X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rooms Nena Reviews

Matice hrvatske 88, Split, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
185 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

Hospitality and communication with manageress was unpleasant. We were accommodated in her bedroom. Cuoboards etc were full of her belongings. Shower had no curtain or doors so everything was wet. Mostly though the manageress was unpleasant.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

The facilities could be improved easily with a few efforts: for instance, the first level bathroom could be furnished with a curtain in the shower, a carpet and optionally a working washing machine. The kitchen was not in order, the dishes were clean but the kitchen was used as a storage room, which made it only partly functional. Air conditioning in the room should be included without additional fee or with a smaller fee (25 kuna per day).


34%

I would never stay here again or recommend to anyone. Guests should be told before they arrive if Nina's is full and they have to be placed in overflow apartments, arriving in a foreign country and being told to "give me money and go with this nice lady" does not fill two young girls travelling alone with confidence. The apartment we were shown to did not have any air con or wifi as we had paid for. Also far from the centre of Split 20-30 minute walk. I'm afraid we were very disappointed.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Rooms Nena comes with air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi and is probably quite nice except that's not where we stayed. Instead Nena put us up in a dingy aparment, which was unclean and without air-conditioning or Wi-Fi. Poor.

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

The hostel claims to have aircon - they do not! We only got a fan, wich probably is fine - If you know in advance, we were quite disappointed as we only booked for aircon and wifi (wifi worked fine) Furthermore they say they have parking, but that is only a spot on the sidewalk if you are lucky. We ended up parking 10 min walk away. This is definitely not value for money!

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

There isn't a place to check in. We had to randomly knock on someone's door to help us. It was her sister who gave us keys to our room. The rooms are small with one window. There is no air conditioning. It was the worst night sleep I've gotten on my entire trip. Thank god I was only there for 8 hours. The location is close enough to walk but far enough for it to be quiet.


77%

Nena and her nephew were very helpful and the check-in/out were seamless. Not in the old town so it's nice and quiet at night but you will have to walk ~20 to get to the main areas.


100%

Amazing and comfortable stay! The staff were very lovely and made us feel welcomed! Will definitely stay again!!

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Hi Nena, Thank you for everything, Ollie


34%

Owner was nice but took us to a location further away when we arrived as no room in the hostel. Took us 7 in a small broken car at 2am to a dirtier apartment which we had not booked. Charged same price. Tried to convince us our apartment for the week was terrible location etc but was lying to us so we would stay with her longer. Bribed us to write a good review by letting us sleep in in the morning. Beds filled with insects.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You will be ashamed to thank you for having me got up at 2 am and you have not left on the street already provided superb apartment you were drunk and you've seen everything

40%

We were very disappointed with this hostel. The room was large and the beds were comfy, however the room had very little light and air flow: this is a big issue without air con when it's 40 degrees outside. The room was dirty too. Also we had to share the bathroom between about 10 people and that meant for a lot of waiting around at peak times. We were told there was access to some kitchen facilities and there wasn't any at all, not even a kettle. We were thoroughly disappointed.


100%

The hotel is amazing!


26%

At arrival we were told that the hostel was fully booked (even though we had booked months on beforehand). We were put in another appartement that was further from the center and really not worth the price we payed. For 65 per person per night you would expect al least to stay at the room you booked and not some old appartement in the middle of nowhere. Very unprofessional.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

They cancelled our booking and refused to give us back our deposit only three weeks before we were arriving - and Ultra was on, so we had extreme difficulty finding another venue.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Slept overnight in a three person room: Pros: + decent location + we got a spacious apartment-type room + flexible check-out + a quiet neighbourhood + lovely cleaning lady who lived next door and brought doughnuts w coffee in the morning Cons: - We booked some 10 hours before arr: Hostel did not answer phone or e-mail, no reception, owner happened to be standing outside at the right time - Contrary to the information provided, our room had no wi-fi nor air-con - 80's room interior - expensiv

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
you had an excellent room great hospitality would not comment on your character

100%

Rooms Nena was absolutely incredible. Rooms were clean and included many additional items that we did not expect. Guest services were amazing. The family that owns the business was very helpful, accommodating, and offered great advice at all hours of the day. The hotel is in a great location with a market and amazing restaurant around the corner. The town is only a 20 minute walk away. I highly recommend Rooms Nena! -With love from Canada

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nena was amazing and so helpful, looks after her guests very well, accomodation very clean and tidy! Would recommend her to anyone! Amazing place to stay

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nena was such a welcoming and nice host! She was very accommodating and provided my friends and I with everything we needed for eating/ drinking etc. She was very good at direction help and was alway lively and enthusiastic.I suggest staying here, its a great value for the money!

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Split Apartments

Please give us your feedback