Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Rest Up London

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 927 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 927 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.2
Rest Up London Located at 172 New Kent Road, , London.
Rest Up London
England
London london SE1 4YT 172 New Kent Road
71% 927
51.4939826 -0.0904225
Rest Up London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2016
7.7

I stayed in a mixed 20 bed dorm for one night. The staff upon arrival were very friendly and filled me in on all the rules and regulations as well as asking about my trip. The room I was given was very cramped and a bit dirty but that was understandable given the number of people occupying the room. The bed itself was comfortable and all bedding provided was of good quality. The showers and toilets were very clean and food options were great. Value for money was perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • amsumner2
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
10.0

Stayed in a 20 bed room. It was incredibly spacious which was nice considering how many of us were staying there. The only issues I had were that the bed and pillow is waifer thin and the wifi is a bit spotty most of the time. But it's really lovely, in a great location and run by nice people. Oh, don't forget check out is 10am!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
8.6

Great place to stay with good facilities and atmosphere. The rooms are a bit small and you need to pay extra to leave your luggage and breakfast. It's close to the tube and easy to find ; and everyone is really nice and friendly there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to write your review, we really appreciate it and motivate us improve ourselves. It was nice to have you with us. Please feel welcomed to come again soon! Best regards, Lia@reception

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
6.9

It did the job, but ultimately, I left to go stay with a relative in an air conditioned hotel, in a safer part of town. It's expensive to stay in London, but staying with my friend in a hot, tiny space with a very uncomfortable mattress wasn't worth what I paid. I would rather pay for the AC and wifi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. Yes there might be a difference between a hostel and a hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay in London anyway. Enjoy the summer!! Claudio @reception

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.0

All of the staff are very helpful and kind people, and willing to give recommendations for everything from food to transportation. The bedrooms were all clean, the bathrooms not so much. The location was good- a walk away from Tower bridge and the like, a bus away (or walking, depending on ambition) from the fancier part of London. Some weird characters stay there, so if you're a girl traveling alone, be wary. Good amenities for the price though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. We are always happy when you guys share your experience. Here we welcome everybody that is respectful with the others, people who do not comply with this are not able to stay with us; we care about the safety of our guests. Looking forward to welcoming you next time in London. Enjoy the summer!! Claudio @reception

14th Jul 2016
5.7

The hostel has lockers, but you have to pay for them. The dorm door did not close properly, thus leaving it closed but not locked. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is neither good nor bad. The overall atmosphere is nice, but packed with kids and teenagers though. The hostel is a bit far from the main sites, but it has plenty of buses and a tube station nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
5.1

A charming old building in a semi central location, with a pretty good cafe. This could have been an awesome place to stay if they put any effort in. Wifi was useless and the electric outlets in the room didn't work. My sheets had stains. Security lockers cost 3 pounds a night. One guy at the reception was nice and sympathetic.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. We will work harder to improve our low budget hostel. Hoping to see you again in the future. Enjoy the summer!! Claudio @reception

10th Jul 2016
6.0

Very nice building and facilities! Staff where very friendly! Biggest qualm was that there is no kitchen and nowhere to store food. And only lockers need to be paid for...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately for health and safety reasons we can not insert outside material in out kitchen. The lockers are an outside source for us as well but they are extremely helpful for our guests. We wish you a lovely summer and see you next time!! Claudio @reception

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
7.1

Very clean and staff very friendly and helpful....good location for all the sightseeing landmarks to get to..would definitely stay again when in the area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to meeting you again in London!! Enjoy the summer!! Claudio @reception

  • juliachaminji
  • South Korea, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2016
5.1

The staff were great and it was safe. I really liked the breakfast! But the room smelled so bad and actually was in bad condition.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, I am glad you like our staff, we try to give our best from ourselves! As Driscoll house is one of the listed building we aren't allowed to modify the size of the rooms, even-though we are trying to improve our facilities as much as we can as you could see at the common areas. I wish you a good day and we hope to see you soon, Best regards, Lia @reception

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.