Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 737 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 737 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ Located at 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua, Rotorua.
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
New Zealand
Rotorua Bay of Plenty 3015 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua
90% 737
-38.1380040 176.2524660
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • nachobkcc
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.9

Good hostel, nice level for backpackers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.7

Everything was great, except that it can get quite chilly in the rooms during especially cold nights. But for 19$ a night it's worth every penny. Hostel is also very secure. They change codes every few days and you need up to 3 keys to get back to room at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
10.0

Absolute great place to stay and very good overall for how cheap it is as well. The staff are extremely helpful and were lovely, by recommending places to visit, where to go etc. Couldn't find better staff. The lounge is pretty cool with free Snooker and Table a Tennis as well as an Xbox to play on. Bedrooms were comfortable and always clean. Definitely would recommend this hostel for anyone travelling.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • becclin
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
8.6

Clean, tidy hostel, very good security! The atmosphere was a bit dull this time of year but the common areas were all well equipped and spacious. Loved that there was a movie theatre and a rock climbing wall downstairs!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
9.7

Awesome place to stay right in town, close to Dunkin donuts which is a woop woop for me. I felt very safe in the Backpackers and met lovely people. If you bring your own lock and key they also have secure lockable cupboards. You are offered discounts for many tourist attractions and the rock climbing right underneath is cheap too. Overall nice experience for my first time back packing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora Thank you for the excellent comments we enjoy sharing our hostel, culture and city with guests who appreciate everything we have to offer! Kia pai to ra! Vanessa

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
7.7

My husband and I stayed for 1 Night . The hostel has lots of facilities but ZERO atmosphere. It is in need of a major renovation/ paint job . The heater didn't work either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jun 2016
9.4

Stayed here for one night, booked for an 8 bed dorm and was up-graded to 4 bed when we arrived! Room was great, made up of two single beds and a bunk bed, was very clean and wardrobes with a lock so you can lock away all your gear if you want. Kitchen was simple, clean had a fair amount of storage space for food, and plenty of pots, pans, plates etc. Staff were really friendly, helpful and welcoming. We didn't use the communal areas, but they looked nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora Thank you for the great feedback! We love sharing our hostel with fab guests who appreciate everything we offer and how much we do care about their comfort and enjoyment! Safe travel Vanessa

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.3

I had a really nice stay at the rock solid hostel, it was clean and secure and there was a,nice atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora Thank you for the great feedback! We love sharing our hostel with fab guests who appreciate everything we offer and how much we do care about their comfort and safety! Safe travel Vanessa

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2016
8.9

Loved the free pool and free ping pong! Beds were comfy and had individual lights which were useful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora Thank you for the great feedback! We love sharing our hostel with fab guests who appreciate everything we offer and how much we do care about their comfort, enjoyment and safety! Safe travel Vanessa

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.6

Great location, great staff. No parking immediately outside, you need to park a couple streets away. Security would be near perfect, except I came back to my dorm for lunch to find the door wide open. I stayed in my dorm for 45mins and no one came back and you couldn't see that I was in there as my bed was behind the door. A little worrying. You get 2gb of wifi per night of your stay, which is enough to do what you need to. Kitchen could do with more facilities like oven and tools.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia ora Thank you for the great feedback! We love sharing our hostel with appreciate everything we offer and how much we do care about their comfort and enjoyment! Please note large lockable lockers are provided free in every room for every guest to leave their valuables in. We don't have ovens due to safety reasons but do have 3 cooktop stations with lots of utensils. Safe travels Safe travel Vanessa

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.