X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Riad La Caleche Reviews

48 Derb El Firane, Riad Laarous, Marrakech, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
168 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Very nice place, breakfast was large and the everything was clean. The staff were more than happy to come meet us when we got to Marrakesh, I would recommend that you do this as to find this place without a guide would be quite hard.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We spent a wonderful, we were greeted in a great manner by IBRAHIM, a wonderful person, who was able to put us immediately at ease, and helped us to understand many things of marrakech! The hotel is really very nice typical Moroccan breakfast also with very good products and nutrients. The location is great, 10 min walk from Jaama El Fna, really comfortable! I recommend it to everyone, really very nice!


77%

El taxi nos dejó a 3 minutos caminando y nos ofreció ayuda un lugareño para llegar al hostal y nos cobró 22 euros!!! Nos trató muy mal, así que recomendación, nunca acepten ayuda de ellos, sólo cuando ayudan con ubicación pero en el mismo lugar, que nunca los acompañen. Por otra parte el hostal muy lindo!!!

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel is run by a very friendly couple of guys. They were very helpful in arranging taxis for us and suggesting places in Marrakech we'd like to visit. It's a comfy Riad, very relaxed and I'd definitely stay there again!


100%

Very nice riad with a lovely staff. Recommended!

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

Air-con didn't work because the unit hasn't been installed properly. We were given a broken fan instead. Left my 45euro electric toothbrush behind - no response to my email or phone call. Went back to the riad 2 weeks later to find out a staff member had taken my toothbrush to his hometown while he was on holidays??!! I left my address so that it could be sent to me, was promised that it would be but it has been 3 weeks and I haven't gotten the email I was promised once it was sent.UNTRUSTWORTHY


86%

Schoon & ruime riad, 10 minuutjes lopen vanaf het Jemaa el Fnaa plein, maar daardoor rustig gelegen. In eerste intantie wat lastig te vinden, omdat je door nauwe straatjes moet navigeren. Als je eenmaal enigszins de weg weet in Marrakech is dat geen probleem. Vriendelijk personeel met goede tips over wat wel/niet te bezoeken.


97%

Gorgeous, charming riad about a 15 minute walk from the main square in Marrakech. Very friendly staff who went out of their way to help us and recommend places to see and things to do. I would recommend contacting the hostel in advance to get an airport pickup (€13 or 150 Dirham) as the hostel would have been very difficult to find by ourselves! Delicious breakfast every morning served in a the small courtyard and a great rooftop for sunbathing. Highly recommend this riad!

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

When we arrived to the Riad, we were moved to the company's more centrally located Riad, Les Deux Portes. Wasn't a problem in the slightest, as both Riads are gorgeous and we lucked out being 2 mins from Jemaa El Fna. Pit Cho and Samir are very cool and helpful hosts (just don't make the faux pas of getting their names wrong - sorry homies!); my brother and I couldn't have felt more at ease in their company. The rooms were clean, the riad quaint. Shout out to Ridwan too who we first met :)

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We enjoyed our stay and the staff were so helpful and friendly. They made tea for us and showed us where to go on a great map, made us feel comfortable and welcome and we had a great stay. We had the five bed dorm with bath and it was large enough for all of us. The courtyard was very cute and Moroccan styled. I highly recommend this riad.


91%

great hostel, just more than a little hard to find .staff we're excellent and really friendly always, even waking up extra early to make us breakfast before a trip to Essaouira. Room was pretty large with a nice bed and ensuite bathroom. It is a little bit of a walk to the main square, but it meant we got to see a whole new part of the city which we were happy with. All in all a great hostel which we will definitely recommend to friends. Thanks for the great stay!!


94%

Our recent stay at Riad La Caleche was amazing! The two guys running this place are so sweet and went out of their way to ensure that our every need was met. They set us up on a camel tour and arranged for taxis, and even cooked dinner for us for two of the nights! The food was authentic and amazing and we even got to play the drums with them. The riad itself is gorgeous and our room was spacious and nicely appointed. Overall we would highly recommend this place! -Ayesha, Fatima & Yessamin

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A great riad with only positive comments. The 2 gentlemen made our vacation entirely! On arrival they were very welcoming even with our delayed arrival to the country. Recommended to book a taxi from airport to the riad, arranged via email. The riad itself is lovely with an indoor pool, spacious rooms, good sized bathrooms with hot water. As part of the costs breakfast is provided which varies day to day. Can also arrange various excursions for you for very cheap. Very highly recommended!


100%

We stayed in La Caleche for 10 days and had a wonderful time. It is a beautiful Riad, an oase of rest and cleanliness in the medina of Marrakech. We had a comfortable room and a large bathroom with hot water every day. Redouane, Abdelatif and Zinab are the most friendly staff you could wish for, allways there for a nice minttea and information, help or just a chat in a relaxed atmosphere.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Do not hesitate to stay here! Perfect location, friendly and accommodating staff and beautiful ambiance. If you want a real Marrakech experience definitely stay at a riad and not a hotel. I would recommend emailing the staff to arrange an airport pick-up. The old medina is difficult to navigate, even for taxi drivers.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Dopo aver atteso più di un ora all'aereoporto il taxi prenotato tramite il Riad "La Caleche" abbiamo avuto la sorpresa di dover cambiare riad per poter pernottare senza sapere il perchè, accompagnati all'altro Riad da una persona dello staff su nostra insistenza, perchè loro ci davano una mappa e potevamo arrangiarsi. Il riad dove abbiamo alloggiato era in una posizione migliore per visitare la città ma il personale e la pulizia era a livello molto scarso.Pertanto fate attenzione alla prenotazio

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a wonderful time in the Riad La Caleche. Their breakfast alone is wonderful, with tea or coffee and different kinds of jam and delicious bread; it can be enjoyed in the Riad's shady centre, complete with an orange tree and a small pool, or upstairs at the roof top with a breathtaking view over Marrakech. Both Jaja and his lovely wife took great care of us and made us feel at home immediately. Sehr zu empfehlen. Niels and Anna


94%

Es war eine wundervolle Zeit mit einem traumhaftem Hostel in einem fazinierendem Land!

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Dieses Riad war angeblich voll ausgebucht gewesen, so dass man uns zu 2 anderen Riads in die entgegen gesetzte Richtung gebracht hatte. Das 2. Riad war überhaupt nicht was annähernd unseren Vorstellungen oder der Buchung entsprochen hätte. Nach längeren Nachfragen wurden wir letztendlich zu einem 3. Riad gebracht, was uns dann veranlasste, dort wohnen zu wollen.


100%

if youre looking for the nicest place in marrakech - we found it! the atmosphere is very familiar, the staff super friendly and the food is just AWESOME. The guys will help you with everything you need, explain you what you should see and do, how to get there etc. They give cooking classes and sometimes little guitar concerts. Rooms are beautful, clean and spacious. go for it ;)

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Marrakech Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback