X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Rome Metropolitan Guesthouse Reviews

Via Milazzo 22 - 2°floor Rome, Rome, Lazio, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
340 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

We enjoyed staying in Marco's guesthouse. Only one bathroom for 4 rooms. The hostel is really just a good, relatively cheap accomodation in Rome. Marco owns a bar/cafe around the corner and gives you some of the best coffee you can find in Rome (special ingredient ;) )


74%

Under the "Hotel Instructions" section, it should be said that you need to call the owner to let him know you're coming, since he has to come collect you and take you to your room. It should also be noted that the address on the site is not necessarily the one you will stay at and that there are no signs saying where the hostel is, so it is hard to locate. All of this was a surprise to me. If I hadn't had a phone, I never would have found the hostel.


91%

We booked at that hostel but were changed. Even if not planned it was for the best. The hostel was nice clean and calm and the room big and pretty. Nice place to stay in couple :-)


91%

The apartment was well maintain & very clean. Marco as the owner was really friendly & helpful. We also love the breakfast in one of the pub next to the hostel, it's one of the best during our trip. The hostel is centrally located & you can walk to most of tourist attractions. Moreover, bus & train station is just within 5 min walking from the hostel. But we got a little bit lost because the direction provided in our booking confirmation was different from the histel new address.


89%

Nice place for a few nights stay; the location ( the one in via Merulana) is pretty near Termini station and a walk away from the core of the ancient part of the city, so you can visit the Colosseo spearing bus money. Marco is really kind, you can ask him for advice in order to enjoy Roma's social life and restaurants; speaking about food, the breakfast in a pastry shop is great!

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

We were actually moved to Urbis Hotel just next street, so the scores are for that one.. Everything went smooth with the new location although we never met the owner or receptionist of Rome Metropolitan Guesthouse during our stay. I just texted him as we touched down in Rome and was told about the relocation, tried to call once we were at the hotel but there was poor English understanding over the phone. Nevertheless, we just went in and found out we were booked.


60%

As most of the reviews say, Marco is charming. So are politicians and con men. There's no hot water because someone slid the shower head down too low? If you have a problem, go tell his mother across the street and she'll get a message to him? As long as it's been a problem in these reviews, and still no way to know the correct address, or get inside the locked door when you find it? No problem, here's a ticket for some free food at mom's cafe, we're good, right? Incompetence or indifference??

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
My experience with you had shown how difficult is to change minds to people who prefer their preconceptions to reality. Double breakfast, free lunch, discount € 50.00 only waiting for the check in for the misunderstanding of the address.hot water worked, it was enough to turn to left the knob of the shower. you preferred to remain offended for no reason in front of my attempts to explain what to do.Your was not the right attitude of those who are able to interact with other people. Sorry for u

91%

Very good hostel,pretty close to termini station and with a very kind,happy and sociable staff,Marco of course.Greetings from Greece,Spyridoula & Konstantinos.


100%

One day we will return to guesthouse Metropolitan. It was hard to find :D....and we have walked around it....

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
unfortunately as i explain every time we are just a guesthouse not an hotel and for us little appartments is difficult and very expensive have a sign outside! there are a lot of taxes that we have to pay if we want a sign out on the road! i'm very very sorry about this aspect! this is Italy! taxes taxes taxes! thanks denis for your feedback! i hope to have u again as our guest!

86%

Only one thing to say: next time in Rome I will stay at the same place Petre & Anca, Romania


97%

When we arrived we couldn't find the guest house and we had to call to Marco. He appeared about 15 minutes. We have got huge room on via Millazo (rooms on via Marghera have been sold out) Location was excellent, 5 min to Termini Station and market. Marco gave us many useful tips. The breakfast was delicious in the bar downstairs. When we had problem with hot water we called to owner and Marco's mom repaired it immediately. Remember, just call to Marco after you arrived to destination.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The appartment is very big and my room was giant. there is a great living room with a sofa and 2 chairs and the use of the kitchen is free! during the day marco come one or two times for cleaning the bathroom but during my stay there were 4 guests not so careful for keep clean the common spaces! not good! the breakfast was delicious in the bar of Mama Anna. very close to termini station, pubblic trasports and Colosseum! perhaps some decoration can help to improve the atmosphere! recommandable!!!


77%

Location is perfect but it is really hard to find the hostel. Actually it is not a hostel, it is a house. You must call the owner of the house (Marco) when you arrive the address. Room and kitchen have nice atmosphere and clean. But bathroom was not be cleaned everyday. I definitely suggest the property for its good location, interior condition and price.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obviously is a property! for the sign outside we have to pay some taxes more and i'm waiting also the permission of the palace for change the intercom! but obviously we are a property! about the bathroom i clean it everyday but it's hard to keep it clean with 10 guests every day! thanks a lot for the review! i hope to see u again in rome! great hugs!

97%

the guesthouse is 20 metres from Termini Station, perfect for pubblic trasports and moving all around the city! Colosseum and Forum Romano only 15 minutes walking is good! delicious big breakfast in the morning at the bar of the family downstairs. Maybe the bathroom would be little more bigger but it's always clean, Marco gives a lot of tips and suggestions for pubs, clubs, restaurants and museums. The rooms are giant!!! Maybe some facilities more would be perfect! Absolutely raccomandable!


80%

When we made the booking we expected to stay at Via Marghera. There were no signs indicating a hostel here. Marco met us about 20 mins after we called him. Apparently he's recently sold the place in Via Marghera and got another in Via Milazzo (very close). We really liked the room here and it was much better than expected. However it would have been better if we were informed about the change earlier to save time and worry. Apart from this incident, definitely loved the place and would recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
we sold the little old guesthouyse you've booked! we bought a new one much much much better of the first! 20 metres from the first one! thanks a lot for your kind feedback! i hope to see u again!



View all Rome Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback