X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Retox Party Hostel Reviews

O utca 41, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1632 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Loved getting to know everyone! Thanks for an amazing time

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Legendary parties with super friendly staff. Lived up to the expectation. Noisy, fun, & at times total carnage but safe & secure. Would definitely return to in future.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a great time, staff were helpful and always involved, atmosphere was fun! I had fun! Honestly though it was a great experience, ill definitely be back. Shout out to Pixie and his awesome leggings and Taylor and Tarzan, they are awesome.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Retox was one hell of a week! The staff are awesome and are a huge part of why Retox was unbelievable. They are great at getting everyone involved and throwing some pretty sick parties. Day or night, Retox is the place to be. Massive shout out to Pixie and the rest of the staff. Ya'll were crazy 😎

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

This is definitely a hostel with character. The staff were really friendly. The hostel also has a bar downstairs and organizes pub crawls during the week.


86%

Amazing time at Retox. Crazy, unforgettable moments and people. Highly recommended if you're looking to drink and take advantage of the Budapest nightlife. Also, go on the Thursday boat party!


91%

Retox was a beautiful dream! As other reviewers have said, you are welcomed in with casual, friendly, and open arms as soon as you enter the door. Everyone is there to make sure you have the BEST time possible, and it really was one of the best weekends of my life. Be ready to party your face off, and be ready to be chill about everyone around you partying their faces off (and whatever else comes off in the process...). It's not a luxury 4-star hotel, but a 4 star hotel could never be this fun.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Standard no frills hostel rooms / facilities, but still good value and VERY lively. Not the place to be if you want a quiet nights sleep! Well stocked bar which seems to get busy every night with a mixed backpacker crowd. Perfect "party hostel" for young groups or solo travellers in the centre of Budapest!


100%

i spent 1 week at retox with two friends. I have to say that the experience was awesome!! people there are great, all the staff was so nice (especially flynch, tarzan and taylor). Actually all of them were great with us! The atmosphere was really familiar so it was easy to have fun. i'll come back! for sure! recive a big hug from spain mates! see u as soon as possible!!

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The staff makes it clear when you check in that this is a party hostel and not to expect much more. That was 100% true and this place serves as nothing but a place to sleep at night. Everywhere smells. The bathroom and shower made you feel as if you might catch a disease so WEAR FLIP FLOPS. But the nightlife you experience is very fun although crazy.


97%

Was by far and away the best time we have had in Europe. The staff was amazing, the activities that they organized were amazing, the entire atmosphere was amazing. If you are looking to have fun in Budapest, this is the place to be. Thank you retox!


51%

place was an absolute dump. room stunk and en-suite showers were vile

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I can not believe it has taken me this long to write a review [well, I can I think i'm a little challenged and couldn't figure out how to do it] but nonetheless, Retox hostel is amazing. No, its not a lavish 5 star resort, yes, you're going to hear some strange things at strange hours, but that is the beauty of this place. I had never had a hostel experience where I met so many amazing people, created countless memories, and left with new friends. From the atmosphere--> staff, Retox is the best

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Retox is the best place on earth mainly thanks to the legends that work there. They will literally give you the shirt of their back, take their tits out in solidarity (ily salty), and support your mid-day tequila habits. They have fun stuff planned every night and are around during the day if you want to get beaten in an array of drinking games. I extended once and booked a flight back less than 24 hours after I checked out.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had the best time at Retox, the staff are so much fun and great people. They all make you feel very welcome and more than happy to help you out and have a few too many drinks with you. Defiantly the only place i would stay in Budapest!!!

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Disclosure:what you're about to read is NOT a paid advertisement,it is a real testimony about this legendary place. From the champagne boat cruise, to the ruin bar crawl, to the sparty, to the nipples, to the jager train, Retox has a way of making you feel at home from the second you enter through the doors. The staff are truly the best, Racks, T-rex, Chloe, S.J., Salty, Pix, Flynch, Morpheus,Johnny, thank you for the unforgettable week, already booking my stay for May #creaturesofretox #pesties


91%

What a riot! definitely not your average hostel. the nights out are insane and the guys who work there really go out of their way to help. You'll walk into a room and ten minutes later leave with pals for life, the atmosphere is incredible! Will be back again soon no doubt - keep up the good work ✌

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I wish I'd come and stayed here sooner. I guess I'll have to make up for it in the future!

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Travelling for three months on your own can make an Only child such as myself feel quite lonely. As soon as I walked in the door I was made to feel part of the craziest and most beautiful family. I've never cried, laughed and so much fun in my life. Shout out to Tarzan for being the friendliest grizzly man, Chloe for showing me her sweater puppies, flinch for being flinch and finally Danny and tinker bell for recruiting me into their alcohololympic team and getting me absolutely WGW. BAIIIIIII.


100%

So basically, if you like to have fun.... THIS PLACE IS THE PLACE. Staff is legend, tights are worn on the reg... seriously you wont find a better spot to meet good people and have an absolute rager of a time. If I had more time, money and stamina I'd most likely live here. Stay sweet and stay at Retox.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(165 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback