X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Riad Verus Reviews

1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha, Medina, Fez, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
473 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This was definitely the most comfortable place we stayed at in Morocco; the bed and blankets were great. Youssef was very relaxed and welcoming. The common area was gorgeous and good for meeting other travelers. Not too far from the main areas and quiet at night. Definitely a good stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you rate us as the most comfortable place you stayed in Morocco and that you liked the beds and blankets and that the assistant Manager Yussef was so relaxed and welcoming to you. Yes the common area is gorgeous and its a great interior space to meet other guests and with the ideal location its easy to explore the Medina and yet be a peaceful safe neighbourhood at night.

89%

"en suite" does not necessarily mean you have a toilet adjoining your room. the single room has no shelves. the excursions offered there are exorbitantly priced. you are given a free meal or shisha for posting your review prior to departure. that being said, youssef is a gem and will go the extra mile for you.


69%

The atmosphere is very nice and you can relax at the lobby. A bit expensive compared to the facilities/staffs and small room. Pay your attention !! The breakfast stars from 9:30, so if you would like to go outside earlier, you cannot take it, but worth to wait for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you liked the nice atmosphere in the Riad and that the lobby was a great relaxing space and that you found breakfast worth waiting for. The room you booked includes heating, wifi, breakfast and linen/ towels and booking a private single room does give you privacy at a price but we do have larger dorm rooms which may have been more economically pleasing for you. We offer breakfast until 11.30 so if the guest did want to go out early into the Medina they can come back for breakie

100%

They even made a breakfasy to go because I had too leave early.


89%

The staff here were amazing, they were happy to help sort out additional parts of my trip (booking buses, giving advice and providing recommendations on what to do and what not to do). The hostel was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you found the staff here to be amazing happy to sort out itineraries and booking bus tickets and any other advices you may need. We are so glad you found the hostel clean and spacious and beautifully decorated and that you couldnt have imagined staying anywhere else.

100%

This place was fantastic, and is beautiful inside. Has the most beautiful interior of any hostel I've ever seen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you found the place fantastic and that you thought it to be beautiful and one to the most beautiful interiors of any hostel you had ever seen.

83%

Spent two wonderful nights at this riad, lovely and well-maintained interiors. Helpful staff w sense of humour, overall was enjoyable stay, definitely recommend staying here!

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So pleased you had 2 wonderful nights here and that you loved the well maintained and lovely interior and that you found the staff all to be humerous and that you would definitely recommend travellers to stay here.

40%

Hostel owner was not very welcoming, rather rude. Did not feel welcome. Adds on tax to the price shown on website. Hostel in an odd area, difficult to get to. Definitely would not stay here again.


100%

I had an extremely good stay at riad verus, the staff were friendly and the place was very nicely set out. One of the best hostels I've stayed at

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you had a great stay and that you thought the Riad was nicely laid out and was one of the best hostels you had ever stayed in.

69%

Neat little road near the fountain. It had a unique vibe to it and the place looked great. The staff was friendly but make some pretty weird/inappropriate jokes to the girls I was with. Other than that, the stay was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you found the location neat and that the vibe was unique and that the staff were all friendly and you had a great stay. Maybe if jokes were made with the girls it was a lost in translation situation as my staff know i am super feminist and would freak if i heard anything lewd.

80%

Beautiful internal courtyard, amazing view from the rooftop terrace, great breakfast. I had booked a dorm, but was moved to a tiny poky single room (at additional cost). Not so great if you're travelling alone and hoping to meet other people. The manager was keen to help, but a bit pushy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you liked the beautiful courtyard and the amazing view from the top terrace. I am confussed why you would have been charged more to move to another room, i did the upgrade and didnt charge you any more money than what you had to pay i can assure you. there are plenty of spaces within the riad and the terraces too to meet other travellers not just paying to be in a dorm room.

66%

The Riad was gorg but not within the 'hostel' trajectory. Everything recommended by the Riad was a tad on the posh/ the more pricey version of what was available. Although kindly meant, the primary staff member, can be insistent upon his recommendations, looking out for you not being scammed, or getting shoddy service, however, if the primary premise of booking this riad is budget, you won't get it. Most of the services are at extra charge, so you see your bill growing fast. GREAT B/FAST

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for liking the Riad and sorry if Yussefs enthusiasm was viewed as pushy, he is just so eager to please and make the guests feel like Kings, I will rein him in!! We are so pleased you liked the great breakfast mind.

49%

it does'nt work A/C. Also ,flowing water on the floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately on the night of your stay the AC burst a pipe and that lead to water flowing on the floor, we are so sorry for the inconvenience caused.

80%

Youssef at reception was awesome! Management/Owners should give him a raise/promotion. Riad Verus had a very nice terrace and inside atmosphere. Easy to get to because of the signs in the surrounding area. Was a bit disorganized though, everyone I talked to that stayed there had to move rooms at least once, and sometimes for no reason. I also wished there was a kitchen we could use though. Unless you get a private room, there was also only one working toilet for four floors while I was there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the accreditation to Yussef and for finding the terrace to be lovely and the inside beautiful and easy to find due to the signposting. Now from the New Town there are signs for PALAIS SHEHERADE, follow these and they will lead you to Riad Verus. Easy. Whilst you were there there was a couple and 2 friends who arrived 3 days early and this lead to them having to change rooms every night as they wanted to stay but on that condition, we dont move guests unless there is no availablity.

100%

Perfect stay, was looked after very well, the hosts were both amazing and were happy to help in all ways possible. Clean rooms, big comfy beds, cozy soft towels and hot water in the showers all day long. Hard to find anything to complain about. The staff are on hand to help organise Trips to the Sahara, dinners, hammams, cooking classes, Medina tours, basically anything you want to do you can, I totally recommend this as to be THE PLACE to stay in Fes and one of the nicest hostels I been to..

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you had a perfect stay and that you liked all the activities and the tours and that you considered this to be the nicest hostel you had ever been to and the place to stay in Fes.

100%

Not one for reviews but this hostel was outstanding. Clean and well situated with a fast wifi set up. Probably the safest bet for Fes in terms of price staffing and security.

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So pleased you liked the wifi and that you considered the hostel outstanding and was a safe bet in terms of staffing and security.

100%

Morocco is well known for its superb hospitality and the Riad Verus was no exception, the staff were all lovely to say the least, carry your bags for you, search you out if you get lost, speak Arabic to your taxi driver if he cant find the entrance, all over super service.Loved location and the place was very clean, maids came into your rooms during the day and made beds, changed wet towels, that sort of thing of a nice hotel but way cheaper. There were lockers in rooms and a good comunal area.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Changed the date of my reservation and the hostel were so accommodating and didn't charge for the no show and let me arrive a few weeks later. Were super helpful organising the Sahara tour and as English was the first language they spoke there everything was easy. Quite possibly one of the prettiest hostels I could have ever imagined staying in. Wifi was also fast and reached in the bedrooms too.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great atmosphere, great staff, and a TOP experience. Really cool hostel unlike any other I've stayed in, an added bonus was the good breakfast and nespresso coffee! The hostel was always clean and despite being in a shared bathroom dorm there was never any issues with waiting for a shower in the morning, there was another one on the terrace I discovered the last day! loved the free BBQ and the water pipes available. Owners always there to give tips and answer questions.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Yousseff, the manager of the hostel is a very hard worker and goes above and beyond to accommodate everyone, which is much appreciated. The hostel is gorgeous and has a lovely rooftop terrace with couches. I would not recommend, however, some of the hostel organized activities - we did the hammam and definitely over paid what it should have been worth for a local and authentic moroccan experience. Overall this was a good hostel to stay at.


(369 results)


View all Fez Hostels

Please give us your feedback