X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rest Up London Reviews

172 New Kent Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
517 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Spotlessly clean, but room very small. Didn't realise there was no wardrobe/drawers. However if you just need a place to sleep for the night it is ideal. Location on a busy main road means traffic noise but then again this is London! Staff very helpful and a great cooked breakfast.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location, nice staff, nice common room and good services. The only problem was that our double room was too small: we couldn't open our two luggages at the same time because there was no enough space on the floor.


57%

Das Zimmer war extrem klein. Ohne Stuhl oder Tisch. Toilette, Dusche und Geschirr beim Frühstück wurden geputzt, waren aber nicht sauber. Das Personal war sehr nett und hilfsbereit.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

Chambre très bruyante, porte qui claque toutes les 5 minutes , pas de volet ni rideau mais un simple voilage donc lumière toute la nuit...bref j'ai mieux dormi dans l avion que la bas. Toilettes sales sans papier.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Das Rest-Up ist mit seiner guten Lage nahe der Tower Bridge und dem Rest der City auf jeden Fall zu empfehlen. Vor allem für junge Leute, die sich die Stadt anschauen möchten und sowieso nur zum Schlafen im Hostel sind, ist die relativ sparsame Ausstattung der Zimmer vollkommen ausreichend. Auch das Frühstück (Continental Breakfast) für 3 Pfund war sehr ordentlich. Die Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption waren auch jederzeit sehr hilfsbereit und nett.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

L'auberge de jeunesse est correcte mais l'emplacement n'est pas super car l'auberge est bruyante du fait de la proximité d'une avenue très passante. J'ai demandé à changer de chambre, ce qui a été fait et que j'ai apprécié. Au 4ème étage le bruit de l'avenue était assourdi et nous avons passé une bonne semaine. Les chambres sont petites mais très fonctionnelles il faudrait penser à mettre du double vitrage et ce serait parfait.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Muito bom quartos muito bem equipados Com pias, e o mais importante: 2 tomadas por cama isso falta em muitas pousadas, e se vc não consegue carregar seu celular, câmera, ou lap top vc não pode tirar fotos nem se cimunicar quando precisa. o que não gostei muito foi cofé da manhã, por ser caro e muito fraco. Mas recomendado este hostel a todos.


31%

looks like an army in the rooms, and the hostel looks like a hospital. not worthed. I went there in aug 2014 i was 22 i m brazilian from sao paulo

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Grosses lacunes concernant l'organisation des petits déjeuners. Le personnel n'est pas dynamique et rien n'est à disposition des clients (pas de plateaux, pas de couverts, pas de café, pas de jus d'oranges...).

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

Os quartos são muito ruins, as camas horríveis. Fiquei uma semana no local e nenhuma limpeza foi realizada no quarto. Os banheiros sempre ficavam muito sujos. A sala de TV ficou 2 dias fechada sem explicação do motivo para tal e a mesma tinha móveis velhos e empoeirados. Foi horrível minha experiência nesse hostel.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Good hostel except for one thing: there is no place to plug things in the dormitories, and the ones in the common areas are always busy because lots of people stay in the hostel.


60%

Its very clean and shower was awesome in 8 bed ensuite. Also lots of power points in the room. Has laundry. But Common room sign "No food no alcohol" (even though it has a food dispenser in it). No kitchen, No on site motorbike parking even though they have space. You're early for 3pm check in? You can leave your bags here no problem :-) .. 2 euros non refundable no way around it. :-( rip off lockers. Breakfast isnt free. Socially dead. Wifi unreliable. Very hot to sleep.


71%

Gute Lage. Gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis. Aber sehr laut.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

très bon emplacement, propreté à revoir notamment pour les draps de lit... les tâches, ce n'est pas attirant.. quant au personnel, pas arrangeant du tout, réserver une chambre de 4 et séparer un groupe alors que nous avions réserver à l'avance.... bien pour y dormir une nuit sinon passez votre chemin.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Very noisy and hot hostel with single travelers placed on same floors as foreign school parties. The young people were unsupervised, Smoked in rooms, and were making noise to 3 am. The rooms were badly ventilated with a small window and became unbearably hot and stuffy. I have stayed in many hostels across London and know what to expect given the costs of such places but this hostel was without a doubt the worst hostel I have stayed at and would I would never use it again.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

We thought the Rest Up was expensive considering it basically a youth hostel.You had to pay for towels and a 10 pound deposit for each key which was refunded. The place was noisy and a lot of the youth there did not show respect for others and our daughters were spat on by drunk guys whilst using the internet. Loud music was played in the room next door. The showers were too hot and rooms stuffy and humid as no air conditioning and windows were locked to a small opening. No we wouldn't return.


91%

The Wi-Fi doesn't work in the rooms and the layout of the hotel is a bit confusing, that being said everything else about this place is great. The staff was very nice, it's very close to the elephant and castle tube station, and there's a small eatery called Five Star just down the block with amazing fish and chips. I will be staying here again in the future.


54%

I find it difficult to understand why a cheap white towel has a charge of £2.00, when I pay almost £180, for 2 nights in a private room for 2 people. Its hard to sleep with the road noise without double glazing also with the flood light shining onto the windows all night long. One member of staff couldn't be bother to take my money for 2 coffees, and told me to ask his colleage next to him, when he was doing nothing. I expect 2 single beds in a twin room, not a bunk bed.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Despite the location, cheap dorms and overall cleanness of the facilities, not recommended. The building leaves much to be desired in terms of design: between an agonizingly fussy elevator and stairwells locked for the upper floors, it was ridiculously frustrating just trying to get around. However, the incompetence of the staff was what really made it an unpleasant stay. Also, the only lockers require you to pay each time you open the locker, which at 2-3 pounds each time adds up quickly.


71%

Estaba en general la cosa muy bien pero habría que aclarar el asunto del desayuno porque pone que cuesta £4 pero mucha gente no sabe que esta incluido y que tiene acceso. El problema mas importante es en los dormitorios donde las cortinas o telas no tapan de la luz, y entonces no se puede dormir sin luz....

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(71 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback