Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rethymno Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 859 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 859 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
Rethymno Youth Hostel Located at Tobazi 41, Rethymno, Crete.
Rethymno Youth Hostel
Greece
Crete 74100 Tobazi 41, Rethymno
89% 859
35.3673905 24.4752430
Rethymno Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.1

Very very cheap hostel with very nice staff and with good places to talk to people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
10.0

The best hostel ever ! For sure it will be included in my future plans ! Great ambiance and location... as for the staff : they couldn't be better ! See you hopefully soon

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2016
10.0

Amazing location and atmosphere! Rethymno Youth Hostel is the best! Ivan and Alex are really helpful, as is the rest of the staff. They will tell you where to go and how, prepare you the best frappe in whole Crete and in the evening create a nice atmosphere. As they are really considerate, after 11 p.m. music is out, but you can continue to hang out on a nearby square or on the beach, if you don't prefer clubs. One of my favorite hostels for sure! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2016
7.7

A good place to stay if you're on a budget. Staff is really nice and helpful, the shared showers and toilets are clean and comfy. Mind you though, if you do not like the heat, find a place with air-con. It gets very hot in Rethymno in the summer, and hence it is very hot in the dorms themselves, and even on the roof, where bunk beds are also available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
10.0

This was the second time I've been in the hostel, and went to Rethymno especially to visit the hostel again. The staff - Ivan and Alex, are so kind and helpful, The roof is so nice to sleep at, The porch is so inviting and friendly - The music is always good, and the people are always interesting. Maybe not for very spoiled people, but definitely provides everything you need, and is located perfectly, a short walk from everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
9.7

Amazing hostel. Facilities are basic, but it's the people that make it. The staff promote a crazy social environment, everyone chills in the outdoor lounge, great location, close to the bus station with heaps of great cafes/restaurants (gyroosss) close by. Amazing value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
5.4

Very basic hostel that could be improved upon. Bedding is never changed bar the top sheet you hire, kitchen messy, small and inadequate. Dorms are stuffy and overheated with inadequate ceiling fan that moves nothing! Outdoor decking sleeping area is on mass and people not advised of this, think they have a dorm.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The elder lady stayed in a 6 bed dorm ( instead of 8 bed as she booked ) and because she was acting strange we tried to keep her 2 days by herself in a room while we were very busy . The cleaners replace in front of her the bed covers whenever there was a departure . Lots of guests even though they have beds in dorms are asking to sleep outdoors either for the experience or because its cooler . For 8.80 we received from here , we offered a friendly place in the best location on Crete , free wifi , free kitchen use , free lockers and safe deposit , free hot showers , washing facilities , 24 h safety personnel , help and travel info , daily non stop cleaning , etc . Perhaps hostels are not for everyone.

  • PeterPan1989
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
8.3

If you don't stay here your an idiot. Also if you don't listen to sticky fingers I don't like you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

In my opinion, best value for money hostel in all of Crete. Located in city old town, everything is nearby. Great hosts Alex and Ivan really make you feel comfortable and relaxed. Beds and sheets are clean, toilets and showers suffice anyone's needs; you can have decent breakfast and a proper hangover! :) The place is vibrant and full of young people with positive attitude, so you can either socialize and make new friends, or have some private space in order to rest from all-day backpacking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
28th Jul 2016
10.0

Best staff! Ivan, Alex, Manolis and everyone else made me feel so at home and happy. I stayed here twice during my time on crete and both times were awesome. Nothing fancy but absolutely no complaints. Rethymnon is a wonderful place, I'd highly recommend staying here if you are visiting. Thanks again to the staff :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.