Hostelworld.com

Reykjavik City Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 705 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 705 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
Reykjavik City Hostel Located at Sundlaugavegur 34, IS-105 Reykjavik, Reykjavik.
Reykjavik City Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik Sundlaugavegur 34, IS-105 Reykjavik
84% 705
64.1465285 -21.8747234
Reykjavik City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • boliviana306107
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.6

Can be kinda expensive but overall nice place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
3.1

1. We were delayed on our flight to Reykjavik by an entire day, and when we emailed the hostel about our reservation they said there was nothing they could do. 2. The attendant who checked us in early in the morning was either drunk or high and did not do his job well. 3. The downstairs showers were filthy and disgusting, the water wouldn't drain. 4. Our last day reservation didn't work and our stuff was taken from our room; we weren't notified and were forced to buy an expensive room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
9.1

Check in late at midnight but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Facility is sufficient and well kept, clean, tidy. Next by the campsite. (-) The man toilet was stucked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
8.9

Great place. The only thing that could really be better is the location. It's a bit far from the main city market street, which is where most of the things to do are. That just means a bit more walking, but nothing major. Aside from that it's a great place. The staff are really helpful and friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
8.0

The hostel was in a really great location. Easy to walk downtown and a swimming pool next door! It was really clean and well labeled. It was easy to get in and around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
8.9

It's about a 30 minute walk from downtown Reykjavik, which I somehow didn't realize when I booked. However, the staff were nice and the room was clean. The showers were quite large and the breakfast is a good deal! The staff helped me immensely, especially when I missed my airport shuttle! I would highly recommend this place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2016
9.4

Reykjavik City Hostel was great! The staff was fabulous and I couldn't ask for a better location. It definitely helped to make my trip the blast that it was!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2016
10.0

Excellent, could not fault anything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
2.9

This is big hostel. 200+ beds and only one person working at a time. There was always a line at the desk. I also threw out my receipt for the key to my locker and they weren't able to give me back my deposit even though I gave them back the key. So if you get a locker, keep the receipt! They also ran out of toilet paper multiple times in the main bathroom. This hostel is far from the city Center which can be a big deal in Iceland. There is a nice garden behind the camp though.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
8.9

We rented a 3 person private room with a connected bathroom. This hostel was very clean, and the staff were nice, friendly, and helpful (as were almost all Icelanders I met). The location was good, but we rented a car and usually drove that a little closer to the main area of Reykjavik to get dinner or walk around after hiking out in the country all day. I would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.