Hostelworld.com

Rethymno Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 749 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 749 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
Rethymno Youth Hostel Located at Tobazi 41, Rethymno, Crete.
Rethymno Youth Hostel
Greece
Crete 74100 Tobazi 41, Rethymno
95% 749
35.3673905 24.4752430
Rethymno Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • tylerw1991
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2016
10.0

A great hostel! Alex is an excellent manager, the hostel feels like you have come home. A nice atmosphere for meeting other travelers and getting to know them, Alex and the city of Rethymno. A good base to explore more around the region too. Comfortable beds, clean facilities, good kitchen, lounge and patio areas! Have Alex's special omelette in the morning, you will enjoy! Alex has some great tips on how to get the most out of your trip. Defiantly a place you need to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • RichArseDavis
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Apr 2016
9.7

Enjoyed myself here and felt very welcome. Alex went out of his way to make the stay better for everyone involved - including whipping up a spicy lentil soup, cheese and bread platters and moving people around to spread rooms out evenly. It was fairly quiet but the info available and advice easily given show the manager knows the needs of the traveller - especially knowing the best place to withdraw money with rates in mind. The only thing that is worth mentioning is the quite thin walls.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
10.0

I can't say enough good things about this hostel. Alex is an amazing guy that will give you the best places to visit and how to get around. He is also an amazing cook and made us the best food we had on our travels. The hostel is really nice and cozy. There is always music playing and people chatting on the porch. We stayed for a week and could have stayed for months. If you want somewhere to chill and have good conversations then stay here! It is perfectly located: close to beaches and shopping

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
10.0

Out of the 5 hostels I stayed on my trip this one was my favorite. Alex is super accommodating and makes everyone feel welcomed! He is willing to answer and questions and genuinely has one of the kindest hearts. Sometimes he even cooks a fabulous dinner which will leave your taste buds dancing for hours! The atmosphere is amazing and the most interesting and worldly people stay here. The location is absolutely perfect and nestled in the cutest street with little shops. I will be returning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
10.0

I booked one night and stayed for three. The environment really is the BEST and Alex is awesome. I slept well and the location is perfect. Felt totally welcome and at home. Will always stay here when I'm in Crete! HIGHLY recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2016
10.0

Stayed in February 2016. Hostel and facilities were all super clean and in great shape. Alex, the manager, is a great guy and the right person for this job!! Look forward to staying here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2016
9.1

Nice place, staff was great and super helpful, only thing i wasnt a fan of was that the hostel has its own bar so you cannkt bring in outside alchool

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2016
9.4

You can sleep outside in the summer which is really great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2016
8.6

Had a nice stay here. It was winter so it was slow and not many other backpackers. Alex is nice and helpful, and even walked me to the restaurant he recommended which was appreciated. Kitchen has all the basic needs and I had no problem cooking here. Wifi was good. Very close to everything, you can walk anywhere you need to go. The rooms are very basic, just the bed and one outlet for the whole room and one coat rack, so it might be a bit cramped in the summer. Bathrooms are detached but clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Dec 2015
10.0

Century old Cretan household that has been welcoming travelers since the 80's. This is a place simple in accommodation but truly rich in story and soul, and this is the hardest thing to obtain. If you're will is to discuss and exchange with unique people from all around the globe, this is the place to be. It is now being operated by Alex, quite a character to whom I recommend you meet. Safe travels to you all!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.