Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik Hostel Village

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
9.1

We were really pleased to get there and find we had a room to ourselves after booking a mixed dorm. The room and bathrooms were basic but no less than you'd expect from a hostel, both very clean. The Hostel is only a short walk from bus station (bsi/Reykjavik excursions/flybus) and a short walk to town in the other direction.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
8.3

This Hostel is a very nice place to stay, not far from city center and located in one of the principal streets of the city, so you have no problems on pick up when booking a tour. What i didn´´'t liked; there was no electricity or wifi in my room, and only after 3 hrs waiting for it and going to the reception they told me they've already knew about that (Not mentioning this on check in) and that i would not have wifi, only by going to the main building to catch it. Good for some nights only.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2017
6.3

We were given a room that was in a small separate building. The floors were quite dirty and it was super inconvienient to go into the main building for washrooms and kitchen. The wifi also did not work and most of the doors did not lock except for the one to the room no matter which key we tried. Request a room in a main building I suppose. Positive aspect being that it is a great location and makes it all very walkable. The management was flexible and kind when dealing with them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
8.3

Clean and comfortable stay. Late check-in was efficient and convenient for guests. Great location, near the city area. Requested for the shared room with a friend but we got a private room instead which was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
8.6

The price good and the location was decently close to downtown. We booked a room for mixed (5 beds), but when we checked in we were upgraded to a private room with two twin beds at no additional cost at the beginning and end of our trip. Awesome! Staff was helpful and friendly. Highly recommend the hostel village if you are on a budget. The rooms were very quiet and clean. Would recommended this hostel to anyone coming to Iceland!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
6.6

This hostel has a very good location only a ten minute walk from downtown. What was most frustrating about this hostel is the fact that it is not all in the same building and 24 hour reception is not available. I arrived at 2:30am exhausted. I had made arrangements for a late check in so that was fine. What was frustrating was the fact that my bed was a block away from reception and I was carrying 40 pounds of bags. I wish notice could be provided for my stay away from reception.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
9.4

This place was so clean and nice! It's about a 10 min walk to the city center, very easy and worth it for the cheaper price. The security was not great, but Iceland is the safest country in the world with an almost non-existant crime rate, so I still felt fine leaving my stuff in my locked room, but not having a locker. The bathrooms were clean, there's free instant coffee, and the wifi in the main building is fast and reliable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • zoejohnston
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2017
5.7

Bathrooms were hardly functioning. The shower was over-filling and flooding and just generally unclean. The rooms were dusty. Location was reasonable to Reykjavik center. From the street you could see that the rooms on the upper levels looked a lot newer and cleaner. The bottom level might need a renovation

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
8.0

They checked us in early which was wonderful because we desperately needed sleep. They also gave us a private room even though we booked a shared room. There is no sense of community here because you are in a separate building, down the street, from check-in. It is walking distance to the center of town. But if you need a bed for the night, it works.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel, nice staff and a great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.