Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Retro Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.1

Twin private room was clean and charmingly decorated. Breakfast was included and a woman made our hot meal (eggs, pancakes, etc) to order! We were the only people we saw staying there and there is not really common space, so it's not very social, but there is a fantastic free to use wooden sauna!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel, central, clean and welcoming. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that not only was there a free breakfast, but that you picked off a menu and it was cooked freshly for you. I'd definitely go here if I was going back to Cluj!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
9.4

This hostel is well located, in the old town by the city walls. 5 mins walking and you can reach all the bars and restaurants which cluster around the main and museum squares. The car rental from the hostel is reasonable, and they have free bikes too. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean, and hostel staff were exceptionally friendly, and offered lots of advice for our stay. The free breakfast is tasty too. A good standard for a hostel. Bring ear plugs for private rooms as they face 2 bars!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
8.9

Central location staff friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Mar 2017
9.7

I stayed four nights and I highly recommend this hostel. The location is great in the very center of the city, a lot of sights and restaurants are in the walking distance. All the staff members are friendly and always ready to share useful information. Rooms are very clean and nice, showers are hot and breakfast was good. There is also free wifi in the rooms. All in all a good choice for a visit of Cluj.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
6.0

Wouldn’t stay again. The lady staff member is unhelpful and uninterested. The guy staff is better. Toilets and showers are awkward and uncomfortably tiny. Sauna is only available for those who stay 3+ nights. No steam room mentioned. Only laundry service costs 35 lei (no self-catering facilities). Dorm is more expensive than nicer hostels in other nearby cities. No vibe or mingling of guests. Location is good (but dogs barking on same street as hostel = not cool).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.4

It was lovely to stay here. It was clean and the staff is friendly. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
9.4

Super clean, super well-located, super friendly staff. Plus: help yourself from the giant jar of pickles in the kitchen! --Texas John

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
10.0

Awesome location, staff and amenities. Could not have asked for a better place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.