Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Retrometro Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 340 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.2
Retrometro Backpackers Located at 2-19-1 Nishiasakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo.
Retrometro Backpackers
Japan
Tokyo 1110035 2-19-1 Nishiasakusa,, Taito-ku
87% 340
35.7131724 139.7893764
Retrometro Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
9.4

Maybe I just got lucky, but this was the most quiet hostel I've ever stayed in. But as it's a small hostel that doesn't let big groups stay, this place probably appeals more to people who are not the party animal types :) The place itself is 5 minute walk from the subway station, so we could get to all the major sights conveniently and the staff was extremely helpful and nice. I recommend this place if you want a base for recharging in-between days of sightseeing ^^

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Oct 2016
9.4

This is my second time staying here; the hostel is still very clean, secure, and convenient, with helpful staff; they have added small security lockers by each bed as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Sep 2016
8.6

Really nice and cosy hostel. Close to the subway (GINZA LINE). Very clean and very safe. I have one remark: at night it is really really hot in the dorm. I really recommend this place, it is a little quiet escape from the crowded and chaotic Tokyo!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.7

RetroMetro was a lovely place to stay! The staff are so kind and accommodating :D Everything is so clean and the beds are comfy too. It is a fairly quiet pleace though so don't expect to ge there for parties, go there for home life :) Asakusa is a lovely area to stay near, not too crazy but not quiet either. Will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
6.9

Hostel was in a good location. Cosy and nice. Clean but lacked atmosphere incredibly. It didnt have a dedicated common room which didnt help. The staff were okay. The lady was at times quite rude to me and others at the hostel but was willing to help. The guy was excellent. The beds are nice with personal fans which are really helpful. The locking system on the main door was incredibly poor with everyone staying there struggling to open... Perhaps a change is required... Not bad

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
10.0

Nai-san is very kind and helpful. The place is kept clean. Great location in Asakusa, not far from the airport or central Tokyo. Everything was as described.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
10.0

Great location, awesome staff, and really clean and comfortable quarters. The AC was highly appreciated and the common room had a book FULL of great places to eat. Would absolutely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
9.1

Owner is very nice and willing to help you out! Be aware that it is not obvious from the street and the name is written on the big window in marker and on a small board outside. We spent 8 nights in the 8 bed mix and it was good! Don't go to check in or drop bags between 2:00-4:30pm because they are closed to new guests at that time. If you arrive before 2 she gladly holds your luggage until check in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.1

Cute little place that isn't too busy, though a bit out of the centre. Good setup in the rooms (all beds have blinds, bed lamp + fan, power outlets).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
9.4

Very clean and nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.