Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rockhampton Backpackers YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
Rockhampton Backpackers YHA Located at 60 macfarlane street, north rockhampton, Rockhampton.
Rockhampton Backpackers YHA
Australia
Rockhampton Queensland 4701 60 macfarlane street, north rockhampton
74% 350
-23.3688895 150.5223083
Rockhampton Backpackers YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.0

Staff was helpful, beds were good, good place for a stopover! Plus free zoo and botanical gardens in rockhampton were nice. To bad the greyhound has terrible times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
5.7

No atmosphere, pool was dirty and cloudy. Only wifi in common area, couldn't play pool after 8pm all lights turned out at pool area/picnic area at 8pm

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
10.0

This is a very well run hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
7.7

Decent hostel for a night stopover before moving on. Not a great atmosphere as most travelers are passing through. Staff was very friendly with food recommendations.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
15th Dec 2016
6.3

The hostel itself is nice, however it's quite out of town so not much to do without getting the bus into town. Clean room and clean bathrooms. The kitchen was clean and well stocked. The hostel was very quiet, no mixing of people. It was fine for one night stay though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kaykaylicious
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Dec 2016
9.7

Didn't expect much of neither the hostel nor Rockhampton but loved the hostel to my surprise. Spacious rooms, nice community and dining area, kitchen and a tv room. The hostel has an outdoor style to it but that's what I liked most. Free parking, free Wifi near the reception, free cutlery, plates, pans etc. which was a first for me after two months in OZ. Would definitely stay again, staff is very lovely and is always keen to help or give tips for what to do in Rocky

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
9.7

Loved this hostel. WiFi is only available in the reception area but it is really good. Free pick-ups and drop-offs to bus stop. Located equal distances between the City and the Stockland Shopping Centre. Chilled vibes. Comfortable. Kitchen didn't have a closing time, you weren't forced to be quiet after a certain time, you weren't forced to leave as soon as you check out. Shower was great. The only issues for me was 1. only 2 sockets in the 8 bed room and 2. Ants. One of my favourite hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Oct 2016
7.1

Little bit far from the town, free rodeo at the pub when I was there which was awesome and exceeded my expectations, hostel is nice, reception is a bit messy and looks like a tool shed, but it's all the experience, the dog was cute too, my room was nice and cool although the air con didn't work but the fan was sufficient enough, cleanliness - generally okay, there was a dead cockroach under my bed... I'd much prefer a dead one to an alive one though, tv room a nice addition.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
5th Oct 2016
6.0

So many moths in the bathroom, day and night, hundreds of them - absolutely disgusting! I'm not sure why there are so many but nothing it being done to deter them. I've been in plenty of other hostels with bathrooms outside and never known this problem. Rooms were fine and has some lockers. Didn't use kitchen facilities so can't comment. Pool area looked nice Ok for one or two nights as a stop off

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Sep 2016
8.9

Facilities were adequate. Stayed just a night enroute to Brisbane. No complains whatsoever.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.