Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 747 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 747 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ Located at 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua, Rotorua.
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
New Zealand
Rotorua Bay of Plenty 3015 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua
90% 747
-38.1380040 176.2524660
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Aug 2016
7.4

Maybe it's the rock wall downstairs or the type of lightbulbs they use but the place reminded me of my university gymnasium. Amount of security is more than I've seen in most other places: key to get in from outside after hours, type a code and use a key to enter the dorms area, then use a different key to enter room. Felt almost ridiculous carrying all of those keys around. I visited during the winter and the place is COLD all the time, even in the middle of the day and especially at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Aug 2016
10.0

Just Excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Julesibug
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Great hostel and very inexpensive! Friendly and helpful staff and great security! Would definitely stay again and reccommend highly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
8.9

The hostel was clean and staff on reception were extremely friendly and helpful when required. Only downfall to the hostel was that the room was incredibly cold. Definitely pack warm layers to sleep in, as heater in the room was very small and did not warm up the room all day/night. Didn't feel warm the whole weekend, coming out of the showers was awful! This would put me off from staying again in winter, but great for summer i expect! Other than that, it was fab!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nachobkcc
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.9

Good hostel, nice level for backpackers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.7

Everything was great, except that it can get quite chilly in the rooms during especially cold nights. But for 19$ a night it's worth every penny. Hostel is also very secure. They change codes every few days and you need up to 3 keys to get back to room at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
10.0

Absolute great place to stay and very good overall for how cheap it is as well. The staff are extremely helpful and were lovely, by recommending places to visit, where to go etc. Couldn't find better staff. The lounge is pretty cool with free Snooker and Table a Tennis as well as an Xbox to play on. Bedrooms were comfortable and always clean. Definitely would recommend this hostel for anyone travelling.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • becclin
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
8.6

Clean, tidy hostel, very good security! The atmosphere was a bit dull this time of year but the common areas were all well equipped and spacious. Loved that there was a movie theatre and a rock climbing wall downstairs!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
9.7

Awesome place to stay right in town, close to Dunkin donuts which is a woop woop for me. I felt very safe in the Backpackers and met lovely people. If you bring your own lock and key they also have secure lockable cupboards. You are offered discounts for many tourist attractions and the rock climbing right underneath is cheap too. Overall nice experience for my first time back packing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora Thank you for the excellent comments we enjoy sharing our hostel, culture and city with guests who appreciate everything we have to offer! Kia pai to ra! Vanessa

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
7.7

My husband and I stayed for 1 Night . The hostel has lots of facilities but ZERO atmosphere. It is in need of a major renovation/ paint job . The heater didn't work either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.