Hostelworld.com

Reykjavik Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 952 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 952 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.8
Reykjavik Backpackers Located at Laugavegur 28, , Reykjavik.
Reykjavik Backpackers
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Laugavegur 28
75% 952
64.1453857 -21.9279142
Reykjavik Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Sep 2015
4.6

Cons: not for solo travel. Staff no helpful. Small room without ventilation. No good common areas to meet people and check in till 6pm. Pos: great location. Good shower.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2015
8.0

Yes, it's above a bar and yes, it's pricy (welcome to Iceland), but it was good for what it was. The staff were helpful, the facilities were clean, and the hostel drew in a good crowd of people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Sep 2015
7.7

No lockers in rooms and terrible beds and pillows. Internet didn't really work in the rooms but location was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2015
7.7

this hostel is in a perfect location and the people who work there are very helpfull but it is a bit noisy it is more for young people I think

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2015
10.0

Very nice bar situated on the first floor. By night we joked it was more of a bar with a hostel than a hostel with a bar. Staff was helpful, showers, toilets and rooms were all very clean. You cannot beat the location in the city center. I would stay here again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • inesmvleitao8655
  • Portugal, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Aug 2015
5.4

despite the great location and the staff, the hostel itself was a let down. it was too expensive for the facilities. bed was very unconfortable. I was at the top bunk and the matress was of really thin foam. i could feel all the boards. also the toilets during the nigt smelt really bad like fetival toilets. i would recommend a refurbismnet of the rooms and toilets. a common are with a coffee machine maybr would also be nice. there was no way to mingle with anyoneexceot for the pub downstairs...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2015
10.0

Super staff, very friendly, welcoming & helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, All Female Group, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
22nd Aug 2015
6.9

The cooking area is not enough for such a big capacity. When people sitting around difficult to use the facilities.you must know that they have a pub underground, there will be some noice until 12:30 or even later in Saturday and Sunday.The location is good so if you cannot find other hostel or guesthouse,it is a choice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2015
9.1

The hostel was great as were the staff who advised and helped every day. I extended my stay by one night and returned there for two nights at the end of my ten day trip. Facilities could have been improved with an electric kettle in the kitchen and additional chairs to enable more people to sit and chat whilst dining. The room was too small to fit locker storage for backpacks but there was a day storage room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2015
4.9

Dirty environment and hard to move into. Not at all comfortable, even for just one night stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.