Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Rethymno Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
Rethymno Youth Hostel Located at Tobazi 41, Rethymno, Crete.
Rethymno Youth Hostel
Greece
Crete 74100 Tobazi 41, Rethymno
92% 803
35.3673905 24.4752430
Rethymno Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • bindylanning9873
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jul 2016
9.4

After re-directing our entire trip due to unforeseen circumstances, we headed to Crete for 5 days all spent at Rethymno Youth Hostel & it was the best decision ever. Ivan & Alex are absolutely awesome (as well as all the other staff). They are so accomodating & helpful & have a really laid back vibe. There are no lockers in the rooms, but there is a safe in reception (just don't do what I did & forget to take your passport when you leave!!!) Food & drinks are super cheap at the hostel. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
9.7

Great backpacker hostel, friendly and helpful staff, good atmosphere, tasty and cheap breakfasts. If you'd like a topsheet, it's only 1 € for the duration of your stay, which isn't bad at all. The rooms were hot, but it's summertime in Crete, so for me it's expected and you just can't beat the price. Plenty of outlets in the rooms, many common areas, decent sized kitchen. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
9.7

Great location, facility and owners. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 44 reviews
12th Jul 2016
6.9

Friendly staff, and social atmosphere but otherwise a pretty basic hostel. There wasn't proper air conditioning so it was very hot and hard to sleep, and you had to pay more for a sheet, which was a bit odd.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.7

Wonderful hostel, great atmosphere for meeting people or just finding some solitude to read and relax during the day...Alex and Ivan have big hearts and you will feel at home instantly if you too come with an open heart. There isn't air conditioning so the summer months may be tough, but otherwise the place is super functional.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
8.9

Awesome place. The people really make the difference. I even extended my trip a night. Only advise I have for travellers is to give yourself minimum 4 nights in Crete

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
9.4

Absolutely loved this hostel! The people who run it are great, it's in an amazing location, and it has one of the friendliest atmospheres of any hostel I've ever been to. The bathrooms and showers are far from the rooms, which can be annoying, but overall it's a great place. Even in the peak of summer the prices are unbeatable. I will definitely return next time I'm in Crete!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
9.1

This hostel is awesome! The staff is so nice and welcoming. They helped our large group to find tours to go on to the beaches and gave us advice on restaurants, etc... The location is perfect because you can easily take day trips to other parts of the island. Also, it was definitely a good value for our money. I would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
10.0

Thank you Ivan, Alex, Yospeh and all the other hostel staff! We had such a great experience at Rethynmo Youth Hostel. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful, and will go above and beyond to make sure you have a wonderful experience. The location is great for exploring the old town, and is located near the bus stop for taking day trips to other parts of the island.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
7.7

Like most of the reviews say, the location is great and the price is right. Everyone who works at the hostel is nice, friendly, and helpful. Great vibes but I couldn't imagine staying more than a few nights. All the beds are really close together and there are no lockers or good places for suitcases in the room. bathrooms are also very far away from the rooms, in my case I had to walk down two flights of stairs to get to the toilet and shower. Hard to beat the price though and everyone is great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.