Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
Reykjavik City Hostel Located at Sundlaugavegur 34, IS-105 Reykjavik, Reykjavik.
Reykjavik City Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik Sundlaugavegur 34, IS-105 Reykjavik
85% 738
64.1465285 -21.8747234
Reykjavik City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Aug 2016
8.0

This hostel is about a 30 minute walk from the city center. It is next to a pool, a campsite, a bus stop, and it is maybe a 10-15 minute walk from some lovely coastline views. Very expensive, like other hostels in Iceland, and breakfast costs extra. Bathrooms had a smell of sulfur, but maybe that is normal in Iceland? Common area is a bit spread out.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ilomarmachado6148
  • Brazil, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
17th Aug 2016
7.1

As most of the H.I. Hostels this one is located outside the city center. As I was by car, it was not a problem for me, but walking from there to the main attractions could take more than 30 mins (minimum). Hostel is pretty safe and has the H.I. pattern which I find good. Room for 4 was very much OK.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
10.0

We could NOT have asked for a better experience. We stayed at the end of our trip so we'd already explored Reykjavik. The location might be difficult for those looking to be downtown (a bus route passes the hostel but I'm not sure how late it runs), but it is ideal for those looking for a quieter alternative.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • solesillo3216
  • Spain, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
29th Jul 2016
8.6

Nice spot in the capital, one of the cheapest around, 20min walk to the city centre though. Good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Jul 2016
8.6

Hostel was nice. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice atmosphere. Had a large campsite too for people who want to save money. Facilities were great as were the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • thetallone521
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jul 2016
8.3

Super clean everything. Wonderfully helpful staff. Bus tickets available at reception and the girls are very knowledgable. Quite a walk from dt Rey.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
9.7

Just Awesome, Hostel a bit far from centrum but there is a bus for that

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
6.0

It's a okay hostel. It's pricey and a bit far away, even if it's easy to walk into the center. The bathrooms are so so. The room lacks any kind of coziness, it's just bunk beds and a table. Nothing more. It's totally okay to stay there but maybe I would pay more next time and be closer to the city and hopefully have a little bit more cozy place

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
8.6

Friendly helpful staff, nice hostel and comfortable beds. About a 25 minute walk from the centre of Reykjavik, but an easy and pleasant walk. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
8.6

This is a very good hostel but from my point of view , a bit far from downtown. You have to take a bus to get there, 15 minutes ride. The rooms are ok, clean, with bathrooms inside. It is next to the camp site and there always are many people around. There is also a swimming pool 200 metres away. They have washing machines and dryers to wash your clothes if you need it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.