Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik Hostel Village

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 218 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 218 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.9
Reykjavik Hostel Village Located at Flokagata 1, , Reykjavik.
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Iceland
Reykjavik +3547734315 105 Flokagata 1
77% 218
64.1397251 -21.9196772
Reykjavik Hostel Village
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Nov 2016
7.1

Heat was not working in room, we were told they were working on the issue. The front desk staff gave us 3 blankets which got us through the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Oct 2016
5.4

Breakfast is not included in the price, even though that's not made clear. Very noisy, impossible to sleep after 6:30 am because doors keep opening and closing and rooms are very poorly noise-insulated. Staff very disagreable. I had to argue with her, very poor customer service. Check in hours very limited.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Oct 2016
9.4

Staff was lovely, location was central, the room was comfortable! All-in-all a very good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
5.4

The hostel is split into 3 buildings with little or no common space in 2 of these buildings. Given the small dorm rooms, a reasonable common space in each building is essential. The 4 bedroom dorm is small which makes it difficult to find space for 4 people to store their luggage.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
6.6

Hostel Village was one of the cheapest hotels available at the time of our stay in Reykjavik. Overall, it was a decent place. It is located close to the main street. Our double-bed private room was tiny, but it had a small fridge and a sink. The main problem was the opening hours of the reception, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm. The staff was not much available when we needed information on local attractions and hard to reach when there were safety issues (security alarm beeping in the hallway, etc.).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
9.4

Hostel Village fulfilled my expectations. They lived up to their adverts. Staff were excellent, very helpful, cheerful and practical. Breakfasts were large with an excellent choice of food and drink. Rooms were always clean and well appointed. Bathrooms and kitchen were also well maintained and clean. Room had individual heating control. Out of hours arrival worked perfectly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
8.3

Very helpful staff, they booked tickets & a place at the golden circle tour for me. I stayed in a 4-person dorm. There was a mini fridge, a kettle & condiments of instant coffee, tea & sugar in the room, which I found super convenient. The room was warm enough & had a lot of light, I personally like that a lot. However, the shower drain was almost blocked, so you had to shower in a paddle of dirty water. Also, the kitchen was tiny & dark, especially considering the number of people using it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
11th Sep 2016
8.0

Great value for Iceland prices :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
8.3

The staff were helpful in getting our car rental, and our bus tickets. It was clean and the kitchen in our building was well kept. The location was great and not far at all from the attractions downtown. We would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2016
9.4

A fun little hostel split into many building thanks to its success. Beware that you should ask for kitchen access when you check in, to get a key for the separate building that it's in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.