Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Apr 2017
8.6

Staff at front desk was very helpful and nice. At night there are essentially three doors you need to get through to get into your room, so security was on point - not that we ever felt not secure in Reykjavik.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us. Greetings, Thomas - Reception Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
8.6

My first experience at a hostel and it was really great. You can't beat the price and the location is in the heart of the downtown area where you can walk to most of the excursions. The staff was really attentative and even helped out with one of my bookings. The only thing I can think of that can improve is maybe cleaning some of the black mold in the grout that was in the bathroom. But other than that it was a great experience. Would definitely come back again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us, and yes we have a maintenance project to repair some of our bathroom facilities. Hope to see you another time with us, Thomas - Reception Manager

25th Mar 2017
9.1

The hostel was super well-located!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
8.6

Good hostel, calm and well located in town. Staff is really nice and helpful ! Breakfast is also good. Bathroom is inside the room which is really convenient (but could be noisy). Each bed has a plug and a lamp Negative points : not too much to do in the hostel, just few sofas and that's it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and a recommendation to increase our social atmosphere. We are right at the center and most people choose to explore the local bars and sightseeing, but you are right that we need to also think about the people, who travel alone and want tp meet other travelers to do something together, inside the hostel. Thomas - Reception Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
8.0

excellent for everything except the location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stephancarney4814
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Mar 2017
9.4

I only stayed for a night and everything was fine. It's located all the way downtown, so the location is decent. Everything was clean. There was nothing really social about this hostel, though, just more of a place to sleep between adventures.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
10.0

Only complaint is that the toilet and shower are together in the dorms. One more toilet, seperate from shower, is suggested. Perfect location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the location. The staff was very friendly and facilities were always kept clean. The kitchen area was very organized and nice. It was like a club house! I met plenty of travelers, and was overall very happy with my experience. I will book again next time I'm in Reykjavík.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We also hope to see you again! Greetings, Thomas - Reception Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.3

The hostel rooms were very clean with nice bathroom and shower. Good mattress and wifi! Kitchen was not the cleanest but that's to be expected. Staff were friendly. Overall a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
10.0

Excellent stay thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.