X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Riad Verus Reviews

1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha, Medina, Fez, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
494 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This was a bizarre hostel experience. The hostel itself is beautiful and the facilities are all very good. Everything is clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was tasty and filling, and the experience would otherwise be five stars, if it wasn't for the pounding techno music that started at 5pm and did not stop until midnight. I'm all for fun party experiences at hostels, but there was no booze and getting blasted with a fog machine wasn't fun.


86%

Pros: best atmosphere ever. gorgeous. clean. helpful staff. very clean. stylish. cons: no lockers. no kitchen. iffy wifi. no maps. Also Youssef (who was great) took us out to dinner- a very expensive dinner, which we didn't know about. They will try to sell you lots of extras. No matter what they tell you, you do NOT need a guide. Get lost. have fun. you will find your way back somehow. more fun to stop whenever you want. be firm about not spending more money if you are on a tight budget.


80%

Riad Verus is OK. What I would not recommend is visiting Fez. Totally regrettable visit to a horrible city

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you had a bad time in Fes but that you enjoyed your stay in the Riad.

54%

most of the negattive things said in earlier reviews are true. I experienced some of that myself, others i was told by other guests in thehostel. most annoying : 1 price is lowerd by the tric of adding 450 euro pp/pn!!!. complete bonkers So the actual price was 40% higher.!!!! 2 a cancellation period of 30 days is themost imbecil rule i ever have seen. Especy on Hostel/backpackers booking sites. Sure that i'm NEVER go back there. 3 the free actio night by booking 2 nights"?? forget it. etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Peter, i would like to clarify as your comments are misleading to the reader...45 DHM is added per person per night for tax, NOT 450 EUROS!! Cancellation period is 48 hours, the free 3rd night is subject availability and the date you wanted to stay was fully occupied.

100%

Honestly, an amazeballs place to stay in Fes. I can't say much about the owners but Yousef (who appears to be the GM) is cool, straight up and always willing to help. The courtyard is gorgeous and makes for a great place to meet other travellers. A great place to call home in Fes.


97%

I am extremely satisfied with the staff, really appreciate their help, tips and advice!

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased you had a good time and liked all our staff and the help they gave to the guests.

91%

Riad Verus is one of the best backpacker hostels that I have stayed in, especially when it comes to atmosphere of the Riad. The common area is the best beautifully decorated by the owners and its atmosphere is maintained by eusoff and continuous supply of Mint Tea. He is also very helpful in giving us all kinds of information, was willing to drop me to Hamam and pick me up later too. The disadvantage is that the rooms that are not ensuite, their washing facilities are not so good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased you found the Riad to be one of the best backpackers you had ever stayed in and that you liked the atmosphere and the commun areas and that the staff were always on hand with mint tea and looking out for you all.

80%

A well decorated riad located close to the main street. Rooms were clean, but there was no hot water for showering during our stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for finding the Riad to be in a great location and that the rooms were clean, unfortunately during the one night you were here the thermostat broke in your shower boiler but the next day it was fixed and we are pleased to say that there is hot water in the whole house! All the best and we can but apologise for the inconvenience caused, on that day we did offer guests a free trip to a hammam to compensate.

91%

Apart from the cold showers (they specifically advertise hot showers on this page!) The hostel was lovely. Beautiful rooms, esp the girls dorm, and nice terrace. Staff were helpful and would walk to pick you up if you get too lost. We did the cooking class which was fun, but neither of the chef/teachers spoke any English, so was more miming than a lesson. But the end result of food was delish. Breakfast was great.


97%

Yousef, he works at the Riad, is the best!


94%

This was definitely the most comfortable place we stayed at in Morocco; the bed and blankets were great. Youssef was very relaxed and welcoming. The common area was gorgeous and good for meeting other travelers. Not too far from the main areas and quiet at night. Definitely a good stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you rate us as the most comfortable place you stayed in Morocco and that you liked the beds and blankets and that the assistant Manager Yussef was so relaxed and welcoming to you. Yes the common area is gorgeous and its a great interior space to meet other guests and with the ideal location its easy to explore the Medina and yet be a peaceful safe neighbourhood at night.

89%

"en suite" does not necessarily mean you have a toilet adjoining your room. the single room has no shelves. the excursions offered there are exorbitantly priced. you are given a free meal or shisha for posting your review prior to departure. that being said, youssef is a gem and will go the extra mile for you.


69%

The atmosphere is very nice and you can relax at the lobby. A bit expensive compared to the facilities/staffs and small room. Pay your attention !! The breakfast stars from 9:30, so if you would like to go outside earlier, you cannot take it, but worth to wait for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you liked the nice atmosphere in the Riad and that the lobby was a great relaxing space and that you found breakfast worth waiting for. The room you booked includes heating, wifi, breakfast and linen/ towels and booking a private single room does give you privacy at a price but we do have larger dorm rooms which may have been more economically pleasing for you. We offer breakfast until 11.30 so if the guest did want to go out early into the Medina they can come back for breakie

100%

They even made a breakfasy to go because I had too leave early.


89%

The staff here were amazing, they were happy to help sort out additional parts of my trip (booking buses, giving advice and providing recommendations on what to do and what not to do). The hostel was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you found the staff here to be amazing happy to sort out itineraries and booking bus tickets and any other advices you may need. We are so glad you found the hostel clean and spacious and beautifully decorated and that you couldnt have imagined staying anywhere else.

100%

This place was fantastic, and is beautiful inside. Has the most beautiful interior of any hostel I've ever seen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you found the place fantastic and that you thought it to be beautiful and one to the most beautiful interiors of any hostel you had ever seen.

83%

Spent two wonderful nights at this riad, lovely and well-maintained interiors. Helpful staff w sense of humour, overall was enjoyable stay, definitely recommend staying here!

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So pleased you had 2 wonderful nights here and that you loved the well maintained and lovely interior and that you found the staff all to be humerous and that you would definitely recommend travellers to stay here.

40%

Hostel owner was not very welcoming, rather rude. Did not feel welcome. Adds on tax to the price shown on website. Hostel in an odd area, difficult to get to. Definitely would not stay here again.


100%

I had an extremely good stay at riad verus, the staff were friendly and the place was very nicely set out. One of the best hostels I've stayed at

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you had a great stay and that you thought the Riad was nicely laid out and was one of the best hostels you had ever stayed in.

69%

Neat little road near the fountain. It had a unique vibe to it and the place looked great. The staff was friendly but make some pretty weird/inappropriate jokes to the girls I was with. Other than that, the stay was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you found the location neat and that the vibe was unique and that the staff were all friendly and you had a great stay. Maybe if jokes were made with the girls it was a lost in translation situation as my staff know i am super feminist and would freak if i heard anything lewd.

(379 results)


View all Fez Hostels

Please give us your feedback