X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rest Up London Reviews

172 New Kent Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
561 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The only issues was having my check in 30min late - it was supposed to be at 3pm and was at 3.30pm for cleaning reasons, but the check out time is at 10am, so I think 5 hours should be time enough for that. And the elevator wasn't working during all my 3 days there. Wifi just downstairs. The staff is very nice, location is good (close to tube station), rooms are clean, hot shower and more facilities. I would stay again!

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Sehr kleine Zimmer

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Ótimo hostel!!!

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Could do with secure storage in bedrooms. Dorms are bare and cold. Lift broken when I was there. My room was on 4th floor. Good location, restaurant in hostel looks good and reasonable.


100%

The best Hostel i've stayed in. Warm, friendly, clean & comfortable beds. Very friendly and helpful staff. Kitchen clean & tidy. Can't recommend it strong enough.


49%

Toilettes jamais nettoyées, eau des douches froids, chambre minuscule. Prix assez intéressant mais services limités (pas de petit dej, lits non faits...).

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

rien d’exceptionnel, mais il y a ce qu'il faut par contre la fenêtre était cassée impossible de la fermée

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Cannot speak for everyone in other rooms but the room I stayed was stuffy and only needs contant airflow which can be achieved by opening the upper window. Apart from that the management did well in other areas.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice place, friendly staff, nice industrial atmosphere


77%

Great historic building. Facilities could be better. Convenient base to explore from.


74%

Don't expect too much when staying here. They give you the basics and that's about it. A room with a bed. The rooms are very small and there isnt much room to keep your stuff besides on the floor or in storage. The fact that it costs £5 for a towel (£3 deposit) was kind of irritating after spending about $250 for 3 nights. The location of the hostel is decent, its near Elephant and Castle so you can use the tube to get anywhere from there. All in all, if you just need a place to sleep, go here.


54%

The bunk beds were not secured into the walls, meaning if either bunkmate flipped over in the night then entire bed shook like it was going to collapse. The 10 pound deposit for the room key was also a little ridiculous. The walls were paper thin and no one came to quiet the other rooms even when they were screaming at 3 AM. However, the location was very convenient, just a quick 10 min tube ride could get you into Piccadilly Circus. Night buses also stopped right outside the hostel.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The worst place I slept in England—and I slept outside of a bathroom at a bus station. Staff was fine with screaming teenagers all day long, but kicked out anyone having a conversation at a normal decibel level after 11 pm. Lockers cost £3 per access—everytime you open it, it costs £3 to lock it again. If you need to brush your teeth, your toothbrush will cost you £3.


54%

Extremely loud at night, no free lockers available, toilets partially broken


46%

It's ridiculous that we had to pay extra money for the security lock holding our luggage. Staff was not helpful during the check-in, we had to wait a lot even after the start of the check-in time which was not pleasant after our long journey. Sink in room was clogged. Wifi was available only at the reception. All in all, it's nice that we had a place to sleep, but it's nothing more.


86%

Bonne auberge de jeunesse, assez propre, accueillante. Personnel sympathique. Néanmoins, dommage qu'il n'y ait pas de wifi dans les chambres et que le petit déjeuner ne soit pas inclut.


86%

Bonne auberge de jeunesse, assez bien située dans Londres. Le personnel est accueillant et l'auberge est propre. Néanmoins, il est dommage que l'on ne puisse avoir accès au wifi dans les chambres et que le petit déjeuner ne soit pas inclus dans le prix.


71%

L'hostel n'est pas très loin du métro et un arrêt de bus est juste en face. Les chambres sont petites mais biens pour le prix! Les douches étaient assez propres sauf le premier jour ou il y avait quelques cheveux mais c'est le risque dans les douches communes! Les casiers ne sont pas dans les chambres ce que je trouve dommage! Par contre il n'y a que des groupes de jeune style colonies ou sorties scolaires qui font un bruit fou qui courent et gueules dans les couloirs c'est très agaçant!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

For the short notice booking it was great , but our dorm door never closed properly, in the rooms there were no cages for your bags to have them properly protected. The lockers downstairs 3£ for one time use is a bit of day light robbery . Forget something and you're paying way too much. To store a bag


37%

El peor Hostel de todos los que he gestado. Las camas chirrían, los colchones son de espuma, incómodos y dan mucho calor porque no transpiran. Las almohadas finas como el papel. Duchas con agua ardiendo que no puedes regular y que además funcionan apretando un pulsador que dura segundos. El personal también de lo peor. No quisieron ni hacerme cambios para guardar mis malestar en las taquillas, que por cierto cuestan 3£ el día si tienes maleta grande. El peor desayuno que he visto, y cuesta3£

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback