Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rockhampton Backpackers YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 339 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 339 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
Rockhampton Backpackers YHA Located at 60 macfarlane street, north rockhampton, Rockhampton.
Rockhampton Backpackers YHA
Australia
Rockhampton Queensland 4701 60 macfarlane street, north rockhampton
75% 339
-23.3688895 150.5223083
Rockhampton Backpackers YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kaykaylicious
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Dec 2016
9.7

Didn't expect much of neither the hostel nor Rockhampton but loved the hostel to my surprise. Spacious rooms, nice community and dining area, kitchen and a tv room. The hostel has an outdoor style to it but that's what I liked most. Free parking, free Wifi near the reception, free cutlery, plates, pans etc. which was a first for me after two months in OZ. Would definitely stay again, staff is very lovely and is always keen to help or give tips for what to do in Rocky

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Oct 2016
7.1

Little bit far from the town, free rodeo at the pub when I was there which was awesome and exceeded my expectations, hostel is nice, reception is a bit messy and looks like a tool shed, but it's all the experience, the dog was cute too, my room was nice and cool although the air con didn't work but the fan was sufficient enough, cleanliness - generally okay, there was a dead cockroach under my bed... I'd much prefer a dead one to an alive one though, tv room a nice addition.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
5th Oct 2016
6.0

So many moths in the bathroom, day and night, hundreds of them - absolutely disgusting! I'm not sure why there are so many but nothing it being done to deter them. I've been in plenty of other hostels with bathrooms outside and never known this problem. Rooms were fine and has some lockers. Didn't use kitchen facilities so can't comment. Pool area looked nice Ok for one or two nights as a stop off

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Sep 2016
8.9

Facilities were adequate. Stayed just a night enroute to Brisbane. No complains whatsoever.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
10.0

I found this a very good place to stay. Good kitchen and Dining area. Clothes washers and driers. TV with good couches and chairs on the lounge A long walk to Town. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They picked me up from the Train Station which was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
8.6

I enjoyed my stay here, the guy who runs the hostel is so sweet and did all the cleaning, reception duties and shuttle running himself. The room was cleaned everyday and were big compared to the standard 6 dorm rooms we have stayed in the past. The kitchen facilities are also good with an oven and Gas hobs ect. The hostel is quite a walk from the main facilities but there are shops and takeaway places close by

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.3

The facilities were good with a big kitchen, living room and dining area, very friendly staff and helped us with anything we needed and gave us information about the town. The only downfall was that you had to sit near the reception outside to connect to wifi but as its free its not that much of a problem. The bedroom/ bathroom were clean and comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
9.7

Very clean and well equipped. The beds are very comfortable with real dooners. The kitchen is huge with great cooking facilities. The outside area is also spacious.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2016
6.9

Expected more from a yha hostel. Staff was nice and helpful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.