night since the windows are from 1922 and unchanged - 0 isolation or anything. They don't even close fully in some rooms. Seriously had a veeery hard time to fell asleep. Staff at the reception was good, especially the Portuguese speaking guy at night. Lounge is also nice. Showers and WCs are ok but a bit (sometimes too) dirty. Honekeeping was terrible as well, entering the room 5 times in 2 hours. Never again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ameliapryde7063
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Aug 2017
7.4

This hostel was pretty average, 4 person rooms were tiny and when I walked in the room absolutely stunk. Cleaning staff take out your room bins everyday and the bathrooms are cleaned regularly which is good. Wifi is only available in the lobby which is annoying and the rooftop balcony is locked 24/7. No kitchen facilities but there is a diner. Staff were very friendly and helpful though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×