Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel Located at Vesturgata 17, , Reykjavik.
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Vesturgata 17
92% 731
64.1497097 -21.9440531
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Sep 2016
10.0

We had such a great time at the Downtown Hostel. Great atmosphere, extremely clean, large room, and great location. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.0

Excellent atmosphere. Kitchen needs more utensils bowls etc . Also needs a microwave. The breakfast was very very basic not really good value. Staff were very helpful. Bathroom facilities very poor due to only one in a dorm. The shower is the the one bathroom so when someone is in the shower for a long time you have to use bathroom in lobby.. cleanliness is ok. Location is fantastic especially for lone women travellers as it is in easy walking distance to centre of the town so it felt very safe

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Sandra, Thank you for your comments. A new microwave is on the way, and we will make sure to check our stock for our guest-kitchen, as the summer is going away. All the best, Thomas - Reception Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
9.7

May stay was extremely short as I had to catch a late flight the same day I checked in. However, this was one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Definitely recommend it to anyway passing through Iceland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
10.0

We enjoyed our stay, great location for us to see all the great sights within walking distance. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
9.4

I had a very pleasant stay at Downtown Hostel. The staff were very friendly and the location was superb! Thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
8.3

Not as spotless as other hostels in Iceland but the location was fantastic and made for a good base in Reykjavik.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alicenorton5059
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
4th Sep 2016
9.7

Clean and well equipped hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Decent kitchen for self-catering. Great location very close to the city centre. Common areas could be more conducive to meeting people. Highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
9.7

My stay here was awesome! This was my first stay at any hostel. I got in at 2 am and the overnight staff was awesome and patient with me as I was half asleep! I was in a 4 bunk room and everyone who overlapped with my stay was very nice. I also felt safe here which was something I was nervous about. The facilities were also very clean! Which was another thing I was nervous about. It was close to downtown but on a quite street. I'd definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
8.3

Very cool that they advertise themselves as environmentally friendly! Most of the staff is really helpful. Booking tours with them = easy. Beds are comfy and clean. The only negative thing: the showers need a good scrubbing. By only having bathrooms really available in the dorms, the wait time to shower or do anything isn't fun and its frustrating to get ready in the morning. Otherwise, this hostel is conveniently located, well priced, and clean!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2016
9.1

Great location on a quiet street, close to really good restaurants and the city center. Extremely study bunk beds and very clean rooms. Bathroom was quite large with a great, warm shower. Lobby area is perfect for getting work done or chatting, although there did not seem to be a real hostel-like feel; more just a meeting point for tours. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.