X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Riad So Cheap So Chic Reviews

Derb Dabachi, 38 Derb Moulay Abdelkader Medina Mar, Marrakech, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
307 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

I really liked the courtyard and the rooftop of this hostel. Very beautiful, although not that clean. You shouldn't go there and expect the same standards than the ones of your country but after the first day you get used to it and start to like it. The breakfast is nothing special, close to the hostel is a really nice cafe where they offer for the same price a better one. The hostel's location is very central, close to the biggest square where we ate everytime.

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

When we arrived the hostel they sent us to another hostel. Originally the staff said clearly that we could have the breakfast for free, but when we finished the breakfast the staff charged us the money. We were really angry about that.


100%

I was so Happy with my stay at the sister riad of so chic,which was just around the corner ... I requested twin beds on my arrival so was taken to the other place..Wow that was my luck! How wonderful was this riad so clean, so beautiful and such wonderful staff. To be honest I did not want to leave and I shall be booking again soon as possible..Many thanks for my wonderful stay I highly recommend this place..

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great stay at So Cheap So Chic. The hostels common areas are huge, and the rooms were very well presented with their own bathrooms. The staff were friendly and the location was great. It was so nice to come back after a hot day exploring Marrakech and have this place to relax in....not really a place for lone travelers as the rooms cater for small groups and couples, but if you fit into either of these categories i wouldn't stay anywhere else.


86%

We were sent to the sister property, which turned out to be much nicer. TOWELS ARE INCLUDED, despite what it tells you.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

Quality and size of rooms really varies. We spent several nights in different rooms at So Chaep So Chic, using it our base during trips to other cities. While the first room was way too small for the 3 of us, the second was fantastic. Third we were given a room in a partner riad 5 mins walk from the hostel. Rooms were ok but that place's character was less chamring. Breakfast is not a good deal. For 3 EUR, you get bread, jam, honey, butter and cheese. That's it.


91%

Nice hostel right in the centre of the old town in Marrakech. Big courtyard and nice roof terrace. Our room was big and tidy, restroom was clean and everything was beautiful. There's also a baby cat in the hostel who's a frequent visitor in the guest rooms ;)


89%

The staff of the hostel were very friendly. The location is perfect and, although can be a bit hard to find


69%

A nice place to stay with helpful staff. Location is excellent and despite being just off the main drag and noisy square the courtyard is an oasis of calm.

  • 8th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff here are lovely and accommodating. Though the brekky lady doesn't speak English, she's very nice.. The manager is not often in, but when we did meet her she was exceptionally helpful. The pool here is awesome!! We used it 3 times a day! Hard to find, but great location. Would definitely recommend.


77%

Good Location in old town near Jemaa El Fna square. Dificult to find it the day you arrive. Breakfast included but no facilities on having it before fixed time

  • 17th Mar 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel was phenomenal! It was exactly what I was looking for-- peaceful and quiet but close to everything; inexpensive, but clean, understated, and beautifully decorated. The lovely courtyard smells like the orange and lemon trees planted there, and the rooftop terrace has great views. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, without being at all pushy. I stayed for three nights in a private room and could not have been happier.


100%

Really nice hostel, very convenient location, helpful staff.

  • 5th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

We went in January, it was warm enough during the day but quite cold in the evenings & the rooms don't have heating. Apart from that, the hostel is considerably clean (would recommend to book an ensuite nonetheless), only 3mins walk from the main square, the staff is very friendly, but don't speak English - so make sure to brush up on your French! One negative point:we asked for a guide for the souks & although we gave 2 days notice, they didn't manage to organise one. Overall - recommendable!

  • 19th Jan 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I thought the place was really nice, it was cheap and in a great location. The large dorm room was great, no bunk beds. The only downsides were the place lacked a bit of atmosphere if you were looking to meet fellow travelers, and the place wasn't managed that well, it needed a manager to be there full time.


54%

The location is really good, but the hostel in itself is not that good. The big private bedroom was good, but the bathroom was really bad... dirty and in bad conditions. And is really need someone to fulltime administrate. The employees that were there during the day just speak arab and we were always in the need of something or telephoning the owner... it didn't needed to be like that.


90%

Excellent location, price and staff


87%

It is very familiar... its simple, but nice and confortable... We missed just towels ?, don't know why they didn't put them. Thanks that we had some ;-);-)

  • 12th Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, just wanted to let you know that at the reception desk as well as on the hostels description we mention that for the private rooms ensuite we ask for a deposit (50 dhs per towel) that you receive back when you give us back the towels on departure, concerning the dorms towels are not included but those cost 15 dhs per day and per towel....the reason why is very simple so people won't steal it as it was in the beginning when towels were free of deposit. Also we ask for payment on arrival in order to avoid people to leave the hostel without paying as it was often the case in the beginning. Hope this will anwer your question. Thanks and hope you had a nice stay with us !!!

100%

The brothers that take care of the place were really nice to us. We stayed there for only one night but they gave us tips of all the good places in the city and even helped us to find a trip to the desert. We were going to Marrakesh and, from there, we would try to find a good trip to the desert. But that was really risky, considering that we were hopping to find a van that would take as there and that there are a lot of hustlers in Morocco. So we put our trust on them and it was really worth it


43%

the place is dirty - I have seen worse - but the terrace was full of dog shit and the dogs pee was all over the patio bushes and trees. I love dogs and the dogs were lovely but their owner never leave them out so they need somewhere!! The swimming pool is really dirty too - do not even think of swimming in it... Another problem is that they bark a lot over the night so we did not sleep properly. Breakfast is just bread and 1 crepe and jam and butter - nothing special and quite boring afterall.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(236 results)


View all Marrakech Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback