X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Roomies Penang Reviews

76C -4 Jalan, Batu Feringghi, Penang, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
145 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Best hostel in Batu Ferringhi. I'll come back :)


77%

Had a nice stay at Roomies. Nice beds, smiling staff and close to restuarants, night market and beach. However, the beds are veeery close togheter. There's also no place to change clothes, put on sunscreen etc. This could be a irritating problem especielly for ladies sinse men seems to be able to walk around in underwear any time any day. Breakfast is also included in the price, but it's far from much. So if you love breakfast (like me) I highly recommend bringing some complimentary breakfast.

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Friedly,nice and cozy

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

First, the above rating is for Roomies Suites Boutique, not Roomies Penang. The online info are some how confusing and we didn't check two times as didn't expect different roomies in almost same location. The staffs understand and helpful enough to help us for the transfer. Thank you. Overall the stays were pleasant except one of the night, the karaoke ended slightly late, a bit annoying. It didn't happen on 2nd nights. Good stay.


80%

confusing address. on my booking shown the address is somewhere near holiday inn. but actual location at eden parade. outlet near holiday inn having parking problem.


97%

There are two facilities for this hostel. The booking via website should be corresponding to the exact facility. Mine was not correct but I had no problem because my destination is not far from both facilities.

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Comfortable bed, awesome place to spend the night


100%

Staff are friendly, very clean environment, strategic location, free parking, just need to improve on wi fi connection and also breakfast. Rooftop was windy, able to watch movie, bbq, etc.

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

It will be a challenge to go up 4 floor to reach the hostel with bags or after finished trekking in the national park but you will be greeted with friendly staff who likes to chat with us. This hostel have limited space that both have advantages and disadvantages. Those who are traveling solo, this hostel will definitely have to interact with new mates due to the space. staying here is like staying in your room, the cooler version of course.

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel feels very safe with its locking system and is very comfortable. The staff are friendly and there is a nice chilled out atmosphere.

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We stayed in the Studio Suite: very spacious, beautiful room, and good facilities. Staff is very friendly and its also fun to hang out on the rooftop terrace with the (generally) backpackers staying in the common room, who create a very open and relaxed vibe. Perfect location close to the beach and amidst many amazing food stalls.

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Clean, High floor, friendly staff. This hostel is very nice where walkable to the beach on Batu Ferringhi Road. Recommend for people who get bored to stay in George Town and wanna stay near the beach.


100%

My has never changed, the olace is absolutely amazing and neat as expected

  • 24th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Djibouti
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We are two ladies stayed at the mixed dorm for 2 nights. We had a very good experience and hope we could hv a chance to come back again. The location is fantastic, near the beach, food, bus stop, night market, and Hard Rock Cafe for late night music. The staff, Mr.Dhuku is fabulous, he is very friendly, helpful and always able to share good tour info with us. We hope to be back again and have shisha at the rooftop


74%

The 10 beds dormitory is just behind the Reception not bein a separate room which i didn't like. They gave us a 3 beds in a room and offered to add an extra bed but it is 2 x 2 m so it would be so tight for 4 beds on top of each others i do not recommend this place but i appreciate the staff efforts


91%

i realised we booked the Roomies Suites (private doubles room) but the address led us to Roomies Penang (room sharing hostel), it's 10RM taxi ride away. please ensure others dont get mislead to the wrong location ok? :)


89%

Really friendly staff! Really close to bus stop so it was very convenient !

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It was good overall. Breakfast provided with this price and the staff is very friendly.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good location of hostel right next to the bus station which was great to get around! Although finding the hostel first time was hard. Muesli was nice for breakfast but more variety would be great. Beds were comfy and the staff were pleasant.




View all Penang Hostels

Please give us your feedback