X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rest Up London Reviews

172 New Kent Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
524 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

No kitchen for guess use, and a couple of the showers where very dodgy, with no temp control. And the guess rec room felt kinda sterile


80%

Met fabulous people from every part of the world.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel was lovely, I even extended my stay in London.


63%

The hostel is clean and very easy to reach. The rooms however are very small, you have no space to sit. And the

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff were really helpful, and the showers amazing! Only downside really was the room was abit creepy at night

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

There were a lot of good things about the hostel that I enjoyed, though there were several horrible realities as well. For starters, the location is good as it is near a tube station. The laundry, restaurant, vending machines, and lounge areas were great. The downside, however, is that the large groups of students that stay here really make the "rest" in the name a farce. I had to go down to the desk to have them shut them up after midnight. The staff was great, though, and did the trick.


57%

The hostel itself is nice, but it is in a very sketchy and unsafe part of town.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Recepcionists are rude and not very helpful. Rooms are disgusting with limited access to powerpoints. Showers are too far away from some rooms. Check-in is at 4pm!!! What the hell?!?!


94%

The hostel is excellent, very clean, and the room was perfect. The only con could be that is like 5 blocks from the nearest underground station which after a long day of visiting could be hard. I would recommend and even stay at this hostel again.


60%

Not the best place for the price. Rubber sheets and dirty bathrooms can be found at a more central location for a cheaper price I'm sure.


60%

Computers with internet connection are missing. I think also information about public transports, as tube maps and the schedules of the buses of the nearest bus stops should be provided at the hostel (some flyers with the mentioned information should be enough).

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Poor location and very poor facilties


49%

2 toilets and 3 showers for a floor (60+ people). 1 outlet in a 20 bed room, where people are too stupid to close the door properly, so anyone at anytime can come into the room. They have lockers, but you have to pay 2£-3£ EVERYTIME you close them (~6£ day). No outlets in the bathroom. Showers were way too hot (no regulator). I was in many (cheaper) hostels -Amsterdam, The Hague, Barcelona, Paris, Brussels, Luxembourg City, and more - and none has been so bad so far. Not worth the money.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

We requested a twin bed and received a bunk bed.


31%

leaky windows, ants in the bathroom. Totally not recommend - the place is looking like a prison.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Only stayed one night as was going out in London. Fine for what we needed just a bed for a few hours after a night out. Wouldn't recommend for eurotripper as atmosphere and location aren't the best but for a one night stay was fine.


71%

Very poor Wifi. Bathroom in 4th floor is not quite secure because the last room (next to window) there is some gap the the door. We can not use electric plug socket at the second of double layer bed (top bed).


34%

Reminded me of prison, not even worth the amount of money paid.

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

No space in room Poor wifi


74%

On average, the hostel is worth the money, but the showers could have a temperature selector and keep turned on a longer time after pushing the button.


(50 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback