Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 758 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 758 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
Reykjavik City Hostel Located at Sundlaugavegur 34, IS-105 Reykjavik, Reykjavik.
Reykjavik City Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik Sundlaugavegur 34, IS-105 Reykjavik
84% 758
64.1465285 -21.8747234
Reykjavik City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
8.0

Nice place overall. It is fairly far from the city center of Reykjavik. A 30 minute walk or a 10 minute bus ride, definitely doable, but there are other hostels that are right in the center of the city. The price seemed fairly normal for Reykjavik but does not include breakfast, a locker, sheets, or towels. Be aware of that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Sep 2016
9.7

Lovely hostel, clean and well organized. Right by the stadium which was the main reason for staying there. Thermal swimming pool next door was an added bonus. Let me check in early and gave me tips on day trips whit out the hard sell you get in other places.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
8.9

I stayed 3 nights here in a room for 4 people and it was great. It's clean and the atmosphere is great. It's 30 min walking to town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
9.1

I really enjoyed staying at this hostel. It's not too far out of the way, the staff are friendly, and the atmosphere is nice. It's pretty quiet at night which is great if you care about getting sleep. Also, everything was super easy. With 24 hours notice I was able to cancel a couple nights of my stay when my travel plans changed, and late check-in was not a problem. I was also able to rent a car and buy bus tickets from the front desk. I definitely recommend this hostEl!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
9.4

Would definitely stay again. This place is very clean and spacious, has a great kitchen and plenty of seating inside and out. It is about half an hour away from the main city centre or a 10 minute bus ride for 420isk. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which had its own bathroom with shower, sink area, table and chairs and bunk beds. We were also given a duvet, sheets and a pillowcase which was great and we hired a towel for the duration of our stay which was very cheap. I highly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
9.7

Absolutely loved it. Far enough from the city centre for relaxing but close enough to walk into the heart of everything. Staff was incredibly friendly and easy to talk to, helped me book a tour and transport back to the airport :) the other travelers were also very friendly people, making my stay that much more amazing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
9.1

In general, this is an excellent hostel. Clean, bright, friendly and with a range of useful facilities such as laundry rooms, drying rooms, short and long term luggage storage, lots of kitchen space, recycling, gender-neutral bathrooms, and even some scales to weigh your luggage. Tour buses stop right outside. On the edge of town - but a pleasant walk along the seafront. The 6 bed dorms don't have lockers, which is frustrating, but I think they're available elsewhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
9.7

Really good hostel, is well ubicated and the facilities are really nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2016
8.0

This hostel is about a 30 minute walk from the city center. It is next to a pool, a campsite, a bus stop, and it is maybe a 10-15 minute walk from some lovely coastline views. Very expensive, like other hostels in Iceland, and breakfast costs extra. Bathrooms had a smell of sulfur, but maybe that is normal in Iceland? Common area is a bit spread out.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ilomarmachado6148
  • Brazil, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
17th Aug 2016
7.1

As most of the H.I. Hostels this one is located outside the city center. As I was by car, it was not a problem for me, but walking from there to the main attractions could take more than 30 mins (minimum). Hostel is pretty safe and has the H.I. pattern which I find good. Room for 4 was very much OK.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.