Hostelworld.com

Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 719 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 719 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ Located at 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua, Rotorua.
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
New Zealand
Rotorua Bay of Plenty 3015 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua
89% 719
-38.1380040 176.2524660
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jun 2016
9.4

Stayed here for one night, booked for an 8 bed dorm and was up-graded to 4 bed when we arrived! Room was great, made up of two single beds and a bunk bed, was very clean and wardrobes with a lock so you can lock away all your gear if you want. Kitchen was simple, clean had a fair amount of storage space for food, and plenty of pots, pans, plates etc. Staff were really friendly, helpful and welcoming. We didn't use the communal areas, but they looked nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.3

I had a really nice stay at the rock solid hostel, it was clean and secure and there was a,nice atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2016
8.9

Loved the free pool and free ping pong! Beds were comfy and had individual lights which were useful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.6

Great location, great staff. No parking immediately outside, you need to park a couple streets away. Security would be near perfect, except I came back to my dorm for lunch to find the door wide open. I stayed in my dorm for 45mins and no one came back and you couldn't see that I was in there as my bed was behind the door. A little worrying. You get 2gb of wifi per night of your stay, which is enough to do what you need to. Kitchen could do with more facilities like oven and tools.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
9.7

Feels like the place is really secure when you have 3 keys just to get to your room. Huge lockers where all your stuff can fit. Wish there were plugs by every bed. It's a big place, so takes the cleaners about 3 hours to finish a room since they don't do it one room at a time. During this time, the rooms are left wide open with one or two cleaners going in and out. Not the most secure then. Staff were very helpful though and have 10% discounts on most things!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora and thank you for taking the time to positively rate our hostel. Our Rock Solid team do work and we love guests who appreciate all we have to offer. Kia pai to(Have a great day Vanessa Miller - Owner Operator

27th May 2016
7.7

A pretty good hostel in a decent location in Rotorua. 5-10 minute walk to supermarkets and about the same distance to the pubs/bars. Security is good here and the staff are welcoming. There is an Xbox and tv room with a DVD player. My only issue was that it wasn't that sociable when I was there but not overall not too bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th May 2016
10.0

Def recommend this hostel! Good location. Clean, really good kitchen, nice common areas and laundry is only $2!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora and thank you very much for your excellent rating and positive comments. Our Rock Solid team do work hard at providing a comfortable, safe and enjoyable experience for our visitors and appreciate guests who appreciate all we have to offer. Kia pai to(Have a great day Vanessa Miller - Owner Operator

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th May 2016
9.7

Perfect in almost every aspect! Really helpful staff, a lot of space and good facilities. Almost too big - it gets a bit uncozy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora and thank you very much for your excellent rating and positive comments. Our Rock Solid team do work hard at providing a comfortable, safe and enjoyable experience for our visitors and are thrilled when guests appreciate all we have to offer. Kia pai to(Have a great day) Vanessa Miller - Owner Operator

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th May 2016
8.9

Great hostel with great staff, very helpful!! Good location as well. Was able to walk anywhere I wanted to go. Thanks for a great experience in Rotorura!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th May 2016
9.7

Spot on. Amazing value for money as the location is right in the centre, it's very clean and secure. Beds had their own lights which is handy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora and thank you very much for taking the time to place a review. My team do care about our guests comfort and safety and appreciate all positive and helpful feedback. Safe travels Vanessa Miller - Owner Operator

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.