Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Roomies Penang

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 202 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 202 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lindamholmboe2961
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Aug 2017
8.3

Nice, small hostel. Clean and have what you need. Good and private beds and showers. The breakfast-portion could be bigger, but nice that they grow food themselves. It could be more than two options though (something more healthier). We were only 4 persons, so it was quiet atmosphere, and was just what I needed. Nice location, but watch out for the buses and cars when you cross the road with no sidewalk. They drive fast. A buss nearly hit me. Enjoy your stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2017
8.0

Nice room, breakfast can be improved.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
6.3

Beds were clean and comfortable. Toilet and shower were good. Pictures online did not accurately portray the room. Our room of 10 was in a corridor, the reception area was in the room and so was the main door entering the hostel so every time someone new came to the hostel they were in our room either walking through or else checking in at reception. Not much privacy from that regard, however each bunk had its own curtain which gave some privacy. Air conditioning was only turned on at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.1

Great for a recovery from George Town! Very simple but works really well. One dorm of 10 ppl with free breakfast & great showers. Also good AC and really strong wifi!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jun 2017
9.7

Staff was super friendly, they had filled up all of their bunk beds so they gave me a discount for sleeping on a bed laid out on the floor which I was perfectly fine with, though the bunk beds get much more privacy. Very clean hostel, breakfast was really nice, and there were lots of guests which was great for meeting other travellers. Literally across the street from the beach and you can see the hostel from the bus stop which was super convenient as I was arriving from the National Park.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
7.7

Overall are good. Breakfast is very good. The area of the bathroom not clean enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jun 2017
9.4

Was only here very briefly, but nice big showers and common area, i loved my little double room. Overall very nice place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.1

Really nice hostel, I was so happy staying here! The breakfast options were a bit limited (pancakes or noodles) but the pancakes were good! Allowed us to shower in the evening even though we had already checked out!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.7

Love it! A bit far from Georgetown, but Batu Ferringhi was awesome as well, and it was no problem getting to Georgetown (bus or Grab). Close to restaurants, laundry places, bus stop and tourist attractions. Great breakfast, awesome staff and smashing bedroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
9.7

This hostel is one of my favourites throughout my travel round SEA. The dorm is clean, modern, plenty of space to store your bags, really comfy beds, perfect. Breakfast in the morning on the roof is an absolute treat. Location wise, it's just opposite the beach and where the night market is. Finally, the staff are wonderful :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.