Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Retro Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
9.1

The hostel was great fot me although if it was really hot it would have been useful to have a fan - also the beds were very soft in the twin room ( hard wld be Better 4 slightly older people - but hey all good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jun 2017
8.9

Very centrally located, secure and safe. The common area was downstairs and not amazing for meeting other people. For breakfast there are 6 different options (including pancakes, French toast and omelette) that you choose from the night before although one day they didn't offer that and instead did bread/toast and scrambled eggs. We stayed in a double room with ensuite, which was a good size and very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
7.1

Everything is empty tile and white walls. Excessively loud and noisy. You can hear everything in the building, especially when someone uses the stairs. Some guys upstairs kept us up late just by talking in their room. What saves it is the old brick cellar, which was super cute and fun, we spent most of our time down there. Great spot in the city, right near the main square. Staff were friendly. Reception desk not near entry; someone could come in and go upstairs without staff knowing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th May 2017
8.0

The Retro Youth Hostel is situated right in the old town, so the location is perfect. The staff is super friendly and always in the mood to help you. There were lockers and you could rent a lock at the reception. There is only one toilet at each floor so you might need some patience - but the bathroom is clean. The only minus are the beds: They are comfortable but quite loud - so you will wake up when someone goes to bed, especially when it's your double bed. Still, a great hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
9.1

A lot about this hostel was really great like the central location and friendly, helpful staff. The thing it's missing is a common space for people to chat/hang out. There are tables/chairs in the dining area, but it's in the basement, out of the way, and people are only really there for breakfast. I mainly talked to one of my roommates and with others, briefly, if they happened to be near the reception area on my way in/out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.1

Twin private room was clean and charmingly decorated. Breakfast was included and a woman made our hot meal (eggs, pancakes, etc) to order! We were the only people we saw staying there and there is not really common space, so it's not very social, but there is a fantastic free to use wooden sauna!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel, central, clean and welcoming. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that not only was there a free breakfast, but that you picked off a menu and it was cooked freshly for you. I'd definitely go here if I was going back to Cluj!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
9.4

This hostel is well located, in the old town by the city walls. 5 mins walking and you can reach all the bars and restaurants which cluster around the main and museum squares. The car rental from the hostel is reasonable, and they have free bikes too. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean, and hostel staff were exceptionally friendly, and offered lots of advice for our stay. The free breakfast is tasty too. A good standard for a hostel. Bring ear plugs for private rooms as they face 2 bars!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
8.9

Central location staff friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Mar 2017
9.7

I stayed four nights and I highly recommend this hostel. The location is great in the very center of the city, a lot of sights and restaurants are in the walking distance. All the staff members are friendly and always ready to share useful information. Rooms are very clean and nice, showers are hot and breakfast was good. There is also free wifi in the rooms. All in all a good choice for a visit of Cluj.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.