Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reykjavik – Loft HI Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 926 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 926 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Aug 2017
8.3

Brilliant location in the centre of the city. We loved the roof top bar, but this is open to the public, so probably next time we would stay somewhere cheaper and just go there for a drink. Anybody can go in to use the common room and kitchen, so this didn't feel very secure. The staff were really helpful and sorted out a problem about towels super quickly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
7.4

I never write reviews but felt that I had to...While this hostal is in a great location and the staff was very nice, the price is outrageous, as most things are in Iceland, and, what's worst, the room was dirty. The staff did a superficial cleaning as right by one of the beds there was dirt and several "left overs" under my bed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
7.4

Great location and friendly helpful staff. The only downside was that my room the sink kept leaking and overflowing the bathroom (which is in your room at this hostel). Even after telling the staff about this it continued to leak. I used the bigger bathroom in the hall for the rest of the trip, a little inconvenient but preferred that than to walk in water to use the washroom in the room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • saramhodder4871
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
10.0

Loved my stay!! Friendly, helpful, clean! Staff and location were so helpful! Can't wait to come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
7.7

Great location. Just too noisy from Thursdays through to weekend especially front bedrooms on Bankastraeti - suited for those taking advantage of the clubs and bars.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
1st Aug 2017
9.7

Great stay at Loft Hostel! Roof top bar/terrace is so amazing! Had a great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2017
8.6

Loft is in a great location and is priced reasonably in comparison to other hostels in Reykjavik. I really enjoyed the terrace on the 4th floor in the morning time. The atmosphere was not nearly as lively as we anticipated (just a forewarning if you are looking for that). The lockers under the bed were tricky to use, but it was good they had lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
9.4

Fun place,interesting folks It

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
8.9

This hostel was great! Amazing location, although a little noisy at night, but that's a not a huge trade off for the location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
8.9

This place isn't expensive for Reykjavik. Location is great for proximity to official bus stop pick ups for coach tours. Friendly, helpful staff. The 6-bed dorm had comfortable bunk beds with own plug, and curtains thick enough to block out the midnight sun. The shower had good water pressure and hot water. Continental buffet breakfast is good value and tasty - great coffee! The only downside is noise from occasional dance parties in the hostel bar carries throughout ALL rooms - bring earplugs!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.