X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rest Up London Reviews

172 New Kent Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
538 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Staff was extremely helpful at all times...rooms a bit small but comfortable


34%

the neighborhood is messy. Then when we arrived on our floor, it was not clean and it smelled very bad, our room it self was very small and the shower was leaking. The service was not good when we complained about it, we wanted to leave.

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The twin room was the most austere I've encountered. Two metal beds, a mirror, a trash bin and nothing else. No shelves, chairs or tables. Service was ok - not uber-friendly, but to-the-point. Only one key for two persons. There was a mess-up with the booking, which had the previous people come to our room wondering what the hell we were doing there. Luckily, their key wasn't programmed anymore, but I felt like that could have just as well been the case.


83%

Not a great location, you have to take the bus to get there. Pretty social, but quiet lounge area. Paid lockers to keep your stuff in. Rooms are clean.


80%

Not enough showers for each floor. It

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It was nice to stay in Rest Up London hostel. It's in the heart of the city, the conditions are fine for a few days and you can enjoy your stay in London. Thank you.

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

The rooms are really small. Indeed, the four bed rooms should be two bed rooms, there is no space enough to walk or even wear the clothes with four people inside. The internet (when it works) is just available in the reception room. The shower's water is too hot and we found the bathroom aisle ground always wet. Besides the staff kindness, I didn't have a good experience with this hostel.


57%

The Hostel was okay but a bit far away and walking late at night back there was large groups on each side of the road. Also it was cheap but be when you arrive there is a deposit for everything. towels, room keys, you have to pay for breakfast and to store you bags. over all it felt like they just wanted your money, of course its a bussinass but should not feel like one. we stayed in a twin priveat room. the beds were okay also lots of noise outside if your looking for a bed for the night

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I enjoyed my stay in the rest up london hostel i found the staff very friendly also the price is excellent and my favourite part id the T V room. Will stay again. Regards Brian Murray

  • 16th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

The showers on my level were a joke, this place just generally feels half done. The wifi is painful and you will have to pay for meals and luggage storage. I think there are places with better locations for a better price/better value it's a shame because the staff were so helpful


69%

For the really very cheap Prices a good hostel; Lounge is very pretty; rooms were clean and okay, showers not so much, but in total a hostel I'd recommend.

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This is very nice place to stay and enjoy london vist and good location as well.

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay, thoroughly enjoyed it. Friendly atmosphere and would definitely stay there again :)

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The location was great for where I needed to be.The dining area lacked any real atmosphere as no bar, the rooms were small with bunks but clean and tidy. Major problem was the lockers swallow £2 everytime one opens them, and are only available on the ground floor, some lockers should be available on every floor. Toilets clean. In summary a clean, cheap, well located hostel that lacks the social atmosphere of St Christophers or somewhere like that.


69%

I have booked a 4bedded room for 3person and was disappointed that the room were too small for 4person staying. We always bumped to each other and even there is no space for our luggages. The size of room should occupy for 2bedded only but not 4bedded.


49%

This hostel is fine, nothing particularly bad and it is clean. HOWEVER, they aren't very honest with the facilities they provide. The lockers are not included in the price and you have to pay 2 pounds every 24hrs, but if you access the locker within those 24 hours you have to re-pay. They do NOT have any kitchen facilities, but will provide you with hot water, but you have to ask them to get it for you. Pretty much they charge you for everything possible.


43%

1 it is located in the south bank of London which is quite mess. One night, we met three thieves around the hostel. One of them tried to rob my friend's phone.2 location is just so-so. the nearest underground station is elephant & castle, which takes us at least 10mins to the station. 3 staff is not friendly. When we ask question, they always say wait a moment. Actually, it took more than 5 mins to wait. and once we wanted to have changes, they say no and I have to go to Tesco for changes.

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

We were in a 20 bed room. Beds weren't bad, most of them had privacy curtains which was really nice. Not all of the beds had them though and I ended up in a bed without one... There were people coming in and out of the room all night, talking loudly and knocking on the door to get let it. Bathrooms were all co-ed. Wifi worked well. In a sketchy part of London, about a 15 minute walk from the nearest tube. Was a little intimidating to walk to at night. Rooms smelled, but good for a quick rest


63%

Showers on floor 1 are a challenge to use.


80%

Located a 10 min walk from the tube, on a busy noisy street. The room was very basic and small but provides all you need to get a good night's rest. The wifi only works near the reception area. The breakfast was standard. The staff were very helpful in providing a UK wall adapter. If you are looking for a cheap, safe and clean place to stay in London on a budget, this is a good option but don't expect any amenities.


(253 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback