X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Riad Baraka Reviews

12 derb Ben Yakoub Chefchaouen, 91000, Chefchaouen, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
293 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 99%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This place was amazing. We only stayed one night and were considering another but ran out if time. The minute we walked in Ann was great and the place is simply amazing. Everything is personally decorated and the terrace is worth a look itself!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Chaouen is one of the highlights of Moroc give us more time, next time!

94%

I've been to Chaoen a few times and stayed at various hostels. Most often I stay at the fun but grungy Souika but I wanted something with more charm this time and Riad Baraka definitely has that without costing much more. The building has been beautifully restored throughout and has a delightful roof-top terrace. The owner, Anna, is a wonderful host and can help you with your stay and onward plans. Highly recommended. I'll be back.


91%

We really enjoyed our 4 nights here. Anne was more than helpful in all aspects of our stay at Baraka, we felt very at home. She's good at remembering everyone's name and had all the guests best interests at heart. We also met some great people staying there too. Would not hesitate to stay here again :)

  • 15th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a wonderful stay at Riad Baraka - honestly can't recommend it highly enough. It was super-clean, comfortable, and the owner looked after us throughout our stay. The riad has good wifi, ample hot water, and the roof terrace is lovely. The shared bathrooms are the cleanest I've seen anywhere in the world. The place was a little hard to find at first, as the taxi dropped us off at the wrong gate - so be sure to ask for Bab El Ain, as it's very easy from there. We'd love to come again!


80%

We had a comfortable stay and the relaxed atmosphere enabled us to meet some of the guests who we ended up having dinner with. Great views from the roof garden. Host,Ann, was most helpful. Happy to recommend it to anyone.

  • 6th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

You can end your search here. There is no way you will find a better place to stay in Chefchaouen than this place, especially at this price. Great location, immaculately clean, very helpful and attentive staff and and absolutely beautiful terrace. The atmosphere was great, The place was full with mostly UK and Australinan travelers and we all had a great time. Doesn't hurt that they serve beer and wine on the terrace either.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome Riad in Chef Chaouen. Amazing rooftop. Great owners who really care about your experience and safety in Morocco. Clean. Well run. Definitely not a party hostel. Highly recommended.


100%

Great accommodation in an amazing city. It was great to escape the chaos and hassles in the larger cities and simply relax at Riad Baraka. Staff are great, rooms are quiet and clean, and they have an amazing breakfast. Highly recommend!


66%

It was ok. The hostel was clean and our room ok. Our complain is about the people working at the hostel, they were rude and not nice. There are a lot of hostels in chefchouen, next time i'm going there i will not stay there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Talking to us like minimum wage employes in our home offended us, please remember manners are a two way street !

94%

nice little hotel! nice terrace! nice little shower room!

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Best riad we've stayed in Morocco


91%

Host very helpful and gave us excellent advice for our onwards traveling. Great value for the price. Good breakfast. Meticulously clean. Decor and atmosphere lovely. Only negative was poor light in rooms....could not read in bed.

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed our place, I have swept the bulb in your room for a brighter one cheers joe.

94%

Great location, very clean and tastefully decorated riad. Breakfast not included but can be ordered for 25 DH. Great terrace and a heated room on the roof where you can hang out and watch a DVD.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review and mentioning our cool movie room on the terrace hard to find heating in morocco!

86%

A little hard to find if you enter the medina at a different location to the one given in the directions. But once you find it, it's a piece of cake! Very clean, the owner rather friendly and great roof terrace. Just make sure you lock your room door properly... It bolts at the top as well as the lock once you leave! If not, it is easily opened by anyone with or with out a key!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review and stating if you don't follow the directions you won't find us and if you don't lock the door it's not locked. ! Happy travels!

80%

Joe is a very knowledgable host and friendly as well. The cleanest hostel I've stayed in, in morocco. It's a bit hard to find, but that's fine after you take a day to orient in the town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for visiting the Baraka .

100%

We have stayed in quite a few hostels over the past two months and this was one of the best. The hostel is fitted out beautifully and very clean. Breakfast is fresh and very tasty - a real change from the usual breakfast fare in Morocco. Joe and his brother are very friendly and have lots of advice and local tips. I highly recommend this hostel for the younger traveller.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing us glad you enjoyed the stay!

91%

We had a great stay at Riad Baraka. Joe is a chilled and helpful host. The breakfast for 25MAD is well worth it. Great terrace with a view of the medina and mountains. The rooms didn't lock securely but the riad did. Would recommend for sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks you were great guests, welcome any time ! The baraka is a 600 yr old house so we have old style locks which must be bolted on the inside to secure the door.

20%

unprofessional

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I wish there was a web page where I could warn orther hostel about you!

91%

Location is really good with beautiful terrace with music, tv. Dvds. Decoration of place is the best. Hostel is one of the cleanest in Morroco. They have good wifi and a lots of different book guides. You can borrow ipad for 3€. Breakfast costs 2,5. The bad thing is that you need to pay 3€ if you want to store laguage there and they only have one shower which has hot water only until 10 pm. There are also only two toalets. Some locks in rooms could have been better. I recommend the place. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments on how nice stylish and clean the Baraka is with Wifi in the whole house . The reason we charge for the baggage storage is guests use it as a late checkout . The hot water is turned off at ten and the vast majority of people appreciate the quiet . The Baraka has one shower (very good one) and two tiolets between six guests everybody else has an ensuite , which was aviliable to youfor an extra 30 dirhams happy travels .

86%

Really nice and clean riad with a great Terrasse.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks welcome anytime!

(191 results)


View all Chefchaouen Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback