Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 979 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 979 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
19th Mar 2017
9.7

Had a great stay at Rock Solid! Great security, good/clean bathrooms and kitchen. Comfy beds - wifi didn't always work on my laptop but fine on other devices. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
8.3

The security is really top point, which is a good and bad thing. Just kind of annoying cause you need it for everything you do. They need more bathrooms, any girl who's on the top floor and needs to shower has to go to the first floor... staff is really helpful though! Great facilities but people don't really use them. Not sure why. But beds are comfy and rooms are decent! Location is perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
7.7

Good, modern hostel. Big lounge with pool table, table tennis and tv/Xbox area. Big dining room, small kitchen - not the cleanest. Very good location in centre of town. Atmosphere was lacking a bit, and whole hostel is inside concrete building with very few windows. That being said, a good hostel for exploring the area. And watching people on the climbing wall was quite fun!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
10.0

This is a fantastic backpackers with a big kitchen, great comfy beds and a fantastic common room with a ping pong table and a lounge area and TV. Can sometimes get a bit loud with opening and closing of doors but other than that great! Nice big lockers too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
8.0

I had a very good stay at rock solid backpackers. It's a bit annoying that there aren't bathrooms on every floor but it's not the biggest of hostels so it was alright. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.4

Really friendly reception upon our arrival. Free table tennis and pool table in lounge. Our 8 bed dorm was big enough and each bed had a locker big enough for our travel rucksacks. Good atmosphere at hostel and the staff were really friendly throughout. Kitchen seemed well organised however we didn't do any cooking. Decent place for a tight budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
27th Feb 2017
4.6

Some of my stuff was stolen during my stay. The cleaning staff let the door open for a long time the day before (without any reason) although nobody was in the room and the lockers are not fixed to the ground (they are small and not heavy). The staff didn't really care about my stolen stuff and didn't help me try finding it so I didn't get it back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Sorry to hear about your loss. It is a shame you did not advise us during your stay as our staff would have advised you the the that the large lockers available for each guest in every dorm can be locked with a padlock and as they are large enough for 2 backpacks or a person to stand up in and way too heavy to for anyone to carry. It does sound like you may have used the set of plastic drawers that fit the lockers for guest convenience - but again we do advise all guests staying in a dorm to keep valuables locked up in the free lockers in the room.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Feb 2017
10.0

Really nice hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Feb 2017
7.7

Nice clean room, but it was very hot at all times of the day and night!! Staff were helpful and it was fun watching people on the climbing walk whilst sat in the lounge. Internet was good and you got 2GB for each day you stayed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
7.7

It was a decent stay at this hostel. Good room, but with not enough plugs for all the guests, clean bathroom and big kitchen to cook. The staff was polite and they help me with information when I needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.