X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Rif-For-Anyone Reviews

Hnain - Chefchaouen, Chefchaouen, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
75 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 100%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

What an amazing view! Hostel nestled right up in the hills... Received a lovely warm welcome from this family, they were extremely helpful offering information on the town and made a lovely breakfast in the morning of omelette/ fresh bread/ olives and cheese. They even offer tours up into the beautiful mountains. Thanks for a great stay, we will definitely recommend! :)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
63%

Owners were very friendly & helpful, though without their directions and help from some local builders we would not have found the place. Clean, tidy and extra blankets supplied for the cold nights. 15 min from the Medina, unfortunatly the website photographs of the hostel are out of date. A hearty breakfast, but not sure I want to eat while others are 'smoking' in the room; maybe the owners should address that issue.

  • 17th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Suzanne, Terry and Liam were fantastic hosts and their guest house was a perfect place to stay in Chaouen. The walk to the medina was easy and the view from the terrace was unbelievable. All of the taxi drivers knew exactly where this place was so getting there from the bus station or from the medina on a late night was no problem at all. They helped arrange our trip to nearby Akchour and overall made our experience in Chaouen a hundred times more enjoyable. Thanks again, guys!

  • 4th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The Hostel was very nice, staff made us feel like invited friends. While it is a bit out of the Medina, this gives it a chill feel, which is appreciated.

  • 9th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

+ locks on rooms are very sturdy, felt very safe leaving things behind + very close to the mountains for nice walks + owners spoke fluent english (native speakers) + dog - signs to hostel unclear - far away from city center always had to take a taxi for 15 Dh - We were here on two unexpectedly cold days. We were very cold in our room and mentioned this to the owners who did not help us at all. Not very helpful in general. Seem to be constantly distracted by TV. No advice on activities.


97%

The staff at Rif-for-Anyone were fantastic and extremely helpful. The hostel is a bit ways more in the mountain which is perfect for those who are interested in hiking the trails or seeing the cascades. It is also a stone's throw away from the medina, with a walk of 15 mins down the mountain. The owners are extremely kind and helpful and the hostel has an amazing location with great views of Chefchaouen.


86%

The owners are very friendly and helpful, the blankets are warm and the shower's hot, which is all I ask of a hostel. It is a bit of a walk from the medina, but on the other hand it's very close to the hiking path, and there are always taxis to get you home quick!


91%

We loved staying her for the quietness and views after leaving the chaos of fes. The owners are helpful and friendly. A taxi to and from town is 15MAD but pretty easy to get.


60%

Family was very friendly / welcoming, and the room was nice. Only issue is the location - it is quite far up a hill. About 45 minutes walk up from town center (and about 25 minutes down). About 15 Durhams by taxi. There are no food places nearby - however you can get a pizza delivery. May be better if you are staying there as part of a group - not solo.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Zaid, thanks for the review. Everything in Chaouen is "UP A HILL". You have overexaggerated the time to and from the medina, 45 minutes up to here?? are you disabled? It takes most people 20 minutes on a hot summers day and 15 on a winter day, from Bab Souk, or Bab Maharouk, the 2 nearest points to the madina. And I feel you have been unfair with your comments. No-where do we advertise food places nearby, so that should not be an issue in your review, and considering the low cost of taxi's, it does not usually bother too many people. And Solo travellers do enjoy thier time here, just as much as groups. Thanks again. At least your review will help to filter out lazy people who cannot walk.

100%

Me and two of my friends stayed at this place and we had a great time! Nice rooms and a "livingroom" that made us meet up with other people! Everyone of us who lived on the bottom floor became really good friends. The son at this place took us for a day trip up in the mountains and we tried to get a look on the monkeys but without succes. Still a fantastic walk in the mountains!

  • 11th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Guy's, Thank you for your kind remarks. We had a great time while you were here, can't wait to do it again sometime...Inshallah.. Take care...

97%

Our stay at Rif-For-Anyone was amazing! Terry, Susanne and Liam made us feel like members of their family and entertained us so nicely. The hostel itself is awesome, those two terraces are perfect to chillout at night after visiting the beautiful Chefchaouen. The "trip" to Akchour (God's Bridge) with Liam was simply great. Definitely recommend and definitely want to be back there soon !


97%

This is a lovely hostel, very welcoming and relaxed. The owners offer plenty of local knowledge and places to visit, for a small extra fee we were also taken on a fantastic tour into the national park to visit an amazing gorge and beautiful waterfalls. The hostel is a short walk (10 mins) from the Medina, which follows a lovely scenic path looking out over the surrounding mountains. The Medina is stunning and holds a much more relaxed atmosphere than anywhere else we visited in Morocco.

  • 13th May 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The owners are so friendly and welcoming and you feel right at home there. The view is spectacular from their balcony - i'd definitely go back.


97%

Exactly what we needed after travelling the hectic cities of morocco. Terry and Suzanne treat you like family sharing lots of laughs and Suzanne is an amazing cook. If you are looking for some piece and quiet or somewhere to just "Chill out" then this is definitely the place to be. We would definitely return one day!

  • 3rd Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Mmmm i dont think i can say enough good things about this place i'll try though. for starters a very laid back atmosphere Suzanne & Terry are wonderful hostes great at making you feel at home I stayed here a week back before going on to Marrakech now I'm back for my last days in Morocco and just the beauty and the peace and solitude if your an older couple or just someone who prefers some quiet I highly recommend this place distance is kinda bad or good depending on your preference

  • 26th Jan 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Once we managed to find this spot, it was like staying with family. Terry and Suzanne shared meals and lots of conversation and laughs with us, and had great suggestions about things to see both near Chaouen and all over Morocco.


80%

This family run guesthouse is a nice place to stay: it's clean, spacious, serves a nice breakfast and the owners are friendly and welcoming. Its location can be a con or a pro depending on your preferences: we thought it had nice views and the walk to the city is short and quite scenic. If you come to Chefchaouen to enjoy certain famous "aspects" of this area you are in the right place. If you are not into smoking and really just want to explore the medina, it may be better to stay in the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Guy's for your opinion. It is always good to hear peoples comments.

63%

I think it would have been great to stay in the medina - this place is about 15 minute walk down hill - up hill...i wouldn't like to say! But some people would like to be outside. The room was nice, perhaps a bit ramshackled, upstairs there were birds living in the living room! The roof terrace and breakfast up there is nice though. When we stayed only Liam, the son, was there, we didn't feel massively welcomed but I think that would have been different perhaps if he hadn't been on his own.

  • 28th Sep 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. We do say in the 1st paragraph of our description that we are a 15 minute walk from the medina, and it is downhill. Ramshackled room is a bit much though. All our rooms are en-suite, clean and basic, but you do have access to the whole house too, including the wi-fi internet access and 2 terraces. All with breakfast included! And all for 15 euro's a night. What else were you expecting?? I think you are being a bit harsh. But thanks again.

80%

Friendly owners, very helpful with advice and suggestions. The hostel was clean and breakfast was nice. Up a bit of a hill, but it's cheap and easy to get a taxi back up. Offers trips out into the mountains for guided walks etc. A very enjoyable chilled out stay. Thank you Alex


83%

Great hostel and had a great time chilling on the rooftop to escape the heat of the day. Everyone was very friendly and was great being able to communicate our needs clearly to English speaking people! Would definitely recommend and stay again. Thanks!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(61 results)


View all Chefchaouen Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback