Hostelworld.com

Roommates Penang

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 605 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 605 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
Roommates Penang Located at 17 B, Lorong Chulia, , Penang.
Roommates Penang
Malaysia
Penang 11700 17 B, Lorong Chulia
83% 605
5.4185821 100.3372442
Roommates Penang
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Apr 2016
9.7

After a few interesting hostels in Malaysia I was very happy with my stay at roommates. The hostel was very clean and the staff were very welcoming. The only downsides were that the hostel was very quiet when I was there, with only 3 of us staying there so the atmosphere was lacking a bit. But overall, a really great stay and the hostel is in the perfect location to explore Penang.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Mar 2016
7.4

The location was perfect. Close to little India and love lane but in a quiet street. Bathrooms being next to reception steals some of the privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2016
8.3

Enjoyed my stay and the island of Penang. Hostel needs larger and secure lockers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • leemaguire8251
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 38 reviews
12th Feb 2016
10.0

Fantastic small quiet hostel in a great location. Staff are excellent and full of knowledge about what to do, where to go and what to eat! I loved staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2016
10.0

Very friendly staff and nice and clean rooms! The location is also great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2016
8.3

Great location. Right by Love Lane but still very quiet rooms at night. Perfect for enjoying the scene and getting sleep. Free breakfast! Helpful staff. Room did have a slight smell but seemed to be an anti mosquito spray so I suppose better than having a mosquito infested room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Feb 2016
8.6

So clean!!!!! Amazing facilties and amazing power hot shower. Staff very friendly and helpful. Own plug socket and light. Only downer not much of an atmosphere but we managed to find a nearby party hostel which we spent 3 nights drinking again. But yeh would stay here again. Good location just off the main backpacker road and next to love lane also right by a 711.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
7th Feb 2016
7.1

Not so great on the atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Feb 2016
8.0

Good location, really comfy beds with own plugs, lights and curtains. Showers were hot or cold and good pressure. Free basic breakfast. Lockers available too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Feb 2016
9.4

Roommates is located in an old shop-house and gives you the nice atmosphere only such a house can offer. The big bunk beds are comfy and give good privacy even in a dorm with 8 people. There was also enough store room for the luggage. Showers were big and clean. Great value for money compared to other hostels we stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.