Hostelworld.com

Roommates Penang

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
Roommates Penang Located at 17 B, Lorong Chulia, , Penang.
Roommates Penang
Malaysia
Penang 11700 17 B, Lorong Chulia
85% 609
5.4185821 100.3372442
Roommates Penang
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jun 2016
8.9

Good value for money. It's on a good location to explore the rest of Georgetown. Bed was comfortable. The free breakfast was basic but a bonus considering how cheap it was in the firstplace! Would definitely recommend to others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
10.0

Great hostel, comfortable beds, very friendly host who opened the door for us at 05.00 in the morning so we could drop our bags of. When we returned 2 hours later we got a warm welcome and a breakfast. Definitely good value for your money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
8.0

I wanted to like this place, I really did. But then I found BED BUGS! I asked the night manager to switch beds, he said yes (but barely spoke English and seemed irritated I was inturrupting his movie) I tried four different beds in both dorms, but found bugs in each. A couple other people in the dorm were covered in bites after one night! Plus they know they have bugs, they told us after we asked a second time! A good hostel otherwise, but sleeping on the floor was definitely not ideal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Apr 2016
9.7

After a few interesting hostels in Malaysia I was very happy with my stay at roommates. The hostel was very clean and the staff were very welcoming. The only downsides were that the hostel was very quiet when I was there, with only 3 of us staying there so the atmosphere was lacking a bit. But overall, a really great stay and the hostel is in the perfect location to explore Penang.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Mar 2016
7.4

The location was perfect. Close to little India and love lane but in a quiet street. Bathrooms being next to reception steals some of the privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2016
8.3

Enjoyed my stay and the island of Penang. Hostel needs larger and secure lockers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • leemaguire8251
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 44 reviews
12th Feb 2016
10.0

Fantastic small quiet hostel in a great location. Staff are excellent and full of knowledge about what to do, where to go and what to eat! I loved staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2016
10.0

Very friendly staff and nice and clean rooms! The location is also great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2016
8.3

Great location. Right by Love Lane but still very quiet rooms at night. Perfect for enjoying the scene and getting sleep. Free breakfast! Helpful staff. Room did have a slight smell but seemed to be an anti mosquito spray so I suppose better than having a mosquito infested room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Feb 2016
8.6

So clean!!!!! Amazing facilties and amazing power hot shower. Staff very friendly and helpful. Own plug socket and light. Only downer not much of an atmosphere but we managed to find a nearby party hostel which we spent 3 nights drinking again. But yeh would stay here again. Good location just off the main backpacker road and next to love lane also right by a 711.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.