Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Roommates Penang

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
7.1

Lacked a social atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.0

Quiet and small but good for chilling or using as a base point as you explore

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
9.7

Super cheap & cozy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lgsellars
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Feb 2017
7.1

Great location and comfy beds, each has curtains and its own light, sockets and shelf. The room had a strange smell sort of like old fruit, but I got used to it. Staff seemed friendly enough, I didn't spend enough time in the hostel to really find out. Lovely café Pit Stop is just over the road.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jan 2017
8.6

Good hostel and nice staff, would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
8.3

Two slight criticisms: lockers are completely unsafe, you could pull the corners up which has obviously happened in the past (I just kept my money & phone with me instead). Also not very social as the chill area is very small. Aside from that very clean, comfortable, lovely staff, great location, and you can make your own breakfast using their food in the morning :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.4

We stayed at this hostel for one night but were in Penang for 6 days. The location is perfect for people who like to go out but need a nice quiet place to sleep. It was very clean and we enjoyed having free toast in the am. I would recommend them. The security was a little lacking in the sense that non of the doors lock but there is someone at the desk 24/7 so in the end it was pretty good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
21st Jan 2017
8.0

Depends on room one had air con working one didn't . Internet worked well. Staffs English not that great but helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
8.9

Amazing location right off the main backpackers street love lane. But far enough away for it to be quiet at night. Lots of food vendors and restaurants a few steps away from front door. Staff were absolutely amazing and helpful in every way and so welcoming and nice. Atmosphere was amazing, met some awesome people. Beds were super comfy and liked the idea of curtains for privacy. Only 3 toilets and 2 showers however which seemed so little for the amount of people present. Would stay again!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • BillHayne
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Dec 2016
7.1

Cosy little hosel with large single beds. Nasty lingering smell in dorm however

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.