X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Retox Party Hostel Reviews

O utca 41, Budapest, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1632 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I've stayed at in a fair share of hostels all through Europe and this has got to be my favourite one. There aren't many places where the staff are as friendly and as good to hang out with as other travellers. Good facilities and kitchen to save some money and cook your own food. Good location, close to the metro station and restaurants and bars surrounding. Something is always organised by the staff every night which means there is always seething to do. Absolutely awesome hostel, thanks legends

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Though the hostel wasn't very clean, it wasn't terrible and the atmosphere and staff willingness to make sure you have a great time definitely make up for the lack of cleanliness.


100%

Six days in this big amazing funky hostel, best staff ever!!! Crazy guys who knows every guest by name and are always willing to help and have good advice on what to do! Parties and drinking every day in their awesome bar and some places else, amazing pubcrawl. Great location, great messy atmosphere, don't look for a fancy structure and don't go there if you're picky. It's all about the party, not the design or the most expensive bed linen. 100% fun! Hope to come back soon! Cheers to you all!!!


91%

Great place to stay if you are wanting to experience Budapest at it's finest..their nightlife! Staff were really helpful with any questions we had which makes the stay a lot more fun! There were always activities on each night which encouraged everyone to join! A lot of fun was had here!!


100%

This place is absolutely amazing! The staff here are so much fun, they were very informative about what to see and do here in Budapest. They also show you an amazing time here at the hostel. There is an event going on every single night, from beer olympics to a party boat with some amazing views of all the sites at night. Oh and yes it is a party. Party every night, dont come here if youre looking to relax. I absolutely love it here, was meant to stay one night, still here going on 4 nights.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best place ever your all great the place was great felt like home I never wanna leave had the best birthday ever Sean c Ireland


100%

Just go, it lives up to its reputation and then some. If you wish to party and have a great time go. Thanks to all the staff especially Morpheus for telling me to go on the walking tour, was one of the best parts of my trip made tons of friends.


100%

Just fantastic fun. Staff is amazing. They organize great events. If you're looking to party in Budapest this is the spot. If you're looking to party but also sleep check out their sister place Carpe Noctem. All the folks from that come party at Retox anyway. Way better to stay at the spot though.


100%

get all up inside the positive vibes, become immersed in the retox vortex. the place, the people, the love are all a beautiful thing.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

If you're looking for a time with a bunch of well-hearted, iron-livered Australians, Americans and Canadians (the staff at least) to drink the night away and sleep the day away, this place is the place for you. I came here for just one night at the end of my Budapest adventure, and sadly I couldn't stay longer. If and when I can I will be back without hesitation...


100%

awesome party atmosphere for anyone looking to come to Budapest for the nightlife and overall experience.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Hostel Retox is an incredible place, with the most amazing friendly staff. I actually had the best weekend of my life. I'm going back again, if you only have enough money to go to one place ever again go here.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is like that scene in Billy Madison when he returns to Ms Veronica Vaughns class and grabs the chubby kids face........ `STAY HERE, STAY AS LONG AS YOU CAN. If youre into Harry Potter you will want to leave a Horcrux here to return one day. Ultimate staff, the best facilities, comfiest beds, awesome atmosphere

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

You'll have the best nights of your life that you don't remember at this hostel, stop caring about anything in the real world (in the best way), make a ton of friends and see some of coolest parts of beautiful Budapest. The staff is a bunch of crazy weirdos and I loved them. Shoutout to Pixie's tights to keep up their internet reputation, and to Flynch just cuz. Location is also fantastic, close to the city center and heaps of food.


94%

No better place to stay if you're looking for fun and for a group of incredible people to share it all with! Staff and other residents were all so welcoming and brought us out every night for different events which we would never have known about otherwise. Stay here if you're up for F U N and not a lot of sleep!!


100%

I cries a little when I had to leave....

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Wow this place was awesome. Pixie is so attractive. He has the coolest tights. But seriously this place is unlike anything I have ever experienced. Everyone is here for the same reason and that makes it easier to meet people, not to mention that the staff are incredible. Definitely go on the booze cruise. You wont regret it. I mean seriously Pixie is really hot.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff are what make this place amazing! Racks who checked me in was awesome, but all the staff were equally as helpful, enthusiastic and crazy. I loved it there so much definitely will be returning!!

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel out of over 30 I've been to, don't miss out.


100%

A highlight of my 12 month trip so far! This is a party hostel with a great atmosphere, if you can't make friends here then you're probably retarded. The staff run fun activities every night and make sure that everyone is involved and having a great time. The crew also know the city really well and go out of their way to recommend things to see and do in this awesome city. Allow some buffer time for your stay because you'll definitely want to stay for longer than planned!

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(166 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback