Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Feb 2017
9.4

Rock Solid Backpackers is a great hostel! Staff was friendly and accommodating. Good location within walking distance of food and shopping. Rooms are very secure, spacious, and clean. No A/C which was rough given the intense humidity, but hostel as advertised.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Feb 2017
10.0

The person on reception when I checked in was very friendly despite being a bit busy with check-ins. The room was simple but comfortable. All the facilities were kept clean. It is very quiet when you want to sleep. They have a night lounge to use after 10pm plus some things to keep you entertained including films, pool and table tennis. The staff are always helping. Would recommend and definitely return to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
8.9

great hostel! 2GB wifi per day, very good. Free Pool table, xbox, table tennis. spacious place, Rotorua has so much to do, you need to do Night Luge!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.6

Only stayed here one night whilst passing through Rotorua. Very friendly member of staff on reception, good location for getting to 'eat street' and the lake, comfy room and plenty of showers/toilets. Can't comment on the cooking or cleaning facilities as I didn't use them, not a lot of atmosphere in the common area though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.1

Amazing hostel! Tons of showers, large kitchen, everything is SPOTLESS and cleaned regularly which I loved. Very secure so no worries about stuff getting nicked. Wish we had been able to stay here longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jan 2017
9.1

I can't recommend this place enough. Great kitchen facilities and I was impressed that the cleanliness in the kitchen was maintained despite the vast number of people that use it. The hostel also has great wifi, is really secure and has a large area to relax and socialise along with additional sofas placed on each floor. My only criticism would be that the social area closes quite early. There is another area which then opens up but is mainly used by people who are going on nights out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
26th Jan 2017
9.7

The hostel was great, very clean and well organized. There's laundry and big bathrooms. The only inconvenience is that reception closes at night until 8 so you better dont need anything then!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
9.4

Had a really great stay here. The woman checking us in was so helpful, and just really great! Best service I've gotten in NZ. The rest of the staff should learn from her. Everything else was great to, wifi worked well and 2 free gb a day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.7

Fantastic staff, so helpful. The place had a good vibe and the kitchen was never crazy busy. Showers were basic but clean enough and the location was perfect. No duvets on beds, just a sheet and a blanket (which I found to be enough) but you could ask for another blanket if needed. Big lockers in rooms, felt very safe. Would absolutely recommend. Good, reliable wifi too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Jan 2017
6.6

Friendly staff and a very spacious facility to stay in. However, the bed I stayed in hadn't been changed from the night before and the sheets were dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.