Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
9.1

Overall, the hostel was very welcoming and clean. I stayed at 4 bedroom mixed dorm. I must say the showers were amazing, very hot water and strong water pressure. I didn't take the breakfast but they had simple continental breakfast. The dining area is small nit many tables but it is cozy place near the harbour. Near hostel there is a really nice soup and grill place. I highly recommend the place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.7

I appreciated the cleanliness & quiet I experienced. Excellent, helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
9.4

Very pleasant place, not far away from main attractions in a really quiet area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Extremely clean and great hostel in perfect location. Can't thank the staff enough for all their help and suggestions! Would defiantly stay here again!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We would love to have you back too, Greeting - Thomas, Reception Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
9.1

Staff was super friendly and helpful with tips on tours and navigating the city. The location was a little further from the main strip of cafes and shops, but still an easy, safe walk. I stayed in a 10 bed room. I only had to wait for the suite's bathroom once. The room had personal lockers for suitcases, as well as labelled cubbies and hooks near the bathroom. I didn't worry about security. I didn't use the kitchen, but it was well organized. The main common room was small.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
10.0

I absolutely loved staying at Downtown Hostel in Reykjavik. I actually cannot fault the hostel. It was extremely clean and very warm (the bedroom and the foyer), the kitchen facilities were great The bathroom was big as was the shower. The shower had lots of space, the water was piping hot with great pressure. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. Only drawback was the pillows - they were very flimsy and I only got one for a double bed! Well worth staying in, i'd defo recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
10.0

The staff were friendly and obliging, the room was clean and the location was spot on. For a budget break I do not think I could do better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
5.4

- Highly recommend Kex which has a better location, better staff, more common space - Unfriendly and brusque staff - Quiet time is NOT enforced; people were talking loudly till midnight - Not enough common space (only one kitchen, one common area, etc)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really sorry for your negative experience with us. I will personally contact you at your email to follow up and find out what went wrong with your stay, and using your comments improve our services. All the best, Thomas - Reception Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2017
9.7

I really liked staying at this hostel. The location is fantastic, a lovely walk through great shopping to get to all the major attractions to see in Reykjavik. All the major tour companies as well as the Flybus pick up and drop off right in front. I got in really early and they let me drop my bag off before check in. I stayed in a 10 bed mixed dorm which was very clean. Drawback was only one shower/bath per 10 people-can get crowded. But not a deal breaker. Will definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us and hope to welcome you in your hostel in the future. Greetings, Thomas - Reception Manager

19th Jan 2017
9.1

It's fine.l will prefer this hostel again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.