Hostelworld.com

Retrometro Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.3
Retrometro Backpackers Located at 2-19-1 Nishiasakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo.
Retrometro Backpackers
Japan
Tokyo 1110035 2-19-1 Nishiasakusa,, Taito-ku
89% 317
35.7131724 139.7893764
Retrometro Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
17th Apr 2016
8.3

Lovely staff, very cute hostel. Cosy, cute, clean rooms, nice big very comfortable beds!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
10.0

Loved staying here. It was in an excellent location, near a train station and shops. The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. The accommodation was extremely clean and welcoming. The facilities were excellent. I was very comfortable and enjoyed my stay here. Highly recommend this property!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Mar 2016
7.7

I don't like the toilet...really smelly. There's only one...?It is very small n crampy. Shower is ok. I like the kitchen. Very organized except no rice cooker?Do not like the dryer. It does not dry well. Worry about sanitization problem cuz not enough heat n u sharing. Just one dryer n washer......end up hsving to Dry it 2 times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • darkrecruit
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
9.1

A little on the pricey side but that's what one should expect during high season in Japan. Hostel is in an old converted house in the historic Asakusa district. Access to the nearest subway station is about 10 minutes. Hostel staff were strict about enforcing rules. Due its small size, people rarely hang out in the lounge. There was a good mix of Japanese and foreign people when I stayed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rhaygynn
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
9.1

Super great hostel in the heart of asakusa! there's a family mart nearby (5mins walk)! it's really warm and great atmosphere to socialise! as this is a small hostel, everyone will meet each other! made many great friends there. they do not have large lockers for your bags but it's very safe so everyone just puts their bag near the beds! highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lrecompsat
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2016
9.4

Had a great stay here for 2 nights. Nae was there to check me in and gave me a few helpful tips on the area and nearby attractions. There is a bicycle rental place just down the road where you can rent a bike for 300 Yen for the full day. Lots of restaurants in the area too, and it's just around the corner from some famous cooking-knife shops. The common area is cozy and comfortable, the right size to help people socialize. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2016
10.0

Really nice place! The staff is really what makes the place so good! Small and cozy. A good place to meet new friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2016
8.9

Great stay thank you so much for everything! I had a great time at the bath house :) I will recommend to all my friends visiting Tokyo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2015
9.7

everything is clean, friendly and helpful staff. 5-10 mins walk from subway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Dec 2015
8.9

Stayed two nights. Very cosy, homely hostel with a good mix of people and upbeat atmosphere. Received a friendly welcome from the host who organised a special outing to a nearby temple on NY eve. Beds were very comfortable, living quarters bit cramped but this helped with meeting people - there was no option but to interact. Hot water is needed in upstairs sinks. Asukasa also bit far from main nightlife/shopping areas of Shibuya/Shinjuku so expect to use subway. But great value overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.