X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Riad Layla Rouge Reviews

Rue el Ksour, Derb Rokni, 23, Marrakech, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
573 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The Riad Layla Rouge was absolutely amazing. Abdel, the manager, was fantastic and always helped us with any questions or information we needed. The riad is beautiful, well located, and very clean. It has an amazing roof deck where you can read or hang out. The breakfast is fantastic as well and the helpful staff are even willing to make it for you to go if you need to get going early in the morning. The hostel is on a quiet street which makes for a great night's sleep.


100%

Excellent staff: very helpful and always willing to help! The room was very clean and very pretty- Moroccan style. and the riad was conveniently located!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Good staff with nice breakfast and good price, like the decoration here

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Be aware - there are definitely bed bugs in the dorm room. I was bitten several times and it was certainly not a very pleasant experience. Besides that the hostel was good, but bed bugs should be taken seriously.


100%

Excellent location, my double room was in supreme condition, beautiful rooftop, friendly staff

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great stay at this riad! The cooking class was very fun and exciting and we were able to make the best tagine we had in Marrakech! The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and spacious. We look forward to our next visit to Marrakech!

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We were absolutely blown away at the friendliness and homely atmosphere at Layla Rouge. We were made to feel like part of the family and were given great ideas on where to go to eat and see the local sights. We would thoroughly recommend the hostel to everyone. Big thanks to Abs (Abdel) for playing the perfect host!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very helpful and accommodating people who care about their guests having a good experience. They give a great orientation to the city when you arrive and serve an excellent breakfast. Very friendly environment which makes it easy for you to meet others if you want to. Always had an outlet available to charge my electronics and they let me store my luggage while i was out on my excursions.


54%

VERY dangerous at night, during the day it's ok, just a few steps from the main square. Staff wasn't able to speak English properly and would even give wrong information sometimes, the atmosphere was very good and the view from the roof top was stunning. If you don't like cats, never stay here, I wasn't really feeling good with a cat jumping from side to side while I had breakfast. It was a little disgusting. Very cheap! Not enough out let plugs in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Firstly, to attend to the potential concerns of future guests: our day staff are able to speak English fluently. The medina is ancient, and so are the houses in it (including the hostel). There are cats in the medina. From a Darwinian perspective this is a good thing. Sometimes they roam on the terrace (not inside) but we've never seen a dancing one as you describe. There are outlets in the rooms though you may be disappointed if you bring your entire home office and electric beauty products.

100%

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Layla Rouge for 4 nights and had the best time!! Abdel was super friendly and accomodating which made our stay feel like we were very welcomed! Any questions we had he answered straight away and was always there if we needed something. The staff were super friendly and made us tea and cake which is delicious! We also went on a 3 day tour to the Sahara Desert through the hostel which I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you do because it's an experience I will never forget

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We arrived at this hostel only intending to stay one night; however, we loved it so much that we came back! The hostel is lively and the perfect place for solo travellers and travelling couples. The facilities are excellent,and you have everything you need. The best feature of the hostel is the rooftop terrace which allows you to see the sun set behind the mesmerising Atlas mountains in the evening. The owner of the hostel Abdel is warm and welcoming, and is sure to make your stay enjoyable.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Abdel was amazing and so so so helpful ! He assisted with everything we needed, including train tickets to our next city, restaurant recommendations and things to do. STAY HERE IN MARRAKECH !!! P.s. Kristely


66%

Main issues were bed bugs, coach roaches and missing items. Otherwise great views and location


97%

Great hosts, very clean, staff friendly and available, great breakfast, all good, I recommand that place!!!!


63%

You have bed bugs.. Must find a way to get rid of it.


100%

A great "hostel" (in fact its more like a hotel). perfect location, clean rooms, hot shower, friendly staff an the best breakfast i ever had in a hostel. Beautiful rooms and terrace with turtles. RECOMMANDED! thanx abdel and hanane Grossartiges Hostel (eigentlich fast eher wie ein Hotel). Perfekte Lage, saubere Zimmer, warm Wasser, Personal super freundlich und das beste Fruehstueck das ich jeh in einem Hostel hatte! Wunderschoene Zimmer und Terasse mit Schildkroeten. Empfehlenswert!

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is amazing!! Only intended to stay 3 nights but ended up staying 5 using it as a base between trips to other parts of the country. Abdel is fantastic: couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome. Dorm room was cleaned daily. The roof terrace is amazing, complete with tortoises: great place to hang out and meet fellow travellers!


100%

The hostel is very good! The staff make you feel like home. They are very friendly and help you organise everything. We also booked a two day sahara excursion within the hostel and it was fantastic. They also have a terrace on top where you can relax and have a cup of tea.


100%

For anyone planning a trip to morocco, I highly recommend staying at the Riad Layla Rouge. The riad itself is beautiful, you're greeted with the classic Moroccan tea as soon as you arrive, the view from the rooftop overlooks the city of Marrakech so you can catch the sunset there. The beds are very comfortable, and you get a ton of towels and blankets folded onto your bed every day. They also offer incredible excursions to the Sahara desert - do the 3 day trip. Best hostel marrakech has to offer


97%

We totally loved this hostel/riad. It had a spectacular terrace and a great vibe all around. Met so many great people and had a great time start to finish. It was easy to find if you follow the comprehensive directions given, and in a great location. Some fruit at breakfast would be my only recommendation. Mohammed and Abdel are great. Stay here and you won't regret it!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(79 results)


View all Marrakech Hostels

Please give us your feedback