Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rest Up London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1,247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1,247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6
Rest Up London Located at 172 New Kent Road, , London.
Rest Up London
England
London london SE1 4YT 172 New Kent Road
73% 1247
51.4939826 -0.0904225
Rest Up London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jan 2017
6.6

I can't complain too much because it was so cheap to stay here, but I definitely feel like I've stayed at way better hostels for the same price. One of my biggest complaints is the lack of wifi in the rooms. It's hard enough when out and about to find wifi when traveling. My other complaint was the security and sketch guests- there was a 50 year old dude from Romania apparently living in the hostel, a 50-something year old drunk that stayed in my room as well. I'm 21, 110 pounds, and female. . .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for taking your time for your review. We are currently improving our facilities and that includes the Wifi connection, which will be available from any room in any time soon. I hope you enjoyed London! Best regards, Lia Reception

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
5.1

Nearly impossible to find toilet paper. No charging outlets in any of the dorms, only a few extremely crowded ones in the lobby. They charge a lot for everything extra, such as towels and lockers. The front gate into the hostel was not locked at all during our stay, virtually no security.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for your honest review, it help us improve our facilities and services. Toilet paper is available at any times and if there's non in the toilet you can always get some at reception where we have it available all the times. Most of the rooms have plugs in every bed and they can also be found in corridors as well as in the common areas and the dinning area. We give to our guest a security code for the big gate at the entrance and our security guard is working every night to guarantee a good rest and safe stay. I hope you enjoyed London, Best regards, Lia@reception

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
7.7

Staff were nice and the place was clean. However they had the worst wifi I have ever experienced. In peak hours it simply didn't work and it never reached our room. It's 2017 and the rooms expensive, you have to provide quality wifi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for your review! Currently our wifi in only in the common areas but we are improving it by moving the wifi to the rooms and making it accessible for more people at the same time, unfortunately it takes a little time for the process. Thank you again for your honest review and i hope you enjoyed your experience in London. Best regards, Lia@reception

  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.1

Only problem is that theres too much people on one wi fi connection.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! thank you so much for your review! We are currently improving our facilities and the wifi in one of them, this takes a little time though but we are working on it. I hope you enjoyed London. Best regards, Lia@reception

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.4

Accessible and affordable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave such an excellent review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you return in the future.

  • colleenmurphy
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
10.0

the staff was incredibly helpful and always has ideas to offer. The wifi was a bit shotty and didn't work pretty much at all when there were too many people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your nice review, we really appreciate. Always a pleasure to help our guest. Sorry about the wifi we know it can be really slow at some point, but we are still working on it and should be on every room in a couple of months. Hope to see you soon Morgane

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
4.9

Staff member we met on arrival was very rude didnt even say hello as we approached the counter asked for help using a locker that was broken told us no to try again ourselves were helped by another staff member having this been the first person we met gives an overall bas impression of the facility avoided reception after this

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! I'm truly sorry about your experience :( I will deal with this directly as our staff ratings are usually what we're most proud of. I hope that you will give us a second chance in the future. Johan, Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
10.0

Rest up London is a good place to stay in London. For a pricey city like London. This place is good value for money place. If you want to find affordable accommodation during your time in London. This is a good place. Rest up London is close to all the main tourist spots in London. I highly recommend it. The staff from various countries and the UK are very friendly and always helpful. If you are looking at the lower price end for accommodation in London this is the place to stay first up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi We are so glad to hear that you found your stay here so enjoyable and that you made the most of our low prices, central location and helpful staff. We would love to welcome you back to our hostel in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
3.7

The location is not within walking distance from anything, there is no free wifi "everywhere" so be prepared to not have wifi in your rooms. The wifi is slow overall, the staff is rude, the location is horrible. I wouldn't recommend this place to anybody.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The WIFI we understand is an issue which is why we are currently in the process of improving it and making it work hostel wide, so guests can use this with ease and comfort in their rooms. We find the location within zone 1 London very central. With buses and tubes connecting you all around the city within a short walk from our front door.

3rd Jan 2017
7.7

The 4 person room we stayed in was small with little room to move around it was frustrating when all four people were in the room. The wifi was terrible, it was only available in the lounge area and even there it only worked for 10 mins. I think the number one thing a hostel should have is reliable wifi, specifically for those traveling internationally that rely on it to communicate and plan their trips. but there was the option to store luggage for 24hrs which was super helpful

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We understand that WIFI is an issue for many and as such are currently in the process of updating it and making it not only stronger but also hostelwide. As the building is historically listed we are unable to make any structural changes, we do feel that for short term stays the size of the rooms is appropriate.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.