Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 917 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 917 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
8.9

Overpriced, but nice facilities and clean. Good security as well. The kitchen does not have an oven, but otherwise great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there :) Happy you found your stay to be mostly great. We do have three guest kitchens and one of them (the big one) does have an oven. Sorry that information didn't reach you. I will look into ways of making that more visible :) Thank you for your feedback. Erla - Reception Manager

6th Jun 2017
6.9

"City Hostel" makes you think it is actually near the city center, but it is a decent walk (about 30-45min) to get to the center. The facilities are generally good and kept pretty clean. It was very pricey for the quality of hostel, but Iceland in general is very expensive so it's not entirely out of place there. Otherwise the staff was helpful and friendly. Other residents were friendly. Kitchen and public space facilities we're good as well.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello :) We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the 30 min stroll to the city center as well. To walk along the coastline on a nice day is magic ! hope to see you again soon Erla - Reception manager

4th Jun 2017
8.6

20 minute walk to center of city. next to background. Environmentally consciousness.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hiya! We are so happy you noticed our efforts in protecting the environment and hope this will inspire you to choose eco friendly accommodation in the future :) Go green! Erla - Reception manager

1st Jun 2017
6.0

This hostel was just a place to stay for the night. Most of the staff wouldn't go out of the way to help. There were no security lockers, and the bathrooms weren't maintained super well. Not tragic, but wasn't comfortable most of the time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We're sorry the information about lockers didn't reach you, we do have lockers in most of our rooms and additional lockers available for rent :) We'll make sure to make this information somehow more visible in the future. Hope to welcome you again in our beautiful country soon - Erla, Reception Manager

  • Nae156
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st May 2017
10.0

Didn't actually get to stay due to a self inflicted booking bungle however the staff were friendly through the process, the common areas looked well looked after and the security and parking seems good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kizkaz23966
  • Thailand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th May 2017
8.6

Nice place, nice staff and clean. It's so good for travelers who needs car parking, although it's so far from the church and walking shopping street but we'd like to walk for half an hour.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
8.9

Great hostel, though it is a little out of the way. Not a problem if you use public transport or have your own car, but it's about a 25 minute walk downtown. I enjoyed the huge common rooms and multiple kitchens/bathrooms/etc. They also have decent laundry facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
9.1

Great hostel with excellent facilities. Super friendly and helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th May 2017
9.4

This place had a fun atmosphere (but never too loud). Was very easy to meet people. Comfortable beds and sheets, nice spacious rooms. Clean bathrooms. Kind of far from activities in Reykjavik, but I'd recommend renting a car for Iceland anyways. Definitely doable though. Such nice staff, very eco friendly. Amazing value for the price. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
6.6

Very expensive for what what it was only two showers worked on my floor.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.