Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1046 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1046 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Aug 2017
9.4

The hostel is incredibly clean, spacious and enjoyable to stay at. While the hostel was rather quiet while we were there, we appreciated the facilities available (since we were rarely competing for them!) The kitchen was consistently clean throughout our stay and the communal areas were also. Our room was also a good size, with a comfortable bed, a small table and chairs and a clean private bathroom. We enjoyed our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
9.4

The hostel was very clean and staff were friendly. While I was there not many people were socializing but it was a good place to be for a good nights sleep. Location was great, everything was very close.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tobyfuxiaozhe4412
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
13th Jul 2017
9.7

Lovely small hostel in the center of the town. Location is very convenient. 3 mins to the information center where you could catch the transportation. Staff is nice and friendly. Good wifi and clean cozy room. There is a rock climbing company downstairs and you could get discount.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2017
5.7

There is little atmosphere and with little light the premises is rather like a dungeon. The kitchen is well equipped and clean but the rooms are extremely basic and what I would describe as quite stale. I was travelling alone and would have loved some help to book trips or recommendations of places to go. However, the German girl on reception knew almost nothing about the area and her flippant attitude appeared as if she did not want to help me at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2017
9.4

This place has a rock climbing wall that can be seen from the lounge. Pretty cool! Really nice place, decent beds. One gripe would be the lack of accessible plug sockets (I was in the 8 bed dorm). But otherwise a good place, close to restaurants and the Intercity bus stop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
10.0

Had a superb stay! Nothing wrong in the slightest. People complaining about too much security....you have to go thru 1 coded and 1 locked door, get over it people! People complaining about the smell in rooms...what do you expect if you leave windows open! Kitchen was always super clean also bathrooms. Thanks rock solid!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
20th Apr 2017
7.1

It's in a great location, but really isn't the best of places. Had a funky smell in our room (probably the guy hang drying his clothes on every available surface), the lighting was harsh fluorescent, and the dishes were dried with towels that always seemed pretty dirty. The staff were really nice, the bathrooms were clean, and the kitchen is large, so that's a plus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
9.1

Staff were strict about changing the # of people on the reservation but after some discussion, did so with a small fee. Not too much interaction facilitated between those that were staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
8.3

Good hostel overall. It's large and impersonal and travelers kept to themselves but facilities are good and bathrooms are clean. My one complaint is that the front desk seemed to always be empty when we needed assistance even though it was during the operating hours. That aside, you can't go wrong with this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Mar 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've stayed in! Loved the vibe here it's right in the centre of rotorua and a decent price. The staff are so kind and happy to help you with anything no matter what time of day. Beds were comfy. Rock wall is awesome and you get a discount for staying there. Would love to come back here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.