Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1007 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1007 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
20th Apr 2017
7.1

It's in a great location, but really isn't the best of places. Had a funky smell in our room (probably the guy hang drying his clothes on every available surface), the lighting was harsh fluorescent, and the dishes were dried with towels that always seemed pretty dirty. The staff were really nice, the bathrooms were clean, and the kitchen is large, so that's a plus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
8.3

Good hostel overall. It's large and impersonal and travelers kept to themselves but facilities are good and bathrooms are clean. My one complaint is that the front desk seemed to always be empty when we needed assistance even though it was during the operating hours. That aside, you can't go wrong with this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Mar 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've stayed in! Loved the vibe here it's right in the centre of rotorua and a decent price. The staff are so kind and happy to help you with anything no matter what time of day. Beds were comfy. Rock wall is awesome and you get a discount for staying there. Would love to come back here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
6.0

This hostel seemed to be poorly organized in terms of bookings. I reserved two nights there, but had to change rooms for the 2nd night. At any other hostel this would be annoying, but tolerable. Here, every amenity is behind lock and key - so you have to check out completely, turn in keys, leave luggage in an unsecured room (ironic, considering how many locked doors you have to get through for everything else), and you no longer have access to the kitchen/bathroom/etc until 2pm. VERY frustrating

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
9.7

Had a great stay at Rock Solid! Great security, good/clean bathrooms and kitchen. Comfy beds - wifi didn't always work on my laptop but fine on other devices. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
8.3

The security is really top point, which is a good and bad thing. Just kind of annoying cause you need it for everything you do. They need more bathrooms, any girl who's on the top floor and needs to shower has to go to the first floor... staff is really helpful though! Great facilities but people don't really use them. Not sure why. But beds are comfy and rooms are decent! Location is perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
7.7

Good, modern hostel. Big lounge with pool table, table tennis and tv/Xbox area. Big dining room, small kitchen - not the cleanest. Very good location in centre of town. Atmosphere was lacking a bit, and whole hostel is inside concrete building with very few windows. That being said, a good hostel for exploring the area. And watching people on the climbing wall was quite fun!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
10.0

This is a fantastic backpackers with a big kitchen, great comfy beds and a fantastic common room with a ping pong table and a lounge area and TV. Can sometimes get a bit loud with opening and closing of doors but other than that great! Nice big lockers too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
8.0

I had a very good stay at rock solid backpackers. It's a bit annoying that there aren't bathrooms on every floor but it's not the biggest of hostels so it was alright. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.4

Really friendly reception upon our arrival. Free table tennis and pool table in lounge. Our 8 bed dorm was big enough and each bed had a locker big enough for our travel rucksacks. Good atmosphere at hostel and the staff were really friendly throughout. Kitchen seemed well organised however we didn't do any cooking. Decent place for a tight budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.