Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 869 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 869 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2017
9.7

I've stayed in many hostels over the years and I'd have to say this is my favourite! Location: About 25 min walk to the city centre. It's a flat strait road and has amazing views of the coast. Don't let it put you off! RIGHT NEXT DOOR is the public spa! Comfort: The room/ensuite was spotless. Beds are super cosy, linen soft. Cleanliness: So so clean! Even the well equip kitchens! Saw lots of housekeepers. Staff: Polite/helpful. Note: Icelandic warm water naturally smells sulphuric.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 42 reviews
10th Mar 2017
9.4

Very big hostel but not in the city center. Ideal hostel for those who rent a car. There're plenty of car park on site. Private room was big and clean and towels were included. We had to make our own bed. Staffs were friendly. There're no 24 hrs reception but there's always night watch which you can call them from the wall phone. There're few shops, gas station and KFC near by. Not so expensive compare living cost in Iceland. Recommended !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
9.1

Awesome! Just plan to bus into the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
9.7

Staff is great , 3 kitchens , key card room entries, the guests tend to leave food behind in the "free baskets" especially in the main upstairs kitchen, also toiletries in the bathrooms, lol stock up but make sure u give back for good karma on further travels! Very easy to book tours but make sure u go through allllll available tour pamphlets before booking! Northern lights tours let u keep coming back until u see them up to two years so go early in your trip so u can keep goon into u see them!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2017
9.4

A little outside the downtown area but if you've got a rental car it's a quick trip down. Staff were great, good kitchen facilities and rooms were very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
8.9

Great staff! Friendly and welcoming. Everything is close bus ride away. Sheets were very clean, staff was helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
6.9

The bag check is by far the least secure part. Front desk is either friendly or not friendly, all depends on who you get at the time. A little far from the city, but a very easy bus ride into town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
10.0

Very pleased we arrived a few hours before check in and Lubna who is very accommodating let us sleep in the lounge to relax and rest up. Such a great hostel really enjoyed it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
8.9

The atmosphere was great, had great staff, common areas, and kitchen. I liked how organized the kitchen was, but they were lacking a few supplies and I think more cleaning should have been done there. Luggage storage was also great. As anything else in Reykjavik, the breakfast was a tad expensive for what you got. The location is still in the city, but not in the center, and a bit of a walk to center. Only one public bus number comes out to the location. Overall pretty positive experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
25th Feb 2017
9.7

We only stayed one night either side of our road trip but it was great! The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms clean, beds comfortable. Kitchen was really well stocked. Only a short bus into town. The common area looks pretty good, although we didn't really need it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.