Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik Hostel Village

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
4.9

The people there were wonderful! And helped us to the best of their ability:) But, we had to walk down the street for our room. We had to park around the back and down the street looking for a space. The front door lock had to be jiggled to even work. We had to walk up a flight of archaic, unrepaired steps to get to our room, which didn't look even slightly like the photo on the internet. The building was run down and need of major repairs. We refused to go back, instead elsewhere and

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th May 2017
10.0

Clean,comfortable and close to city center!staff was very nice and accommodating!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
8.6

Overall, pretty good place. I found one of the desk clerkesses to be a bit brusque.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th May 2017
8.6

When I arrived I was told I'd be staying in the other building 5 minutes down the road. Still a nice location, rooms were really clean and quiet and was given fresh towels daily. Only a small kitchen and no common room so not the best place to stay if you want to be able to meet other travelers. Only one bathroom on each level so sometimes you need to wait. The only things I was unhappy with is that the wifi cut out a lot and no lockers for valuables. But still pretty happy overall :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.0

This was our first time in Iceland and this Hostel was a great choice. The front desk staff were incredibly nice and they upgraded us to a private room at no extra charge! Facilities are somewhat dated but that is the norm for Iceland. Also despite what other reviewers say the breakfast is quite good and not overpriced for Iceland - we wished we would have tried it sooner! This hostel is within walking distance of the BSI bus terminal (which was huge for us) and close to downtown!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
6.9

The rooms were a nice size and location was great! Just a few blocks from downtown. The staff was helpful when my backpack didn't make it on my flight but it wasn't a great place to meet many other travelers and hang out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
8.6

My fiancé and I enjoyed staying here and we would go back again! Staff was very friendly and the location was ideal. We were within 20 min walk of the main downtown street. We were lucky and the staff was able to check us in early, which was greatly appreciated after a very long flight. It does lack in facilities, as it does not have a living room area or a kitchen so you are not able to cook your own food. However, it was a quiet neighborhood and smaller hostel, which was perfect for us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2017
8.6

The front desk manager was very helpful. We felt safe. The room and bathrooms were both pretty well kept. Everything in Iceland is more expensive, this hostel charges for breakfast, so we found it a little cheaper to go buy some fruit and skyr(yogurt) from a market down the street. Pretty good location as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Mar 2017
8.9

Wish breakfast was included!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
8.0

Nice location to downtown. No heat at first, but by early evening the plummer dude had it toasty warm throughout the building.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.