Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rest Up London

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1,134 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1,134 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.7
Rest Up London Located at 172 New Kent Road, , London.
Rest Up London
England
London london SE1 4YT 172 New Kent Road
73% 1134
51.4939826 -0.0904225
Rest Up London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Dec 2016
8.0

The Venue was okay, I would stay there again. The wifi is rubbish it only works in one small area in the foyer and is very slow, line dial up..................

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
7.1

was ok in general, but my room was next to the street and the noise during the whole night was very disturbing... I couldnt sleep for several hours until I got very tired

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the review. I'm sorry that you were bothered by noise, but I'm glad you seem to have liked the hostel as a whole. If you return, feel free to request a room away from the street :) Johan, Duty Manager

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
6.3

The not so good things:- Bathroom was not clean and no toiletries were provided.Wifi connectivity was poor. The good things:- Locating was easy and good ambience and security. Breakfast was good and beds were clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hostel, we pride ourselves on being centrally located. Regarding wifi and toiletries this is a recurring issue that we are looking at rectifying within the near future. Regarding the cleanliness I will discuss this with housekeeping. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
2.3

This hostel was very unclean. The lobby is a nice area, so it's a bit misleading because the room experience was not enjoyable to say the least. You have to pay 3 pounds to lock your things up, and every time you'd like to access it, you have to pay the 3 pounds again. Overall not a pleasant experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here at RestUp. We understand that lockers within the rooms or free of charge is preferred and it is an issue that we are addressing. Additionally we will forward the complaint regarding general hostel cleanliness on to our housekeeping team to make improvements. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Nov 2016
6.3

Good Location. The security gate as broken and there were no locker in the rooms. The staff were good but when my friend asked for a towel they said they gave them to us at the beginning which was not the case so they made us pay. The room could have been cleaner as well and the bathroom a bit old. The atmosphere was not a party one which is what we wanted. Quite and relaxed. Wi-fi only available in public areas which is not the be all and end all. Beds were comfortable, linen clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad that you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and location. Wifi is an issue that we are currently working on. We apologise for any confusion with the towels as they are always rented from reception for £2 and not included. Thank you again for taking the time to leave this review.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Nov 2016
6.3

My first hostel experience. Service was good. People only come together because wifi is in the common area, which only has some hot spots. Staff are cool and nice. The place isn't the cleanest but it's such a busy spot I can understand the lack of housing. And you have to pay 3 pounds per use of locker.. just kept my bag in my room with a lock on it but my roomies were good people. Breakfast isn't fancy but does the job.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We will investigate the issues that you have addressed in your feedback and look at improving these for the future.

11th Nov 2016
3.7

Location is not great- on a major road, and farther from the tourist attractions than the hostel makes it seem on the site. There is no alcohol allowed, no microwave, no free coffee or tea, no curtains on the beds, no paper towels to dry hands with, and only some beds have plugs. Our room smelled TERRIBLE, but there was no ventilation or windows. The lounge areas all play "top 50 pop party" on the loudest volume on the TVs, so it is impossible to relax. Staff was a mix- some rude, some nice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will take your feedback on board and endeavor to make improvements to the hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Nov 2016
6.6

No lockers in the room and you need to pay £2 each time you lock the locker (can't bring your own lock). The place was decent but the photos made it look amazing and it wasn't.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you so much for your honest review, we love to know that our guest have a good time in an amazing city like London. I hope to have you again with us, Best regards, Lia@reception

6th Nov 2016
8.6

Very clean and has everything you need. Staff is helpful though not especially friendly. The atmosphere is pretty quiet, but it's definitely possible to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your pleasant review, we are sorry to hear that the reception staff weren't the friendliest, normally this is where we get our highest reviews. This will be addressed with the whole team. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all the other spaces/ amenities that the hostel had to offer.

6th Nov 2016
7.4

Good place, very crowded. A little far.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to see high rates for facilities, cleanliness, security and staff and we will work on the other aspects you have addressed.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.