X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Reykjavik Backpackers Reviews

Laugavegur 28, Reykjavik, Iceland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
825 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Location is excellent. Very noisy fri/sat night but that's to be expected given it's location, just don't go to bed until late! Yes you have to pay for lockers and linen but it's Iceland, everything is expensive, but it's such a great country that it's worth it.


89%

Very nice place but the wi-fi did not work at all in the hostel. Had to go down to the bar and sit.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice location on the main street, but the biggest drawback was after paying for the room, you'll find basic things aren't included. You have to pay to rent lockers and you have to pay to get a blanket on your bed. There is only one maybe 2 outlets in the room for 3-4 bunkbeds of people. First hostel I have stayed in where the room included a bed but not sheets. Other than that small annoyance though, everything else was nice about the hostel.


86%

Everything in Reykjavik is expensive but here you are paying for the ideal location! The kitchen facilities are lacking but there are plenty of bathrooms and showers and a lounge on every floor. The staff are very friendly!


89%

I had a great time here the staff were friendly, and were genuinely interested in facilitating my having a good time in Iceland. A room above a bar!? How cool is that!?


54%

I stayed in a bedroom with 8 people. The size of the window was ridiculous, thus providing very little oxygen. The door could only be closed when being loudly slammed. I'm not even gonna mention that there is only one lightswitch that makes the whole room go incredibly bright....


60%

staff were great, but some of the cliental were very unpleasant. luckily I was able to change rooms. This soured the experience somewhat. Also, the music is very loud on weekends and Monday so earplugs are required. Several showers broken and look like they have been for some time.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

The room itself was adequate for a twin share. Access to the balcony/terrace was great but not so great when people sat right outside our room and drank and socialised into the night. The bathroom/shower on our floor - 4th I think- did not work so had to go down a floor to the shower which was not kept clean.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Great location right on the main street. Downstairs is a bar/restaurant. If your after a good nights sleep you may want to look elsewhere as the nightlife doesn't kick off till midnight downstairs. All the lights on my floor cut out mid afternoon and no one at the hostel fixed it till the next morning. All the bathroom were pitch black. The kitchen was very basic with no kettle or toaster. I was expecting better as Iceland is expensive and I wanted to save money by cooking a few meals myself.


91%

Iceland is expensive in general, but this hostel is well worth the money spent!


83%

The place was noisy... not that I minded. Wifi was only to be used in the bar and in the 1st floor. Kitchen only for the guests on 4th floor. Other than that, friendly staff, cool bar, very clean (one shower was funny though) and in the very middle of the city. I would choose it again.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location. Comfortable beds. Great heating. There was an odd stagnant smell in the showers that was present for the duration of our stay which was very unpleasant. Some of the staff also seemed cranky.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, first of all, thank you for you review. I just wanted to make you sure that our housekeeping team is doing their best and they are cleaning the bathrooms on a daily basis. Sometimes even more often, but it is impossible to clean it after each guest. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Reykjavik Backpackers and wish you happy travels. Michal

83%

Perfect location, place is very clean, friendly staff.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is located in the main touristic street of Reykjavik. Just 5mins walking from all the pubs, supermarket 1min walking distance. It's situated above a bar that doubles as the lobby, so it's always guaranteed to have people around. Worth the visit.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

A good stay. Fresh paint and art work. Kitchens ok for communal living.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The plus sides first- excellent location. Plug points by every bed. Bathrooms not en suite but there are enough so it's never busy. Helpful staff. Downside- it's noisy. They gave us only one key card for the room for the two of us and it was a pain when we wanted to go and do different things. They said they were short on key cards but they should get some more. It is not fair for guests to have to share key cards. Also, I found some security concerns which I have written to hostelworld about.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you for the review and also for the note about the security issue. We fixed the problem already. Regards, Michal

63%

The location is great and the staff helpfull, but the rooms were poor and not clean. Price/quality is out of balance.


91%

Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Beds were a little saggy and weekend nights got a bit loud but those are the only complaints and the hostel is on the main bar street in the city so its a bit to be expected.


77%

Tremendous location in Central Reykjavik - quite noisy at night but that did not bother me. Private room on the third floor was adequate but the shared bathroom, particularly the shower was awful and needs upgrading. Some of the staff were pleasant and helpful, many thanks to them, sadly others were disinterested and even obstructive. The café bar on ground floor had a great atmosphere.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, right in the center of the city. Friendly staff, who know the city well and can recommend places to go. Also provide help in renting cars, tours etc... Would definitely recommend!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Reykjavik Hostels

Please give us your feedback