Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 888 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 888 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Apr 2017
7.1

Not a bad place to stay. It's kind of far from the city center if you don't have a car but accessible by bus. I only stayed for a night. I probably would pick something closer to the city for meeting more people as the common area wasn't as cozy as some other places I've stayed. Overall, not a bad place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.7

Only stayed for one night but hostel was clean, the girl on reception was lovely, really friendly and helpful. Didn't use any of the facilities so can't comment on those, as arrived late evening and left early morning to catch a flight, but was more than sufficient for one night. Had a 4-bed dorm with en-suite, decent size room, comfy beds, hot shower and free WiFi. Location was okay, although would probably take a good half hour to walk into Reykjavik centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Apr 2017
9.4

Wish breakfast was included

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
10.0

Sometimes it hard to find something to complain about and sometimes it is the other way around. This time however it is the former and the opposite of the latter. Pleasant staff. Immaculate room and accomodations. Friendly guests. And of course the price and location was worth writing home about, if you have a home that is.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
9.1

This place was clean with a geothermal pool next door and Icelandic hotdogs and Joe & the Juice within a 5 minute walk. The staff was laid back and very nice. They state they charge for luggage storing fees once you checked out, but did not. They are not sticklers about check out time. I will be back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Mar 2017
9.7

The staff are amazing!!! All the receptions are so helpful and kind which make my stay lovely. Though not in city centre, it's take 30-40mins walk down town which is not a problem as the view through the harbour to city was nice too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2017
9.7

I've stayed in many hostels over the years and I'd have to say this is my favourite! Location: About 25 min walk to the city centre. It's a flat strait road and has amazing views of the coast. Don't let it put you off! RIGHT NEXT DOOR is the public spa! Comfort: The room/ensuite was spotless. Beds are super cosy, linen soft. Cleanliness: So so clean! Even the well equip kitchens! Saw lots of housekeepers. Staff: Polite/helpful. Note: Icelandic warm water naturally smells sulphuric.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed staying at this hostel. people were nice, facilities were clean & I found the beds quite comfortable. There were activities if I wanted to partake.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 45 reviews
10th Mar 2017
9.4

Very big hostel but not in the city center. Ideal hostel for those who rent a car. There're plenty of car park on site. Private room was big and clean and towels were included. We had to make our own bed. Staffs were friendly. There're no 24 hrs reception but there's always night watch which you can call them from the wall phone. There're few shops, gas station and KFC near by. Not so expensive compare living cost in Iceland. Recommended !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
9.1

Awesome! Just plan to bus into the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.