X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Riad Baraka Reviews

12 derb Ben Yakoub Chefchaouen, 91000, Chefchaouen, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
290 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 99%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Awesome hostel. The owner is very friendly and will change the hostel even to the better in the future (opening a cafe e.g). The rooftop terrace has the ultimate view of the city centre and it's great to chill out in the evening.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for that mate really glad you enjoyed the Baraka!

91%

Great rias. Joe and his brother are warm and welcoming hosts and very informative about the few quirks of the place (such as getting the temp in the shower just right). The rooms are thoughtfully painted and decorated and the roof terrace is amazing, could hang out there for days! I also have to say they keep the place very very clean. As with many place little hard to find at first but after that very easy to navigate, about 5-10m walk to the plaza.


94%

We stayed in a super cute and wonderful room at riad Baraka. This place is excellently located andit is great. Not much of a hostel vibe, but the amazing terrasse makes up for it. Joe is a character, but I enjoyed his British charm. I would recommend this place to anyone!


100%

Fantastic terrace and excellent proximity to the medina! Joe was extremely helpful in planning day trips and encouraged a friendly atmosphere amongst all guests.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you We appreciate the recognition !

89%

The facilities and the location of the hostel was great - it was also very clean with a really nice rooftop patio. Joe was very nice to us and we had no problems with him however if you don't catch him in the right moment he can be very grumpy. We heard him telling at another guest for something one day so just make sure you don't catch him early in the morning and you should be fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi im glad you enjoyed the Baraka and you were great guests which made it easy to be the charming host, the guest you so kindly mention was asked to leave for smoking in the room which they denied and refused to leave.

100%

We had an amazing time - beautifully decorated room and stunning rooftop terrace. Joe was also great, very friendly and helpful!


100%

Amazing, amazing and amazing. This is the best hostel I have stayed in on four continents. The owner is great and very knowledable of the whole country. Definitely make Chefchaoen and Riad Baraka a part of your trip to Morocco.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Honestly thankyou for your visit you were real fun to have around!

100%

This place is the bomb. Everything is great about it. My girlfriend and I booked the double bed room with bathroom and were both super happy with it. Make sure to book in advance and go enjoy the awesome terrace's view.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks mate really happy you enjoyed the baraka!

94%

Due to another guest falling ill and overstaying, there weren't enough rooms for my group. One of the owners, Joe, arranged for us to stay at another Riad close by. His organisation and help made the sudden change run very smoothly. Before we left for the other riad, I had a look around Riad Baraka. It was beautifully decorated with lots of character and spotlessly clean. Recommended.


97%

Great and peacefull place! Really nice owner and perfect atmosphere! I highly recommend it!

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you your welcome anytime !

100%

Primo hostel located in the heart of Chefchaouen. Jo and his brother are very accommodating, helpful and offer good advise. The hostel is clean and has amazing inside decor and rooftop terrace/cooking facilities. Definately recommend this place if you are going to stay in Chefchaouen, we will be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you enjoy the rest of Moroco really enjoyed your company!

97%

I arrived on April the 13th with a friend, we were satisfied. It was much better than our expectations. We think that Riad Baraka is one of the best hostels in Morocco. Very clean, nice rooms, the terrace is amazing, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast. We ll definitely come back!! 100% we recommend this hostel!!

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you we try our best and your welcome any time!

100%

Cleanest riad in Morocco.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for noticing the work that goes into the upkeep of the Baraka.

91%

Fantastically helpful and efficient staff who do a mean breakfast - highly recommended if the sun's out and you can have it on the terrace which offers unparalleled views over the town! Hostel is perfectly located and easy to find in the medina, thanks to the signs and the directions given here. Hope to come back some day to Chefchaouen and to this wonderful place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments you were a lovely group!

94%

The two of us spent 2 nights here and we were enchanted. A beautiful place in an easy-to reach alley near the entrance of the Medina. Don't follow the map here at hostelworld but read the navigation instructions instead - we spent half an hour nervously looking for it before we realized the two are contradictory. Warm water is available only from 7-22 h, which we did not expect but it is not a serious limitation. Breakfast is not so great, I recommend eating at the nearby Assaada instead.

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review we are easy to find on my instructions to the website and we have just made a link on our website to a video with directions to the Riad , surprised you did not like breakfast most people find it a refreshing change to the usual Moroccan Menu but you cant win them all . Happy travels.

94%

Beautiful place, terrific location, super clean and a very nice stay. The reviews that say the owners sometimes yell at and berate staff are accurate, that part was terrible. With guests, they are helpful and provide good service, although if you're looking for warm, friendly hosts who want to get to know you, you won't find that here. The rooftop terraces are stunning, beds are warm and soft and cozy, and breakfast is very tasty. The place is immaculately clean and absolutely lovely.

Owner Comment (Hide)
To be fair you emailed me three times with your list of requirements saying you were looking for peace and quiet to write, which you reiterated on arrival! To say i shout at staff(Mohamed) is not fair you were here six days and cant even remember Mohamed's name he be have been staff to you he happens to be my best friend !

97%

Nice and clean place to stay, amazing view from the top terrace. Joe is a nice and helpful guy to have a chat with and get some good recommendations to move around the area. As well stuff positive and friendly. I really want to go back soon as it feels to be special like home.


100%

Great place to stay! Very clean, good hot shower, very friendly and helpful owner, great roof terrace equipped with seats and mattresses from which you can see the entire city! Wifi works well, breakfast was great! A little hard to find when you can't find the right gate, but just give 10 dirham to a man and he will lead you the way. I definitely recommend this place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thankyou nice to be appreciated!

1 2 Next » last »
(38 results)


View all Chefchaouen Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback