Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ Located at 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua, Rotorua.
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
New Zealand
Rotorua Bay of Plenty 3015 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua
90% 834
-38.1380040 176.2524660
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
29th Nov 2016
9.7

When we were checked in by lovely staff, we were given discount vouchers for activities. Our room was very clean with big lockers. The kitchen was spacious, though had really full fridges, and limited utensils (please get another tin opener). Bathrooms were immaculate, though partner said toilet locks in males need to be fixed. Security was tight, with door code then key to access rooms. Great Location (three minutes from the i-site where most people arrive and weekly night food market).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
8.3

We were sharing with people who were a lot older which made it difficult to socialise. Wifi is good but it's not unlimited, 2GB a night. Amazing location, right in the centre of Rotorua. Everything was always so clean and the bed was probably the comfiest I've stayed in. Excellent stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Nov 2016
9.7

Great place to stay. Staff are so friendly. Wifi is good in communal areas. Didn't work in my room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Nov 2016
8.6

The staff were very helpful and kind. I felt safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.6

Great location near everything in town. Clean, big lockers. Average age of people staying is about 20. Needs more outlets in the rooms. A breakfast would be a great improvement, or at least offer instant coffee and tea. All hostels in South America provide breakfasts, Rotorua has catching up to do. Other than that, an overall good stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
9.4

This hostel is just cool, the rock climbing wall and encourage social atmosphere. PLUS the sheets are seriously the best hostel sheets I've ever slept in. They're like microfiber or something, I got really excited about the comfy sheets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Nov 2016
10.0

This is a great hostel. Friendly staff, friendly backpackers and clean rooms and bathrooms. I would definitely stay here when I come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
6th Nov 2016
8.9

Good hostel, good location, good staff, safe and clean but the communal spaces didn't lend themselves to a good atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Nov 2016
7.7

Good facilities, with pool table, ping pong and nice new kitchen. Lockers also very good and large. However felt the atmosphere was lacking - having to be out of the main communal area and sent down into the glass box on the ground floor was frustrating and not conducive to meeting new people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Nov 2016
8.3

Not really any socializing spots expect for the kitchen. Very much seems to be a keep to yourself space. Rooms were nice and clean, good sized as well. Location is easy to walk to everything. Not a bad stay just a non social hostel. Staff were excellent

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you appreciated the size, and cleanliness of our rooms. We do have several lounge areas for our guests to socialize in including a very large and comfy guest lounge with free table, tennis, pool table, DVDs and computers. Unfortunately we can't make guests talk to each other - we leave that to our guests!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.