X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rest Up London Reviews

172 New Kent Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
606 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

It was like a prison But we didnt have any choice but to stay here because it was cheap Beds wer comfy n warm Showers were far away and where too hot for children , children had red marks and where crying when they got out of shower. There was no way of changing temperature of water. Towels and a kettle should b provided And may b a shared fridge to put medication and shared microwave to warn up food. The only good thing was it was good value for money as a last minute booking.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff were very friendly and helpful - even when we were late checking in! Perfect place to crash for a couple of nights.


63%

Not a particularly good place for backpackers. There are too many school groups and older local people staying there.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

the shower temperature can't be regulated and comes a bit too hot, there are dishes available for dinner, the breakfast is very good with a big variety


83%

The shower drains were a bit blocked but apart from that our stay was nice. The beds were really comfy and everything was clean. Very friendly staff as well ! The Breakfast was perfect and really good value for money !

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I stayed in a private twin with ensuite. The room was clean aswell as the bathroom. It was basic; bed, quilt and pillow. Only negatives would be the breakfast. personally I didn't think it was very good.


100%

Overwhelmed by how good it was, stayed in a few hostels in London and this by far!! Outdone all my previous experiences! Clean fresh bedding, SUPER nice and helpful staff, and even cheaper then any other hostel I stayed at. Definitely going to be passin through there again!

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Really dirty bathrooms and showers. Had to wear shoes to go to the toilets, like a pond on the floor. Really really bad. Really a shame, since staff was nice. Elevator broken one day and lots of stairs to climb. Loud kids screaming in the hallways made the visit far from perfect. For the price i payed, it was not satesfactory.


77%

It's located in a great position and if you are brave enough you can walk to the centre. (Specially if you wanna avoid the overexpensive underground). Overall Rest-up London is a great Hostel considered how cheap it is. The only negative aspect is that there is no cooking facilities

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a wonderful stay, London is one of my favorite cities to visit. There were 2 things that I would change. The bathrooms need more ventilation and the rooms need outlets to change phones and such.


77%

Friendly and helpful stuff!!

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The private room for 2 could only fit the bunkbeds. It was EXTREMELY small and so was the bathroom. An average person could barely fit in there. There are no elevators and if you are on the last floor that's actually 6 flights of stairs. With luggage that's awful. Also it was about a 15 minute walk to the closest subway station which can be a pain if you have luggage, if it's really cold or if you come back tired after a night on the town.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Get better wifi and more seats for places to sit when using the wifi.


23%

I checked in at 6.30pm, I left at 11pm. The hostel is totally unacceptable for London. There is no internet in any of the rooms. The building feels like a mental hospital its devoid of character, infrastructure and freedom. There are no toilets near to the rooms. There are no showers near. There are no places to get fresh water. The reception desk guy with blonde hair was rude and totally patronising when I asked to leave. Hostelworld have a duty to withdraw this place from advertising.


100%

So good i have extended twice

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Didn't enjoy my stay here. Lockers were £3 every time you had to open them, and not in room. Wifi was terrible, and didn't reach rooms. Breakfasts were a bit pricey. No kitchen. I got woken up in the middle of the night, being told I wasn't in the right room, and had to go out to reception, when in fact I was in the right room, and had been there the previous two nights. Nice building, and lounge room, that's about it. Most of the staff were friendly. Location isn't the best, but not far to tube


63%

Great location verny near to all attractions and underground. However for a hostel can be very pricey when ypu start adding on breakfast, towels, and lockers at £3 every time you open them! Most staff especially at breakfast are quite rude for example when i checked in they were quite apprubt with demanding payment and breakfast girl attidude as though she had just woken up and couldnt be bothered. Also bed linen (we were bitten by god knows what over two nights waking up with small bites.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel location was excellent, a very quick walk from the train station! The 4mixed dorm was quite simple, but very clean. The only thing that bugged me was how you had to pay to use the lockers because they had their own keys and weren't the ones that you could put your own lock on. Also, reception wouldn't let you borrow or put down a deposit for a uk adapter ... But they were available to buy for 8 pounds :|




View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback