Hostelworld.com

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel Located at Vesturgata 17, , Reykjavik.
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Vesturgata 17
92% 684
64.1497097 -21.9440531
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
8.9

Laundry facilities weren't functioning, but staff helped me find nearby laundromat. Staff very friendly and helpful, kitchen on site and small grocery store around the corner. Very well located and liked the cafe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
8.9

The hostel is located 5 minutes from the main street which, is great because it allows you to get away from the noise but close enough to feel like youre part of the main area. The staff was amazing - very friendly and willing to help. Hostel is very clean however, pretty basic for the price. There is a lobby area but not much else. If you are looking for something more lively with a bar etc this is not the hostel to go to.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel. Great staff, very clean and spacious. 1 minute walk to the main street. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

And we are looking forward to welcome you back too. All the best, Thomas - Head of Reception.

7th Jun 2016
7.4

Location is great - very easy to walk around. Common area doesn't have much, it would have been nice to hangout here since we arrived at 10:30 and couldn't check in until 2pm, but they only have tables in the common area. Everything is else was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • apaixaosegundogh
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
9.7

Excelent hostel with awesome crew!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome comment too! Thomas - Head of Reception.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
10.0

Good location: close enough that I could walk everywhere, but secluded enough I wasn't bother by street noise. The staff were very helpful with directions and recommendations. I felt very safe, and even left my stuff at the front desk while out exploring. The rooms were clean, there was plenty of hot water, the blackout curtains were appreciated d/t the sun. I'd stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2016
10.0

Great hostel. The staff were super helpful and nice and transit to/from the airport was very easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
9.7

The hostel was great and very clean. The rooms were spacious and had a great set up (there was a sink in the bathroom and one outside too). It's right in the city centre and close to everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
8.9

Amazing place to stay. Close to downtown, walkable distance to everything. Clean and good access to facilities (kitchen etc.) Loved the recycling and organics recycling available. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st May 2016
9.4

I've visited Iceland in early May with my sister and stayed at Downtown hostel for five days. First of all, location is excellent, you are basically 5 min away from the center, supermarket, bars etc. All the staff was really nice and friendly and reception works 24 hours. We had private ensuite room which was spacious and clean. Bed was very comfortable. Kitchen is also very nice, with all the appliances that you could possibly need.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.