X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Riad El Pacha Reviews

21, Rue Abderrahamane Eddak, Essaouira, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
397 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

We didn't even stay here. They demanded we pay full price then after giving them cash they tell us the hostel is fully booked w a school trip (we pre booked a private en-suite) we were sent next door and shown the small, dark and moist/damp room. (I have spent 2yr travelling and been in my fair share of bad rooms) the room was awful and it seemed there was a family living there too. No locks either. The only redeeming factor was they gave us back our money when we refused to stay there.


97%

very nice atmosphere at el pacha hostel people who are working there are very friendly and nice they are always up to help you . they teach us t lot of game card over there and after 10 days looking for chicha we found it at the hostel if you want to have fun you should defiently go there thank you simo , see you soon inshallah

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

big hostel in the center of the city .

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

riad el pacha is lovely hostel the guy who work there he is very funy and helpful we forgot our passeport in the room and the day after we had to catch the plan back home so he come by him self to marrakech in the same day to give us back our passeport thank you very much . we had such great time in the riad , it's very nice building represent the moroccan architecture , defiently if i come back to essaouirra i will go again there

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Friendly staff but the room smelled like a basement, had no windows and was very moist.


57%

Didn't like this hostel. I've paid for a 6 bed room, and it ended up being a 8 bed one with two extra cots on the floor, in order to pack more guests in the same room and make more money. It was so crowded that the door wouldn't even close. This is trick is almost fraudulent. The hostel in general feel run down : there was no toilet paper to be found anywhere, the stairs are in a bad state - almost crashed in them - and the bathrooms & showers not good looking. Good breakfast, careless staff.


66%

Double room was nice enough and food provided was delicious. Riad was hard to find (must walk as its in the old medina) without clear signs and the alleyway looked particularly dodgy at night. Some interesting looking ppl 'smoking' and hanging out at the front didnt help. Booked an ensuite but upon arrival, they had given both booked nights to someone else.Bathroom Facilities were limited and questionable buts its that old saying, you get what you pay for. For the cost and location, it was good!


86%

Amazing views from the roof top and it is in the centre of the medina. Friendly atmosphere but rooms could be a bit cleaner.


100%

We liked the Riad very much. It was very quiet and clean.location was in the medina of Essaouira. Staff was very helpful to us. And breakfast was quiet good.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We booked one night in el pacha hostel but we stayed 4 days more we felt that we are home people who working there are very friendly and kind as well,we met lot cool backpackrs in the hostel , very good location everything near by the hostel we got lot of usefull advice from the people who worked there , the terasse it's very nice because you can get the best view to the old medina and the sea , the breakfast was delicious typical one thank for all of you specialy simo

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

we had great time at the riad el pacha very nice atmosphere ,in the riad all people like to help you and give you advice nice conversation with the guys who work there ,the hostel is located in the heart of the medina everything is close by the square and the beach , the terasse get awesome view to the sea and the riad has moroccan hammam one of the cheapest we can found since we got to morocco , i high recomand riad pacha for all travlers .

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Bigger than most riads but very nice. Good position, clean and good value for money.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cape Verde
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The bathrooms were dirty here and smelt bad but that's the only bad thing I could say about this place! Lockers in the room but not enough for all the beds, however I left my stuff out and had no problems. The staff definitely made this place great to stay at as they were very friendly and so helpful! Especially Simo - who is so much fun and really cute too!! ;) and his hair is amazing! Haha definitely go here just to see his hair!


69%

On my first day I felt right at home straight away. Aisha, who runs the hostel during the day, is very approachable and hard working. Simone who works in the evening is knowledgable and happy to help. However, as the week went on, I started to feel a little uncomfortable in this riad. Every day, Moroccan men who are neither staff nor guests flock to the communal area to use the free wifi and/or watch the World Cup games. I don't think this is appropriate in a hostel designed for travellers.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great stay in a great place. Staff was awesome, and is perfectly located in the heart of the medina.


100%

great hostel, cool staff, great home base for essaouira


100%

A very nice comfortable family type hotel with excellent staff and a great location. The terrace on the top of its roof is amazing and rooms are very spacious. Highly recommended!

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel offers a great atmosphere to relax in after an adventurous day out on the beach, the markets or doing tours arranged by the helpful staff. There is great tasting,The atmosphere is really friendly, we had 3 course dinners cooked for us every evening for just 60dhm and taken out to local bars. It's a great value for money and opportunity to meet new people, as due to low price quite a lot of people stay there for weeks to discover Essaoira.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly and helpful staf .Very good atmosphere.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean, beautifully decorated, helpful staff, free wifi in lobby .

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Essaouira Hostels

Please give us your feedback