X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub Reviews

43 Valnu Iela, Old Riga, Riga, Latvia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
745 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Really cool hostel with a great atmosphere and very good located. The staff is very nice and helpful and the bar is a good option to start (or end) a party night at Riga. The only problems are the lack of a kitchen to cook (there are however cheap options for eating nearby) and the stairs (carrying a big suitcase can be problematic).

Owner Comment (Hide)
It does mention in our HW introduction that we dont have a kitchen. There are so many places to eat cheaply in Riga you dont need to cook.

89%

Sometimes it is so diffucult to get some sleep. Too much noise during the early morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Mate! Thanks again for staying but as stated in our HW introduction we recommend people that want a quiet night sleep do NOT stay here. We are a party hostel with 2 Levels of bar space open to the public until 2am - 3am! Safe Travels.

100%

Best hostel we've stayed in. We had an amazing time, thanks to the staff!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

nice beer and stuffs;)

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

All I can about this hostel is that it is absolutely fantastic! Clean, newly refurbished and in an ideal location. The bar downstairs is truly awesome with so much choice and was the perfect starting point for our days/nights out. The staff are brilliant, so helpful and up for a laugh. If your looking for a hostel in Riga, look no further!

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers Guys... was a crazy time while you were here!

91%

I love the atmosphere of the hostel. On the first and second floor are the bar with nice decoration.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Simply perfect, best hostel in Riga ;)


94%

A loud and noisy place but if you want to have a good time it is the right one for you. Not if you need a quiet place to sleep :) staff and facilities are excellent!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers mate... we are definitely the place to stay for a good party! You are right about people looking for quiet nights, we also suggest they book somewhere else!

100%

Stayed in the hostel with a group of 5 people, have only good things to say about the hostel. The staff was very helpful and nice, facilities were clean, atmosphere was amazing, definitely going to stay here the next time we're in Riga :)

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Very friendly staff, very clean and brilliant location. However, quite often had to queue up for toilets and showers and hostel was not even fully booked.


83%

Very nice hostel, very nice staff, but very noisy late in the nights.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The best place to stay in Riga :)

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Have done a lot of traveling around and this hostel had the best showers I have ever come across. The whole place felt new, the beds were great and its in a top location on the edge of the old town close to the bus and train station. Absolutely ideal place to stay for visiting Riga. The staff were all very friendly and willing to help and always greeting you with a smile, chat and a breakfast beer in the morning. The bar is super cool as well. Highly recommended


91%

Best place to stay in Riga!!! Perfect location for a stay in Riga, close to the train station, right in the old town. Freshly renovated, clean rooms with bunk beds, lockable stow-aways under the beds, three shower boxes and two toilets for common use. Absolutely friendly and helpful staff with enthusiasm and always a smile. Bar closes to public at 2 a.m., stays opened for hotel guests. Free welcome and breakfast beer.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We booked the 10 bed dorm for 5 nights and had an amazing stay. Will recommend this place to everyone thinking of traveling to Riga, either for vacation or for adventures in the night. Have to give my compliments to the staff for incredible service and bartending. Thank you for all the beer tastings! Keep up the good work. We will definitely pay you guys a visit if we ever travel to Riga again (which may as well happen cause of all our good experiences!)! Ciao!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel if you want to have fun & meet people (they also have a bar with good beers). The location is perfect, the only con is the location of the bathrooms.


1 2 Next » last »
(36 results)


View all Riga Hostels

Please give us your feedback