Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 792 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 792 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel Located at Vesturgata 17, , Reykjavik.
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Vesturgata 17
91% 792
64.1497097 -21.9440531
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Jan 2017
10.0

Great experience! Slept like a dream.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
10.0

Friendly, extremely helpful staff. Overall great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Dec 2016
8.6

We stayed in a private room on our last night in Reykjavik. Aside from being in more of a residential area, the hostel was clean and the staff was friendly. It was somewhat hard to find and not situated in the middle of the city like it's sister hostel, Loft. If you are looking for a relaxing and quiet place to stay this might be your spot. A final slight inconvenience was having a communal bathroom despite staying in a private room. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
9.1

This was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at, December 19th to the 23rd of 2016.. Central location in the center of town with anything and everything you'll need. Reykjavik Harbor is like a two minute walk, with really great seafood restaurants. Parking the rental car around here was really easy. The staff was excellent, they even let me check-in a little early. My four-person mixed dorm had our own bathroom. I met soo many cool people here.. I highly recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
8.6

This hostel is in a great location and the staff were always extremely helpful with everything from hiring a car to booking tours. They also had great recommendations for activities in Reykjavik (the phallological museum was a great one!). The rooms are clean with plenty of space for luggage and a large locker per person. The beds were ok for a hostel but there was only one bathroom per dorm room, and when there are 10 people in the room you could be waiting a while. Otherwise, great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
7.4

Great location close to the centre of town, art museum, harbour and mainstreet. Don't bother asking about tours here, book from a tourist info centre as staff are not helpful in this. Great kitchen space, and well labelled free food collections to save $ and reduce waste. Very clean. Nice bathroom. Main shortfall, the power points short circuited most of my electrics after not having any issues anywhere else in Iceland or abroad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We are actually proud for our reception team, and helping everyone to book their activities and tours in Reykjavik. If for some reason, we failed in your case, please accept our apologies. Our Hostel reception is open 24 hours, and we are always there to provide information and book tours for our guests, plus we have a dedicated email at tours@hostel.is if they want to pre-book tours before arrival. All the best, Thomas - Reception Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Dec 2016
10.0

Every aspect on point here, id stay again gladly and loved the smaller 4 man room. I had late night drinks out front till late and then wandered the town until 5 am and returned with no security issues or items missing. Respectful roommates rocked. I was the rude one sadly haha sorry, sorry. I loved my stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Dec 2016
10.0

This hostel is great. The staff are friendly, the facilities are modern and clean, the location is right in the middle of everything, and it's quiet at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Dec 2016
9.1

Lovely hostel with big enough rooms. The rooms were clean as was the connected bathroom. The main area was nice to sit in and wait for tour pickups. The staff were extremely nice and friendly, always willing to help out and answer any questions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Nov 2016
9.4

Lovely hostel and such helpful staff. You couldn't want more from the location, right in the centre you can walk practically anywhere and all the companies that do trips will pick you up from outside this hostel too! Only thing that let it down was only having one toilet/shower for a 10 bed dorm and no communal ones anywhere else!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.