X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Riad Verus Reviews

1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha, Medina, Fez, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
461 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Beautiful internal courtyard, amazing view from the rooftop terrace, great breakfast. I had booked a dorm, but was moved to a tiny poky single room (at additional cost). Not so great if you're travelling alone and hoping to meet other people. The manager was keen to help, but a bit pushy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you liked the beautiful courtyard and the amazing view from the top terrace. I am confussed why you would have been charged more to move to another room, i did the upgrade and didnt charge you any more money than what you had to pay i can assure you. there are plenty of spaces within the riad and the terraces too to meet other travellers not just paying to be in a dorm room.

66%

The Riad was gorg but not within the 'hostel' trajectory. Everything recommended by the Riad was a tad on the posh/ the more pricey version of what was available. Although kindly meant, the primary staff member, can be insistent upon his recommendations, looking out for you not being scammed, or getting shoddy service, however, if the primary premise of booking this riad is budget, you won't get it. Most of the services are at extra charge, so you see your bill growing fast. GREAT B/FAST

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for liking the Riad and sorry if Yussefs enthusiasm was viewed as pushy, he is just so eager to please and make the guests feel like Kings, I will rein him in!! We are so pleased you liked the great breakfast mind.

49%

it does'nt work A/C. Also ,flowing water on the floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately on the night of your stay the AC burst a pipe and that lead to water flowing on the floor, we are so sorry for the inconvenience caused.

80%

Youssef at reception was awesome! Management/Owners should give him a raise/promotion. Riad Verus had a very nice terrace and inside atmosphere. Easy to get to because of the signs in the surrounding area. Was a bit disorganized though, everyone I talked to that stayed there had to move rooms at least once, and sometimes for no reason. I also wished there was a kitchen we could use though. Unless you get a private room, there was also only one working toilet for four floors while I was there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the accreditation to Yussef and for finding the terrace to be lovely and the inside beautiful and easy to find due to the signposting. Now from the New Town there are signs for PALAIS SHEHERADE, follow these and they will lead you to Riad Verus. Easy. Whilst you were there there was a couple and 2 friends who arrived 3 days early and this lead to them having to change rooms every night as they wanted to stay but on that condition, we dont move guests unless there is no availablity.

100%

Perfect stay, was looked after very well, the hosts were both amazing and were happy to help in all ways possible. Clean rooms, big comfy beds, cozy soft towels and hot water in the showers all day long. Hard to find anything to complain about. The staff are on hand to help organise Trips to the Sahara, dinners, hammams, cooking classes, Medina tours, basically anything you want to do you can, I totally recommend this as to be THE PLACE to stay in Fes and one of the nicest hostels I been to..

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you had a perfect stay and that you liked all the activities and the tours and that you considered this to be the nicest hostel you had ever been to and the place to stay in Fes.

100%

Not one for reviews but this hostel was outstanding. Clean and well situated with a fast wifi set up. Probably the safest bet for Fes in terms of price staffing and security.

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So pleased you liked the wifi and that you considered the hostel outstanding and was a safe bet in terms of staffing and security.

100%

Morocco is well known for its superb hospitality and the Riad Verus was no exception, the staff were all lovely to say the least, carry your bags for you, search you out if you get lost, speak Arabic to your taxi driver if he cant find the entrance, all over super service.Loved location and the place was very clean, maids came into your rooms during the day and made beds, changed wet towels, that sort of thing of a nice hotel but way cheaper. There were lockers in rooms and a good comunal area.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Changed the date of my reservation and the hostel were so accommodating and didn't charge for the no show and let me arrive a few weeks later. Were super helpful organising the Sahara tour and as English was the first language they spoke there everything was easy. Quite possibly one of the prettiest hostels I could have ever imagined staying in. Wifi was also fast and reached in the bedrooms too.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great atmosphere, great staff, and a TOP experience. Really cool hostel unlike any other I've stayed in, an added bonus was the good breakfast and nespresso coffee! The hostel was always clean and despite being in a shared bathroom dorm there was never any issues with waiting for a shower in the morning, there was another one on the terrace I discovered the last day! loved the free BBQ and the water pipes available. Owners always there to give tips and answer questions.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Yousseff, the manager of the hostel is a very hard worker and goes above and beyond to accommodate everyone, which is much appreciated. The hostel is gorgeous and has a lovely rooftop terrace with couches. I would not recommend, however, some of the hostel organized activities - we did the hammam and definitely over paid what it should have been worth for a local and authentic moroccan experience. Overall this was a good hostel to stay at.


100%

Flexible when it came to making the booking, needed to stay longer and this was not an issue. Good reception space and beds were clean and breakfast timely. Would consider it one of the better places to stay in Fes in this price range. The location made it very easy to see Fes, Atmosphere was fun, laid back and a decent crowd.

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Well located. Air conditioning worked well as did a high speed wifi connection. Whilst we were staying there they organised a party and we were treated to the delights of a lovely Belly dancer, Magician and Gnawa musicians, it went on til 11 and then we partied at a club downtown. There is plenty to keep you busy and the Managers go out of their way to always ask if you are OK making it a very cosy place.

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect stay to a perfect holiday at the Verus Riad. Kindly staff members made for an enjoyable time sipping mojitos and getting to know friends. The Hostel is great value for money, outstanding breakfast and rooms spacious + most comfortable, in fact I had one of the best nights sleeps. Blankets are provided as are linen and towels but with the heat you will find sleeping under the sheet suffice, there is AC in the rooms too if need be. It is rare to find a hostel of this standing in Morocco

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great staff, amazing breakfast. Great location. And easy to find (blue signs with arrows guide you from near the medina entrance). Cooking classes offered and delicious tea provided. Would definitely recommend.


100%

Riad Versus was a great place to stay! The staff were very friendly, and helpful. The breakfast was so delicious, and it is in the perfect location-just far enough from big markets, as not to be too noisy and close enough that you can walk there in 5 minutes or less. Definitely recommend! And as a female traveling alone I felt very safe here.

  • 16th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Too loud in the evening. Great for people who love partying, but not for people who want to sleep.


100%

High Five for one rocking place to stay in Fes, was even my favorite hostel in Morocco. So many of the places we stayed had no hot water so it was a blessing to be somewhere with great plumbing (heard that it had just been re-piped) and where you got free towels and robes and a locker in the room for stuff. ACE TERRACE. Great staff, busy atmosphere and plenty to do plus many free events in the evenings you are welcome to join in on. Had my henna done here and got a berber 4 hand massage...wow!

  • 5th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved my stay here, was treated very well by both Noor and Leanora and loved the free tour of the Ramparts, going and see the view from up there was breathtaking. Also there was a pool we could use just 5 mins from the Riad for 100 Dhm whcih was perfect for the heat. The room was small as had booked the most budget option but what makes up for that is all the communal areas, the patio, the coolness in the interior and the showers no queuing, plenty of hot water and regularly cleaned.

  • 5th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I liked how the Riad was decorated traditional style and yet there were modern facilities like proper clean toilets, hot showers, excellent fast WIFI and plasma tvs in the rooms, even in the dorms, towels, sheets. Security is very tight and there were plenty of open spaces to relax with a cold beer or listen to bossanova jazz. Liked how we were served tea on arrival and despite arriving early and the room still waiting for the old guest to check out we could leave our bags free of charge secure

  • 29th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

the facilities, the location and the character of Riad Verus are excellent and the accomodation is great value for money. Staff is attentive and kind, were they a bit warmer it would be just perfect! The terrace is a great place! Defintively worth recommending it to friends.

  • 22nd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(359 results)


View all Fez Hostels

Please give us your feedback