Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 908 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 908 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Jul 2017
6.9

pretty good location for tours by the water and downtown food area. longer walk tithe church. staff was awesome here and I can't complain about how they tried and helped with issues of the building. we got a private room. first one as you enter 2nd floor.you hear every single person come in as well as every door slam! heavy heavy doors. mixed with street noise. not very good sleep. we had a sewage problem where we had to leave the room. we could not be moved but we're reimbursed a night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
7.7

It's a good hostel but the kitchen and rooms are separated by doors with locks so it creates a weird atmosphere. The ten bedroom firm has one shower bath combo and there are no public showers so this can create issues.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. The key card system with the locks is indeed for security reasons, which allow our guests to be more relaxed with their items inside the dormitories, as only guests allowed in these rooms. The feedback for the bathrooms is noticed. Thanks for staying with us. Thomas - Reception Manager

13th Jul 2017
10.0

The staff was great, they gave me good tips on tours and places to eat. Excellent place, planning on staying there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are looking forward to welcoming you back too! -The Hostel Team

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2017
9.7

Clean, eco, friendly staff, great location, and everyone in the dorm behaved sooo well. Great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It was also great to have you with us too. Greetings from the whole team of the Downtown Hostel!

5th Jul 2017
10.0

Great location. Friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! Greetings from the whole staff of the Downtown Hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
9.4

This is the quiet hostel - versus the noisy one not too far away. If you want to try to get a good night's sleep - not party in the dorm - and maybe have some quiet, pleasant conversations with other travellers, stay here. The bunks are the most solid I have ever stayed in... didn't creak or sway when you move. A blessedly large room. One bathroom for a women's ten-bunk room isn't great, but there's a toilet in the office and the kitchen. Lidia at the desk was an angel, very helpful with all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and I will make sure to share your comments to Lidia too! :) Thomas - Reception Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2017
8.6

Very good location, clean, friendly staff. We shared a dorm of 10 and there was only one WC/bathroom. It would have been nice to have an extra one located in the building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jlbenigno254113
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
10.0

Everything was clean. There's an outlet for each bunk bed. Even the top bunk. Can't need more than that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and appreciated our new bunk beds. :) Thomas - Reception Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
17th Jun 2017
8.6

Wi-Fi worked well and facilities were clean. Room was spacious. The hostel is in a perfect area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2017
10.0

Great location, clean, quiet, great morning breakfast. Staff is friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.