X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel Reviews

Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik, Iceland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
396 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The hostel was brilliant but to be a hostel,i reckon very expensive,since our room wasn't made and breakfast doesn't come included.Iceland should change prices if they want more customers.


89%

A good hostel, professionally run. In touristy part of town.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Right downtown, yet incredibly quiet for a fantastic nights' sleep! Helpful and knowledgable staff, with great coffee and breakfast - highly recommend this place!!

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Just an impressive hostel with great service, eco-friendly rooms and nice people!


100%

Everything was excelent!!!

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

very clean, calm, welcoming

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great place to stay and very helpful staff. Only a pity that it is so expensive to stay in Reykjavik.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location, close to the harbour and the key shopping streets. The staff were super friendly and helpful, particularly when it came to booking tours or transport. The dorms were a little more traditional, but i appreciated the large lockers for storing stuff and they were kept very clean. I would stay here again.


91%

Had a pleasant stay and the service was very good.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff are fantastic, so helpful and kind!


94%

This hostel was a great choice for me. It was located in a good spot, walking distance to everything. Staff was always around, and were friendly and helpful when approached with questions. The 10 person dorm room was clean and mostly quiet. Bathroom was clean, wifi access was good. Overall a positive stay!

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very clean tidy hostel and very secure. Not much atmosphere unfortunately but overall really good and the staff are friendly


91%

My friend and I stayed 2 nights in one of their mixed dorm-style rooms. Everything was clean, they have very friendly people working at the desk, and a coffee bar in the lobby. Free wifi was also a plus! The only downside was that the room (which held 10 beds) only had one bathroom (toilet + shower), which only one person could use at a time, so in high traffic times, it was a bit difficult to get going. Overall, it was a great stay and the hostel is located just 2 blocks from the city square.


94%

We enjoyed our stay in the Reykjavik Downtown Hostel - the staff were very helpful and accommodating and breakfast was good. We made use of the luggage storage facility (very reasonably priced and secure) and the laundry.


89%

nice location. friendly staff, clean, everything nearby. loved the kitchen; spacious, light, clean, well equiped, and with a nice and working systeem to store your own food and leave your 'leftovers' fot others to use.


94%

Clean, comfortable and convenient.


91%

We had a lovely stay in Reykjavik! The staff at Downtown is super friendly and helpful.


89%

Perfect to explore the city!


80%

This was a very clean and safe hostel. However, it seemed to be an older crowd, which was disappointing. Meeting people was difficult. If you're not looking for a social hostel and just a place to stay, this is the place for you! If you're travelling alone and want to meet people I suggest looking at other hostels in town.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great! Loved it!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Reykjavik Hostels

Please give us your feedback