X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rest Up London Reviews

172 New Kent Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
678 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Our group of four really enjoyed everything about Rest Up London except that wifi was limited to public spaces only. I understand the concept of bringing people together in the public gathering spaces, but come on- most other hostels have this amenity and I promise you that this is a deal breaker for some! With that exception, we really did enjoy our stay and found the place well kept and the staff very helpful!


100%

Enjoyed my stay. Lovely and clean


80%

Wifi only in communal areas and not very strong. No lights over individual beds so people turn the main lights on in the dorm in the Middle of the night. Beds were a bit creaky but you get what you pay for as it is so cheap. Lockers aren't the ones with padlocks so cost extra as they are coin operated. Staff were lovely and place was very clean. Very teenage/student feel.


74%

I stayed at this hostel before and gave it a bad review because there were no hot showers for a couple of days and the lifts weren't working. But it's now fixed up and the staff is really helpful and friendly compared to my previous stay! Though, if you're looking to meet travelers this is not a good place. But I guess it's almost everywhere the case nowadays that people only care about their smartphones and laptop computers when hanging out in the lounges and communal areas..

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very nice staff.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Fit my budged will definitely come back

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Nice hostel, good location. The bathroom are WAY too far from the room itself and the wifi is fair(doesn't work inside the room) the price is too high for what you get. The location is fair, 10 min walk from the train station. The room is small and the shower not work properly (you have to push a button every time to activate the water).


89%

good hostel.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I stayed here with my boyfriend in a double room & the bunks were very tiny, as was the room. It felt very cramped. The location wasn't fab, it was a bit of a walk to a tube station & then not super central to the city


77%

Good location. Staff was nice and helpful, internet was pretty awful and there wasn't really much of a social room. No kitchen to make your own food. Did kind of feel like you were in a prison. But a good stay if you just want to relax and get away from the mess of the city.


91%

I would recommend this accommodation for your rest up in London. The room i was in was clean although small but i wasn't expecting much since i used the room only for sleeping and the room was ideal for it. Bed was just the right size for me. There were some security features on windows which prevented it from opening more but it was enough to fresh up the room.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Awesome hostel, would definitely stay here again! Staff was helpful and friendly, the lobby was cool, beds were squeaky but comfortable. Heard it was in a sketchy neighborhood but it's not bad at all. As a young woman travelling by myself, I never felt unsafe. Very close to the tube and you can walk to attractions along the Thames in a half hour. Only complaint is that the showers are scalding, but other than that everything was fine. Definitely worth the price!

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Really too expensive to sleep with 19 other persons, near the road which means a lot of noise added to the snoozed of the roommates. An awful experience. No lights in the bathroom on the morning.


100%

The 2 of us stayed for the weekend in a private room and I have to say everything was excellent From the staff to the rooms I can't recommend enough

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had lots of luck when booking here, The 6 bed room I had booked became unavailable and I was upgraded to a single room for free. Cant complain there. Room was super clean as was the common areas of the hostel. Everything seems to have been redone for the hostel. Everything looks nice inside. Would recommend staying here as it is cheap and very well located near Elephant and Castle.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is about a 10min-walk from Elephant&Castle tube station. The staff is friendly and helpful but there are long waiting times sometimes if you need to ask something. The wifi works just in the common areas but doesn't really work there, I got always thrown out of the internet... The bathrooms were great and the showers hot. The room was spacious and clean.


66%

It was like a prison But we didnt have any choice but to stay here because it was cheap Beds wer comfy n warm Showers were far away and where too hot for children , children had red marks and where crying when they got out of shower. There was no way of changing temperature of water. Towels and a kettle should b provided And may b a shared fridge to put medication and shared microwave to warn up food. The only good thing was it was good value for money as a last minute booking.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff were very friendly and helpful - even when we were late checking in! Perfect place to crash for a couple of nights.


63%

Not a particularly good place for backpackers. There are too many school groups and older local people staying there.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

the shower temperature can't be regulated and comes a bit too hot, there are dishes available for dinner, the breakfast is very good with a big variety


(48 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback