Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 771 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 771 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ Located at 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua, Rotorua.
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
New Zealand
Rotorua Bay of Plenty 3015 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua
90% 771
-38.1380040 176.2524660
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
9.4

Great place to stay in Rotorua, I would definately recommend it to everyone 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
9.4

Great hostel in the Sulphur City. The main lounge area has huge windows that look onto the rock climbing gym, so have a drink and watch some climbers! Staff is very friendly and the free pool table and ping pong table are bonuses. Wifi works well! The hostel itself is almost too secure - you get numerous keys and a keycode to get through the many doors. The main downside was the lack of hooks to place clothing in the changeroom/showers as well as lack of oven in the kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

Great place to stay. No problems whatsoever. Would definitely recommend his hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • masterk151
  • Hong Kong, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
10.0

What you would expect at a backpacker hostel. Only suggestion is to put silencers on the doors. Lots of slamming doors at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
8.3

Had a great stay at rock solid. Staff were mainly really friendly, facilities are great and climbing wall/cinema downstairs make it really quirky

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
10.0

Best hostel i've ever stayed at. 10/10 highly recommended. Great value for the price as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
8.9

Excellent for the proce

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
8.9

Very bubbly and helpful staff, great secured and clean dorm. Location is near the city centre and downstair is a small cinema plus indoor rock climbing. Pretty cool!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2016
10.0

Fun clean hostel with great staff. Comfortable beds. Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
8.6

Pretty good deal for a awesome location in central Rotorua. Staff was friendly and mostly everything was good. I had a single private room and it was pretty spartan (like a comfy cell) but it was adequate for my needs. I only have two complaints. Firstly, there was this odd rotten smell whenever I entered. First I thought it was the sulfur, but I suspect it's the toilet from downstairs. Secondly, in my two nights one of the shower was broken and one of the lights in the bathroom was broken.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.