X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rest Up London Reviews

172 New Kent Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
610 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Really too expensive to sleep with 19 other persons, near the road which means a lot of noise added to the snoozed of the roommates. An awful experience. No lights in the bathroom on the morning.


100%

The 2 of us stayed for the weekend in a private room and I have to say everything was excellent From the staff to the rooms I can't recommend enough

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is about a 10min-walk from Elephant&Castle tube station. The staff is friendly and helpful but there are long waiting times sometimes if you need to ask something. The wifi works just in the common areas but doesn't really work there, I got always thrown out of the internet... The bathrooms were great and the showers hot. The room was spacious and clean.


66%

It was like a prison But we didnt have any choice but to stay here because it was cheap Beds wer comfy n warm Showers were far away and where too hot for children , children had red marks and where crying when they got out of shower. There was no way of changing temperature of water. Towels and a kettle should b provided And may b a shared fridge to put medication and shared microwave to warn up food. The only good thing was it was good value for money as a last minute booking.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff were very friendly and helpful - even when we were late checking in! Perfect place to crash for a couple of nights.


63%

Not a particularly good place for backpackers. There are too many school groups and older local people staying there.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Bom ambiente, relativamente perto do centro de Londres, aberto 24h. O lavatório do wc privado estava entupido e as toalhas são pagas (3£).

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

Very bad beds, loud atmosphere (you heard people talking from other floors or neighboor rooms, dropping water from the wall... In total a very bad expirience


83%

the shower temperature can't be regulated and comes a bit too hot, there are dishes available for dinner, the breakfast is very good with a big variety


83%

The shower drains were a bit blocked but apart from that our stay was nice. The beds were really comfy and everything was clean. Very friendly staff as well ! The Breakfast was perfect and really good value for money !

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I stayed in a private twin with ensuite. The room was clean aswell as the bathroom. It was basic; bed, quilt and pillow. Only negatives would be the breakfast. personally I didn't think it was very good.


100%

Overwhelmed by how good it was, stayed in a few hostels in London and this by far!! Outdone all my previous experiences! Clean fresh bedding, SUPER nice and helpful staff, and even cheaper then any other hostel I stayed at. Definitely going to be passin through there again!

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Really dirty bathrooms and showers. Had to wear shoes to go to the toilets, like a pond on the floor. Really really bad. Really a shame, since staff was nice. Elevator broken one day and lots of stairs to climb. Loud kids screaming in the hallways made the visit far from perfect. For the price i payed, it was not satesfactory.


77%

It's located in a great position and if you are brave enough you can walk to the centre. (Specially if you wanna avoid the overexpensive underground). Overall Rest-up London is a great Hostel considered how cheap it is. The only negative aspect is that there is no cooking facilities

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a wonderful stay, London is one of my favorite cities to visit. There were 2 things that I would change. The bathrooms need more ventilation and the rooms need outlets to change phones and such.


51%

Das Zimmer war knapp 10° warm, die Fenster Wind- und Wasserdurchlässig, das Waschbecken kaputt, das WC am zweiten Tag kaputt. Das Zimmer hatte das flair einer Zelle für Sträflinge, keinen Tisch, Stuhl o.a. Lediglich das Bett und ausreichend Platz um die Türen zu öffnen.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Friendly and helpful stuff!!

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The private room for 2 could only fit the bunkbeds. It was EXTREMELY small and so was the bathroom. An average person could barely fit in there. There are no elevators and if you are on the last floor that's actually 6 flights of stairs. With luggage that's awful. Also it was about a 15 minute walk to the closest subway station which can be a pain if you have luggage, if it's really cold or if you come back tired after a night on the town.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Get better wifi and more seats for places to sit when using the wifi.


23%

I checked in at 6.30pm, I left at 11pm. The hostel is totally unacceptable for London. There is no internet in any of the rooms. The building feels like a mental hospital its devoid of character, infrastructure and freedom. There are no toilets near to the rooms. There are no showers near. There are no places to get fresh water. The reception desk guy with blonde hair was rude and totally patronising when I asked to leave. Hostelworld have a duty to withdraw this place from advertising.


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback