Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rethymno Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 903 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 903 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
Rethymno Youth Hostel Located at Tobazi 41, Rethymno, Crete.
Rethymno Youth Hostel
Greece
Crete 74100 Tobazi 41, Rethymno
88% 903
35.3673905 24.4752430
Rethymno Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Nov 2016
7.1

in November this hostel was under major construction with most of the 2nd floor being rebuilt. Every morning workers were making loud noise starting 8am, hammering, power tools, throwing lumber off 2nd floor to tile floor below. Impossible to sleep past 8am! however, if construction were complete this is an ok hostel with a major annoying feature of bathrooms being in a separate building. need the toilet at night? put on your coat to go outside, down the stairs, across the courtyard :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
10.0

The beat hostel I'be ever stayed at. The staff, Ivan and Alex especially, we're the nicest people you'll ever meet. Rethymno is an absolutely beautiful town that's not totally filled with tourists, and this hostel puts you right in the middle of the old town with great/cheap food, not to mention the beach, just a minute walk away. It's about 5 minutes to the bus station, which is nice, and all of the other gueats there were really nice. Easily my favorite place in my 4 months of travel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Oct 2016
9.7

I only spent one nighT, .the staff was very nice and the hostel is fine, the only unconfortable thing is that the toilets and showers are separated from the rooms, so if you want to go to the toilet at night you need to go down 2 floors and cross a garden, but i guess its fine. They also charge the sheets if you need them. The best is the location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Oct 2016
9.1

This hostel had the best ambience of all the hostels I've stayed in my Crete and Greece trip. Nice common areas to drink a beer and talk with other guests. Very friendly staff (Alex and Ivan).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sevvenstyling
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
8.3

The staff are very lovely and helpful, great to have a chat with! My stay was short, but pleasant and although the rooms aren't much, you get what you pay for with the rooms being so well priced in such a good location in town. Only thing is toilet/showers are in their own separate building off the hostel so midnight pee breaks are a pain, but overall great place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Sep 2016
8.9

Great location with great value. Laid back atmosphere. My roommates never locked the door, seemed like anyone could just walk in the back stairs, but I had a locker, and I never felt the threat of theft. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean; although beds are pretty flimsy and don't have ladders. The staff was fairly helpful, but the general atmosphere was not overly social--many longer-term guests. Great value for a good place to rest your head + explore, but don't expect any hostel events.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
10.0

I had an incredible experience at Rethymno Youth Hostel, primarily due to the outstanding staff. Ivan and Alex were both so helpful and friendly, I ended up saying good bye 3 times and coming back again! I would 110% recommend this hostel - great social vibe and the bathrooms were really clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Sep 2016
8.6

Considering the fact that there isn't a big choice of hostels in Rethymno, I can definitely recommend this hostel. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and facilities, free WiFi, even small lockers in the rooms. The dorms can get a bit cramped if fully booked. The common areas are good to get in touch with other travellers. Central location which is good for shopping, beach or eating out. And keep in mind that the price (10 Euro) is extraordinary cheap. Breakfast can be ordered if necessary.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Sep 2016
9.4

Everything ok but the toilets are a bit far and not very "private."

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
9.4

Awesome place!!! Felt like home instantly :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.