X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Riga Hostel Reviews

Merkela 1, 4th floor, Riga, Latvia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
607 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Everything is a bit run down, ripped bedding and broken showers but what do you expect for €5? No lockers in some of the rooms was disappointing, but if your out all day and the hostel has to be cheap then this would be a good option.


83%

Very nice stay, the hostel is really near to the city center (both Old Riga and City Center). The staff gave us all the information to find the hostel and to visit Riga, nothing really major to complain about, just the cleanliness was a little bit under the average but not really a big deal compared to what I paid for :)

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I suggest taking care of ground flour smell. For the record - histel is in 4th flour and has nothing to do with smell in ground flour, but maybe something could be done to eliminate bad smell.


97%

It vwas just great!


80%

It has an Intersting international atmosphere, friendly and accessible staff, clean kitchen with all tools needed for cooking and eating. However, rooms and bathroom don`t look like ideal clean and kitchen is rather small.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A place to feel like home, just some steps to the old town

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel and great staff. Very good value for money!!

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel was great: the staff, the location, the atmosphere. The place was clean, warm (during the cold season), the breakfast was much better than expected. The only disappontment was the fact, that "reserving" a free parking place didn't necessarily guarantee a place as stated in the description. The time of your arrival was important as well and if parking lot was full by the time you got there, it was your problem already.


91%

This place has the best shower I have ever had in my entire life!


80%

Good value for money. Very clean hostel, you have the feeling that you are in the family. The room was very small though, but in rest everything was just great. And they provide a very nice breakfast, good value for money like I said.


100%

great location, we didn't expect it to be that comfortable. We are pleased for having a stay at your hostel& highly recommend it!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Love this hostel.very helpfull

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The location of the hostel is just the best! We stayed there for two nights in a double room, which was kinda okay, but to tell the truth I would not stay there again. The main reason is the penetrating smell in the building, and even though in the hostel itself this smell was not present, our room was also stinky. But the place is very cheap, so if you don't care about this smell thing, you should definitely give it a try.


91%

It's a bit cramped, which is understandable given the central location in a prominent building across from the rail station. But they've made it very cozy and you almost feel like you're a guest in someone's home. I was only in transit, but I would have been quite happy to stay longer. Good job!


77%

Bathrooms could be cleaner

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

i liked the hostel very much regarding the facilities,breakfast and the location of the hostel comparing the price for stay.thank you very much Riga Hostel and the admistration are quite pretty and nice behaving. full marks for your hostel,thank you once again for providing me the comfort during my stay.if i'll be there again in Riga i'll knock on your door. Goodbye.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

It's a great hostel, everything was very clean, even the showers. The sinks are very small but that was alright. Breakfast was good especially on Sunday with fresh fruits and joghurt :) I would definaely stay there again!

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A great hostel, very calm, clean and cheap. Nothing to complain about.


83%

great location. Staff helpful. Some rooms dont have personal locker, but all the doors have locks. Clean. Great breakfast. Should update information on getting there from the bus station as door is not after Mcdonalds but IN Mcdonalds.


100%

Thank you. Everything is fine. Stayed in this hostel for the third time and is very happy. I advise everyone.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Riga Hostels

Please give us your feedback