X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Rooms Nena Reviews

Matice hrvatske 88, Split, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
173 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 66%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

There isn't a place to check in. We had to randomly knock on someone's door to help us. It was her sister who gave us keys to our room. The rooms are small with one window. There is no air conditioning. It was the worst night sleep I've gotten on my entire trip. Thank god I was only there for 8 hours. The location is close enough to walk but far enough for it to be quiet.


100%

Amazing and comfortable stay! The staff were very lovely and made us feel welcomed! Will definitely stay again!!

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Hi Nena, Thank you for everything, Ollie


34%

Owner was nice but took us to a location further away when we arrived as no room in the hostel. Took us 7 in a small broken car at 2am to a dirtier apartment which we had not booked. Charged same price. Tried to convince us our apartment for the week was terrible location etc but was lying to us so we would stay with her longer. Bribed us to write a good review by letting us sleep in in the morning. Beds filled with insects.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

We were very disappointed with this hostel. The room was large and the beds were comfy, however the room had very little light and air flow: this is a big issue without air con when it's 40 degrees outside. The room was dirty too. Also we had to share the bathroom between about 10 people and that meant for a lot of waiting around at peak times. We were told there was access to some kitchen facilities and there wasn't any at all, not even a kettle. We were thoroughly disappointed.


100%

The hotel is amazing!


26%

At arrival we were told that the hostel was fully booked (even though we had booked months on beforehand). We were put in another appartement that was further from the center and really not worth the price we payed. For 65 per person per night you would expect al least to stay at the room you booked and not some old appartement in the middle of nowhere. Very unprofessional.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

They cancelled our booking and refused to give us back our deposit only three weeks before we were arriving - and Ultra was on, so we had extreme difficulty finding another venue.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Slept overnight in a three person room: Pros: + decent location + we got a spacious apartment-type room + flexible check-out + a quiet neighbourhood + lovely cleaning lady who lived next door and brought doughnuts w coffee in the morning Cons: - We booked some 10 hours before arr: Hostel did not answer phone or e-mail, no reception, owner happened to be standing outside at the right time - Contrary to the information provided, our room had no wi-fi nor air-con - 80's room interior - expensiv

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Nena was amazing and so helpful, looks after her guests very well, accomodation very clean and tidy! Would recommend her to anyone! Amazing place to stay

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nena was such a welcoming and nice host! She was very accommodating and provided my friends and I with everything we needed for eating/ drinking etc. She was very good at direction help and was alway lively and enthusiastic.I suggest staying here, its a great value for the money!

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The room was new and clean, Nena was a good host, she arranged someone to pick us up on a airport, Its a nice place ,city centre was close. I recommend


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

On arrival Nena was quite abrupt and laid down the law, however, after playing one of her favourite CD's (we found it in our room), she came in and started dancing. From then on she was a pussy cat! :)


74%

Generally quite good but the rooms were very hot and stuffy. Air conditioning was available for each room but was charged at a rate of around £5 per day which I thought was very expensive.


31%

We booked in a hostel, we went to the hostel first we had to pay and then she took us with a car to another place far from the city. She sad it is a verry nice appartment with private badroom, but she didn't say how far it was. Then we saw the appartment it was verry small, there was no space for our lugage. We say to her that we don't like it and she say 'you c canceled' but we payed allready so there was no way back and she wasn't friendly..

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Very weird experience, arrived late and were greeted by an old local woman in her garden at the location shown on hostel world map! However this was no where we stayed, another local woman arrived and we walked for 10 minutes with her through a run down area (very creepy at night) and stayed in the upstairs of her apartment... No locks on bedroom doors, dirty rooms and all in all an awful experience... DONT STAY HERE!

Owner Comment (Hide)
a person who takes an aggressive and rude no wonder that lying and that bothers other dear guests.

34%

She has A/C listed as an amenity, however it's not free; she charges 50kn per night to use it. She won't allow you to use it during the day. This wouldn't be an issue, but due to the fact that all of the surrounding buildings behind the hostel are all dilapidated and over grown, the mosquitos are quite unreasonable and you can't open a window or door for a breeze. She is extremely loud, unpleasant and difficult to deal with. You're also not allowed to mingle with other guests after 21:00.


94%

The room was clean and fresh, the staff were really helpful in accommodating us.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

We didn't even stay there because the woman owning the place asked for a new price way more expensive than what we reserved for and she kicked us out at 23:30 in a new town (2girls) because we didn't want the pay a new price but the price we agree with hostel world. We lost our reservation money on top of that.


100%

100% great room great host great vibes


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(133 results)


View all Split Apartments

Please give us your feedback