X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Riga Hostel Reviews

Merkela 1, 4th floor, Riga, Latvia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
592 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The hostel was great: the staff, the location, the atmosphere. The place was clean, warm (during the cold season), the breakfast was much better than expected. The only disappontment was the fact, that "reserving" a free parking place didn't necessarily guarantee a place as stated in the description. The time of your arrival was important as well and if parking lot was full by the time you got there, it was your problem already.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This place has the best shower I have ever had in my entire life!


80%

Good value for money. Very clean hostel, you have the feeling that you are in the family. The room was very small though, but in rest everything was just great. And they provide a very nice breakfast, good value for money like I said.


100%

great location, we didn't expect it to be that comfortable. We are pleased for having a stay at your hostel& highly recommend it!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Love this hostel.very helpfull

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The location of the hostel is just the best! We stayed there for two nights in a double room, which was kinda okay, but to tell the truth I would not stay there again. The main reason is the penetrating smell in the building, and even though in the hostel itself this smell was not present, our room was also stinky. But the place is very cheap, so if you don't care about this smell thing, you should definitely give it a try.


91%

It's a bit cramped, which is understandable given the central location in a prominent building across from the rail station. But they've made it very cozy and you almost feel like you're a guest in someone's home. I was only in transit, but I would have been quite happy to stay longer. Good job!


77%

Bathrooms could be cleaner

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

i liked the hostel very much regarding the facilities,breakfast and the location of the hostel comparing the price for stay.thank you very much Riga Hostel and the admistration are quite pretty and nice behaving. full marks for your hostel,thank you once again for providing me the comfort during my stay.if i'll be there again in Riga i'll knock on your door. Goodbye.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

It's a great hostel, everything was very clean, even the showers. The sinks are very small but that was alright. Breakfast was good especially on Sunday with fresh fruits and joghurt :) I would definaely stay there again!

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A great hostel, very calm, clean and cheap. Nothing to complain about.


83%

great location. Staff helpful. Some rooms dont have personal locker, but all the doors have locks. Clean. Great breakfast. Should update information on getting there from the bus station as door is not after Mcdonalds but IN Mcdonalds.


100%

Thank you. Everything is fine. Stayed in this hostel for the third time and is very happy. I advise everyone.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Unfortunately not all rooms have lockers which is what a lot (us included)of people book certain hostels for. Though they did offer to hold our passports in a safety deposit box.


100%

Everything was great, friendly staff, cozy hostel, very tasty breakfast! The only bad thing was the noise from the traffic at night.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place to stay.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

A lovely place where you really feel like at home! The stuff is absolutely friendly and helpful. The hostel is just a few minutes from the train and bus stations and the old town. And the breakfast is also very nice. I'll come back to that hostel for sure and recommend it to everyone who's going to Riga :)

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

BEST hostel ever Friendly helpful staff, lots of toilets, clean and comfortable bed, cosy couches, breakfast, various selection of teas, filtered coffee and other hot drinks, good location. ALL in only 5 euros a day. I feel shame that i spent only one night here. Super recommendable.


77%

The staff was really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was also really good considering the cheap prices. The location is really central which makes exploring easy but our room faced a busy street so you couldn't leave the window open at night because it was too loud. The toilets and showers weren't always that clean and the mattress was pretty old and worn-out.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(61 results)


View all Riga Hostels

Please give us your feedback