Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik Hostel Village

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jun 2017
4.6

They put in a room in a converted garage with a guy looking for work - not the tourist experience I was hoping for. Think about going somewhere else if you want to enjoy your stay rather than just bear it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • annielj
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Jun 2017
8.0

Good hostel when staying in Reykjavik. Relatively cheap compared to other options, great location with an easy walk into the centre. Rooms are all in separate buildings dotted around the area. Needed to ask about whether there was a kitchen (there was), people in my room who had been staying for 5 days didn't know there was one. Probably good to get a bit more info when checking in, but overall a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
6.6

It would have been nice to know before I arrived at the hostel at 3am with 20kg of luggage that my bed was in a building 4 minutes down the street. Staff were friendly and helpful at times, blunt and unhelpful at others. My room was clean and neat, as was the bathroom. There wasn't much feeling of community, as communal spaces were limited. If you just need somewhere to crash, this hostel is a good option because it is cheap; but I would recommend spending a few euros more for a better hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
9th Jun 2017
8.3

We booked way in advance, for this matter we payed 2500 each for a dorm room with 4 people. A pretty good deal considering that it turned to 25000 a few weeks later

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
10.0

i had a very excellent time at hostel village, the facilities were great, i was able to cater for myself in the kitchen saving a lot of money. the staff were very helpful and friendly. the beds were larger than usual dorm beds which meant we all slept well and comfortably. the other travellers i shared with were pleasant and considerate so i was placed well by the administrative staff. the cost was extremely reasonable compared to other hostels and without which i could not have gone to iceland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th May 2017
10.0

Perfect for the traveller on a budget. The location is in a quiet residential area but it's very easy to walk everywhere - including the art deco baths and hot tubs across the road! The private room was small but comfortable and new towels were provided after two nights. There was a sink in the room and the shared shower rooms weren't busy. There was a shared kitchen, including free boxes of leftover food, that was a real bonus for the traveller on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2017
8.3

Good hostel within walking distance to downtown area of Reykjavik. I was here on two nonconsecutive days and the first time they sent me to a room about 200 meters away. The rooms were small but warm and comfortable. Close to an OB gas station and decent food options nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
10.0

Perfect hostel !! Nice staff. Clean rooms and wonderfull breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
8.6

The Reykjavik Village Hostel is exactly that - a village of buildings - that house many of the travellers to this city in Iceland. Getting to the assigned hostel building after a long day of travel was challenging but upon entry into the room... well, that made up for any weariness. Clean. Bright. Welcoming. It was a lovely stay and the staff were kind and accommodating.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
4.9

The people there were wonderful! And helped us to the best of their ability:) But, we had to walk down the street for our room. We had to park around the back and down the street looking for a space. The front door lock had to be jiggled to even work. We had to walk up a flight of archaic, unrepaired steps to get to our room, which didn't look even slightly like the photo on the internet. The building was run down and need of major repairs. We refused to go back, instead elsewhere and

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.