X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Richmond Hill Hotel Reviews

353 Church Street, Richmond, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
45 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

This was a nice building with simple bunk rooms and shared bathroom facilities. Not much to do in the room, tv was not working and there are no facilities at the hotel - it is very basic, set up like a hostel. But it is clean, the staff are friendly, the breakfast is plentiful, it is 5 minute walk from some great cafes in Richmond, the outlets on Bridge Road and a 45 minute walk in to Melbourne CBD. Good tram connections. I would stay again.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean and slient. And the breakfast was great. I Like RHH.


89%

good place, cheap for location... Car parking is bothersome!


40%

The place was one of the most depressing hostels I have ever been in. I paid for a single room $55 dollars and got a room that looked like a prison cell not to mention the soft was super soft and uncomfortable and the showers didnt even have soap in the soap disposal (my first water only shower). You need to pay for the internet and even so you can excess it only in the foyer as there is no reception in the room. Halls smelled like something between pee & breakfast looks horrific. stay away!

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Bed had a big dip in it - super uncomfortable No mirror Shared toilet and bathroom never had soap Not always clean Noisy at night

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

I booked a private single room and got a grubby tiny room with bunk beds in which the lights didn't work,it was like a prison cell,I was kindly moved to another room with electricity.its more of an old folks home/hotel than a hostel.The staff were ok,Steph was nice but the elderly gentleman seemed a bit ignorant as I left.The breakfast isn't great,bread and fruit,no cereal?Perfect location tho in a great area,5 mins on tram to city,on that alone I'd recommend it as a decent place to stay.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Just what I was looking for - within walking distance of a new fav. spot. Comfortable for what it was. Will probably be back soon :)


63%

It is more of a motel than a hotel! The hotel has seen better days. The staff is super friendly, the hotel looks nice from the outside, also the breakfast room is very fancy. But, the "dorm" rooms look like prison cells, really a little bit scary and not so great. Richmond is a great neighbourhood, but for short-time visitors there are definitely more centrally located possibilities!


74%

Nice location. Great places to eat close by and also tram connections. Very helpful and polite staff during our stay and the complimentary breakfast is beautiful. Would stay again.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

My boom was excellent value for money - clean, quiet and a great location. Breakfast was nice - calm and relaxed, with a vriety of food, and all the details thought of (eg tiny milk jugs to take back to my table etc). All the staff were lovely. The atmosphere of the hotel was great, too. Had some trouble getting the TV to work, but wasn't in my room much so it didn't matter. (Maybe instructions would be useful for guests who do not have a set top box @home?)


97%

Great value for money considering other prices in Melbourne. Lovely clean, quite room with a great shower just down the hall. Great choice for breakfast. All staff so lovely and welcoming. Room facilities (heater, fan, TV) all not working plus the paid-for WiFi didn't reach my room which was a little disappointing but other than that, all good. Will definitely book in again next time I'm in Melbourne,


100%

The staff were polite, friendly & helpful especially Maria.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

A bed and breakfast conveniently situated close to East Richmond station near supermarkets, bars and restaurants.


89%

Thought it was great for a budget hotel/hostel. Has everything you need and great location for the mcg.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

for what i paid it was absolutely brilliant :)

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Lovely staff, very comfortable communal areas.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Melbourne Hotels

Please give us your feedback