Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik Hostel Village

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
Reykjavik Hostel Village Located at Flokagata 1, , Reykjavik.
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Iceland
Reykjavik +3547734315 105 Flokagata 1
80% 195
64.1397251 -21.9196772
Reykjavik Hostel Village
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Aug 2016
7.7

Comfortable bed and shower with power outlet, and walking district the big church. Everything your need for a decent price. Definitely not a party hostel, no atmosphere, but that was fine by me. No personal lockers in the rooms though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2016
7.4

Fabulous treatment by reception at 2 am in being upgraded to bed in same building as reception and not needed to walked in the cold and rain to my original booking. Really appreciated.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Aug 2016
6.9

You can find better hostels for this price. The kitchen is very small and doesn't have a lot of supplies but the biggest problem is that it was very dirty during our stay. Also the bathroom was extremely dirty! On the other hand; The location is perfect, the rooms are nice and the staff is friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2016
6.3

pros: Kind and helpful staff Good location Cons: No blanket provided, daily charge to hire one is extortionate (1500 ISK) No social facilities whatsoever Tiny kitchen (space for 2-3 people at a time)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2016
6.0

Reception is open 24/7, so it was no issue to check out early at 2 am to get our flight. The rooms are not dirty, but not nice either - the atmosphere is bad. The bathrooms are in a worse shape, I was happy that I showered already somewhere else that day!! Plus point: Staff is very nice, she gave us a triple room instead of the booked dormitory beds, because it was still available! Careful - you need to pay extra for sheets and a towel. They expect you to bring sleeping bags.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
6.0

Hostel is in a decent location, on a highway, walking distance to the city center. There was free parking behind the building and free wifi. The room was clean, but very small. The shower in the shared bathroom was very dirty. Nowhere to cook meals, and our building only had a small common room with one table and some chairs. Bed linens were an extra cost. Overall, expensive for what you get. Better to camp outside of Reykjavik if you have a car.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
8.9

Small, and pricy- less than desirable dorm conditions (VERY squeaky bed, no outlet nearby) but an ideal location for exploring Reykjavik. 15 minute walk from the waterfront, 10 minute walk to the downtown area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
8.6

Pros: Nice staff, clean beds, a 15min way to downtown. Wifi picks up in rooms well, plenty of outlets. Cons: no real common area, difficult to meet people unless you meet cool bunkmates in your room like I did:) Only 3 bathrooms? 2 showers? Definite problem if you are the kind of person that showers at "rush hour"

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
7.7

This hostel had good location and a friendly staff, but they charged almost half the amount of a days stay for blankets in the "summer." It was rainy and cold and I didn't want to pay an additional 50% per night for blankets. This made the price deceiving and charging people for blankets is petty. Not everyone brings a sleeping bag to Iceland and I have never been charged for blankets or linens in any other European country. I've been charged for towels but no more than $1.50.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
8.3

Clean and well located. Kitchen was small, and only one bathroom per floor (four or five rooms). Good for the price though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.