Hostelworld.com

Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 681 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 681 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ Located at 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua, Rotorua.
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
New Zealand
Rotorua Bay of Plenty 3015 1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua
88% 681
-38.1380040 176.2524660
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.3

Good location and very clean. Lack of hooks in the bedrooms made in difficult to hang towels to dry. My door was propped open by a cleaner when I popped out the room for 5 minutes, as I knew I was the only person in my room at that point I hadn't locked away my bag, so was a little disappointed by this lack of security. Overall though, good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • SaraEnglehart4881
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
9.7

Ended up having the 4 bed dorm room to myself but there were individual lockers in the room which was great. Everything was very clean and staff was friendly. There were individual lights for each bed which was cool too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
9.1

Place was clean, location was convenient, room pretty spacious (single room) and awesome heater in it too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
10.0

Great all around

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
9.7

Excellent hostel! And one of the cheaper I stayed at. The staff had an older-sibling attitude toward the guests- seemed like they really wanted us to feel good and have a nice time! Near the bus stop, the lake, lots of food. Well decorated, plenty of quiet lounge space, computers you can use, kitchen, male, female, and mixed bathrooms. I felt very welcome. It's very secure, there are three security steps to get into a room- four at night. Downstairs is a rock climbing and movie viewing facility.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
29th Mar 2016
9.1

Great hostel located just 3 blocks from the isite. The facilies are good. Nice kitchen and common areas. They give you a 2gb wifi per day which is more than enough. Nice staff. Definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2016
7.4

Hostel was fine, clean enough except for few hairs on the bedding...... Everything else was ok. Staff were helpful and friendly. Bed was pretty uncomfortable but overall average backpackers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2016
8.9

Great lounge and helpful staff. However still feels a little too much like a business with the limited wifi that can runnout quick (depending on device and consumption by background stuff) - in my case barely lasted 15 mins. There are mosquitoes in this town and my room had 50-100 at night as the window had been left open on check in. Fortunately the ceilings are high and they ddi not bite but it wasnt a comfortable stay and with reception leaving at 10pm there wasnt much help at hand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
8.0

Comfortable place to spend the night, large kitchen area and the lounge has lots to do - pool, table tennis, video games, films. Located within easy reach of things in Rotorua, hostel has lots of information on things to do in the area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • eddiepeac0ck
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

Really good hostel good location nice and clean wasn't too busy when I stayed for 3 nights so was quite I would defo stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.