Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 906 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 906 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ Located at 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua, Rotorua.
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
New Zealand
Rotorua Bay of Plenty 3015 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua
89% 906
-38.1380080 176.2523961
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
10.0

GReat location and atmosphere! I Was there for only one night and I'd really wanted to stay more!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Up there with the bet hostels I've stayed in in New Zealand. Free table tennis, games, Xbox, tv, internet, pool. Super clean bathrooms and kitchens. Pleasure staying here. The only frustrating thing was the 1000 piece puzzle that I couldn't complete as it was too difficult! I left it half done on the table haha.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
8.9

Stayed here for 3 nights! Quite a big hostel, so a little harder to meet people if you're a solo traveler. The rooms were clean and there was big lockers for everyone to put their stuff in. Extra blankets for when it gets cold at night. The place is quite secure security wise. Very central and easy to get around from the hostel. Bathrooms quite far from the room (if you're on the third floor). Big kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
6.9

Whilst the staff were friendly and the hostel is central... there is little atmosphere or central areas for mixing with other travellers. The areas that are provided don't really entice and most people only leave their rooms to cook- but not to spend time in the social spaces. I found all the codes and keys to get into the hostel pretty frustrating and it did nothing to add to the vibe. Despite the staff being very friendly, I was happy to have only booked one night there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Cruise360
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jan 2017
9.1

Proper mattresses and great facilities make this hostel great! It feels like Fort Knox to enter which is great but once the doors have been unlocked they stay open till the button on the back is pressed which is annoying. Great place to stay though! Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
5.7

Really awkward layout, confusing signs all over the place. Not one but THREE keys plus a keypad code over which were bulky and annoying to deal with. Stayed in the 8 bed dorm- the windows were left open so there were hundreds of little flies on the ceiling over my bunk at night, got a couple mosquito bites overnight. Ew. People only used the common areas to use their phones or laptops even in the middle of the day. Would have left after one night if not for the location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
9.1

Great place to stay!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jan 2017
8.9

Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Hostel had good facilities and free wifi and a good central location. Bunk beds quite high and no barriers though! Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
10.0

This was my first time staying in a hostel. I only stayed for one night as I was passing through but staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. The facilities were clean and presentable. There was a rock climbing wall, table tennis and pool table, these activities are shut by 10pm. I felt very safe and secure. Definitely recommend. Good for friends to chill, couples and single people. Not a party hostel but thats why I liked it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
8.9

Overall, Rock Solid is a great hostel. Very friendly staff, clean facilities, good location. The building is very secure but the metal piece on the lockers in the rooms and luggage storage is so thick that my lock wouldn't fit over it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.