Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 769 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 769 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel Located at Vesturgata 17, , Reykjavik.
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Vesturgata 17
90% 769
64.1497097 -21.9440531
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

The Downtown Hostel was so clean and safe. It was my first time as a young female travelling solo, and I would highly recommend this hostel! I stayed in the 10 bed- all female dorm room and couldn't be any more satisfied with how clean the facilities were, and how accommodating and friendly the staff were!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
10.0

This was one of my favorite hostels I've stayed at. Extremely clean, well managed, staff was friendly and helpful with any questions. Recommend to stay if visiting Reykjavik.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
10.0

This hostel was perfect for my needs. Close to the harbor and downtown. Staff were extremely kind and caring. I felt very safe here as a solo traveller. They have a kitchen and loft in the back which is perfect for a nap or to save money on food! Definitely will come back here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.3

Very clean and spacious. Good showers. Not particularly social except for the cooking area. Very close to the bars/nightlife

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
9.7

I loved Downtown Hostel! The rooms are spacious and clean, and the facilities in good condition. I was in a shared 4-bedroom and my roommates were really respectful. The only thing I disliked was that there were no communal bathrooms in the hallway, except for one in the lobby. The dorm rooms have en-suite bathrooms only. The guest kitchen was nice as well, with free food baskets that previous guests had left behind (since food is so pricey in Iceland, this is a real plus!). Lovely staff too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • LaRainaLWright5695
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Nov 2016
10.0

Clean and classic minimalist Nordic design which I appreciate. The mattress was very comfy and the bed was constructed of wood and steel piping which is great! No annoying squeaky sounds when people move around at night! I really enjoyed my 1 nights stay and will defs be back, in the summer time haha

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
8.3

This is a really clean and well-located hostel. I stayed in the 10-person female dorm, and it was a spacious room, for sure. I did not like the fact that there was only the one toilet and shower in the room, with nothing in the halls. If you have to go badly, and someone is in there, you wait. If your stomach is upset, which let's face it, happens with traveling, you are in the room with 9 other people as you suffer (not in silence, presumably). ;) There isn't much of a social atmosphere there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the honest review. This is something that we need to review for sure. Hope you enjoyed your stay in general. Thomas - Reception Manager

  • brigidharty7625
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.6

Great location, near the centre but just a step away so it's really quiet. We stayed in a private room with ensuite. Quiet room just off the main reception with lots of space and comfy beds. The duvets were a little lumpy but warm. Good facilities although the kitchen had only one fairly flat bowl so we had to eat porridge from plates. It was really helpful having the airport pickup when we left.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aljones10013526
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Nov 2016
8.0

very quiet, everyone on computers or phones instead of meeting each other; this is a disappointing change in hostels worldwide. very few people use kitchen. lots of free food available! staff friendly and helpful. will help reserve touts and airport bus. some parts of facility a little run down such as window frames peeling. location walkable to all parts of downtown though Loft HI hostel is more central to commercial district.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
7.4

Great location. The hostel is beautiful and the front desk staff was warm, flexible, & accommodating. Unfortunately, I think we had an unusual experience. The dorm smelled terribly sour (maybe because of the rain/wet clothes?) & the bathroom smelled of urine. I wonder if the people staying there at the time were particularly untidy. Also, no one spoke much even when greeted, & it made for an awkwardly silent atmosphere. That being said, the hostel is very quiet & the sheets were very clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.