X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rome City Hostel Reviews

Viale Ippocrate 91, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1082 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

A great place to stay, hotel like, only if you are traveling alone is a coin in the air if you are getting good floor mates or boring ones, there's little communication between floors


83%

Put a decent ladder on every double bed. Not all of us are climber, and even the best can fail at 3am drunk. Solve that! Give an programer or IT guy, a free bed for the night to fix those computers.


66%

allright for a night or two.The hostel feels very small and the common area gets too cramped in evenings, allmost sitting on top of eachother. I was changed from 6 to 4 bed dorm which was nice, it even had a balcony, only problem was thar the balcony made alot of traffic trough the room since ppl went there for smoking, even if they were not in that dorm.Staff could be more enthusiastic and friendly. Breakfast was a joke - consisting only of cookies and cake, and tea/coffe offc. squeeky beds.


91%

Great little place to be, there are some little things i would add to make the stay even better, towels to dry your hands in the bathrooms, some plastic rugs or shower mats outside the shower to keep bathrooms floor dry.Catalina has been the best hostess i've ever had in a hostel, she was so nice and gave the place a good young vibe.


57%

Very friendly staff. Kind of small, but clean hostel. Unreliable Wi-Fi in rooms. EXTREMELY slow/virus infested public computers, they must be reinstalled. As for location, it takes 40-45 mins to walk to Colosseum from there, but there are buses. All in all, I felt hostel was good but a little overpriced for what it is offering.


66%

Didn't let me pay with credit card even though in the description they say they do


100%

just love it,small and well done place

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

nice staff,breakfast and very clean

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The guys in the reception were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice with Panetone mmm! delicious. :-)

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Very helpful staff... there 24/7, feels very safe... clean... friendly. good location, close to Metro, in center in no time.... Would like real coffee instead of instant but otherwise i willl stay there again...

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel thats centrally located. Good atmosphere and friendly hosts.

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

they give excelent tips about enjoying your day ........breaky was good

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff was helpful but spoke little English. The location is about a 10 minutes from the metro stop, and theres even a bus stop that is right outside the door. The hostel is small, with only five rooms on one floor, and is located in a residential building, but it's proximity to the university gives it a good ambience.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The Hostel was fantastic! The rooms were really nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen was well supplied and the breakfast every morning was very good. The staff was helpful and friendly. It is a great location near food (including gelato) and the bus stop is right outside. It is also not a far walk to the main train station.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The showers are very bad, the temperature is either freezing, or burning hot, never a good temperature, which makes the act of taking a shower a hard task. The first bathroom in the corridor smells uncomfortably bad. And they charge an additional tax that is completely absurde! One member of the staff who works at night, was absolutely not helpful when I asked him how to get to the airport, and when I told him one of the showers wasn't working.


89%

Very nice cosy, quiet hostel, decent kitchen, common area and computers, friendly atmosphere. It is fairly central and close to the metro, but other hostels are more central. My only complaint is that the bunkbed squeaked quite a lot.


80%

I had quite a pleasant stay. It's all basics for a hostel: bunk bed, pillow, blanket, heater (for winter) and small lockers for your values. It'd be nicer if they had provided some towels. Good kitchen. Nice breakfast. There's only one bathroom for those staying in dorms but I was there exactly during Christmas so I never really had to wait to use the bathroom. But this might be a problem during busy season like summer. The staffs were nice and helpful. Everything is very clean.


94%

My stay at Rome City Hostel was great. It's a small place, but the atmosphere is very friendly and fun. The staff is extremely helpful and willing to help you in many situations. It's also surrounded by delicious restaurants!




View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback