X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rome City Hostel Reviews

Viale Ippocrate 91, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1061 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very helpful staff... there 24/7, feels very safe... clean... friendly. good location, close to Metro, in center in no time.... Would like real coffee instead of instant but otherwise i willl stay there again...

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel thats centrally located. Good atmosphere and friendly hosts.

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

they give excelent tips about enjoying your day ........breaky was good

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff was helpful but spoke little English. The location is about a 10 minutes from the metro stop, and theres even a bus stop that is right outside the door. The hostel is small, with only five rooms on one floor, and is located in a residential building, but it's proximity to the university gives it a good ambience.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The Hostel was fantastic! The rooms were really nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen was well supplied and the breakfast every morning was very good. The staff was helpful and friendly. It is a great location near food (including gelato) and the bus stop is right outside. It is also not a far walk to the main train station.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The showers are very bad, the temperature is either freezing, or burning hot, never a good temperature, which makes the act of taking a shower a hard task. The first bathroom in the corridor smells uncomfortably bad. And they charge an additional tax that is completely absurde! One member of the staff who works at night, was absolutely not helpful when I asked him how to get to the airport, and when I told him one of the showers wasn't working.


89%

Very nice cosy, quiet hostel, decent kitchen, common area and computers, friendly atmosphere. It is fairly central and close to the metro, but other hostels are more central. My only complaint is that the bunkbed squeaked quite a lot.


80%

I had quite a pleasant stay. It's all basics for a hostel: bunk bed, pillow, blanket, heater (for winter) and small lockers for your values. It'd be nicer if they had provided some towels. Good kitchen. Nice breakfast. There's only one bathroom for those staying in dorms but I was there exactly during Christmas so I never really had to wait to use the bathroom. But this might be a problem during busy season like summer. The staffs were nice and helpful. Everything is very clean.


94%

My stay at Rome City Hostel was great. It's a small place, but the atmosphere is very friendly and fun. The staff is extremely helpful and willing to help you in many situations. It's also surrounded by delicious restaurants!


100%

Staff is nice, location is OK. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Ive read some other reviews for this hostel that breakfast sucks - I dont know what do you expect to have for breakfast in a cheap hostel...Maybe for someone is expensive but its only 2-3 euros more than the cheapest hostel in Rome and its absolutely clean & tidy.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Macedonia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


23%

The worst hostel I've ever stayed in. First of all, the room was described as 6-bed dorm. But there were 7 beds in the small room. So literally no space to walk. You can just come and sleep in the room, nothing else. Breakfast was just a few things. No eggs were there, again as mentioned in the descriptions. There were only 2 bathrooms for a number of people. It's just a small apartment converted to a hostel. And they charge a price higher than many other hostels for this. Do not book this.


74%

The rooms are really small and stuffy, especially since there is no window for air circulation. Nice to have a continental breakfast, and easy to catch the metro.


80%

Staff seemed to have a tough time with simple questions.


86%

The staff is really nice to us. They introduce the sightseeing places in Roma and little tips to pay Roma a visit. They had a really comfortable living room where people can chat so it feels more like a home rather than regular hostel. Although the location is a bit far, it's still near metro station. And it's a really tranquil area where you can have a really nice sleep.


86%

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The bathrooms and bedrooms are much cleaner than some other hostels I have stayed in. The hostel isn't very close to central Rome, but the journey to get there is relatively easy.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Some staff have a bit of trouble with English but overall stay had exactly what I needed for a quick stop.


74%

bathroom most be more clean and hot tabwater

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The kitchen was great! Free breakfast, so that's always nice. It was clean. The location isn't great but it was pretty quiet, and easy to get to termini with the metro. Cheap beer and wine is sold at the hostel, which is really nice!!


40%

Took me forever to find the hostel, as it has no sign. The staff member with whom I checked in was very rude and uninformative. He didn't even look at me while he spoke so softly I couldn't understand him. My room was conjoined to the back patio, and staff members kept just walking through my room to hang out in the back. Very insecure and inconsiderate. Lockers in rooms were tiny. Breakfast sucked. Common room was nothing but a couch and a tv by the check-in desk. Don't stay here. Just don't.


80%

It looks like a big appartment organized as an hostel. It is situated near the Tiburtina station, so it was easy to me to walk to my bus station to reach other italian cities (by Leonetti bus). It is not very far but to reach the city center, you have to take a metro or a bus for a few stops. The location of the hostel is very quiet. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly.


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback