Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik City HI Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 962 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 962 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
9.4

The staff were all very helpful & easily approachable - they truly make the Hostel experience as fun as it was :) Note to the management team: there was a power outage for the entire building which affected the internet connection - unfortunately, your staff member on the desk didn't have the building layout information she needed in order to find the internet reuters/hubs to be able to address the issue!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
6.9

Rooms were a little too hot and lacked airflow.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • thelastormsbee2326
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
8.3

This hostel is good for what you need. Comfy bed, nice showers. The location is a bit far but its not too big of a deal if you use the bus which is right outside. I wish the checkout time was later than 10 since I had to check in quite late the night before but it wasn't that big of a deal. Would highly recommend going to the bath/pool house right next door-was a really cool, cheap alternative to the blue lagoon. Also- don't be alarmed that everything is super expensive. It's iceland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jul 2017
7.4

The place is good for a stopover. I stayed two night and was pleased with what I got for what I paid.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2017
6.0

Not your typical noisy and dirty hostel. Facilities are neat. The staff are very very friendly, especially the night staff Kristofer who was nice to chat with about local day-to-day life in Iceland.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Jul 2017
9.7

This was a great hostel! We stayed in Room 6 and it was spacious with 6 beds. The communal bathroom was nice with enough toilets and showers. The hostel was easy to find with ample parking spaces for our rental car. The seafood restaurant across the street was fantastic! The breakfast did cost money, about $15 USD, so we didn't end up getting it. Nice spacious kitchen and communal areas. Very helpful staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
3.1

Staff was unaccommodating and seemed far overworked. the rooms were smelly and the bathrooms were dirty. All of the amenties listed come at an extra charge that is not clearly marked. The halls were noisy with people and the facilities seemed outdated. There are far better accommodations for the price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
9.4

We liked this hostel a lot. Our family of 4 had a 4 bed dorm with private bathroom: clean and comfortable. Check-in with Yong was very friendly, efficient and helpful. Security good but I'm not sure why the side doors were left open (not that it mattered). Kitchen good. Location was perfect for us as we had spent time in central Reykjavik earlier in our trip and wanted to be next to the Laugardalslaug pools (fun afternoon), but might be inconvenient if you don't realise it's not central.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
8.3

A central location, a pretty view outside, helpful staff. Overall a cheap and pretty cool way to stay in Reykjavik.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jul 2017
3.7

expected much more from this hostel as i have stayed at previous hi hostels which were fantastic! however this experience was sadly not the same, the common areas an room weren't very clean, there was a child in my room which i found extremely weird, there was little recommendation or guidance on things to do/getting around.. i usually stay at hostels to meet people i always take part in group activities etc however there was none to offer overall for what we paid i wish we stayed in a hotel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.