Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Retro Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Aug 2017
9.7

We were a family of 5 travelling together with two teens and a child. We stayed in different hostels in different cities and Retro hostel was our favourite place. Great location. Situated on a quiet street but it's an easy distance to everything. Warm atmosphere. Amazing staff! Breakfast was included, and we were able to pick off a menu. Breakfast was home cooked, plentiful and served every morning with a smile. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and well maintained. Fully equipped kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.6

Good hostel. Kind staff. We did the trip to the mountain lakes which was organised by the hostel and we would definitely recommend that if you have some tim in Cluj. The street can be a bit noisy in the night because of people outside a nearby bar and dogs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
8.6

I had a great stay at the Retro Youth Hostel. It's amazing value for money when considering the fact you get towels and breakfast for free. The staff are exceptionally friendly and are happy to answer any questions or help you with any problems.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2017
4.9

Though the man at the desk was nice and helped me with all of my questions, the facilities just weren't up to par. They ask you to bring the keys back and turn them in, but then you walk all the way up 2 floors to find someone else has the key and it is locked so you have to go all the way back down for the spare. There was only one toilet on each floor for each gender, and one shower, all of which the lights didn't work and I had to ask them to fix. The showers were dirty and often flooded.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
9.1

Very good value for money! Clean, cool (despite the heat) room in a superb location! Breakfast was tasty, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only slight problem was the small toilets and showers, but hey, that's what hostels are like :) The hostel was located right in the centre, on a small street with few cars. It was within walking distance of a small flower market and rock pub. Very, very charming :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
9.1

The hostel was great fot me although if it was really hot it would have been useful to have a fan - also the beds were very soft in the twin room ( hard wld be Better 4 slightly older people - but hey all good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jun 2017
8.9

Very centrally located, secure and safe. The common area was downstairs and not amazing for meeting other people. For breakfast there are 6 different options (including pancakes, French toast and omelette) that you choose from the night before although one day they didn't offer that and instead did bread/toast and scrambled eggs. We stayed in a double room with ensuite, which was a good size and very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
7.1

Everything is empty tile and white walls. Excessively loud and noisy. You can hear everything in the building, especially when someone uses the stairs. Some guys upstairs kept us up late just by talking in their room. What saves it is the old brick cellar, which was super cute and fun, we spent most of our time down there. Great spot in the city, right near the main square. Staff were friendly. Reception desk not near entry; someone could come in and go upstairs without staff knowing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
8.0

The Retro Youth Hostel is situated right in the old town, so the location is perfect. The staff is super friendly and always in the mood to help you. There were lockers and you could rent a lock at the reception. There is only one toilet at each floor so you might need some patience - but the bathroom is clean. The only minus are the beds: They are comfortable but quite loud - so you will wake up when someone goes to bed, especially when it's your double bed. Still, a great hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
9.1

A lot about this hostel was really great like the central location and friendly, helpful staff. The thing it's missing is a common space for people to chat/hang out. There are tables/chairs in the dining area, but it's in the basement, out of the way, and people are only really there for breakfast. I mainly talked to one of my roommates and with others, briefly, if they happened to be near the reception area on my way in/out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.