X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rest Up London Reviews

172 New Kent Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
765 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

My sister and I stayed in a private room. It was small, but comfortable and had everything that we needed. The wifi only worked in the public rooms and was not strong enough to stream much, but was reliable. There were friendly, helpful staff at the desk 24 hours a day. Overall a great experience.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

There's meant to be an age restriction on this hostel (18-30) but actually this hostel is full of older men who clearly are living there long term. The showers are disgusting and theyre unisex which when theyre filled with old men is really uncomfortable. There's no security in the rooms and the beds are actually pieces of foam on bed frames. Not even worth the money for the location. Would never stay here again

  • 23rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Sam at the reception was an absolute legend!!!! SOOOOOO helpful, friendly and nice!! He even gave me a free chocolate donught!! It was my first stay ever in a hostel and he made me feel a lot more confident and comfortable. ALthough as a 18 year old girl staying in a 12 bed mixed dorm, did feel a little edgy, nothing happened but still didn't like that.


54%

I stayed in a small four bed hostel. They had a man staying who had brought in guests but should not have. When asked if we could be relocated to a different room for safety's sake, they did not accommodate. Other guests were loud and not clean. I will avoid staying there in the future.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

very,very decent hostel 8/10!


83%

I had a great time at the hostel!


91%

Guys at the reception are super nice, they know about everything you might need. Wi-Fi quality could be better.

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

great services, nice place 8/10


86%

Upon arrival, we were very well received at the hostel, despite the fact that we arrived 2 hours prior to the hour of check-in, no problems arose from that. The atmosphere was very good at the hostel, as well as the facilities. The hostel is located in a quiet place, and it's served by a good network of public transportation. I would recommend.


66%

Supposed to have free wifi, but it was so slow and fleeting that I never could use it, not even to check my facebook on the phone. Wifi was limited to lounge and reception, which was OK I suppose sice both areas where nice to hang ot at, but it didn´t work at either.

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, I do need to thank you so much for taking the time to provide your personal feedback after your stay with us.We do apologize for the problem with the wi-fi connection, everything is back to normal now.We are all looking forward welcoming you back soon. Alex Guest Relations Manager

69%

I know the Rest Up as I stay there for some days during the year and it is a good choice to relax.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your personal feedback! I`m glad we had the opportunity of welcoming you back and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for many occasion to come. Alex Guest Relations Manager

74%

A quiet hostel not to far walking from Elephant and Castle tube station. Ok ensute room, could do with chairs in room and a table as nowhere to eat/drink in room. Matres a bit thin. Ok for one not

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Our location is close to tube and bus station offering fast access to center and to the major sights of London.We start adding chairs and different extra stuff to ensure our guests comfort during their stay with us.We are looking forward to add more and improve all our services in order to offer memorable experience.I do hope that we shall be privileged to welcome you back to the RestUp in the near future. Alex Guest Relations Manager

80%

Showers could be cleaned more often. Staff very helpful and polite.

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay at RestUp London. We have a dedicated housekeeping team who are doing a great job and we recently add more staff for the public areas.Service is our top priority and it is encouraging to hear that our staff is willing to go above and beyond to meet your expectations.Please rest assured that your glowing review has been shared with the team. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in I hope not too distant future. Alex Guest Relations Manager

83%

The members at the reception were very helpful and informative.. One of the guy and a girl went out of their way to help me out which was very cool... There is nothing in the kitchen... However there are quite a few options with the vending machines... The beds in the dorms were neat and clean. Limited no. Of bathrooms were available but they were very well maintained... The wifi was slow in the night probably due to high no.of users. I would recommend this to any of my friends....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, I do need to thank you so much for taking the time to provide your personal feedback after your stay with us. We at RestUp always strive to make our guests’ experience special and memorable and I am delighted to hear all your expectations were met. Service is our top priority and it is encouraging to hear that our staff is willing to go above and beyond to meet your expectations.I`m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the not to distant future. Alex Guest Relations Manager

51%

GET ELECTRIC SOCKETS IN THE ROOMS (USE EXTENSION CHORDS, WHATEVER) BECAUSE EVERYONE NEEDS TO CHARGE THEIR PHONES. AND ALSO SMALL LIGHTS FOR THE BEDS. Come on people, you can do better than this. also, the living room is cold.

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

We did not have the most pleasant stay at Rest Up. We arrived and it ended up being a lot more expensive than we expected, and on top of that, they put my friends and I in a room with 6 men over the age of fifty (we were all girls 19-20 years old). The bathrooms and showers were not plentiful enough and were not very sanitary, it was very stuffy inside the hostel, and wifi only sometimes worked in the lobby and not anywhere else. It was also in not a very nice area of London. Happy to leave.

  • 23rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good hostel, but the rooms didn't have powerpoints. Could only charge my phone in the dining room, which was full of people most of the time. Shared bathrooms between men and women, which is degrading, as I looked up in the shower one day and someone had their phone over the shower door taking photos of me in the shower. Not ideal, not secure and don't expect to go to a hostel to get sexually harassed. The hostel should consider having separate men and women bathrooms or enclose the shower doors


83%

Cool place, comfortable beds. The staff were helpful


69%

I'm convinced there was no heat in the entire building. I actually got sick cause I was freezing at night. Also, wifi is awful. No wifi in the rooms, only in common areas and I kept losing connection and wasn't able to connect some times. Location was pretty good. Bus stop right out front make sit easy to get anywhere in the city. Staff was good and rooms were clean. Breakfast was terrible. The English breakfast I bought one morning was awful! Cold sausage, cold bacon, cold potatoes with eggs!


57%

The room was small and had a sink at the end, giving it a prison sort of feel. At some point the toilets near reception smelt so bad you had to hold your breath as you walked past. There was a school camp staying there which gave the hostel a really weird atmosphere to it - staying as a 25 year old, it felt creepy.


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback