Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Feb 2017
8.0

No complaints, the staff was friendly, it was clean! The hot water was a little on the cool side but still liveable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
9.1

pretty good for the price. it is a bit far from the center, it was a bit difficult to go back and forth walking. no issues if you have a car!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.3

Hostel is really nice and clean and very ecofriendly however location is inconvenient... the money save on not booking a more central hostel, you end up paying more in bus tickets to and from the hostel anyway. Most staff were friendly and helpful. I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Feb 2017
8.6

Would be the perfect hotel were it not for the slamming of the doors. All the doors slam at all hours when trying to sleep and the walls are very thin. I think they should fix the doors so they close slowly or something. Most hostels you deal with some outside noise but this was really horrible! Everything else was perfect though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
25th Jan 2017
6.3

Only stayed one night and it's served its purpose. Positives: Airport bus drops you out the front. Lots of kitchens. Linen included in price. Negatives: Bathrooms (both up and downstairs) were filthy, downstairs ones were the worst, appeared not to have been cleaned in days. Very noisey with slamming doors in hallways all night. Only one light for the room, take a torch or phone light if you have to be up early for tours etc.No lockers so room a bit cluttered, but no big deal for one night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jan 2017
8.6

The hostel is very good, and the location even if it's not really near down town, it's right next to public swimming pools that are great! My only dislike was that the breakfast was too expensive. But overall, great hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jan 2017
7.7

Nice hostel at the edge of the centre next to the main swimming pool. Walking to the main shopping street takes +/- 30 minutes and is not much of a struggle as long as your clothing is wind and water proof. Bus is 5 minutes and 440kr. Staff is friendly and they didn't charge us for leaving our baggage in the locked baggage room for half a day after check-out. As everything in Iceland, the hostel is not cheap, but being able to cook your own meal in a well-equiped kitchen compensates a lot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of one of our three guest kitchens. Isn't food just the best way to bring together fellow travellers?!? We hope to see you again in Iceland soon :D cheers, Erla - Reception manager.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
9.7

The hostel has a lovely environment, it is very calm and relaxing yet a lot of people around if you want to be sociable. The rooms are nice and warm which is great for the cold winter and the beds were sooo comfortable. Good facilities and good location! No complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. So happy to hear you had a great and comfortable stay with us! Welcome back any time :) All the best! Erla - Reception Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
9.7

Great hostel. We did a 4 person private with en suite bathroom. Extremely great price for the quality. A little (took us 15 minutes) walk to the center of the city but great location still.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there ! Thank you so much for your wonderful review and tips for future travellers. We hope to see you again very soon! :) Erla - Reception manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Dec 2016
8.3

The hostel was plane and simple and did what it needed to do. The only thing that was annoying was the location but you could easily get a bus to the inner city. Their kitchen was amazing though, I loved the food baskets to keep your things in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.