Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 835 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 835 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
8.0

excellent for everything except the location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
10.0

Only complaint is that the toilet and shower are together in the dorms. One more toilet, seperate from shower, is suggested. Perfect location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the location. The staff was very friendly and facilities were always kept clean. The kitchen area was very organized and nice. It was like a club house! I met plenty of travelers, and was overall very happy with my experience. I will book again next time I'm in Reykjavík.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We also hope to see you again! Greetings, Thomas - Reception Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.3

The hostel rooms were very clean with nice bathroom and shower. Good mattress and wifi! Kitchen was not the cleanest but that's to be expected. Staff were friendly. Overall a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
10.0

Excellent stay thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
9.4

very clean, staff was nice and helpful, location is pretty good (just slightly outside downtown but still very close).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
9.1

Overall, the hostel was very welcoming and clean. I stayed at 4 bedroom mixed dorm. I must say the showers were amazing, very hot water and strong water pressure. I didn't take the breakfast but they had simple continental breakfast. The dining area is small nit many tables but it is cozy place near the harbour. Near hostel there is a really nice soup and grill place. I highly recommend the place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. The harbor has some amazing restaurants and activities! We recommend the Sea Baron for the lobster soup and before / after go for Whale Watching.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
10.0

Had a great stay here for 5 nights in February. The hostel is in a super location, very quiet at night, great facilities, lovely staff and always clean. The staff were so kind and helpful, on Friday 24th the weather was very bad and trips were cancelled or delayed, including our trip to the Blue Lagoon, we missed our time slot due to the weather but the staff at reception helped us re-book another later bus and finally get there. Great service, thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
8.6

Great location, helpful staff. Not a typical hostel vibe. Awkward layout to get back to the kitchen area. Sells out quickly on weekends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We glad that you liked our place. And yes, we will need to make sure to explain better, where our guest-kitchen is located. Thomas - Reception Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.7

I appreciated the cleanliness & quiet I experienced. Excellent, helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.