Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
9.4

This is the quiet hostel - versus the noisy one not too far away. If you want to try to get a good night's sleep - not party in the dorm - and maybe have some quiet, pleasant conversations with other travellers, stay here. The bunks are the most solid I have ever stayed in... didn't creak or sway when you move. A blessedly large room. One bathroom for a women's ten-bunk room isn't great, but there's a toilet in the office and the kitchen. Lidia at the desk was an angel, very helpful with all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
8.6

Very good location, clean, friendly staff. We shared a dorm of 10 and there was only one WC/bathroom. It would have been nice to have an extra one located in the building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jun 2017
8.6

Wi-Fi worked well and facilities were clean. Room was spacious. The hostel is in a perfect area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.9

Stayed in a 10-bed dorm room (very expensive but that's Reykjavik for ya!). Very clean and quiet. Pros: location, cleanliness Cons: one shower/bathroom for 10 girls, price

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us. Greetings, Thomas - Reception Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
9.7

I was very happy with my choice of this place. The staff were genuinely friendly, patient and helpful. The place runs very smoothly. I could leave luggage, get all kinds of information and get a bus ticket for the airport and a great coffee all in the same space. My one suggestion would be a later check out. 10 people is a lot for one bathroom.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We glad that we could help with your trip and questions. Thank you for choosing us and hope to see you again soon. All the best, Thomas - Reception Manager

9th Jun 2017
8.6

Really liked the location. Parking was a little difficult but not too bad. The staff was really nice and room was clean. Some of the rooms were separated from the rest which made it hard to use the kitchen. Overall I would definitely stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
10.0

Clean, comfortable, and safe. 5 minutes to downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
8.9

Great location. Place was clean. Breakfast buffet was good, even though you have to pay for it. Overall, a charming place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
9.4

I was only here for a VERY brief stay on a layover. The room was great. Everything was clean. The employees were patient and helpful (even when I got in at 1AM).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Having a 24-hour reception is always handy. Hope to see you soon in Iceland. Thomas - Reception Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st May 2017
9.1

Great location and staff. The kitchen is outside in another building and the lounge is up a steep set of stairs. No TV. My main concern was that there is no lift. I struggled to get my bag upstairs. The beds had individual lights and power points for charging, and the lockers were big.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.